DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim(s)
Generic Placeholder or “means for”
Functional Language
Corresponding Structure
4
a measurement “unit”
as at least one of a three-phase leakage current measurement unit configured to clamp the wirings for the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection together
No corresponding structure could be found in the specification
6
a three-phase leakage current measurement “unit”
configured to clamp the wirings for the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection together
No corresponding structure could be found in the specification
6
a measurement “unit” of the first measurement device
functions as the three-phase leakage current measurement unit
No corresponding structure could be found in the specification
6
a measurement “unit” of the second measurement device
functions as the single-phase leakage current measurement unit
No corresponding structure could be found in the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform each of the claimed functions cited above in the column of the 112(f) grid entitled “Functional Language” for each of the respective placeholders.
The specification with regards to “a measurement unit” (claim 4, lines 1-2), “a three-phase leakage current measurement unit” (claim 4, Lines 2-3), “a measurement unit of the first measurement device” (claim 6, line 4), and “a measurement unit of the first measurement device” (claim 6, line 6) does not demonstrate that the application has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations:
“a measurement unit” (claim 4, lines 1-2)
“a three-phase leakage current measurement unit” (claim 4, Lines 2-3)
“a measurement unit of the first measurement device” (claim 6, line 4)
“a measurement unit of the first measurement device” (claim 6, line 6)
invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Because the amplifier device has no structure in the specification that matches the said amplifier device, it is unclear as to what the amplifier device is because the metes and bounds of said unit cannot be ascertained with certainty.
Because the evaluation device has no structure in the specification that matches the said evaluation device, it is unclear as to what the evaluation device is because the metes and bounds of said unit cannot be ascertained with certainty.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 5-6 are also subsequently rejected due to their dependency on Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeya (JP JP2011153910A, cited in IDS, heretofore referred to as Takeya).
Regarding claim 1, Takeya teaches a measurement method (Takeya; Par 0013) comprising: acquiring a three-phase leakage current (Takeya; Fig 2, Element I0 connected to Element 16) measured by clamping wirings for three phases (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 9) in three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 16 and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches measuring the zero phase leakage current in the system); acquiring a single-phase leakage current (Takeya; Fig 2, Element I0 connected to Element 16s) measured by clamping wirings for two phases (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 9) whose midpoint being grounded (Takeya; Fig 2, Element G), of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 16s and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches measuring the zero phase leakage current in the system); calculating, based on the three-phase leakage current and the single-phase leakage current, a resistance component of a leakage current flowing through a wiring for each of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Par 0046-0049; Takeya teaches calculating the leakage resistances ru, rv, and rw corresponding to the three phases); and outputting a measurement result of the resistance component of the leakage current flowing through the wiring for each of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 15 and Par 0047; Takeya teaches outputting the results to a display).
Regarding claim 2, Takeya teaches the measurement method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring of the three-phase leakage current and the acquiring of the single-phase leakage current are performed in parallel (Takeya; Par 0027; Takeya teaches the system is connected in parallel for measurements).
Regarding claim 3, Takeya teaches a measurement device (Takeya; Fig 2 and Par 0013) configured to: acquire a three-phase leakage current (Takeya; Fig 2, Element I0 connected to Element 16) measured by clamping wirings for three phases (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 9) in three-phase different capacity connection together (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 16 and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches measuring the zero phase leakage current in the system), and a single-phase leakage current (Takeya; Fig 2, Element I0 connected to Element 16s) measured by clamping wirings for two grounded phases (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 9) whose midpoint being grounded (Takeya; Fig 2, Element G), of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 16s and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches measuring the zero phase leakage current in the system); calculate, based on the three-phase leakage current and the single-phase leakage current, a resistance component of a leakage current flowing through a wiring for each of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Par 0046-0049; Takeya teaches calculating the leakage resistances ru, rv, and rw corresponding to the three phases); and output a measurement result of the resistance component of the leakage current flowing through the wiring for each of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Fig 2, Element 15 and Par 0047; Takeya teaches outputting the results to a display).
Regarding claim 4, Takeya teaches the measurement device according to claim 3, comprising a measurement unit that functions as at least one of a three-phase leakage current measurement unit configured to clamp the wirings for the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection together (Takeya; Fig 2, Elements 9, 16, and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches a measuring loop and controller for the three phase wiring), or a single-phase leakage current measurement unit configured to clamp the wirings for the two grounded phases (Takeya; Fig 2, Elements 9s, 16s, and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches a measuring loop and controller for the two phase wiring).
Regarding claim 5, Takeya teaches the measurement device according to claim 4, comprising both of the three-phase leakage current measurement unit and the single-phase leakage current measurement unit, as the measurement unit (Takeya; Fig 1, Elements 9, 16, and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches a measuring loop and controller for the may be combined for both wirings).
Regarding claim 6, Takeya teaches a measurement system comprising the measurement device according to claim 4 as each of first and second measurement devices, wherein a measurement unit of the first measurement device functions as the three-phase leakage current measurement unit (Takeya; Fig 2, Elements 9, 16, and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches a measuring loop and controller for the three phase wiring), a measurement unit of the second measurement device functions as the single-phase leakage current measurement unit (Takeya; Fig 2, Elements 9s, 16s, and Par 0047-0048; Takeya teaches a measuring loop and controller for the two phase wiring), and a processor of any one of the first measurement device or the second measurement device calculates a resistance component of a leakage current flowing through a wiring for each of the three phases in the three-phase different capacity connection (Takeya; Par 0046-0049; Takeya teaches calculating the leakage resistances ru, rv, and rw corresponding to the three phases with either 16 or 16s from the measurement unit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Schaefer et al teaches a method for measuring the leakage resistance.
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858