DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 3 and 4 (i.e. the “element” and the “actuator means”). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,841,494 A (hereinafter “Chalupsky”).
Regarding claim 1 Chalupsky discloses a telescopic lifting arm (20) for self-propelled operating machines, the arm comprising:
at least three tubular elements (48/50/52), with a decreasing cross-section (fig. 1) and telescopically connected to each other to define a supporting structure (i.e. 20 is a boom designed for lifting a load), designed to move between a retracted configuration (fig. 2) wherein said tubular elements (48/50/52) are inserted one in the other and an elongated configuration (fig. 10) wherein at least two tubular elements (50/52) are at least partly extracted, the arm (20) comprises actuator means (58/70) associated with said tubular elements (48/50/52) and configured for actuating at least two of said tubular elements (50/52) for pulling them out independently from one another and with different speeds (i.e. see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3 Chalupsky discloses the above arm, and further discloses two hydraulic actuators (58/70) which are independent of each other (see fig. 9) and wherein each hydraulic actuator (58/70) is equipped with at least two hydraulic elements (see fig. 10) connected to each other telescopically, each of said hydraulic actuators (58/70) and each hydraulic element is connected independently to a respective tubular element (48/50/52) of the supporting structure (boom for lifting a load).
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,111,733 A (hereinafter “Baraniak”).
Regarding claim 1 Baraniak discloses a telescopic lifting arm (“jib,” see title) for self-propelled operating machines, the arm comprising:
at least three tubular elements (94-98), with a decreasing cross-section and telescopically connected to each other to define a supporting structure (i.e. a boom is a supporting structure), designed to move between a retracted configuration wherein said tubular elements (94-98) are inserted one in the other and an elongated configuration wherein at least two tubular elements (94-97) are at least partly extracted, the arm (“jib”) comprises actuator means (1) associated with said tubular elements (94-98) and configured for actuating at least two of said tubular elements (94-97) for pulling them out independently from one another and with different speeds (see col. 2, ll. 33-38).
Regarding claim 2 Baraniak discloses the above arm, and further discloses wherein said actuator means (1) are made in the form of a single hydraulic actuator with two independent stages (i.e. rod 4 and rod 9 telescope) equipped with at least three hydraulic elements (2/4/9) connected to each other telescopically, each of said hydraulic elements (2/4/9) is connected independently to a respective tubular element (94-98) of the supporting structure.
Regarding claim 4 Baraniak discloses the above arm, and further discloses wherein said tubular elements (94-98) include a proximal tubular element (98), designed to be hinged (capable of being hinged; i.e. this is a functional recitation) to a frame or to a tower of said operating machine, and at least two pull-out elements (94-97) consisting of as many tubular elements (94-98) of the supporting structure (a jib is a “supporting structure”), a distal pull-out element (94) being designed to support a work equipment (capable of supporting equipment; i.e. this is a functional recitation) and being removable (at least partially) and able to be housed at least partly in another pull-out element (i.e. when retracted 94 would fit within 96 due to telescoping), at least two pull-out elements (94-97) being connected to a respective hydraulic element (2/4/9) of the actuator means (1).
Regarding claim 5 Baraniak discloses the above arm, and further discloses wherein said actuator means (1) are configured for extending a hydraulic element (9) connected or connectable (at least indirectly) to a distal pull-out element (94) at a greater speed with which is extended a hydraulic element (4) connected or connectable (at least indirectly) to said proximal tubular element (98).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baraniak in view of US 6,116,140 (hereinafter “Barthalow”).
Regarding claim 6 modified Baraniak discloses the above arm, and further discloses comprising a main [source (38)] connected or connectable to said actuator means (1) for supplying oil of said actuator means (1) and a control valve (36/37) interposed between said main [source (38)] and said actuator means (1), said control valve (36/37) being configured to actuate simultaneously and at different speeds each hydraulic element (2/4/9) of said actuator means (1).
Baraniak fails to teach a main valve connected to the actuator means feeding the control valve. Barthalow teaches a multi-stage telescopic cylinder with a control valve (44/46) for telescopic elements (see claim 1), in a similar manner as Baraniak. Barthalow further teaches wherein a main control valve (60) supplies oil to the control valve (44/46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a main valve, as taught by Barthalow, to the hydraulic control of Baraniak, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better supply oil to the hydraulic system.
Regarding claim 7 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, and further teaches wherein said control valve (Baraniak 36/37) is designed to receive oil from a single section of said main valve (Barthalow 60) and to control the delivery and the return of said oil in one or more chambers (Baraniak e.g. 11/12/13/14) of said actuator means (1) used for the sliding and the return of respective hydraulic elements (Baraniak 2/4/9).
Regarding claim 8 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, and further teaches wherein said control valve (Baraniak 36/37) comprises, for each chamber (Baraniak e.g. 11/12/13/14) of said actuator means (Baraniak 1), a valve (see Baraniak fig. 1). Baraniak does not specifically mention a proportional valve. Official Notice is given that proportional valves are old and well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the valves of any convenient type, including proportional valves, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to properly control the flow of oil.
Regarding claim 9 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, and further teaches wherein said control valve (Baraniak 36/37) comprises a valve (see Baraniak fig. 1) for dividing the flow for each pair of chambers (Baraniak 11/12 and 13/14) of said actuator means (Baraniak 1), each pair of chambers (Baraniak 11/12 and 13/14) being defined by two chambers (Baraniak 11/12 and 13/14) of a same hydraulic element (Baraniak 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 10 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, and further teaches wherein said control valve (Baraniak 36/37) is defined by two block valves (Baraniak 36/37) interposed between said main valve (Barthalow 60) and said actuator means (Baraniak 1); each of said block valves (Baraniak 36/37) is connected (at least indirectly) to a respective section of said main valve (Barthalow 60) for controlling independently each hydraulic element (Baraniak 2/4/9).
Regarding claim 11 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, and further teaches a control unit (Baraniak 69) configured for adjusting said main valve (Barthalow 60) and/or said control valve (Baraniak 36/37) in such a way as to move said hydraulic elements (Baraniak 2/4/9) in such a way as to define a specific operating positioning of said tubular elements (Baraniak 94-98).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baraniak in view of Barthalow, and in further view of US 5,927,520 A (hereinafter “Barthalow2”).
Regarding claim 12 modified Baraniak teaches the above arm, but fails to teach sliding sensors as per claim 12. Barthalow2 teaches a telescopic boom with multiple boom sections similar to Baraniak. Barthalow2 further teaches at least two sliding sensors (T1/T2/T3; see fig. 5) independent of one another and connected to a control unit (142); said sliding sensors (T1/T2/T3) being configured to measure an extension of hydraulic elements (i.e. via the extension of boom sections) and to send a checking signal (L1/L2/L3; see fig. 5) to said control unit (142) identifying an extension of the hydraulic elements of tubular elements (boom sections).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654