Response to Arguments
The objection to the Drawing, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 10/22/2025 has been maintained because applicant’s argument in the remarks page 7 filed on 2/23/2026, that, “The element boxes in FIGS. 4 and 5 are labeled with numerical references and those references are discussed in the specification. Applicant therefore requests the Examiner to withdraw this objection to the drawings” is not persuasive. Figures 4-5 only shows boxes and number. Although the limitation is explained in the specification figure also requires a short description of the devices for example the name of the elements. Therefore, the objection to the drawing is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-11, filed 2/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos ‘322 A1 in view of Yudahira in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060071618 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-11, of the remarks, filed on 2/23/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos ‘322 A1 in view of Yudahira in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060071618 A1, that “In contrast Tzivanopoulos does not teach or suggest the aforementioned recitation. ………
(See paragraph [0046]). 153, 154 in Tzivanopoulos are merely switches and they do not generate and inject excitation signal. Hence, does not teach or suggest: (a) a plurality of exciters connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit, and when triggered, is configured to generate and inject excitation signal having a predetermined frequency and amplitude at an associated first node in a test circuit (Remarks-Page 8).
………
(See paragraph [0047]). 150, 160 in Tzivanopoulos are monitoring circuits that includes shunt resistors, voltage sources. Monitoring circuits 150, 160 of Tzivanopoulos do not monitor anything. Rather, evaluation unit 90 merely monitors a current flowing through the shunt resistors of monitoring circuits 150, 160. Tzivanopoulos does not disclose detecting a peak value. Hence, Tzivanopoulos does not teach or suggest: (b) triggering a plurality of detectors connected at a plurality of second nodes around the plurality of contactors of the test circuit, the plurality of detectors, when triggered, is configured to: detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node (Remarks-Page 9).
……………….
Nowhere does Tzivanopoulos discloses peak value or comparing a peak value to a predetermined value. Therefore Tzivanopoulos fails to teach or suggest: (c) that the plurality of detectors, when triggered, is configured to: compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value, and provide a digital output by comparing the peak value with a predetermined value.
In addition, Tzivanopoulos do not teach or suggest: (d) a controller that is configured to: trigger each of the plurality of exciters and each of the plurality of detectors, receive the digital output from each of the plurality of detectors, and determine that a status of a subset of a plurality of contactors of the test circuit based on the digital output received from the plurality of detectors. Furthermore, Yudahira does not overcome Tzivanopoulos's deficiencies as Yudahira does not teach or suggest the aforementioned recitations nor does the Examiner contends that it does (Remarks-Page 10). Similar argument for independent claims 10 and 17.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-11, of the remarks, filed on 2/23/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos ‘322 A1 in view of Yudahira in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060071618 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/22/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “a plurality of exciters connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit, wherein each of the plurality of exciters, when triggered, is configured to generate and inject excitation signal having a predetermined frequency and amplitude at an associated first node in the test circuit; a plurality of detectors connected at a plurality of second nodes around the plurality of contactors of the test circuit, wherein each of the plurality of detectors, when triggered, is configured to: detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node, compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value”, which overcomes the present rejection of claims 1, 10 and 17. Because claim 1 now recites to generate and inject excitation signal having……..compare the pick value….. which was not recited in the claim before. Therefore, present amendment overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos ‘322 A1 in view of Yudahira in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060071618 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/22/2025. However, applicant has amended the claim and added the limitation and therefore Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 is reapplied to meet at least some of the amended limitation of claims 1, 10 and 17. Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos below shows that exciter 154 and 164 connected to one or more first nodes of a test circuit. Element 154 and 164 is a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which can generate signal and inject the signal to the switch with predetermined amplitude UR1 and UR2. Tzivanopoulos discloses in Paragraph [0007], “Furthermore, a complete diagnosis requires a switching frequency to be implemented with simultaneous evaluation of voltage differences.”. Therefore, the excitation signal is generated with a predetermined frequency. Tzivanopoulos is therefore to meet some of the amended limitation of claims 1, 10 and 17 as explained above. As applicant has amended the claims, Iisaka (US 20150054516 A1) is applied to meet at least the rest of the amended limitation of claims 1, 10 and 17. Therefore claims 1, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 in view of Iisaka in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150054516 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly combination of references.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 2/23/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Drawings
The drawing is objected to because they fail to label the element boxes in Figures 4-5. Without some indication as to the content of the boxes (or preferably symbols of the actual elements) it is not clear as to what the elements are and they are not explanatory to a reader as a quick method of determining the general background of the invention. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84 (o) -- Legends --
Suitable descriptive legends may be used, or may be required by the Examiner, where necessary for understanding of the drawing, subject to approval by the Office. They should contain as few words as possible.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1line 4 recites, “a plurality of exciters connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit” should read, “a plurality of exciters connected at one or more first nodes of [[a]] the test circuit” as the test circuit is already disclosed in Line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140028322 A1 in view of Iisaka in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150054516 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Tzivanopoulos teaches a system for determining a status of a plurality of contactors [50, 60] in Figure 2 of a test circuit [20] (a battery system which has a battery which comprises a plurality of battery cells and which can be connected on the input side to a direct voltage intermediate circuit via at least one contactor, and a diagnostic device for diagnosing the state of the at least one contactor. In addition, the disclosure relates to an associated method for diagnosing the state of battery contactors; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-7; FIG. 2 illustrates the basic circuit diagram of a battery system 10 according to a first embodiment of the disclosure. The battery system 10 comprises a battery 20 with a plurality of battery cells 21 which are connected in series and partially additionally in parallel; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; In the battery system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1, the battery 20 can be connected to the on-board power system 40 of a motor vehicle via two contactors 50, 60 by means of the capacitor 30 of a direct voltage intermediate circuit; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-12), the system comprising:
a controller [90] (evaluation unit 90 as the controller) (The voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 can be respectively made available by an analog/digital converter 81, 82 which is arranged in the evaluation unit 90, with potential separation, which analog/digital converter 81, 82 converts this voltage which is made available into a digitized signal and transfers the digitized signal with potential separation to a microcontroller, arranged in the evaluation unit 90, for the purpose of evaluation. The state of the contactor 50, 60 monitored in this way can be inferred by means of the evaluation of the digitized signal; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-10);
a plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit [20] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos below shows plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit),
wherein each of the plurality of exciters [154, 164], when triggered, is configured to generate and inject excitation signal having a predetermined frequency (switching frequency) (Furthermore, a complete diagnosis requires a switching frequency (as the predetermined frequency) to be implemented with simultaneous evaluation of voltage differences; Paragraph [0007] Line 8-10) and amplitude [UR1, UR2] at an associated first node in the test circuit [20] (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2 (as the predetermined amplitude), respectively; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-15);
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos
a plurality of detectors [150, 160] connected to a plurality of second nodes around the plurality of contactors [50, 60] of the test circuit [20] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos above shows a plurality of detectors [150, 160] connected to a plurality of second nodes around the plurality of contactors [50, 60] of the test circuit [20]), wherein each of the plurality of detectors [150, 160], when triggered, is configured to:
detect a peak value of a resonant signal detected at an associated second node in the test circuit [20] (If a contactor 50, 60 is closed, a defined diagnostic current flows in the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160, which diagnostic current can be detected by means of a diagnostic device 70 arranged in the battery system 10. This can be implemented, for example, by virtue of the fact that the two branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 each comprise a shunt resistor 155, 165 which is connected in series with the corresponding voltage source 154, 164, and the voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 is detected and evaluated by means of the evaluation unit 90; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10), and
provide a digital output by comparing the peak value with a predetermined value (The voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 can be respectively made available by an analog/digital converter 81, 82 which is arranged in the evaluation unit 90, with potential separation, which analog/digital converter 81, 82 converts this voltage which is made available into a digitized signal and transfers the digitized signal with potential separation to a microcontroller, arranged in the evaluation unit 90, for the purpose of evaluation. The state of the contactor 50, 60 monitored in this way can be inferred by means of the evaluation of the digitized signal; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-10; The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10; The monitoring of the contactors 50, 60 in the "open" setpoint state is described in more detail below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6. In the case of the "contactors open" setpoint state the objective is to diagnose whether a contactor 50, 60 is not open as it should be but instead sticking. For this purpose, one measurement should be carried out per contactor 50, 60; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-7); and
wherein the controller is configured to: trigger each of the plurality of exciters and each of the plurality of detectors (The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10),
receive the digital output from each of the plurality of detectors (digital signals), and determine that a status of a subset of a plurality of contactors of the test circuit based on the digital output received from the plurality of detectors (Claim 6. The battery system according to claim 1, wherein: the diagnostic device includes at least one analog/digital converter and an evaluation unit configured to evaluate digital signals, the analog/digital converter is configured (i) to convert a detected diagnostic current or a voltage which is present and detected at the shunt resistor into a digital signal, and (ii) to transfer the digital signal to the evaluation unit via a digital signal transfer device or an analog signal transfer device, and the evaluation unit includes a microcontroller; FIG. 6 shows the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure together with the current flows at the monitoring circuits 150, 160 (illustrated in FIG. 5) for the case in which the contactor 60 at the negative battery pole is sticking. The values of the diagnostic currents flowing through the second branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 are also denoted by ID1 and ID2 in FIG. 6. The current flow which, because the contactor 60 is sticking, is present in the monitoring circuit 160 or does not disappear has been denoted by 260 in FIG. 6; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-10).
Tzivanopoulos fails to teach to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node; compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value.
Iisaka teaches a relay welding diagnostic apparatus for a relay used in a charging circuit for charging a battery of an electric automobile or the like (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node ([0062] AC signal output circuit 112 has a built-in oscillation circuit not illustrated. For example, when performing a leakage detection (leakage detection mode), or when performing a relay welding diagnosis (relay diagnosis mode), AC signal output circuit 112 supplies a predetermined AC voltage to a high pressure line. An output terminal of AC signal output circuit 112 is connected with a high pressure line through resistor 113 and capacitor 17, in this order, as illustrated in FIG. 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-9; Peak value measurement section 110 measures a peak value of a voltage at junction P which is a junction of capacitor 17 and resistor 113. A voltage at junction P is a voltage supplied by AC signal output circuit 112 to the high pressure line); Paragraph [0063] Line 1-5);
compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value (Then peak value measurement section 110 notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of peak value 2 measured in the above-mentioned manner. It is to be noted that, at the time of the first measurement of the peak value, peak value measurement section 110 also notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of the measured threshold values V1 and V2; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-6; Comparison diagnosis section 111 compares the measurement peak value with the notified threshold value, and determines whether relay 14 and relay 15 are in the on state or off state (hereinafter referred to as "relay state"); Paragraph [0067] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to determine whether relays are welded, to determine a state set to the relay, and to provide the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos in view of Iisaka to include the peak value measurement section and comparison diagnosis section as disclosed by Iisaka, because Iisaka teaches to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal and to compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value determines whether relays are welded, determines a state set to the relay (paragraph [0006]), and provides the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed (Paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 6, Tzivanopoulos teaches a system,
wherein each of the plurality of detectors comprises an analog to digital convertor, a peak detector connected to the analog to digital convertor, and an isolator connected to the peak detector (Claim 6. The battery system according to claim 1, wherein: the diagnostic device includes at least one analog/digital converter and an evaluation unit configured to evaluate digital signals, the analog/digital converter is configured (i) to convert a detected diagnostic current or a voltage which is present and detected at the shunt resistor into a digital signal, and (ii) to transfer the digital signal to the evaluation unit via a digital signal transfer device or an analog signal transfer device, and the evaluation unit includes a microcontroller).
Regarding claim 9, Tzivanopoulos teaches a system,
wherein the test circuit [20] comprises a rechargeable battery [21] connected to an opposition battery [154] and a power cycler through the plurality of contactors [50, 60] (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 can be implemented cost-effectively by means of, for example, a separate winding of a flyback converter; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-17).
Regarding claim 10, Tzivanopoulos teaches a contactor weld detection system (a battery system which has a battery which comprises a plurality of battery cells and which can be connected on the input side to a direct voltage intermediate circuit via at least one contactor, and a diagnostic device for diagnosing the state of the at least one contactor. In addition, the disclosure relates to an associated method for diagnosing the state of battery contactors; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-7; FIG. 2 illustrates the basic circuit diagram of a battery system 10 according to a first embodiment of the disclosure. The battery system 10 comprises a battery 20 with a plurality of battery cells 21 which are connected in series and partially additionally in parallel; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; In the battery system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1, the battery 20 can be connected to the on-board power system 40 of a motor vehicle via two contactors 50, 60 by means of the capacitor 30 of a direct voltage intermediate circuit; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-12), comprising
a controller [90] (evaluation unit 90 as the controller) (The voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 can be respectively made available by an analog/digital converter 81, 82 which is arranged in the evaluation unit 90, with potential separation, which analog/digital converter 81, 82 converts this voltage which is made available into a digitized signal and transfers the digitized signal with potential separation to a microcontroller, arranged in the evaluation unit 90, for the purpose of evaluation. The state of the contactor 50, 60 monitored in this way can be inferred by means of the evaluation of the digitized signal; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-10); wherein the controller is configured to:
trigger a plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit [20] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos above shows plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit), wherein each of the plurality of exciters, when triggered, is configured to inject excitation signal having a predetermined frequency (switching frequency) (Furthermore, a complete diagnosis requires a switching frequency (as the predetermined frequency) to be implemented with simultaneous evaluation of voltage differences; Paragraph [0007] Line 8-10) and amplitude [UR1, UR2] at an associated first node of the test circuit (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-15);
trigger a plurality of detectors [150, 160] connected at a plurality of second nodes of the test circuit (If a contactor 50, 60 is closed, a defined diagnostic current flows in the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160, which diagnostic current can be detected by means of a diagnostic device 70 arranged in the battery system 10. This can be implemented, for example, by virtue of the fact that the two branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 each comprise a shunt resistor 155, 165 which is connected in series with the corresponding voltage source 154, 164, and the voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 is detected and evaluated by means of the evaluation unit 90; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10), wherein each of the plurality of detectors, when triggered, is configured to:
detect a peak value of a resonant signal detected at an associated second node in the test circuit (The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10), and
provide a digital output by comparing the peak value with a predetermined value (The voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 can be respectively made available by an analog/digital converter 81, 82 which is arranged in the evaluation unit 90, with potential separation, which analog/digital converter 81, 82 converts this voltage which is made available into a digitized signal and transfers the digitized signal with potential separation to a microcontroller, arranged in the evaluation unit 90, for the purpose of evaluation. The state of the contactor 50, 60 monitored in this way can be inferred by means of the evaluation of the digitized signal; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-10; The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10; The monitoring of the contactors 50, 60 in the "open" setpoint state is described in more detail below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6. In the case of the "contactors open" setpoint state the objective is to diagnose whether a contactor 50, 60 is not open as it should be but instead sticking. For this purpose, one measurement should be carried out per contactor 50, 60; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-7); and
receive the digital output from each of the plurality of detectors, and determine that a status of a subset of a plurality of contactors of the test circuit based on the digital output received from the plurality of detectors (The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10; Claim 6. The battery system according to claim 1, wherein: the diagnostic device includes at least one analog/digital converter and an evaluation unit configured to evaluate digital signals, the analog/digital converter is configured (i) to convert a detected diagnostic current or a voltage which is present and detected at the shunt resistor into a digital signal, and (ii) to transfer the digital signal to the evaluation unit via a digital signal transfer device or an analog signal transfer device, and the evaluation unit includes a microcontroller; FIG. 6 shows the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure together with the current flows at the monitoring circuits 150, 160 (illustrated in FIG. 5) for the case in which the contactor 60 at the negative battery pole is sticking. The values of the diagnostic currents flowing through the second branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 are also denoted by ID1 and ID2 in FIG. 6. The current flow which, because the contactor 60 is sticking, is present in the monitoring circuit 160 or does not disappear has been denoted by 260 in FIG. 6; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-10).
Tzivanopoulos fails to teach to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node; compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value.
Iisaka teaches a relay welding diagnostic apparatus for a relay used in a charging circuit for charging a battery of an electric automobile or the like (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node ([0062] AC signal output circuit 112 has a built-in oscillation circuit not illustrated. For example, when performing a leakage detection (leakage detection mode), or when performing a relay welding diagnosis (relay diagnosis mode), AC signal output circuit 112 supplies a predetermined AC voltage to a high pressure line. An output terminal of AC signal output circuit 112 is connected with a high pressure line through resistor 113 and capacitor 17, in this order, as illustrated in FIG. 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-9; Peak value measurement section 110 measures a peak value of a voltage at junction P which is a junction of capacitor 17 and resistor 113. A voltage at junction P is a voltage supplied by AC signal output circuit 112 to the high pressure line); Paragraph [0063] Line 1-5);
compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value (Then peak value measurement section 110 notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of peak value 2 measured in the above-mentioned manner. It is to be noted that, at the time of the first measurement of the peak value, peak value measurement section 110 also notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of the measured threshold values V1 and V2; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-6; Comparison diagnosis section 111 compares the measurement peak value with the notified threshold value, and determines whether relay 14 and relay 15 are in the on state or off state (hereinafter referred to as "relay state"); Paragraph [0067] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to determine whether relays are welded, to determine a state set to the relay, and to provide the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos in view of Iisaka to include the peak value measurement section and comparison diagnosis section as disclosed by Iisaka, because Iisaka teaches to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal and to compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value determines whether relays are welded, determines a state set to the relay (paragraph [0006]), and provides the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed (Paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 11, Tzivanopoulos teaches, a contactor weld detection system,
wherein the associated first node is separated from the associated second node by at least one contactor of the plurality of contactors (Figure 2 above shows that the associated first node is separated from the associated second node by at least one contactor of the plurality of contactors).
Regarding claim 12, Tzivanopoulos teaches a contactor weld detection circuit,
wherein the test circuit [20] comprises at least one rechargeable battery [154] connected to an opposition battery and a power cycler through the plurality of contactors [50, 60] (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 can be implemented cost-effectively by means of, for example, a separate winding of a flyback converter; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-17).
Regarding claim 13, Tzivanopoulos teaches a contactor weld detection circuit,
wherein the opposition battery is connected in opposition to the at least one rechargeable battery from the power cycler view (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 can be implemented cost-effectively by means of, for example, a separate winding of a flyback converter; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-17).
Regarding claim 14, Tzivanopoulos teaches a contactor weld detection circuit,
wherein the power cycler is configured to inject a pulse current into the rechargeable battery and determine a status of the rechargeable battery based on a response of the rechargeable battery to the pulse current (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 can be implemented cost-effectively by means of, for example, a separate winding of a flyback converter; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-17).
Regarding claim 15, Tzivanopoulos teaches a contactor weld detection circuit,
wherein the plurality of contactors comprises at least two contactors (In the battery system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1, the battery 20 can be connected to the on-board power system 40 of a motor vehicle via two contactors 50, 60 by means of the capacitor 30 of a direct voltage intermediate circuit; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-12).
Regarding claim 17, Tzivanopoulos teaches a method of determining a status of a contact (a battery system which has a battery which comprises a plurality of battery cells and which can be connected on the input side to a direct voltage intermediate circuit via at least one contactor, and a diagnostic device for diagnosing the state of the at least one contactor. In addition, the disclosure relates to an associated method for diagnosing the state of battery contactors; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-7; FIG. 2 illustrates the basic circuit diagram of a battery system 10 according to a first embodiment of the disclosure. The battery system 10 comprises a battery 20 with a plurality of battery cells 21 which are connected in series and partially additionally in parallel; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; In the battery system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1, the battery 20 can be connected to the on-board power system 40 of a motor vehicle via two contactors 50, 60 by means of the capacitor 30 of a direct voltage intermediate circuit; Paragraph [0044] Line 8-12), the method comprising:
trigger a plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit [20] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Tzivanopoulos above shows plurality of exciters [154, 164] connected at one or more first nodes of a test circuit), wherein each of the plurality of exciters, when triggered, is configured to inject excitation signal having a predetermined frequency (switching frequency) (Furthermore, a complete diagnosis requires a switching frequency (as the predetermined frequency) to be implemented with simultaneous evaluation of voltage differences; Paragraph [0007] Line 8-10) and amplitude [UR1, UR2] at an associated first node of the test circuit (In the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure, each of the two contactors 50, 60 is positioned in an additional monitoring circuit 150, 160 which can be disconnected. Each of these monitoring circuits 150, 160 comprises a first branch 151, 161 in which the corresponding contactor 50, 60 is arranged, and a second branch 152, 162 which can be connected in parallel with the corresponding first branch 151, 161 in each case by means of a switch 153, 163 and comprises a separate potential-separated voltage source 154, 164 which is connected in series with the corresponding switch 153, 163 and which respectively supplies the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160. The potential-separated voltage sources 154, 164 each supply a known reference voltage UR1 and UR2, respectively; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-15);
triggering a plurality of detectors [150, 160] connected at a plurality of second nodes of the test circuit (If a contactor 50, 60 is closed, a defined diagnostic current flows in the corresponding monitoring circuit 150, 160, which diagnostic current can be detected by means of a diagnostic device 70 arranged in the battery system 10. This can be implemented, for example, by virtue of the fact that the two branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 each comprise a shunt resistor 155, 165 which is connected in series with the corresponding voltage source 154, 164, and the voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 is detected and evaluated by means of the evaluation unit 90; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10), wherein each of the plurality of detectors, when triggered, is configured to:
detect a peak value of a resonant signal detected at an associated second node in the test circuit (The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10), and
provide a digital output by comparing the peak value with a predetermined value (The voltage which is present at a shunt resistor 155, 165 can be respectively made available by an analog/digital converter 81, 82 which is arranged in the evaluation unit 90, with potential separation, which analog/digital converter 81, 82 converts this voltage which is made available into a digitized signal and transfers the digitized signal with potential separation to a microcontroller, arranged in the evaluation unit 90, for the purpose of evaluation. The state of the contactor 50, 60 monitored in this way can be inferred by means of the evaluation of the digitized signal; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-10; The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10; The monitoring of the contactors 50, 60 in the "open" setpoint state is described in more detail below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6. In the case of the "contactors open" setpoint state the objective is to diagnose whether a contactor 50, 60 is not open as it should be but instead sticking. For this purpose, one measurement should be carried out per contactor 50, 60; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-7); and
receiving the digital output from each of the plurality of detectors, and determining that a status of a subset of a plurality of contactors of the test circuit based on the digital output received from the plurality of detectors (The evaluation of the digitized voltage drop at the measuring shunt resistor 155 whose resistance value is denoted by RS1 here makes it possible for the diagnostic current ID1 to be monitored and for opening of the contactor 50 to be diagnosed immediately as soon as the diagnostic current changes or fails entirely. When the contactor 50 is opened, the diagnostic current will change immediately as soon as the on-board voltage UBN changes in comparison with the on-board voltage value in the closed state of the contactor 50; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-10; Claim 6. The battery system according to claim 1, wherein: the diagnostic device includes at least one analog/digital converter and an evaluation unit configured to evaluate digital signals, the analog/digital converter is configured (i) to convert a detected diagnostic current or a voltage which is present and detected at the shunt resistor into a digital signal, and (ii) to transfer the digital signal to the evaluation unit via a digital signal transfer device or an analog signal transfer device, and the evaluation unit includes a microcontroller; FIG. 6 shows the battery system 10 according to the first embodiment of the disclosure together with the current flows at the monitoring circuits 150, 160 (illustrated in FIG. 5) for the case in which the contactor 60 at the negative battery pole is sticking. The values of the diagnostic currents flowing through the second branches 152, 162 of the monitoring circuits 150, 160 are also denoted by ID1 and ID2 in FIG. 6. The current flow which, because the contactor 60 is sticking, is present in the monitoring circuit 160 or does not disappear has been denoted by 260 in FIG. 6; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-10).
Tzivanopoulos fails to teach to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node; compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value.
Iisaka teaches a relay welding diagnostic apparatus for a relay used in a charging circuit for charging a battery of an electric automobile or the like (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal in the test circuit towards an associated second node ([0062] AC signal output circuit 112 has a built-in oscillation circuit not illustrated. For example, when performing a leakage detection (leakage detection mode), or when performing a relay welding diagnosis (relay diagnosis mode), AC signal output circuit 112 supplies a predetermined AC voltage to a high pressure line. An output terminal of AC signal output circuit 112 is connected with a high pressure line through resistor 113 and capacitor 17, in this order, as illustrated in FIG. 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-9; Peak value measurement section 110 measures a peak value of a voltage at junction P which is a junction of capacitor 17 and resistor 113. A voltage at junction P is a voltage supplied by AC signal output circuit 112 to the high pressure line); Paragraph [0063] Line 1-5);
compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value (Then peak value measurement section 110 notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of peak value 2 measured in the above-mentioned manner. It is to be noted that, at the time of the first measurement of the peak value, peak value measurement section 110 also notifies comparison diagnosis section 111 of the measured threshold values V1 and V2; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-6; Comparison diagnosis section 111 compares the measurement peak value with the notified threshold value, and determines whether relay 14 and relay 15 are in the on state or off state (hereinafter referred to as "relay state"); Paragraph [0067] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to determine whether relays are welded, to determine a state set to the relay, and to provide the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos in view of Iisaka to include the peak value measurement section and comparison diagnosis section as disclosed by Iisaka, because Iisaka teaches to detect a peak value of a resonant signal resulting from reflection of and resonance of the excitation signal and to compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node with a predetermined value determines whether relays are welded, determines a state set to the relay (paragraph [0006]), and provides the advantage of when the voltage detection circuit is broken, a relay welding diagnosis can be executed (Paragraph [0112]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzivanopoulos ‘322 A1 in view of Iisaka ‘516 A1, as applied to claims 1, 10 and 17 and further in view of Yudahira in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060071618 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein each of the plurality of exciters comprises a signal generator, a low pass filter connected to the signal generator, and an isolator connected to the low pass filter.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein each of the plurality of exciters [SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4] in Figure 7 comprises a signal generator [29] in Figure 7 ([0077] Referring to FIG. 7 and FIG. 8, the power supply controller apparatus in accordance with the second preferred embodiment of the present invention will be described. The power supply controller apparatus in accordance with the second preferred embodiment of the present invention is different from the first preferred embodiment in that the power supply controller apparatus includes a controller 620 instead of the controller 20 of the first preferred embodiment shown in FIG. 1. FIG. 7 is a block diagram showing a detailed configuration of the controller 620 in accordance with the second preferred embodiment of the present invention. The controller 620 includes a BPF circuit 65 instead of the BPF 15 of the controller 20 of the first preferred embodiment shown in FIG. 2, a CPU 63 instead of the CPU 13, and an AC voltage generator 29A instead of the AC voltage generator 29; Paragraph [0077] Line 1-16),
a low pass filter (FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram showing a detailed configuration of the BPF 15 in accordance with the first preferred embodiment of the present invention. In FIG. 3, the BPF 15 includes an LPF (low-pass filter) 15A constituted by resistances 150 and 151, capacitors 152 and 153, and an operational amplifier 154, and an HPF (high-pass filter) 15B constituted by a capacitor 155, resistances 156 and 157, a reference voltage 158, and an operational amplifier 159. The LPF 15A and the HPF 15B are series-connected to each other; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-10) connected to the signal generator, and an isolator connected to the low pass filter (Figure 7). The purpose of doing so is to connect and disconnect the power source, to start supply of the power, the contactors are controlled to be in conductive state to connect the power supply apparatus to the motor, and then the motor is driven to rotate.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to include a signal generator, a low pass filter connected to the signal generator connects and disconnect the power source (Paragraph [0005]), starts supply of the power, the contactors are controlled to be in conductive state to connect the power supply apparatus to the motor, and then the motor is driven to rotate (Paragraph [0006]), blocks a DC component of a signal and get an AC component thereof passed (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein the signal generator is configured to generate a pulse signal with a predetermined frequency.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the signal generator is configured to generate a pulse signal with a predetermined frequency (A digital signal from the CPU 13, which indicates a frequency and a voltage, is inputted to the AC voltage generator 29. The AC voltage generator 29, responsive to the digital signal, generates and outputs a sinusoidal AC voltage V.sub.AC (e.g. 5V) having a predetermined frequency (e.g. 1 Hz) indicated by the digital signal. The AC voltage detector 35 measures an amplitude level A of an input voltage V.sub.in inputted from the BPF 15, and outputs the amplitude level A to the CPU 13; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to execute the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to generate a pulse signal with a predetermined frequency executes the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle (Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein the low pass filter is configured to convert the pulse signal into a sine wave signal.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the low pass filter is configured to convert the pulse signal into a sine wave signal (A digital signal from the CPU 13, which indicates a frequency and a voltage, is inputted to the AC voltage generator 29. The AC voltage generator 29, responsive to the digital signal, generates and outputs a sinusoidal AC voltage V.sub.AC (e.g. 5V) having a predetermined frequency (e.g. 1 Hz) indicated by the digital signal. The AC voltage detector 35 measures an amplitude level A of an input voltage V.sub.in inputted from the BPF 15, and outputs the amplitude level A to the CPU 13; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to execute the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to convert the pulse signal into a sine wave signal executes the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle (Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein the isolator comprises one of a capacitor, a resonance circuit, or a galvanic transformer.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the isolator comprises one of a capacitor, a resonance circuit, or a galvanic transformer (FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram showing a detailed configuration of the BPF 15 in accordance with the first preferred embodiment of the present invention. In FIG. 3, the BPF 15 includes an LPF (low-pass filter) 15A constituted by resistances 150 and 151, capacitors 152 and 153, and an operational amplifier 154, and an HPF (high-pass filter) 15B constituted by a capacitor 155, resistances 156 and 157, a reference voltage 158, and an operational amplifier 159. The LPF 15A and the HPF 15B are series-connected to each other; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-10). The purpose of doing so is to detect whether or not each contactor is welded based on an output signal from one output terminal of one and the other ends of the capacitor, when each contactor is controlled to be turned off and an AC signal is applied to one input terminal of (a) one end of the battery assembly.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to include one of a capacitor, a resonance circuit, or a galvanic transformer detects whether or not each contactor is welded based on an output signal from one output terminal of one and the other ends of the capacitor, when each contactor is controlled to be turned off and an AC signal is applied to one input terminal of (a) one end of the battery assembly (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein the peak detector is configured to detect the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node in the test circuit.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the peak detector is configured to detect the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node in the test circuit (The AC voltage detector 35 measures the amplitude level A.sub.1 of the input voltage V.sub.in inputted from the BPF circuit 65 (at step S12). The CPU 63 checks whether or not the amplitude level A.sub.th, is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold value A.sub.th, which is read out from the RAM 12 (at step S13). In the case that the amplitude level A.sub.1 is less than the predetermined threshold value A.sub.th (NO at step S13), the CPU 63 determines that no contactors are welded (at step S18); Paragraph [0085] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to determine that no contactors are welded.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to detect the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second node in the test circuit determines that no contactors are welded (paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a system, wherein analog to digital convertor is configured to convert the peak value to the digital output by comparing the peak value with the predetermined value.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein analog to digital convertor is configured to convert the peak value to the digital output by comparing the peak value with the predetermined value (The AC voltage detector 35 measures the amplitude level A.sub.1 of the input voltage V.sub.in inputted from the BPF circuit 65 (at step S12). The CPU 63 checks whether or not the amplitude level A.sub.th, is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold value A.sub.th, which is read out from the RAM 12 (at step S13). In the case that the amplitude level A.sub.1 is less than the predetermined threshold value A.sub.th (NO at step S13), the CPU 63 determines that no contactors are welded (at step S18); Paragraph [0085] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to determine that no contactors are welded.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to convert the peak value to the digital output by comparing the peak value with the predetermined value determines that no contactors are welded (paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a contactor weld detection system, wherein the controller is further configured to provide an alarm in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the controller is further configured to provide an alarm in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded (The present invention relates to a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal; Paragraph [002] Line 1-4; The controller 8 reads out the inverter voltage V.sub.inv from the voltage detector 7 and detects welding of each contactor depending on the control state of each contactor. The controller 8 outputs display information for notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part 38, to display the same information thereon when the controller 8 determines that any contactor is welded; Paragraph [0012] Line 2-7). The purpose of doing so is to notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to provide an alarm in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a method, w wherein determining the status comprises: determining whether any of the plurality of contacts is welded.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein determining the status comprises: determining whether any of the plurality of contacts is welded (The present invention relates to a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal; Paragraph [002] Line 1-4; The controller 8 reads out the inverter voltage V.sub.inv from the voltage detector 7 and detects welding of each contactor depending on the control state of each contactor. The controller 8 outputs display information for notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part 38, to display the same information thereon when the controller 8 determines that any contactor is welded; Paragraph [0012] Line 2-7). The purpose of doing so is to notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to provide an alarm in response to determine whether any of the plurality of contacts is welded notifys the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a contactor weld detection system, further comprising: providing an alert in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
further comprising: providing an alert in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded (The present invention relates to a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal; Paragraph [002] Line 1-4; The controller 8 reads out the inverter voltage V.sub.inv from the voltage detector 7 and detects welding of each contactor depending on the control state of each contactor. The controller 8 outputs display information for notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part 38, to display the same information thereon when the controller 8 determines that any contactor is welded; Paragraph [0012] Line 2-7). The purpose of doing so is to notifying the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to provide an alarm in response to determining that one or more the plurality of contactors is welded notifys the operator of incidence of the welding to a display output part, to display the same information thereon when the controller determines that any contactor is welded (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka fails to teach a method, wherein the excitation signal comprises a sine wave signal.
Yudahira teaches a power supply controller apparatus for use in a power supply apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to power supply controller apparatus for detecting whether or not each contactor is welded using an AC signal (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the excitation signal comprises a sine wave signal (A digital signal from the CPU 13, which indicates a frequency and a voltage, is inputted to the AC voltage generator 29. The AC voltage generator 29, responsive to the digital signal, generates and outputs a sinusoidal AC voltage V.sub.AC (e.g. 5V) having a predetermined frequency (e.g. 1 Hz) indicated by the digital signal. The AC voltage detector 35 measures an amplitude level A of an input voltage V.sub.in inputted from the BPF 15, and outputs the amplitude level A to the CPU 13; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to execute the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tzivanopoulos and Iisaka in view of Yudahira, because Yudahira teaches to include a sine wave signal executes the leakage detection in the pure electric vehicle (Paragraph [0123]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Weicker et al. (US 20170205455 A1) discloses, “DETECTION OF WELDED CONTACTOR USING AC COUPLING- [0001] The present disclosure generally relates to systems and methods for detecting a condition of a contactor, and more specifically, to systems and methods for detecting a defective condition of a contactor configured to connect a battery from direct-current (DC) bus of a vehicle. 0019] FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary powertrain system 200 of vehicle 100, according to some embodiments. Power train system 200 may be used in vehicle 100 illustrated in FIG. 1. As illustrated in FIG. 2, powertrain system 200 may include a DC bus 210, a plurality of high-voltage battery strings 220, a plurality of contactors 230, monitoring circuitry 250, a controller 260, and an electric drive system 106. [0020] DC bus 210 may include a positive power bus 210A and a negative power bus 2108 that electrically connect various components of a powertrain of vehicle 100, including the plurality of high-voltage battery strings 220 and electric drive system 106. Each high-voltage battery string 220 may be equipped with switching devices, such as a plurality of contactors 230, to connect battery string 220 and to disconnect them from DC bus 210. For example, if an operator of vehicle 100 turns off the vehicle, controller 260 opens contactors 230, thereby disengaging the plurality of battery strings 220 from DC bus 210. In another example, when vehicle 100 is running but a particular battery string 220 experiences a faulty condition (e.g., an over temperature, overcurrent, overvoltage, undervoltage, loss of voltage monitoring, or loss of isolation), controller 260 may open one or more contactors 230 associated with the faulty string, which may then be disconnected from DC bus 210. [0021] In some embodiments, each high-voltage battery string 220 may be connected with a pair of contactors 230 and 230′. Contactor 230 is configured to connect (contactor 230 being closed) or disconnect (contactor 230 being open) a positive terminal of battery string 220, and contactor 230′ is configured to connect or disconnect a negative terminal of battery string 220. As such, battery string 220 may be disconnected from DC bus 210 when one or both contactors 230 are open-However Weicker does not disclose compare the peak value of the resonant signal detected at the associated second
node with a predetermined value, and provide a digital output by comparing the peak value with the predetermined value.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858