DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 August 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azuma et al., DE 19741225 A1 (see also English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Azuma et al. disclose a wiper blade comprising: a blade (1) having an outer surface (outer surface of 1, Figures 1 and 4) and terminating in a lip tip (unlabeled, see Figures 1-4); and a permanent silicone outer coating (4) derived from an aqueous elastomeric organopolysiloxane emulsion bonded to at least the lip tip (Figure 4; see English translation paragraph beginning “The organosilicone elastomer of the present invention contains…”, an organosilicone elastomer containing organosiloxane bindings). Regarding claims 2-3, the wiper blade is formed of natural rubber or chloroprene rubber (see English translation, also referred to as NR and CR). Regarding claim 6, the permanent silicone outer covering covers at least one portion of the outer surface of the blade (Figures 1 and 4). Regarding claim 7, the at least one portion of the outer surface of the blade is a lip side, a neck, a head portion, or a combination (Figures 1 and 4). Regarding claims 9-10, the wiper blade further comprises a particulate filler embedded in the permanent silicone outer coating that includes graphite, carbon, boron nitride, polytetrafluoroethylene, and molybdenum disulfide (see English translation). Regarding claim 11, there is residual solvent from the liquid silicone composition (see English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta et al., JP 2012-140090 A (see also English translation) in view of Ikeno, EP 2009059 A2.
Regarding claim 1, Furuta et al. disclose a wiper blade (1) comprising: a blade (2) having an outer surface (outer surface of 2, Figure 1) and terminating in a lip tip (at 6); and a permanent silicone outer coating derived from a liquid silicone rubber bonded to at least the lip tip (coating 4, coating at 6a and 6b; see English translation that states “Various silicone rubbers can be used…liquid silicone rubber is preferable in terms of processing the water-repellent layer 4”). Regarding claim 6, the permanent silicone outer covering covers at least one portion of the outer surface of the blade (Figure 1). Regarding claim 7, the at least one portion of the outer surface of the blade is a lip side (Figure 1, at 6a and 6b). Regarding claims 9-10, the wiper blade further comprises a particulate filler embedded in the permanent silicone outer coating that includes graphite (see English translation discussion of graphite and its particle size). Regarding claim 11, there is residual solvent from the liquid silicone composition (see English translation discussion of “reaction mechanism”, alcohol type). Regarding claim 12, the wiper blade further comprises a silicone oil in combination with a lubricant particulate (see English translation, particulate is graphite). Futura et al. fails to disclose that the permanent silicone outer covering is derived from (A) an organopolysiloxane containing at least two silicon bonded alkenyl radicals per molecule, an organohydrogen polysiloxane containing Si-H radicals, an addition reaction catalyst, an organosilicon compound containing epoxy and alkoxy radicals or (B) an aqueous elastomeric organopolysiloxane emulsion.
The applicant’s specification paragraph [0025] discusses a conventional liquid silicone rubber coating composition derived from an organopolysiloxane containing at least two silicon bonded alkenyl radicals per molecule, an organohydrogen polysiloxane containing Si-H radicals, an addition reaction catalyst, an organosilicon compound containing epoxy and alkoxy radicals. The specification points to EP 2009059 (Ikeno et al.) as teaching this.
Ikeno et al. teach a liquid silicone rubber used to form a silicone rubber coating (paragraph [0001]) and the silicone outer covering is derived from an organopolysiloxane containing at least two silicon bonded alkenyl radicals per molecule, an organohydrogen polysiloxane containing Si-H radicals, an addition reaction catalyst, an organosilicon compound containing epoxy and alkoxy radicals (paragraph [0008]). The silicone rubber coating has advantages including providing an excellent uniform and thin coating (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to derive the permanent silicone outer coating of Futura et al. with one derived from an organopolysiloxane containing at least two silicon bonded alkenyl radicals per molecule, an organohydrogen polysiloxane containing Si-H radicals, an addition reaction catalyst, an organosilicon compound containing epoxy and alkoxy radicals as taught by Ikeno et al. as being excellent in forming a thin and uniform coating.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta et al., JP 2012-140090 A (see also English translation) and Ikeno et al., EP 2009059 A2 as applied to claim 1 in view of Fang, WO 2020/232323.
Furuta et al. and Ikeno et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however does not specify a dimension for the thickness of the outer coating.
Fang teaches a wiper blade comprising a blade having an outer surface and a silicone outer coating that is water repellent (see paragraph [0019]) that is bonded to the outer surface, the outer coating having a thickness of between 0.05 and 3 millimeters (range of 0.5 to 500 microns or 0.005 to 0.5 mm, see claim 13) as being a suitable thickness for an outer coating.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the outer coating of Furuta et al. and Ikeno et al. to be a thickness between 0.05 and 3 millimeters, as Fang teaches, so that the outer layer is suitably thick to prevent wear over time and to achieve the water repelling characteristics of the outer coating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Azuma et al., DE 19741225 A1 and Ikeno et al., EP 2009059 A2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg