DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see Remarks and Claims, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant argues that the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the following: see detailed rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see Remarks and Claims, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the amended claim recites an improvement in the functioning of heart pump technology. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. In order to have a technological improvement, the additional elements, either solely or in combination, need to reflect an improvement. Here, the alleged improvement is in the determination step and not the computer/display itself.
The applicant further argues that the limitations as recited demonstrates that he claimed method for determining the positioning of a heart pump [] is integral in determining whether the heart pump is properly positioned. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. As written, when read under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim merely requires receiving a pressure signal, and generating a histogram of values (data gathering/processing which are mere extra-solution activity) and determining that the heart pump is not properly positioned (Concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The Step of “outputting on a user interface” is to output the result of an abstract idea which is mere extra-solution activity. The user interface, as stated is also well understood, routine and conventional.
For at least the reasons stated above, the applicants arguments are not persuasive and the 101 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15-18, 33, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because of the following analysis:
1 – statutory category: Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15-16 recite a series of steps and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a process. See MPEP 2106.03. Claims 17-18, 33 and 39 recite a system, and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a thing or products. See MPEP 2106.03.
2A – Prong 1: The independent claims 1, 17 and 33 recite a judicial exception by reciting the limitations of “receiving a pressure signal, the pressure signal representing a pressure at an inlet and/or an outlet of the heart pump; generating a histogram of values observed within a time window associated with the pressure signal; determining that the heart pump is not properly positioned across the at least one valve, based, at least in part, on a morphology of the histogram”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in mind or by a person using a pen and paper and/or using mathematical calculations. Therefore, an abstract idea is involved.
2A – Prong 2: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The independent claims 1, 17 and 33 recite the additional limitations of “at least one pressure sensor arranged on the heart pump []”, “user interface”, etc. The mentioned limitations are recited at a high level of generality and are considered to be data gathering/processing which are mere extra-solution activity. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, each of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
“It is noted that outputting an indication []” as stated, and when read under its broadest reasonable interpretation is merely outputting the result of an abstract idea.
2B: The emphasized elements cited above do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’I, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
Claims 2-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18, 39 depend on claims 1, 17 and 33. The mentioned dependent claims recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the dependent claim recites the limitations “differential pressure sensor”, “user interface”, etc., are recited at a high level of generality and are mere extra-solution activity, and recited as performing generic computer functions. i.e., data processing. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Thus, claims 11-10, 12-13, 15-18, 33, 39 are directed to an abstract idea and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 15-18, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat Pub No 20180078159 granted to Edelman et al. (hereinafter “Edelman”) in view of US Pat Pub No 20190282742 to Katerji et al. (hereinafter “Katerji”).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 33, Edelman discloses a method/system/controller of determining whether a heart pump is properly positioned across at least one valve in a heart of a patient, the heart pump being configured to pump blood across the at least one valve (para 0061, 0072, 0160 method of using the user interface [] to “verify the position of the intravascular heart pump”), the method comprising: receiving a pressure signal from at least one pressure sensor arranged on the heart pump (para 0160 “pressure signal waveform 2002 indicates the pressure measured by the blood pump's pressure sensor (e.g., pressure sensor 312)”), the pressure signal representing a pressure at an inlet and/or an outlet of the heart pump (para 0072, 0123, 0161 etc.); generating values observed within a time window associated with the pressure signal (fig. 20A); and determining the position of the heart pump based, at least in part, on a [the values] (para 0160 “pressure signal waveform 2002 can be used by a healthcare professional to properly place an intravascular heart pump (such as intravascular heart pump 100 in FIG. 1) in the heart. The pressure signal waveform 2002 is used to verify the position of the intravascular heart pump by evaluating whether the waveform 2002 is an aortic or ventricular waveform”) and outputting, on a user interface, an indication that the heart pump is not properly positioned across the at least one valve when it is determined the heart pump is not properly positioned across the at least one valve (para 0105, 0113, etc.).
Edelman discloses determining the sensed pressure data is used to determine whether the pump is positioned correctly but fails to disclose generating a histogram of values observed within a time window associated with the pressure signal and determining that the heart pump is not properly positioned across the at least one valve, based, at least in part, on morphology of the histogram.
Katerji, from a similar field of endeavor teaches determining/estimating a position of a heart pump using a differential pressure signal (para 0043) to determine when the pump is in a correct placement within the heart (para 0043). Katerji teaches that to understand the performance and status of the heart pump system, the clinician may require the mean, maximum, and minimum flow values, which may be displayed to the clinician through a user interface (para 0087) including a histogram of mean flow estimation error (fig 16, para 0088), a histogram of maximum flow estimation error (para 0089, fig. 17) and a histogram of minimum flow estimation error (para 0090, fig. 18). Therefore, it is understood that the clinician would look at the changes/morphology of the histogram data presented to make various determinations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Edelman with the teachings of Katerji to provide the predictable result of determining when the pump is in a correct placement within the heart.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1 and system of claim 17, wherein the at least one pressure sensor comprises a differential pressure sensor (para 0065, 0084, 0095, 0107, 0161 “pressure difference between the inlet and outlet areas of the cannula resulting in a variable volume load on the rotor).
Regarding claim 3, Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1, wherein a length of the time window is at least four seconds and less than ten seconds (fig. 20A, para 0160 “a waveform of a metric of cardiac function over time” – As written, neither the claim nor the specification provide any details regarding the criticality of the time windows. The claims as read under their broadest statement requires a time window that is arbitrarily drawn/identified. Here, Edelman discloses the waveform to be drawn and displayed on the user interface which a user can monitor to make the determinations based on any portions of the waveform, including time windows of various durations.; Katerji para 0008)
Regarding claim 4. Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 3, wherein the length of the time window is at least five seconds and less than seven seconds (fig. 20A, para 0160 “a waveform of a metric of cardiac function over time” – As written, neither the claim nor the specification provide any details regarding the criticality of the time windows. The claims as read under their broadest statement requires a time window that is arbitrarily drawn/identified. Here, Edelman discloses the waveform to be drawn and displayed on the user interface which a user can monitor to make the determinations based on any portions of the waveform, including time windows of various durations. Katerji para 0008)
Regarding claim 5. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1, further comprising: filtering the pressure signal to generate a filtered pressure signal, wherein generating a histogram of values comprises generating a histogram of values observed within a time window of the filtered pressure signal (para 0170; Katerji para 0087-0089).
Regarding claim 15. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a pulsatility of the pressure signal, wherein generating a histogram of values is performed in response to the pulsatility of the pressure signal being above a first threshold pulsatility value and below a second threshold pulsatility value (Fig 20A; the claim does not provide any details regarding the first or second thresholds, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, any threshold would read over the claimed limitation. Here, a user viewing the data and making judgment would use arbitrary thresholds to make their determination).
Regarding claim 16. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the heart pump is configured to provide right heart support for the patient, and determining the position of the heart pump based, at least in part, on a morphology of the histogram comprises determining whether an outlet of the heart pump is located in a pulmonary artery of the patient (para 0072, 0074, etc.).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelman as modified by Katerji as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20190046709 to Sternby et al. (hereinafter “Sternby”).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 5, but fails to disclose wherein filtering the pressure signal comprises filtering the pressure signal with a finite impulse response (FIR) filter.
Sternby, from a similar field of endeavor teaches generating the emulated pressure signal by using a FIR (finite impulse response) filter to suppress signal interferences (abstract, para 0020). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Edelman as modified by Katerji with the teachings of Sternby to provide the predictable result of suppress signal interferences.
Claim(s) 7, 10 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelman as modified by Katerji as applied to claims above, and further in view of 20090124910 to Eide.
Regarding claims 7 and 39. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1 and controller of claim 33, wherein determining the position of the heart pump based, at least in part, on a morphology of the histogram (see rejection of claim 1) comprises determining the position of the heart pump based, at least in part (see rejection of claim 1), but fails to disclose determining on a distribution of the histogram.
Elde, from a similar filed of endeavor teaches creating histogram after sampling pressure signal, on time sequence, to perform analysis (para 0488). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Edelman as modified by Katerji with the teachings of Elde to provide the predictable result of performing analysis.
Regarding claim 10. (Original) Edelman as modified by Katerji renders obvious the method of claim 1, wherein determining the position of the heart pump based, at least in part (see rejection of claim 1), but fails to disclose [determining] distribution of the histogram further comprises determining whether the distribution is a normal distribution.
Elde, from a similar filed of endeavor teaches creating histogram after sampling pressure signal, on time sequence, to perform analysis (para 0488). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Edelman as modified by Katerji with the teachings of Elde to provide the predictable result of performing analysis.
It is noted that determining whether the disturbing is normal is understood to be simple calculation performed by a user viewing the data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANA SAHAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 3796