DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed July 6, 2026, have been entered.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 4/6/26 have been withdrawn:
The objection to claims 14, 17, and 18 due to minor informalities has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/118728, has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-19 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/621222 (reference application); or claims 1-20 of 18/621236, has been withdrawn due to the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. With respect to instant claims 9, 12, and 16, these claims are dependent upon instant claim 1, wherein instant claim 1 recites “an alkyl chain that has a mol fraction of C12 and C13 chains of at least 90%”, “wherein the alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant comprises a mixture of linear and branched alkyl sulfated anionic surfactants”, and “about 15% to about 35% by weight of the surfactant system of a cosurfactant” (which equates to a lower limit of 0.75% of the cosurfactant based on the total weight of the composition); instant claims 9, 12, and 16 recite “wherein the alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant has an alkyl chain comprising an average of from 8 to 18 carbon atoms”, “wherein the alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant is linear”, and a lower limit of 0.1% for the cosurfactant, respectively, which do not further limit instant claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/118728 in view of Sivik et al (US 2023/0045856).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘728 teaches a cleaning composition that includes, in one embodiment, an alkoxylated polyethylenimine in an amount of from 0.01 to 20 wt.%. The cleaning composition also includes lactic acid in an amount of from 0.1 to 20 wt.%. The cleaning composition further includes a surfactant actives component in an amount of at least 20 wt.%. The surfactant actives component includes an anionic surfactant. Each wt.% is based on a total weight of the cleaning composition. In further embodiments, the surfactant actives component of the cleaning composition consists essentially of an anionic surfactant in an amount of from 5 to 20 wt.%, a betaine in an amount of from 0.1 to 7 wt.%, and a nonionic surfactant in an amount of from 1 to 20 wt.% with the proviso that the total wt.% of the anionic surfactant, the betaine, and the nonionic surfactant is in an amount of at least 20 wt.%. See para. 10. The surfactants can be in various ratios relative to one another, provided that each of the surfactants are individually present within their respective ranges. The anionic surfactant can include or be any of the surfactants commonly classified as anionic surfactants. These surfactants can include the alkali metal, ammonium, and magnesium salts of the alpha olefin sulfonates, alkyl sulfonates, alkyl aryl sulfonates, alkyl aryl ether sulfates, alkyl sulfates, alkyl ether sulfates, sulfated alcohols, and sulfated alcohol ethoxylates, taurates, petroleum sulfonates, alkyl naphthalene sulfonates, alkyl sarcosinates, and the alkyl sulfosuccinates in which the alkyl group is a long chain 8 to 22, more typically 10 to 18, carbon atom group and the aryl group is typically phenyl or naphthyl. See para. 33. Typical anionic surfactants include sodium lauryl sulfonate, ammonium lauryl sulfonate, ammonium lauryl sulfate, dodecyl benzene sulfonate, linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (i.e., "LAS" or "LAS acid"), sodium lauryl sulfate (i.e., "SLS"), sodium laureth sulfate, sodium lauryl ether sulfate (i.e., "SLES"), sodium lauryl myristyl sulfate, diethanolamine lauryl sulfate, ammonium salts of sulfated alcohol ethoxylates, sodium cocoyl isethionate, sodium N-methyl-N-oleyl taurate, sodium N methyl-N-cocoyl taurate, triethanolamine lauryl sulfate, etc., and mixtures thereof. See para. 34. The anionic surfactant is typically present in the surfactant actives component of the cleaning composition in an amount of from 1 to 99, 1 to 35, 1 to 30, 1 to 25, 5 to 20, 8 to 17, or 10 to 15, wt.%, each based on a total weight of the cleaning composition, or any value or range of values therebetween. See para. 39.
Examples of suitable betaines can include alkyl betaines, alkylamidobetaine, amidazoliniumbetaine, sulfobetaine (INCI Sultaines) as well as the phosphobetaine, ricinoleamidopropyl betaine, cocamidopropyl betaine, oleyl betaine, stearyl betaine, cocoamidopropyl hydroxy sultaine, lauric myristic betaine, cocoamidosulfobetaine, alkylamidophospho betaine, algal oil betaine, and combinations thereof. In specific embodiments, the betaine comprises, consists essentially of, consists of, or is, a cocoamido alkyl betaine, such as a cocoamido propyl betaine. See para. 41. the betaine is typically present in the surfactant actives component of the cleaning composition in an amount of from 0.1 to 99, from 0.1 to 7, from 0.1 to 5, from 0.5 to 5, or from 1 to 3, wt.%, each based on a total weight of the cleaning composition, or any value or range of values there between. See para. 42. Suitable nonionic surfactants can include an alkyl polyglycoside (i.e., an "APG") such as APGs having the general formula II: R O(R O) (Z)a (II) wherein R is a generally monovalent organic radical having from 6 to 30 carbon atoms, R is generally a divalent alkylene radical having from 2 to 4 carbon atoms, Z is generally a saccharide residue having 5 or 6 carbon atoms, b is generally a number having a value of from 0 to 12, and a is generally a number having a value of from 1 to 6. Other types of APGs can also be utilized. See para. 46. Specifically, the cleaning composition typically has a pH of no greater than 4, of no greater than 3.5, or no greater than 3, or a pH of from 1 to 4, 2 to 4, 2.5 to 3.5, 2.8 to 3.5, 2.8 to 3.2, or 3. See para. 70.
‘728 does not teach the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants or a composition having a pH less than about 5, the composition containing an anionic surfactant which is a specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants, a cosurfactant such as a betaine surfactant, lactic acid, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Sivik et al teach a liquid hand dishwashing detergent composition containing
cationic poly alpha-1 ,6-glucan ether compound, methods of making the liquid hand dishwashing detergent compositions, and methods of using said liquid hand dishwashing detergent compositions, which provide improved rinsing, solution feel, and finished product viscosity control. See Abstract. The liquid cleaning composition comprises from 5.0% to 50%, preferably from 6.0% to 40%, most preferably
from 15% to 35%, by weight of the total composition of a surfactant system. See para. 19. The surfactant system comprises an anionic surfactant. The surfactant system can comprise at least 50%, preferably from 60% to 90%, more preferably from 65% to
85% by weight of the surfactant system of the anionic surfactant. The surfactant system is preferably free of fatty acid or salt thereof, since such fatty acids impede the
generation of suds. Suitable anionic surfactants can be selected from the group consisting of: alkyl sulphate surfactant, alkyl sulphonate surfactant, alkyl sulphosuccinate and dialkyl sulphosuccinate ester surfactants, and mixtures thereof. The anionic surfactant can comprise at least 70%, preferably at least 85%, more preferably 100% by weight of the anionic surfactant of alkyl sulphate anionic surfactant. The alkyl chain of the alkyl sulphate anionic surfactant can have a mol fraction of C12 and C13 chains of at least 50%, preferably at least 65%, more preferably at least 80%, most preferably at least 90%. The alkyl sulphate anionic surfactant can have a weight average degree of branching of at least 10%, preferably from 20% to 60%, more preferably from 30% to 50%. See paras. 19-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants as recited by the instant claims in the composition taught by ‘728, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Sivik et al teach the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants as recited by the instant claims in a similar composition and further, ‘728 teaches the use of anionic surfactants and specifically, alkyl sulfate surfactants in general.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition having pH less than about 5, the composition containing the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants, a cosurfactant such as a betaine surfactant, lactic acid, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘728 in view of Sivik et al suggest a composition having pH less than about 5, the composition containing the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants, a cosurfactant such as a betaine surfactant, lactic acid, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
Note that, Applicant’s arguments are moot since the prior art rejection(s) set forth in the Office action mailed August 22, 2024, have been withdrawn and a new ground(s) of rejection has been made, as set forth above, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. Sivik et al has been relied upon as secondary reference, as set forth above, for its teaching of the specific mixture of linear and branched C12/C13 alkyl sulfate surfactants as recited by the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/September 1, 2026