DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. No IDS has been provided nor considered at the time of this Office Action.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 12 and 25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Remarks
4. This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 04/10/2026.
Claims 1-9, 11-22, and 24-26 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 14 have been amended, and claims 2-9, 11-13, 15-22, and 24-26 were previously presented.
The objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s)
of claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that:
The office action fails to teach the features of the amended independent claims 1 and 14. (Pages 8 -10, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding to claim 1, Strater teaches: a controller within a mesh network ([0001], states “a steering controller that determines signal strength associated with content streamed between the client devices and the gateway/extenders, and steers client devices to the content streaming device having improved wireless connectivity performance” and [0094] states “ Embodiments of the present disclosure implemented in a star network topology may include a mesh solution.” These paragraphs implies the role of the controller may implemented wireless networks including mesh networks) comprising at least a station (STA) associated with the controller ([0024] and Fig. 12 show an exemplary wireless network having an STA connected to a wireless gateway controller, as described in [0046], lines 4-7), the controller arranged to: set a plurality of received signal strength intensity (RSSI) thresholds respectively corresponding to a plurality of operating bands of the controller ([0049] and Table describe an example about how the controller can define band-specific RSSI thresholds to optimize the steering of client device (SAT) between different bands such as 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, [0051], lines 8-11 and lines 16-21, describe how to weight the band and how the controller determine which AP to steer a target SAT to “the controller uses the network link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to.” And “The RSSI link threshold is preferably a configurable setting.”), when an RSSI of the STA on at least one currently enabled link of the STA crosses one of the plurality of set thresholds ([ 0043], lines 4-10 states “Wi-Fi performance of client stations (STAs) connected to an AP are monitored by gateway firmware through a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of current STA to AP association. Clients having a poor (low RSSI) AP or STA association are steered to a different AP that has adequate throughput capacity” which implies the RSSI of the SAT may monitored and evaluated as stated in [0049] “When an STA’s associated RSSI link to a particular AP is lower than a configurable value or threshold (e.g. -75 dBm), the GW controller may target that STA to be steered.” Table 1 shows the currently link metric can be estimated relative the measured band in a given device), performing a calculation to determine respective scores of all currently enabled links of the STA ([0091] and [0066] describe the steering controller can evaluate candidate BSS for a client by calculate delta link quality for each BSS the RSSI estimation process includes measured RSSI from other band + Band Weighing (described previously).“ and [0058] states “A client station STA preferably communicates with a plurality of communicable APs to obtain their received signal strength indication (RSSI) in dBm units, selecting an AP with lowest negative dBm value or highest signal strength to establish communication with the selected AP.” These parts indicates performing computation for the RSSI scores for all enabling links (link quality metrics), then compared with a predefined threshold (e.g., -75 dBm for poor signal quality), as shown in Table 1 and Fig. 4. [0063] and [0078] provides band steering logic, that the controller collects measurements for each band/link on the same AP, including RSSI, traffic levels, and utilization of the channel, and uses them to determine if the STA should be moved to another band. [0004] and [0065] states “Band steering is also provided to optimize channel utilization in a given AP to avoid overloading one band over other band.” That describe the process for determining the best band (steering event) of operation for the STA based on calculations involving metrics like signal strength (RSSI), channel utilization, and other link quality measurements, as illustrated in [0063] lines 1-6. That confirms that the STA will be steered to a different operating band with a different antenna configuration, but keeps operating with the same AP), according to the calculation ([0015], “FIG. 4 shows an STA communicating with adjacent APs to determine their RSSI and assess their suitability for AP steering or band steering, or both”, [0057], lines 1-4 states “The gateway controller, upon recognizing a low signal strength for a STA, preferably steers that STA from its currently associated AP to another AP with better link quality (RSSI value)”, and lines 14-22 states “ the gateway controller uses the AP link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to, by eliminating APs with measured and/or estimated links with an RSSI below a configurable, acceptable quality threshold (e.g. -65 dBm). Additionally, the use of AP channel utilization, using an AP channel utilization table, preferably avoids steering an STA to an overly-utilized AP by further eliminating APs with channel utilizations over a configurable, acceptable value (e.g. 75%).” These sections describes how the controller determine the best/better link quality metrics),
On the other hand, Seok1 teaches determining a best number of spatial streams (NSS) configuration of the STA comprising which antenna of the STA operate on which of the plurality of operating bands ([0035] describes that the SAT supports multi-link functionality to operate on different bands, as shown in Fig. 1. Figs. 3, 6, 9, [0035], lines 12-17 and [0051], states “ the STA MLD may utilize the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate, for each supported link, the combinations of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that a STA (e.g., STA1 or STA2) in STA MLD supports for reception and the combinations that the STA supports for transmission” describe the optimal number of special streams configuration for the SAT that achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching, according to the process as stated in [0009], lines 10-13 “In communicating with the multi-link dynamic antenna switching, the processor receive a transmission from the AP MLD and communicate with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams in response to the receiving. “ This is also indicated in the Abstract, lines 3-6, which states “In response to receiving the transmission, the non-AP STA MLD communicates with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD” to achieve optimum solution as states in [0002], “to extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications”), and whether both antennas are configured on the same operating band or different operating band (Fig. 1 illustrates multiple antennas are configured to operates with different links, [0052] states “When channel utilization of each link is changed, STA MLD may change its antenna capabilities to the following: (a) R2 receive chains and T2 transmit chains on link 1, and (b) R1 receive chains and T1 transmit chains on link 2”, and claim 15 states “establishing a multi-link operation over a plurality of links between an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) and a non-AP station (STA) MLD which has a constraint on simultaneous transmission and reception (Tx/Rx) on a first link and a second link of the plurality of links; and responsive to a condition being met, changing an antenna configuration of the non-AP STA MLD with respect to one or more receive chains or one or more transmit chains of the non-AP STA MLD between the first link and the second link of the plurality of links.” These parts indicate that the multi antennas can operate in the same or different bands for flexibility [0002]. [0052], lines 1-6 illustrates the switching antenna configuration with the same AP MLD or different AP MLD) and setting the best NSS configuration ([0007] states “The method may also involve communicating with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD in response to the receiving.” And [0040] states “For the receive chains negotiation procedure, the MU-RTS Trigger may include a User Info field with a spatial stream (SS) Allocation/Random Access (RA)-Resource Unit (RU) Information subfield equal to a requested receive chains (or spatial streams).”and [0040], lines 22-26, [0045] states “ Additionally, the AP MLD may transmit to the STA MLD that enabled its multiple receive chains a PPDU up to the total supported Rx spatial streams of the STA MLD.” These parts indicate that a negotiation included to determine optimal NSS configuration, [0071], lines 7-11), and sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration for the currently enable links (Claim 11 provides that the receiving of the transmission from the AP MLD comprises: transmitting an action frame to the AP MLD indicating whether multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled; and responsive to the action frame indicating that the multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled, receiving a group addressed frame from the AP MLD on a first link of a plurality of links, wherein the first link is either implicitly determined as a reception link for the group addressed frame or explicitly indicated in the action frame by a link identifier as the reception link for the group addressed frame. [0048] states “multi-link dynamic antenna switching may be enabled by sending a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame in which a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching mode field is set to 1 (indicating “Enable”).” which implies sending the action frame for dynamic switching of antenna where the action frame updates the NSS set by signaling as stated “Alternatively, the STA MLD may explicitly signal its group addressed frame reception link (e.g., Link ID thereof) in the Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame.” [0051], lines 1-11 implies that the method allow the SAT to update its antenna configuration/ NSS configuration by sending management frame, [0052], states “In this case, STA MLD may transmit to the AP MLD the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate the changed transmit and receive chains for each supported link (e.g., link 1 and link 2).” Where the SAT can also send the management frame to indicate the changing in the antenna configuration, including NSS updates as stated in [0051] lines 19-22 and [0066], states “In such case a number of the multiple spatial streams may be up to a number of total supported spatial streams of the non-AP STA MLD for reception.” That confirms the action frame can be used to notify STA to update its NSS configuration for currently enabled link with the same AP, where the enabled links can be different channels/bands [0004] and [0033]), the action frame including the best set NSS configuration ([0074] illustrates the management frame /action frame may include extreme-high-throughput modulation and coding schemes and spatial streams which is determined based on best configuration as stated “In some implementations, the management frame may include an Antenna Configuration Switch management frame that indicates, for each of the first link and the second link: (i) a first combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of a plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding reception, and (ii) a second combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of the plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding transmission.” That also confirms a new antenna configuration for the original connection between the STA and an AP have been set). Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons since it has same or similar features as those recited in claim 1. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
The office action fails to teach the features of claims 3 and 16. (Pages 10-11, Remarks).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-11, Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 3 and 16 under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20240407031-Al).
MPEP 706.07(a) states “Where prior art is submitted in a reply to a requirement under 37 CFR 1.105, the examiner may NOT make the next Office action relying on that art final unless all instances of the application of such art are necessitated by amendment. A dependent claim is treated as amended if the independent claim or any claim it references is amended because a dependent claim incorporates all the subject matter of the referenced claim(s),“ please, see MPEP 706.07(a) for more details.
The office action fails to teach the features of claims 4 - 5, 9 and 11. (Pages 10-11, Remarks).
In response to C), the examiner respectfully disagrees . The Claim Rejections section details the rejections of the claims 3 - 5, 9 and 11. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that the independent claims 1 and 14 are allowable for similar reasons (Page 10, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims 3 - 5, 9, 11 and the remaining dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Pages 10-12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section. The Claim Rejections section details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 , 14, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, further in view of Strater et al (US-11395186-B2).
Regarding to claim 1 (currently amended), Strater teaches: a controller within a mesh network ([0001], states “a steering controller that determines signal strength associated with content streamed between the client devices and the gateway/extenders, and steers client devices to the content streaming device having improved wireless connectivity performance” and [0094] states “ Embodiments of the present disclosure implemented in a star network topology may include a mesh solution.” These paragraphs implies the role of the controller may implemented wireless networks including mesh networks) comprising at least a station (STA) associated with the controller ([0024] and Fig. 12 show an exemplary wireless network having an STA connected to a wireless gateway controller, as described in [0046], lines 4-7), the controller arranged to: set a plurality of received signal strength intensity (RSSI) thresholds respectively corresponding to a plurality of operating bands of the controller ([0049] and Table describe an example about how the controller can define band-specific RSSI thresholds to optimize the steering of client device (SAT) between different bands such as 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, [0051], lines 8-11 and lines 16-21, describe how to weight the band and how the controller determine which AP to steer a target SAT to “the controller uses the network link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to.” And “The RSSI link threshold is preferably a configurable setting.”), when an RSSI of the STA on at least one currently enabled link of the STA crosses one of the plurality of set thresholds ([ 0043], lines 4-10 states “Wi-Fi performance of client stations (STAs) connected to an AP are monitored by gateway firmware through a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of current STA to AP association. Clients having a poor (low RSSI) AP or STA association are steered to a different AP that has adequate throughput capacity” which implies the RSSI of the SAT may monitored and evaluated as stated in [0049] “When an STA’s associated RSSI link to a particular AP is lower than a configurable value or threshold (e.g. -75 dBm), the GW controller may target that STA to be steered.” Table 1 shows the link metric can be estimated relative the measured band in a given device), performing a calculation to determine respective scores of all currently enabled links of the STA ([0091] and [0066] describe the steering controller can evaluate candidate BSS for a client by calculate delta link quality for each BSS the RSSI estimation process includes measured RSSI from other band + Band Weighing (described previously).“ and [0058] states “A client station STA preferably communicates with a plurality of communicable APs to obtain their received signal strength indication (RSSI) in dBm units, selecting an AP with lowest negative dBm value or highest signal strength to establish communication with the selected AP.” These parts indicates performing computation for the RSSI scores for all enabling links (link quality metrics), then compared with a predefined threshold (e.g., -75 dBm for poor signal quality), as shown in Table 1 and Fig. 4. [0063] and [0078] provides band steering logic, that the controller collects measurements for each band/link on the same AP, including RSSI, traffic levels, and utilization of the channel, and uses them to determine if the STA should be moved to another band. [0004] and [0065] states “Band steering is also provided to optimize channel utilization in a given AP to avoid overloading one band over other band.” That describe the process for determining the best band (steering event) of operation for the STA based on calculations involving metrics like signal strength (RSSI), channel utilization, and other link quality measurements, as illustrated in [0063] lines 1-6) , according to the calculation ([0015], “FIG. 4 shows an STA communicating with adjacent APs to determine their RSSI and assess their suitability for AP steering or band steering, or both”, [0057], lines 1-4 states “The gateway controller, upon recognizing a low signal strength for a STA, preferably steers that STA from its currently associated AP to another AP with better link quality (RSSI value)”, and lines 14-22 states “ the gateway controller uses the AP link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to, by eliminating APs with measured and/or estimated links with an RSSI below a configurable, acceptable quality threshold (e.g. -65 dBm). Additionally, the use of AP channel utilization, using an AP channel utilization table, preferably avoids steering an STA to an overly-utilized AP by further eliminating APs with channel utilizations over a configurable, acceptable value (e.g. 75%).” These sections describes how the controller determine the best/better link quality metrics),
Strater does not explicitly teach, but Seok1 teaches determining a best number of spatial streams (NSS) configuration of the STA comprising which antenna of the STA operate on which of the plurality of operating bands ([0035] describes that the SAT supports multi-link functionality to operate on different bands, as shown in Fig. 1. Figs. 3, 6, 9, [0035], lines 12-17 and [0051], states “ the STA MLD may utilize the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate, for each supported link, the combinations of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that a STA (e.g., STA1 or STA2) in STA MLD supports for reception and the combinations that the STA supports for transmission” describe the optimal number of special streams configuration for the SAT that achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching, according to the process as stated in [0009], lines 10-13 “In communicating with the multi-link dynamic antenna switching, the processor receive a transmission from the AP MLD and communicate with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams in response to the receiving. “ This is also indicated in the Abstract, lines 3-6, which states “In response to receiving the transmission, the non-AP STA MLD communicates with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD” to achieve optimum solution as states in [0002], “to extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications”), and whether both antennas are configured on the same operating band or different operating band (Fig. 1 illustrates multiple antennas are configured to operates with different links, [0052] states “When channel utilization of each link is changed, STA MLD may change its antenna capabilities to the following: (a) R2 receive chains and T2 transmit chains on link 1, and (b) R1 receive chains and T1 transmit chains on link 2”, and claim 15 states “establishing a multi-link operation over a plurality of links between an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) and a non-AP station (STA) MLD which has a constraint on simultaneous transmission and reception (Tx/Rx) on a first link and a second link of the plurality of links; and responsive to a condition being met, changing an antenna configuration of the non-AP STA MLD with respect to one or more receive chains or one or more transmit chains of the non-AP STA MLD between the first link and the second link of the plurality of links.” These parts indicate that the multi antennas can operate in the same or different bands for flexibility [0002]. [0052], lines 1-6 illustrates the switching antenna configuration with the same AP MLD or different AP MLD) and setting the best NSS configuration ([0007] states “The method may also involve communicating with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD in response to the receiving.” And [0040] states “For the receive chains negotiation procedure, the MU-RTS Trigger may include a User Info field with a spatial stream (SS) Allocation/Random Access (RA)-Resource Unit (RU) Information subfield equal to a requested receive chains (or spatial streams).”and [0040], lines 22-26, [0045] states “ Additionally, the AP MLD may transmit to the STA MLD that enabled its multiple receive chains a PPDU up to the total supported Rx spatial streams of the STA MLD.” These parts indicate that a negotiation included to determine optimal NSS configuration, [0071], lines 7-11), and sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration for the currently enable links (Claim 11 provides that the receiving of the transmission from the AP MLD comprises: transmitting an action frame to the AP MLD indicating whether multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled; and responsive to the action frame indicating that the multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled, receiving a group addressed frame from the AP MLD on a first link of a plurality of links, wherein the first link is either implicitly determined as a reception link for the group addressed frame or explicitly indicated in the action frame by a link identifier as the reception link for the group addressed frame. [0048] states “multi-link dynamic antenna switching may be enabled by sending a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame in which a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching mode field is set to 1 (indicating “Enable”).” which implies sending the action frame for dynamic switching of antenna where the action frame updates the NSS set by signaling as stated “Alternatively, the STA MLD may explicitly signal its group addressed frame reception link (e.g., Link ID thereof) in the Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame.” [0051], lines 1-11 implies that the method allow the SAT to update its antenna configuration/ NSS configuration by sending management frame, [0052], states “In this case, STA MLD may transmit to the AP MLD the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate the changed transmit and receive chains for each supported link (e.g., link 1 and link 2).” Where the SAT can also send the management frame to indicate the changing in the antenna configuration, including NSS updates as stated in [0051] lines 19-22 and [0066], states “In such case a number of the multiple spatial streams may be up to a number of total supported spatial streams of the non-AP STA MLD for reception.” That confirms the action frame can be used to notify STA to update its NSS configuration for currently enabled link with the same AP, where the enabled links can be different channels/bands [0004] and [0033] ), the action frame including the best set NSS configuration ([0074] illustrates the management frame /action frame may include extreme-high-throughput modulation and coding schemes and spatial streams which is determined based on best configuration as stated “In some implementations, the management frame may include an Antenna Configuration Switch management frame that indicates, for each of the first link and the second link: (i) a first combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of a plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding reception, and (ii) a second combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of the plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Strater to incorporate the teachings of Seok1 (in analogous art) by sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration, which including the set best NSS configuration to achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications. (Seok1, [0002]).
Regarding claim 13 (original): Strater and Seok1 teach the controller of claim 1.
Strater further teaches wherein each RSSI threshold further comprises an offset ([0057], lines 4-13, the RSSI thresholds can include offsets. For example, when estimating the RSSI for a different band, an offset (referred to as "Band Weighting factor offset") is applied, when estimating 2.4 GHz RSSI from 5 GHz measurements and when estimating 5 GHz RSSI from 2.4 GHz measurements).
Regarding claim 14 (currently amended): Strater teaches a method for updating an NSS configuration of a STA associated with a controller within a mesh network ([0001], states “a steering controller that determines signal strength associated with content streamed between the client devices and the gateway/extenders, and steers client devices to the content streaming device having improved wireless connectivity performance” and [0094] states “ Embodiments of the present disclosure implemented in a star network topology may include a mesh solution.” These paragraphs implies the role of the controller may implemented wireless networks including mesh networks, [0024] and Fig. 12 show an exemplary wireless network having an STA connected to a wireless gateway controller, as described in [0046], lines 4-7) the method comprising: utilizing the controller to set a plurality of received signal strength intensity (RSSI) thresholds respectively corresponding to a plurality of operating bands of the controller ([0049] and Table describe an example about how the controller can define band-specific RSSI thresholds to optimize the steering of client device (SAT) between different bands such as 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, [0051], lines 8-11 and lines 16-21, describe how to weight the band and how the controller determine which AP to steer a target SAT to “the controller uses the network link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to.” And “The RSSI link threshold is preferably a configurable setting.”), when an RSSI of the STA on at least one currently enabled link of the STA crosses one of the plurality of set thresholds ([ 0043], lines 4-10 states “Wi-Fi performance of client stations (STAs) connected to an AP are monitored by gateway firmware through a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of current STA to AP association. Clients having a poor (low RSSI) AP or STA association are steered to a different AP that has adequate throughput capacity” which implies the RSSI of the SAT may monitored and evaluated as stated in [0049] “When an STA’s associated RSSI link to a particular AP is lower than a configurable value or threshold (e.g. -75 dBm), the GW controller may target that STA to be steered.” Table 1 shows the link metric can be estimated relative the measured band in a given device), performing a calculation to determine respective scores of all currently enabled links of the STA ([0091] and [0066] describe the steering controller can evaluate candidate BSS for a client by calculate delta link quality for each BSS the RSSI estimation process includes measured RSSI from other band + Band Weighing (described previously).“ and [0058] states “A client station STA preferably communicates with a plurality of communicable APs to obtain their received signal strength indication (RSSI) in dBm units, selecting an AP with lowest negative dBm value or highest signal strength to establish communication with the selected AP.” These parts indicates performing computation for the RSSI scores for all enabling links (link quality metrics), then compared with a predefined threshold (e.g., -75 dBm for poor signal quality), as shown in Table 1 and Fig. 4. [0063] and [0078] provides band steering logic, that the controller collects measurements for each band/link on the same AP, including RSSI, traffic levels, and utilization of the channel, and uses them to determine if the STA should be moved to another band. [0004] and [0065] states “Band steering is also provided to optimize channel utilization in a given AP to avoid overloading one band over other band.” That describe the process for determining the best band (steering event) of operation for the STA based on calculations involving metrics like signal strength (RSSI), channel utilization, and other link quality measurements, as illustrated in [0063] lines 1-6), according to the calculation ([0015], “FIG. 4 shows an STA communicating with adjacent APs to determine their RSSI and assess their suitability for AP steering or band steering, or both”, [0057], lines 1-4 states “The gateway controller, upon recognizing a low signal strength for a STA, preferably steers that STA from its currently associated AP to another AP with better link quality (RSSI value)”, and lines 14-22 states “ the gateway controller uses the AP link metric table to determine which AP to steer a target STA to, by eliminating APs with measured and/or estimated links with an RSSI below a configurable, acceptable quality threshold (e.g. -65 dBm). Additionally, the use of AP channel utilization, using an AP channel utilization table, preferably avoids steering an STA to an overly-utilized AP by further eliminating APs with channel utilizations over a configurable, acceptable value (e.g. 75%).” These sections describes how the controller determine the best/better link quality metrics),
Strater does not explicitly teach, but Seok1 teaches determining a best number of spatial streams (NSS) configuration of the STA comprising which antenna of the STA operate on which of the plurality of operating bands ([0035] describes that the SAT supports multi-link functionality to operate on different bands, as shown in Fig. 1. Figs. 3, 6, 9, [0035], lines 12-17 and [0051], states “ the STA MLD may utilize the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate, for each supported link, the combinations of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that a STA (e.g., STA1 or STA2) in STA MLD supports for reception and the combinations that the STA supports for transmission” describe the optimal number of special streams configuration for the SAT that achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching, according to the process as stated in [0009], lines 10-13 “In communicating with the multi-link dynamic antenna switching, the processor receive a transmission from the AP MLD and communicate with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams in response to the receiving. “ This is also indicated in the Abstract, lines 3-6, which states “In response to receiving the transmission, the non-AP STA MLD communicates with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD” to achieve optimum solution as states in [0002], “to extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications”), and whether both antennas are configured on the same operating band or different operating bands (Fig. 1 illustrates multiple antennas are configured to operates with different links, [0052] states “When channel utilization of each link is changed, STA MLD may change its antenna capabilities to the following: (a) R2 receive chains and T2 transmit chains on link 1, and (b) R1 receive chains and T1 transmit chains on link 2”, and claim 15 states “establishing a multi-link operation over a plurality of links between an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) and a non-AP station (STA) MLD which has a constraint on simultaneous transmission and reception (Tx/Rx) on a first link and a second link of the plurality of links; and responsive to a condition being met, changing an antenna configuration of the non-AP STA MLD with respect to one or more receive chains or one or more transmit chains of the non-AP STA MLD between the first link and the second link of the plurality of links.” These parts indicate that the multi antennas can operate in the same or different bands for flexibility [0002]. [0052], lines 1-6 illustrates the switching antenna configuration with the same AP MLD or different AP MLD) and setting the best NSS configuration ([0007] states “The method may also involve communicating with the AP MLD using an increased number of spatial streams with multi-link dynamic antenna switching at the non-AP STA MLD in response to the receiving.” And [0040] states “For the receive chains negotiation procedure, the MU-RTS Trigger may include a User Info field with a spatial stream (SS) Allocation/Random Access (RA)-Resource Unit (RU) Information subfield equal to a requested receive chains (or spatial streams).”and [0040], lines 22-26, [0045] states “ Additionally, the AP MLD may transmit to the STA MLD that enabled its multiple receive chains a PPDU up to the total supported Rx spatial streams of the STA MLD.” These parts indicate that a negotiation included to determine optimal NSS configuration, [0071], lines 7-11), and sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration for the currently enable links (Claim 11 provides that the receiving of the transmission from the AP MLD comprises: transmitting an action frame to the AP MLD indicating whether multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled; and responsive to the action frame indicating that the multi-link dynamic antenna switching is enabled, receiving a group addressed frame from the AP MLD on a first link of a plurality of links, wherein the first link is either implicitly determined as a reception link for the group addressed frame or explicitly indicated in the action frame by a link identifier as the reception link for the group addressed frame. [0048] states “multi-link dynamic antenna switching may be enabled by sending a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame in which a Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching mode field is set to 1 (indicating “Enable”).” which implies sending the action frame for dynamic switching of antenna where the action frame updates the NSS set by signaling as stated “Alternatively, the STA MLD may explicitly signal its group addressed frame reception link (e.g., Link ID thereof) in the Multi-Link Dynamic Antenna Switching action frame.” [0051], lines 1-11 implies that the method allow the SAT to update its antenna configuration/ NSS configuration by sending management frame, [0052], states “In this case, STA MLD may transmit to the AP MLD the Antenna Configuration Switch management frame to indicate the changed transmit and receive chains for each supported link (e.g., link 1 and link 2).” Where the SAT can also send the management frame to indicate the changing in the antenna configuration, including NSS updates as stated in [0051] lines 19-22 and [0066], states “In such case a number of the multiple spatial streams may be up to a number of total supported spatial streams of the non-AP STA MLD for reception.” That confirms the action frame can be used to notify STA to update its NSS configuration for currently enabled link with the same AP, where the enabled links can be different channels/bands [0004] and [0033]), the action frame including the best set NSS configuration ([0074] illustrates the management frame /action frame may include extreme-high-throughput modulation and coding schemes and spatial streams which is determined based on best configuration as stated “In some implementations, the management frame may include an Antenna Configuration Switch management frame that indicates, for each of the first link and the second link: (i) a first combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of a plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding reception, and (ii) a second combination of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that each STA of the plurality of STAs in the non-AP STA MLD supports regarding transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Strater to incorporate the teachings of Seok1 (in analogous art) by sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration, which including the set best NSS configuration to achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications. (Seok1, [0002]).
Regarding claim 26 (original): Strater and Seok1 teach the method of claim 14.
Strater further teaches wherein each RSSI threshold further comprises an offset ([0051], lines 11-16, [0057], lines 4-13, the RSSI thresholds can include offsets, when estimating the RSSI for a different band, an offset referred to as "Band Weighting factor offset" is applied).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok et al. (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, further in view of Seok et al. (US12185286B2) here in referred to as Seok2.
Regarding claim 2 (previously presented): Strater and Seok1 teach the controller of claim 1.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Seok2 teaches wherein the action frame is a Multi User Request to Send (MU-RTS) (Figs. 9 and 10 illustrate examples of using an MU-RTS Trigger/CTS frame exchange, Col. 4, lines 24-27, the MU-RTS frame is used by an Access Point (AP) to solicit simultaneous Clear to Send (CTS) responses from one or more non-AP STAs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the action frame is an MU-RTS frame, which is essential to initiate a transmission opportunity and protect the frame exchanges, as taught by Seok2, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of efficient communication and coordination in wireless networks (Seok2, Col. 14, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 15 (previously presented): Strater and Seok1 teach the method of claim 14.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Seok2 teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the action frame is a Multi User Request to Send (MU-RTS) frame (Figs. 9 and 10 illustrate examples of using an MU-RTS Trigger/CTS frame exchange, Col. 4, lines 24-27, the MU-RTS frame is used by an Access Point (AP) to solicit simultaneous Clear to Send (CTS) responses from one or more non-AP STAs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the action frame is an MU-RTS frame, which is essential to initiate a transmission opportunity and protect the frame exchanges, as taught by Seok2, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of efficient communication and coordination in wireless networks (Seok2, Col. 14, lines 41-44).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok et al. (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, further in view of Lin et al. (US-20240407031-A1).
Regarding claim 3 (original), Strater and Seok1 teach the controller of claim 1.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lin teaches wherein the enabled links are an initial antenna configuration of the STA when the STA joins the mesh network ([0199], lines 1-9 describes set of enable links as the subset of links in which the non-AP MLD (STA) operates in EMLSR mode. And [0187] lines 3-19 states “ the non-AP MLD in the EMLSR mode can receive, on each link through one antenna, an initial control frame sent by the AP MLD in an OFDM PPDU type and a non-HT duplicate PPDU type, and reception of frames of other types is not supported. It should be understood that, when a transmit end uses one antenna for sending on a link, and a receive end also uses one antenna for reception on the link, a 1×1 (one input and one output) antenna configuration is provided for the link. When the transmit end uses two antennas for sending on a link and the receive end also uses two antennas for reception on the link, a 2×2 (two inputs and two outputs) antenna configuration is provided for the link” that implies when the STA joins the network, the set of enable links defines the initial antenna configuration, see also Figs. 9C, 12A and 12B and [0287] which confirm the using of bitmap to determine which links are enabled with the initial configuration of special stream set. Fig. 4, [0004] and [0187] explicitly state “when a transmit end uses one antenna for sending on a link, and a receive end also uses one antenna for reception on the link, a 1×1 (one input and one output) antenna configuration is provided for the link. “ and “after receiving the initial control frame sent by the AP MLD on an EMLSR link, a STA of the non-AP MLD temporarily switches a spatial stream/receive antenna on another link to the EMLSR link to form a 2×2 (2 inputs and 2 outputs) antenna configuration, so as to perform subsequent data transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the enabled links are an initial antenna configuration of the STA when the STA joins the mesh network, as taught by Lin, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 for optimizing the communication in wireless networks, (Lin, [0074], lines 5-9].
Regarding claim 16 (original): Strater and Seok1 teach the method of claim 14.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lin teaches wherein the enabled links are an initial antenna configuration of the STA when the STA joins the mesh network ([0199], lines 1-9 describes set of enable links as the subset of links in which the non-AP MLD (STA) operates in EMLSR mode. And [0187] lines 3-19 states “ the non-AP MLD in the EMLSR mode can receive, on each link through one antenna, an initial control frame sent by the AP MLD in an OFDM PPDU type and a non-HT duplicate PPDU type, and reception of frames of other types is not supported. It should be understood that, when a transmit end uses one antenna for sending on a link, and a receive end also uses one antenna for reception on the link, a 1×1 (one input and one output) antenna configuration is provided for the link. When the transmit end uses two antennas for sending on a link and the receive end also uses two antennas for reception on the link, a 2×2 (two inputs and two outputs) antenna configuration is provided for the link” that implies when the STA joins the network, the set of enable links defines the initial antenna configuration, see also Figs. 9C, 12A and 12B and [0287] which confirm the using of bitmap to determine which links are enabled with the initial configuration of special stream set. Fig. 4, [0004] and [0187] explicitly state “when a transmit end uses one antenna for sending on a link, and a receive end also uses one antenna for reception on the link, a 1×1 (one input and one output) antenna configuration is provided for the link. “ and “after receiving the initial control frame sent by the AP MLD on an EMLSR link, a STA of the non-AP MLD temporarily switches a spatial stream/receive antenna on another link to the EMLSR link to form a 2×2 (2 inputs and 2 outputs) antenna configuration, so as to perform subsequent data transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the enabled links are an initial antenna configuration of the STA when the STA joins the mesh network, as taught by Lin, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 for optimizing the communication in wireless networks, (Lin, [0074], lines 5-9).
Claims 4- 5, 9, 11-12, 17-18, 22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok et al. (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, further in view of Lorgeoux et al., (US-20250016860-A1).
Regarding claim 4 (previously presented) , Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 3.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the STA supports an NSS configuration of 2x2 and (1x1 + 1x1) (Fig. 14 shows the SAT supports the two configurations of NSS and the two links are available, [0010], lines 8-13, [0361], and [0006], lines 4-7, specifically when the EMLMR (Enhanced Multi Link Multi Radio) mode is activated, the STA aggregates antenna resources to operate in a 2x2 MIMO configuration for each radio and when the EMLMR mode is deactivated, the STA operates in a (1x1 + 1x1) configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link, which is directly impact the network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of Enabling faster and seamlessness communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0104], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5 (original), Strater and Seok1 teach the controller of claim 1.
Strater further teaches further arranged to perform a calculation to determine respective scores of all supported links of the STA, and according to the calculation, determine a best band of operation of the NSS configuration (Table 1, [0049] and [0057] state “ The target STA’s RSSI link quality measurements at one band, as noted earlier, may be used to estimate missing RSSI link quality on another band if necessary so as to create a complete AP link metric table for the target STA, by preferably applying a configurable positive weighting factor offset when estimating the target STA’s 2.4 GHz RSSI link quality from 5 GHz link measurements, and applying a configurable negative weighting factor offset when estimating the target STA’s 5 GHz RSSI link quality from 2.4 GHz RSSI link measurements.” And [0051] lines 1-4 state “When STA RSSI measurement in the other band is not available, an estimated link metric can be inferred to be equal to the measured RSSI from the other band (in dBm) plus a Band Weighting. This applies to the AP in the other band for a given device (GW, HNE1, HNE2, etc.), since the link metric can only be estimated relative the measured band in a given device. “ that implies performing the calculation to determining the scores for the available links of the STA with the same AP . [0004] and [0065] states “Band steering is also provided to optimize channel utilization in a given AP to avoid overloading one band over other band.” That describe the process for determining the best band (steering event) of operation for the STA based on calculations involving metrics like signal strength (RSSI), channel utilization, and other link quality measurements, as illustrated in [0063] lines 1-6);
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link ([0012] states “The EML OM Notification frame includes one bit for each of the EMLSR mode and the EMLMR mode, in order to signal which mode is concerned by the activation or deactivation.” [0022] and [0170] describe the activation/deactivation EMLSR or EMLMR modes and EML link Bitmap, where each link associated with a specific AP and operates on different band [0110] and [[0111]. [0113] describes the link ID in the Bitmap for specifying the band. [0131] illustrates the max NSS supported by STA. [0189] and [285] indicate the action frame (EML OM Notification frame) can inform the station (STA) which band value to use with which Number of Spatial Streams (NSS) link by activating or deactivating EMLSR or EMLMR mode and the AP can check whether each link can support the requested NSS during the association, see also [0201], [0225] and [0260]. This process can be applied for both EMLSR and EMLMR as well, as stated in [0064]-[0065], and claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link, which is directly impact the network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of Enabling faster and seamlessness communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0104], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9 (previously presented), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 5.
Strater further teaches wherein the mesh network further comprises an access point (AP) not associated with the STA ([0120], lines 4-5, the mesh network includes access points (APs) that are not associated with a specific client device (STA)), the controller is arranged to define a current RSSI of the STA with the controller ([0056], lines 16-18 and [0071], lines 5-7, the controller collects RSSI data from each AP and STA associated with the network), a current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP ( [0050] lines 5-6, the RSSI for STAs from non-associated AP(s) in the same band may also be available), and a plurality of thresholds respectively associated with operating bands of the AP, [0062], the controller defines a plurality of thresholds and threshold setting that associated with the operating bands of the APs, when the current RSSI of the STA with the controller is less than the current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP ([0049], lines 1-4, “When an STA’s associated RSSI link to a particular AP is lower than a configurable value or threshold (e.g. -75 dBm), the GW controller may target that STA to be steered”), the controller compares the plurality of thresholds respectively associated with operating bands of the AP with the current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP and sends a request instructing the STA to connect to the AP ([ 0057], lines 1-4, and lines 23-28, describe if the non-associated AP meets the criteria defined by these thresholds (e.g., better signal strength and acceptable channel utilization), the controller sends a request to the STA, instructing it to connect to the non-associated AP),
Strater does not explicitly teach, but Seok1 teaches wherein the controller is further arranged to perform a calculation to determine an NSS and band configuration for the STA to be associated with the AP, and includes the information in the request ([0035], lines 3-10 states “FIG. 2 shows a Supported HE-MCS And NSS Set field in a HE Capabilities element, which a STA MLD (e.g., STA 110) may utilize to indicate, for each supported link, the combinations of EHT-modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) and spatial streams that a given STA of a plurality of STAs in the STA MLD supports for reception (Rx) and the combinations of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that the given STA supports for transmission (Tx).”, where HE Capabilities element provide information about bands as stated in [0034]. [0009] lines 14-20 describes the SAT evaluates whether it can meet the requested NSS by dynamic switching available receive/transmit chains from other links, and can include the response for the request as stated in [0042], lines 6-10. The SAT( which includes controller) can determine the number of NSS supported Rx/Tx as stated in [0035], “Additionally, the STA may indicate the total supported Rx/Tx spatial streams for all supported links”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Strater in view of Lorgeoux to incorporate the teachings of Seok1 (in analogous art) by sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration, which including the set best NSS configuration to achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications. (Seok1, [0002]).
Regarding claim 11 (previously presented), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 9.
Strater further teaches wherein when the STA is still associated with the controller, the request is a Basic Service Set (BSS) Transition Management (BTM) request (Figs 22-24, [0007], lines 5-8, states “ Instead 802.11 BSS transition management (BTM) should be the favored over blacklisting when proactively executing client steering if both AP and client are found to support BTM. [0064], lines 8-16 and [0126], lines 2-5, this ordered list may be used to initiate a Basic Service Set (BSS) transition management frame request to verify whether the STA is connected to an AP other band interface, and band steering the STA to a different band of 5 GHz from 2.4 GHz, see also [0151], that implies when the STA is still associated with the controller, with the same AP, the request is a Basic Service Set (BSS) Transition Management (BTM) request).
Regarding claim 17 (original), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 16.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the STA supports an NSS configuration of 2x2 and (1x1 + 1x1) (Fig. 14 shows the SAT supports the two configurations of NSS and the two links are available, [0010], lines 8-13, [0361], and [0006], lines 4-7, specifically when the EMLMR (Enhanced Multi Link Multi Radio) mode is activated, the STA aggregates antenna resources to operate in a 2x2 MIMO configuration for each radio and when the EMLMR mode is deactivated, the STA operates in a (1x1 + 1x1) configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include wherein the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link, which is directly impact the network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of Enabling faster and seamlessness communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0104], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 18 (original), Strater and Seok1 teach the method of claim 14.
Strater further teaches further comprising: performing a calculation to determine respective scores of all supported links of the STA ([0039], lines 9-15, [0051], lines 16-20, and [0134] the controller uses the collected information to perform steering logic calculations and compare them against established thresholds of supported links for steering the STA); and according to the calculation, determining a best band of operation of the NSS configuration ([0133], the process for determining the best band (steering event) of operation for the STA based on calculations involving metrics like signal strength (RSSI), channel utilization, and other link quality measurements);
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link ([0022], [0177], the action frame (EML OM Notification frame) can inform the station (STA) which band value to use with which Number of Spatial Streams (NSS) link by activating or deactivating EMLSR or EMLMR modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include the action frame further informs the STA which band value to use with which NSS link, which is directly impact the network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of Enabling faster and seamlessness communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0104], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 22 (previously presented): Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 18.
Strater further teaches wherein the mesh network further comprises an access point (AP) not associated with the STA ([0120], lines 4-5, the mesh network includes access points (APs) that are not associated with a specific client device (STA)), and the method further comprises: defining a current RSSI of the STA with the controller ([0056], lines 16-18 and [0071], lines 5-7, the controller collects RSSI data from each AP and STA associated with the network), a current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP ( [0050] lines 5-6, the RSSI for STAs from non-associated AP(s) in the same band may also be available), and a plurality of thresholds respectively associated with operating bands of the AP, [0062], the controller defines a plurality of thresholds and threshold setting that associated with the operating bands of the APs, when the current RSSI of the STA with the controller is less than the current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP ([0049, lines 1-4, states “When an STA’s associated RSSI link to a particular AP is lower than a configurable value or threshold (e.g. -75 dBm), the GW controller may target that STA to be steered”), comparing the plurality of thresholds respectively associated with operating bands of the AP with the current RSSI of the STA with the non-associated AP;: and sending the request instructing the STA to connect to the AP ([ 0057], lines 1-4, and lines 23-28, if the non-associated AP meets the criteria defined by these thresholds, comparison process, (e.g., better signal strength and acceptable channel utilization), the controller sends a request to the STA, instructing it to connect to the non-associated AP).
Strater does not explicitly teach, but Seok1 teaches performing a calculation to determine an NSS and band configuration for the STA to be associated with the AP, and including the information in a request ([0035], lines 3-10 states “FIG. 2 shows a Supported HE-MCS And NSS Set field in a HE Capabilities element, which a STA MLD (e.g., STA 110) may utilize to indicate, for each supported link, the combinations of EHT-modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) and spatial streams that a given STA of a plurality of STAs in the STA MLD supports for reception (Rx) and the combinations of EHT-MCSs and spatial streams that the given STA supports for transmission (Tx).”, where HE Capabilities element provide information about bands as stated in [0034] . [0009] lines 14-20 describes the SAT evaluates whether it can meet the requested NSS by dynamic switching available receive/transmit chains from other links, and can include the response for the request as stated in [0042], lines 6-10. The SAT( which includes controller) can determine the number of NSS supported Rx/Tx as stated in [0035], “Additionally, the STA may indicate the total supported Rx/Tx spatial streams for all supported links”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Strater in view of Lorgeoux to incorporate the teachings of Seok1 (in analogous art) by sending an action frame to the STA for informing the STA to update its NSS configuration, which including the set best NSS configuration to achieve extreme-high-throughput (EHT) multi-link dynamic antenna switching in wireless communications. (Seok1, [0002]).
Regarding claim 24 (previously presented): Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 22.
Strater further teaches wherein when the STA is still associated with the controller, the request is a Basic Service Set (BSS) Transition Management (BTM) request ([0007], lines 5-8, [0064], lines 8-16 and [0126], lines 2-5, this ordered list may be used to initiate a Basic Service Set (BSS) transition management frame request to verify whether the STA is connected to an AP other band interface, and band steering the STA to a different band of 5 GHz from 2.4 GHz).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok et al. (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, in view of Lorgeoux et al., US20250016860A1 and further in view of Guo et al., US20230209536A1 and Lin et al. US 20240407031 Al.
Regarding claim 6 (previously presented): Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 5.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the action frame is an operating mode notification frame (Fig. 12 shows the reverse operation mode notification frame [0376], lines 6-10, the AP MLD can propose modifying an active EML Operating Mode by sending an EML OM Notification frame to the non-AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include for instructing the AP to send an EMLSR BTM request to the STA, which is essential for optimizing wireless network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of efficient communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0095, lines 4-6).
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Guo teaches which sets a bit in a reserved field of an Extremely High Throughput (EHT) Action field to indicate the action frame is sent from the controller to the STA (Figs. 12 [0182], and Fig. 16, [0186], [0334], lines 1-8, [0315], lines 3-6, the control field, which is a part of the traffic identifier-to-link mapping information element in the EHT action frame, can be used to indicate the direction of traffic, the field length may be 1 or 2 bits), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include sets a bit in a reserved field of an EHT Action field to indicate the frame is sent from the controller to the STA, which is essential to update the traffic to mapping relationship (Guo, [0339]), as taught by Guo, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux , for efficient communication in wireless networks.
Strater, Seok1, Lorgeoux and Guo do not explicitly teach, but Lin teaches and the NSS configuration and operating band value information are written in an Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) link bitmap section of an EML control field of the action frame (Figs. 9 a, b and c, [0255], and [0281], lines 16-23, the EML control field may include additional information, such as the transceiving capability of the link available in the EMLSR non-AP MLD, represented by the Supported EHT-MCS (Modulation and Coding Strategy) and NSS Set subfield, which is part of the EML control field. This subfield details the available links' spatial stream configuration and operating band values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux in view of Guo to include the NSS configuration and operating band value information are written in an EMLSR link bitmap section of an EML control field of the action frame, to update the AP about current operational status of non AP to mapping relationship (Lin, [0074], lines 5-9]), as taught by Lin, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux in view of Guo , for optimizing the communication in wireless networks.
Regarding claim 19 (currently amended): Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 18.
Strater and Seok1 do not explicitly teach, but Lorgeoux teaches wherein the action frame is an operating mode notification frame (Fig. 12 shows the reverse operation mode notification frame [0376], lines 6-10, the AP MLD can propose modifying an active EML Operating Mode by sending an EML OM Notification frame to the non-AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 to include for instructing the AP to send an EMLSR BTM request to the STA, which is essential for optimizing wireless network performance, as taught by Lorgeoux, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1, for the purpose of efficient communication between multi-link devices (Lorgeoux , [0095, lines 4-6).
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Guo teaches which sets a bit in a reserved field of an Extremely High Throughput (EHT) Action field to indicate the action frame is sent from the controller to the STA (Figs. 12 [0182], and Fig. 16, [0186], [0334], lines 1-8, [0315], lines 3-6, the control field, which is a part of the traffic identifier-to-link mapping information element in the EHT action frame, can be used to indicate the direction of traffic, the field length may be 1 or 2 bits), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include sets a bit in a reserved field of an EHT Action field to indicate the frame is sent from the controller to the STA, which is essential to update the traffic to mapping relationship (Guo, [0339]), as taught by Guo, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux , for efficient communication in wireless networks.
Strater, Seok1, Lorgeoux and Guo do not explicitly teach, but Lin teaches and the step of sending the action frame comprises writing NSS configuration and operating band value information in Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) link bitmap section of an EML control field of the action frame (Figs. 9 a, b and c, [0255], and [0281], lines 16-23, the EML control field may include additional information, such as the transceiving capability of the link available in the EMLSR non-AP MLD, represented by the Supported EHT-MCS (Modulation and Coding Strategy) and NSS Set subfield, which is part of the EML control field. This subfield details the available links' spatial stream configuration and operating band values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux in view of Guo to include the NSS configuration and operating band value information are written in an EMLSR link bitmap section of an EML control field of the action frame, to update the AP about current operational status of non AP to mapping relationship (Lin, [0074], lines 5-9]), as taught by Lin, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux in view of Guo , for optimizing the communication in wireless networks.
Claims 7, 8, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strater et al. (US 20230127459A1) in view of Seok et al. (US-20210377928-A1) here in referred to as Seok1, in view of Lorgeoux et al., US20250016860A1, further in view of Chennichetty (US-11395186-B2).
Regarding claim 7 (original), Strater, Seok1 , and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 5.
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Chennichetty teaches wherein when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, the NSS configuration will be upgraded from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band (Col. 34, lines 40-45, and 21-25, Col.8, lines 63-68, Band steering/switching 243 as shown in Fig. 2, which is refers to the process of selectively steering wireless devices between different frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz) within a multi-access point (AP) environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include wherein when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, the NSS configuration will be upgraded from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band, which is help to distribute the traffic across multiple bands, as taught by Chennichetty, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux, for the purpose of efficient of wireless network resources (Chennichetty, Col. 7, lines 54-58).
Regarding claim 8 (original), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the controller of claim 5.
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Chennichetty teaches wherein when an RSSI of the STA is less than one of the RSSI thresholds (Monitored traffic flow, Fig. 6, outlines the decision of steering process by monitoring the level of the RSSI values and the channel utilization which is depend on the NSS that supported by STA), the NSS configuration of the STA will be changed from a 2x2 on a higher operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 1x1 on the higher operating band and a 1x1 on a lower operating band (Col. 34, lines 21-25, and 40-45, band steering to another AP or frequency band or both, which is refers to the process of selectively steering wireless devices between different frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz, or 6 GHz) within a multi-access point (AP) environment, Col. 7, 25-39 and Col. 8, lines 63-68, the steering can be from the high frequency band, 5 GHz, to the lower frequency band, 2.4 GHz, Col. 9, lines 28-32, and Col. 20, lines 54-56, or may be switching to Single-User MIMO (SU-MIMO) to continued communication without compromising quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include wherein when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, the NSS configuration will be upgraded from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band, which is help to distribute the traffic across multiple bands, as taught by Chennichetty, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux, for the purpose of efficient of wireless network resources (Chennichetty, Col. 7, lines 54-58).
Regarding claim 20 (original), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 18.
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Chennichetty teaches when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, upgrading the NSS configuration from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band. (Col. 34, lines 40-45, and 21-25, Col.8, lines 63-68, Band steering, which is refers to the process of selectively steering wireless devices between different frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz, or 6 GHz) within a multi-access point (AP) environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include wherein when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, the NSS configuration will be upgraded from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band, which is help to distribute the traffic across multiple bands, as taught by Chennichetty, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux, for the purpose of efficient of wireless network resources (Chennichetty, Col. 7, lines 54-58).
Regarding claim 21 (original), Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux teach the method of claim 18.
Strater, Seok1 and Lorgeoux do not explicitly teach, but Chennichetty teaches when an RSSI of the STA is less than one of the RSSI thresholds (Monitored traffic flow, Fig. 6, outlines the decision of steering process by monitoring the level of the RSSI values and the channel utilization which is depend on the NSS that supported by STA), changing the NSS configuration of the STA from a 2x2 on a higher operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 1x1 on the higher operating band and a 1x1 on a lower operating band (Col. 34, lines 21-25, and 40-45, band steering to another AP or frequency band or both, which is refers to the process of selectively steering wireless devices between different frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz, or 6 GHz) within a multi-access point (AP) environment, Col. 7, 25-39 and Col. 8, lines 63-68, the steering can be from the high frequency band, 5 GHz, to the lower frequency band, 2.4 GHz, Col. 9, lines 28-32, and Col. 20, lines 54-56, or may be switching to Single-User MIMO (SU-MIMO) to continued communication without compromising quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux to include wherein when an RSSI of the STA exceeds one of the RSSI thresholds, the NSS configuration will be upgraded from a 2x2 on a lower operating band corresponding to the RSSI threshold to a 2x2 on a higher operating band, which is help to distribute the traffic across multiple bands, as taught by Chennichetty, in combination with the system of Strater in view of Seok1 in view of Lorgeoux, for the purpose of efficient of wireless network resources (Chennichetty, Col. 7, lines 54-58).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.: Wang et al (US20230319722A1), Kneckt et al. (US-20220417809-A1), Wen et al. (US-20240098527-A1), Aggarwal et al. (US-8798034-B2), and Lee et al. (US-10306557-B2) teach methods involved optimized steering bands for a station in a wireless network.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463