DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/20/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/9/24 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprises”, "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 17, 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is recommended to amend the phrase "...indicative of a computer game level layout" to "...indicative of the computer game level layout".
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is recommended to amend the phrase ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 11-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 11-28 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 11-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 11, 17, 23,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “sampling an initialisation vector from a distribution; inputting the initialisation vector and the target data into a decoder model; processing, by the decoder model, the initialisation vector and the target data to generate data indicative of a computer game level layout”, are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping and mathematical concepts (managing personal behavior, rules, mathematical relationships). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 12-16, 18-22, 24-28 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a computer implemented method, one or more processors; and a non-volatile computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions, comprising: receiving target data comprising data indicative of a target level difficulty and one or more target level features, and outputting the data indicative of a computer game level layout from the decoder model”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Pedersen et al. (2024/0382854) teaches the recited additional elements (Fig 1, 11, ¶¶0022-0023, 0026-0029, 0100, 0108, 0132, 0181, 0194-0195).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 11-28, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, performing repetitive calculation in Flook, Bancorp, rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 11-28 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 17-19, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen et al. (2024/0382854) in view of Sermanet et al. (2022/0076099).
Re Claim 11,
Pedersen discloses a computer implemented method (¶¶0001, 0022) comprising:
receiving target data comprising data indicative of a target level difficulty and one or more target level features (¶¶0106, 0114-0116, 0121, 0124, 0128-0130; the system receives data such as game-related player behaviors or player motivation factors, wherein the factors are labeled and assessed the difficulty of levels, for example, a difference data between an actual player and the gaming bot could be considered as target data);
inputting the target data into a decoder model; processing, by the decoder model, the target data to generate data indicative of a computer game level layout (¶¶0033-0035, 0113-0116, 0121, 0124, 0128-0130, 0169-0170; the artificial intelligence model processes the data to generate a predicted user experience, i.e., a computer game level layout); and
outputting the data indicative of a computer game level layout from the decoder model (¶¶0033-0035, 0121, 0124, 0128-0130, 0169-0170; the system facilitates adaptation of the game based on predicted user experience).
Pedersen is silent on sampling an initialisation vector from a distribution and inputting the initialisation vector into a decoder model.
However, Sermanet teaches controlling computational agents, i.e., similar to gaming bot, by sampling an initialisation vector from a distribution and inputting the initialisation vector into a decoder model (Fig 3-5, ¶¶0035-0039, 0076-0079, 0094-0098, 0103-104, 0112). Sermanet further teaches such a configuration can be reused to solve new tasks (¶0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sermanet into the game development system of Pedersen in order to reuse the model to solve new tasks.
Re Claims 12, 18, 24,
Pedersen discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on one or more fully connected layers configured to up-sample decoder input data comprising the embedding of the known game level and the set of level features; and one or more convolutional layers subsequent to the one or more fully connected layers (¶¶0042, 0050, 0080). See claim 11 for motivation.
Re Claims 13, 19, 25,
Pedersen discloses causing a computer game level to be generated based on the data indicative of a computer game level layout (¶¶0033-0035, 0121, 0124, 0128-0130, 0169-0170).
Re Claims 17, 23,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 11. See claim 11 for rejection and motivation.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715