Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, line 3, the phrase “the first through hole” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “a first through hole of the multiple through holes” is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2012/057434A1.
As to claim 1, WO’434 teaches (see Figs 1-2 and 7-8 and English Translation pages 1-10) a coating die (1), configured to apply a liquid coating material (capable of being a slurry) on a substrate, wherein the coating die (1) comprises: a die body (3, 4, 5), provided with a discharging outlet (17, see Fig 2); and a rectifying mechanism (see Fig 1), provided with a feeding inlet (2) and a branching channel (see branching stages 9,10 &11), wherein the feeding inlet (2) is configured for injecting the coating liquid, the branching channel (9, 10 & 11) communicates with the feeding inlet and is provided with multiple branching openings (see Fig 1 for openings between modules 3&4 and 4&5), and the rectifying mechanism is exposed to the outside of the die body and is detachably connected to the die body (see Fig 5), so that the multiple branching openings communicate with the discharging outlet (see Figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, WO’434 teaches the die body (modules 3, 4, 5) is provided with a mounting hole, and the rectifying mechanism (see Fig 5 for the holes on each module) is at least partially accommodated inside the mounting hole and connected to the die body.
As to claim 3, WO’434 teaches the die body (modules 3, 4, 5) is provided with a support wall, the support wall being located at the bottom of the mounting hole (see Fig 5 for the inlet and outlet holes on each module) and used for supporting the rectifying mechanism; and the support wall is provided with multiple first through holes (see Fig 5 for the holes on each module), and each of the branching openings (see Fig 5 for the holes on each module) communicates with the discharging outlet (nozzle tip member 12) through at least two of the first through holes (see branch portion 8, see Figs 1 &5).
As to claim 7, WO’434 teaches the rectifying mechanism comprises a first plate and a second plate that are stacked (see Figs 5-7), wherein the first plate (first module 3) comprises multiple first flow channels spaced apart, each first flow channel forming the branching opening on surface of the first plate facing away from the second plate (second module); the second plate is provided with a second flow channel and the feeding inlet (2), the second flow channel being configured to communicate the feeding inlet with the multiple first flow channels (see Figs 1 and 5); and the branching channel comprises the multiple first flow channels and the second flow channel (see Figs 1 and 5).
As to claim 8, WO’434 the first flow channel forms a first opening on surface of the first plate facing the second plate, the first opening being configured to communicate with the second flow channel (see Figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, WO’434 teaches the first plate and the second plate are detachably connected (see Fig 5).
As to claim 10, WO’434 the rectifying mechanism further comprises a third plate provided between the first plate (first module 3) and the second plate (second plate 4), wherein the third plate (third module 5) is provided with multiple third flow channels spaced apart, each of the third flow channels communicating at least two of the first flow channels with the second flow channel; and the branching channel comprises the multiple third flow channels (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, in WO’434 (see Fig 7) the rectifying mechanism further comprises a fourth plate (12) provided between the third plate (5) and the second plate (4), wherein the fourth plate (12) is provided with multiple fourth flow channels spaced apart, each of the fourth flow channels communicating at least two of the third flow channels with the second flow channel; and the branching channel comprises the multiple fourth flow channels (see Fig 7).
As to claim 12, WO’434 teaches the multiple branching openings are arranged with equal gaps along a first direction (see Figs 1, 5 and 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2012/057434A1 in view of WO 2020/029409A1 and CN 110064560A.
The device disclosed by WO’434 is capable of being used to coat a battery electrode plate. In any event, WO’409 teaches a battery electrode plate coating apparatus having a coating die for applying a slurry on a substrate (see English Translation of Description under Embodiment 1). CN’560 also teaches a coating die preparation technology field of lithium-ion battery (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coating die in coating a battery electrode plate since the use of a coating die used for coating an electrode plate is well known in the art in manufacturing an electrode plate wherein an electrode active material is laminated on the surface of a current collector as taught by WO’409 (see English Translation of Background Art and Description under Embodiment 1).
Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 4-6, WO’409 teaches flow valve assembly regulating intermittent switching flow or block flow passage (see Fig 2 and Description under Embodiment 1). However, WO’409 does not teach a regulating mechanism configured to block the first through hole, wherein the regulating mechanism is movably connected to the die body to regulate an area of a first through hole of the multiple through holes blocked by the regulating mechanism. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a coating die, configured to apply a slurry on a substrate, wherein the coating die comprises, among others, a die body, a rectifying mechanism, provided with a feeding inlet and a branching channel, wherein the die body is provided with a mounting hole and a support hole, the support wall provided with multiple first through holes as claimed (see claims 1-3), wherein the die body further comprise of a regulating mechanism, wherein the regulating mechanism configured to block a first through hole of the multiple first through holes, and wherein the regulating mechanism is movably connected to the die body to regulate an area of the first through hole blocked by the regulating mechanism.
Regarding claims 13-14, WO’434 teaches having a sectional view of a nozzle (see Fig 1 view taken along the line AA) wherein the left and right sections arranged opposite each other capable of being considered as first and second die, wherein the multiple branching openings are arranged opposite the first converging cavity along the second direction, but lacks teaching a gasket provided between the first die and the second die, the first die is provided with a first converging cavity and the rectifying mechanism mounted on the second die. CN’560 also teaches the die body comprises a first die, a second die, wherein the first die facing the second die and a gasket (111, 112), the gasket is provided between the first die and the second die to form the discharging outlet between the first die and the second die. However, the first die is provided with a first converging cavity, wherein the first converging cavity is recessed on surface of the first die facing the second die, and the first converging cavity is configured to communicate the multiple branching openings with the discharging outlet; and a rectifying mechanism mounted on the second die is not taught in CN’560. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a coating die, configured to apply a slurry on a substrate, wherein the coating die comprises, among others, a die body, a rectifying mechanism, provided with a feeding inlet and a branching channel, wherein the feeding inlet is configured for injecting the slurry, the branching channel provided with multiple branching openings as claimed (see claim 1) wherein the die body is provided with a first die, a second die, and a gasket, wherein the first die and the second die are arranged opposite each other along a second direction, and the gasket is provided between the first die and the second die to form the discharging outlet between the first die and the second die; the first die is provided with a first converging cavity, wherein the first converging cavity is recessed on surface of the first die facing the second die, and the first converging cavity is configured to communicate the multiple branching openings with the discharging outlet; and the rectifying mechanism is mounted on the second die.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Winstead (US 2,734,224) teaches a die body provided with branch channels and openings (see Fig 1).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/