DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN206471638U; specific reference is made to English machine translation provided with Applicant’s IDS).
Re claim 1. Li teaches a power distribution apparatus (see Li: Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a base (box body <1>, see Li: [0054-0058], Figs. 1-2);
a high-voltage connection part (high-voltage connector <5>) and a low-voltage connection part (low-voltage communication connector <4>, connector <17>) being fixed on the base (see Li: [0058-0059], [0080], Figs. 1-3);
a high-voltage loop (main positive circuit, main negative circuit, battery terminals <2,3>, relays <6, 8,14>, sensor <7>, resistor <13>, see Li: [0060-0067], [0074-0077], Figs. 1-3), at least a portion of the high-voltage loop being disposed on the base (see Li: [0057], Figs. 1-3), the high-voltage loop being electrically connected to the high-voltage connection part (see Li: [0060], Fig. 3), the high-voltage loop having a positive-electrode connection end (battery positive terminal <2>) and a negative-electrode connection end (battery negative terminal <3>), and the high-voltage loop comprising a disconnecting switch core (relays <6,8,14>, see Li: [0062-0066], Figs. 1-2) fixed on the base;
a circuit board (PCB, see Li: [0069], [0080-0086], Figs. 1-3) disposed on the base;
a low-voltage loop (internal wiring of PCB for signals and connected to low-voltage communication connector <4>, see Li: [0080-0086], Fig. 3) integrated into the circuit board and electrically connected to the low-voltage connection part; and
a plurality of tabs (respective conductors for electrical connections of connectors <21>, <22>, sensor <7>, and relay <14> to the PCB board, see Li: [0083-0087], Figs. 1-3; note further structure/arrangement of the tabs is not claimed, and that each component has a conductor for electrical connection shown inserted to connect to the PCB wiring, i.e. a second end of a tab plugged into the low-voltage wiring of the board, while the other end is electrically connected to respective high-voltage loop component either indirectly via a wiring harness or directly in the case of pre-charge relay <14>), a first end of each of the tabs electrically connected to the high-voltage loop, and a second end of each of the tabs plugged into the circuit board for electrical connection with the low-voltage loop. See Li: [0054-0067], [0074-0077], [0080-0087], Figs. 1-3.
Re claim 2. Li teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage loop is electrically connected with the high-voltage connection part; the low-voltage connection part is plugged into the circuit board for electrical connection with the low-voltage loop; and components connected in the high-voltage loop are electrically connected with each other (see Li: [0058-0067], [0080] Fig. 1-3 regarding connection of components as discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Xing (CN212861166U; specific reference is made to attached English machine translation).
Re claim 3. Li teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage loop further comprises a circuit protector (fuse <9> or heating relay <28>, see Li: [0068-0073], Figs. 1-3 regarding components arranged with base), the circuit protector is disposed on the base; the power distribution apparatus comprises a plurality of disconnecting switch cores (relays <6,8,14>, see Li: [0062-0066], Figs. 1-2) including the disconnecting switch core, the plurality of disconnecting switch cores comprise at least a positive disconnecting switch core (<6>) and a negative disconnecting switch core (<8>), and a second terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core and a first terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core are electrically connected to the high-voltage connection part (see Li: [0063-0067], Fig. 3 regarding connection ends of relays); and the tabs comprise a positive low-voltage positive-electrode tab, a positive low-voltage negative-electrode tab, a negative low-voltage positive-electrode tab, and a negative low-voltage negative-electrode tab (respective conductors of connectors <21,22> connected to each control end of relays <6,8>, see Li: [0083-0085], Figs. 1-3), a first end of the positive low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a first end of the positive low-voltage negative-electrode tab are connected to the positive disconnecting switch core, a second end of the positive low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a second end of the positive low-voltage negative-electrode tab are plugged into the circuit board and are electrically connected to the low-voltage loop, a first end of the negative low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a first end of the negative low-voltage negative-electrode tab are connected to the negative disconnecting switch core, and a second end of the negative low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a second end of the negative low-voltage negative-electrode tab are plugged into the circuit board for electrical connection with the low-voltage loop (see Li: [0083-0085], Figs. 1-3; note the connector conductors have second ends respectively plugged into PCB internal wiring, with other first end electrically connected to switches indirectly via wiring harnesses; note that although the claim language is broadly interpreted, Li and other prior art such as Pan, cited below, generally suggest it is known in the art for relays to have their control terminals directly plugged into PCB boards).
Although Li generally discloses use of circuit protector, Li does not explicitly disclose arrangement with the positive electrode and switch core as recited. Xing, however, teaches that it is known in the art of vehicle battery power distribution and protection circuits to provide a circuit protector in series with battery positive disconnecting contactor, thereby a first terminal of the circuit protector forms a positive-electrode connection end; a second terminal of the circuit protector is electrically connected to a first terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core (see Xing: [41], Fig. 3 regarding known arrangement of protective fuse in series with battery positive relay and connecting to battery positive electrode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li to incorporate the teachings of Xing by providing a circuit protector/fuse arranged as recited for purposes of providing known circuit protection means to protect components from overheating or overcurrent (see Li: [0068-0073], Xing: [41], Fig. 4).
Re claim 4. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the second terminal of the circuit protector is electrically connected with the first terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core; and the second terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core and the first terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core are electrically connected with the high-voltage connection part (see Li: [0063-0064], Fig. 3, Xing: [41], Fig. 3, and discussion of claim 3 above regarding obviousness of connection of fuse with end of positive relay).
Re claim 5. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the tabs further comprise: a positive-electrode voltage collection piece, a first end of the positive-electrode voltage collection piece being connected between the second terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core and the high-voltage connection part, and a second end of the positive-electrode voltage collection piece plugged into the circuit board and electrically connected to the low-voltage loop; and a negative-electrode voltage collection piece, a first end of the negative-electrode voltage collection piece being connected between the first terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core and the high-voltage connection part, and a second end of the negative-electrode voltage collection piece plugged into the circuit board and electrically connected to the low-voltage loop (see Li: [0088-0090], Fig. 3 regarding PCB conductor connections/pieces electrically connected to sample voltages at V3+and V1-; note that although the claim limitations are broadly interpreted regarding electrical connection, Xing: [41], [46-47], Figs. 1-3 also similarly discloses direct sampling electrical connections via ports).
Re claim 6. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the high-voltage connection part comprises: a high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece electrically connected with the second terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core and an end of the positive-electrode voltage collection piece; and a high-voltage negative-electrode lead-out piece electrically connected with the first terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core and an end of the negative-electrode voltage collection piece (see Li: [0088-0090], Figs. 1-3 regarding corresponding conductor connection at the voltage sampling points, i.e. lead-out pieces that would be electrically connected to corresponding PCB connections for sampling; see also similarly Xing: [41], [46-47], Figs. 1-3).
Re claim 8. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose use of separation ribs between parts. Official Notice is hereby taken, however, that design of electronic component mounting bases to have separating ribs/walls/supports between components is well-known in the art for purposes of physical support to prevent motion of parts or to isolate parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Xing such that the base comprises a first positioning separation rib and a second positioning separation rib; the first positioning separation rib is located between the circuit protector and the high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece, and is located between the circuit protector and the positive-electrode voltage collection piece; and the second positioning separation rib is located between the high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece and the high-voltage negative-electrode lead-out piece, and is located between the positive-electrode voltage collection piece and the negative-electrode voltage collection piece for purposes of providing known physical mounting support structure to protect and/or separate the circuit protector and other components/connections.
Re claim 9. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the high-voltage loop further comprises a current sensor (current sensor <7>, see Li: [0065-0067], Fig. 3 regarding connection of sensor <7> between negative electrode <3> and negative switch <8>), a first terminal of the current sensor forms the negative-electrode connection end, and a second terminal of the current sensor is electrically connected to the second terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core; and the tabs further comprise a current collection pin (conducting pin of connector <23>, see Li: [0087], Figs. 1-3 regarding connector pin having second end plugged into PCB wiring and first end electrically connected to sensor <7> via wiring), a first end of the current collection pin is connected to the current sensor, and a second end of the current collection pin is plugged into the circuit board and is electrically connected to the low-voltage loop.
Re claim 10. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the second terminal of the current sensor is electrically connected with the second terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core (see Li: [0065-0067], Fig. 3).
Re claim 11. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose use of separation ribs between parts. Official Notice is hereby taken, however, that design of electronic component mounting bases to have separating ribs/walls/supports between components is well-known in the art for purposes of physical support to prevent motion of parts or to isolate parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Xing such that the base is configured with a third positioning separation rib, and the third positioning separation rib is located between the current sensor and the high-voltage connection part for purposes of providing known physical mounting support structure to protect and/or separate the current sensor and other components/connections.
Re claim 12. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the circuit protector, the positive disconnecting switch core, the negative disconnecting switch core, and the current sensor are disposed along a length direction of the base; and the low-voltage connection part and the current sensor are disposed along a width direction of the base (see Li: Figs. 1-2 regarding general arrangement of parts in arbitrary length and width directions; alternatively, it would have been obvious to rearrange the physical position of the parts as desired since it has been held shifting the position or particular placement of parts without modifying the overall operation of the device would be obvious to those of ordinary skill; see MPEP: 2144.04, VI, C).
Re claim 13. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the high-voltage loop further comprises a precharge loop (pre-charging resistor <13>, pre-charging relay <14>, see Li: [0074-0077], Figs. 1-3), a portion of the precharge loop is integrated into the circuit board, the precharge loop comprises a precharge resistor (<13>) and a precharge disconnecting switch (<14>), the precharge resistor and the precharge disconnecting switch are disposed on the base and plugged into the circuit board, and the precharge resistor and the precharge disconnecting switch are connected in series to each other and in parallel with a corresponding disconnecting switch core (<6>; see Li: [0074-0077], Figs. 1-3 regarding precharge components integrated with/plugged into PCB and in the box body); and the tabs further comprise a precharge low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a precharge low-voltage negative-electrode tab, a first end of the precharge low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a first end of the precharge low-voltage negative-electrode tab are connected to the precharge disconnecting switch, and a second end of the precharge low-voltage positive-electrode tab and a second end of the precharge low-voltage negative-electrode tab are plugged into the circuit board for electrical connection with the low-voltage loop (see Li: [0074-0077], [0086], [0088], Figs. 1-3 regarding respective conductive connections/tabs connecting ends of resistor and relay to PCB).
Re claim 14. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the precharge disconnecting switch comprises a precharge high-voltage positive-electrode tab and a precharge high-voltage negative-electrode tab, the precharge resistor comprises a resistor high-voltage tab, the circuit protector and the precharge resistor are electrically connected to each other, and the precharge high-voltage positive-electrode tab, a precharge high-voltage negative-electrode tab, and the resistor high-voltage tab are plugged into the circuit board and in electrical connection with the portion of the precharge loop integrated on the circuit board; or the precharge disconnecting switch comprises the precharge high-voltage positive-electrode tab and the precharge high-voltage negative-electrode tab, the precharge resistor comprises a resistor high-voltage positive-electrode tab and a resistor high-voltage negative-electrode tab, and the precharge high-voltage positive-electrode tab, the precharge high-voltage negative-electrode tab, the resistor high-voltage positive-electrode tab, and the resistor high-voltage negative-electrode tab are plugged into the circuit board and in electrical connection with the portion of the precharge loop integrated on the circuit board (see Li: [0074-0077], [0086], [0088], Figs. 1-3 regarding respective conductive connections/tabs connecting ends of resistor and relay to PCB).
Re claim 15. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the precharge loop further comprises: a precharge tab, the second terminal of the circuit protector electrically connected with the first terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core, a first end of the precharge tab being connected between the second terminal of the circuit protector and the first terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core, and a second end of the precharge tab being plugged into the circuit board and electrically connected to a portion of the precharge loop integrated on the circuit board (see Li: [0074-0077], Figs. 1-3, Xing: Fig. 3, and discussion of claim 3 regarding arrangement of conducting connections of precharge components with positive relay <6> and fuse).
Re claim 16. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the precharge tab is integrally formed with the second terminal of the circuit protector (see Li: [0074-0077], Figs. 1-3, Xing: Fig. 3, and discussion of claim 3 regarding arrangement of conducting connections of precharge components with fuse, i.e. a conductor connection may generally be considered the tab for their connection).
Re claim 17. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the precharge disconnecting switch, the precharge resistor, the positive disconnecting switch core, the negative disconnecting switch core, and the low-voltage connection part are disposed along a length direction of the base; and the precharge disconnecting switch, the precharge resistor, and the circuit protector are disposed along a width direction of the base (see Li: Figs. 1-2 regarding general arrangement of parts in arbitrary length and width directions; alternatively, it would have been obvious to rearrange the physical position of the parts as desired since it has been held shifting the position or particular placement of parts without modifying the overall operation of the device would be obvious to those of ordinary skill; see MPEP: 2144.04, VI, C).
Re claim 18. Li in view of Xing teaches the power distribution apparatus according to claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose the base having respective grooves and clamp structure for holding the respective components. Official Notice is hereby taken however that it is well known in the art of electronic component mounting structures to design the base structure to have respective component grooves/slots/spaces and clamping structures for purposes of providing physical positioning and securing means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Xing such that the base comprises a positive disconnecting switch core installation groove, a negative disconnecting switch core installation groove, a precharge disconnecting switch installation groove, and a precharge resistor installation groove; the positive disconnecting switch core is fixed to the positive disconnecting switch core installation groove; the negative disconnecting switch core is fixed to the negative disconnecting switch core installation groove; the precharge disconnecting switch is clamped in the precharge disconnecting switch installation groove or fixed to the precharge disconnecting switch installation groove; and the precharge resistor is clamped in the precharge resistor installation groove for purposes of providing known support structure means for mechanically securing and positioning the electronic components in the base.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of DeKeuster (US2016/0093848).
Re claims 19-20, Li teaches a battery pack and a vehicle comprising a power distribution apparatus having essentially the same components arranged as recited in claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1 above for details). Li further discloses a battery module electrically connected to the positive-electrode connection end and the negative-electrode connection end (see Li: [0056], Figs. 1-3 regarding battery pack connected to terminals <2,3>) and a vehicle comprising a battery pack and a load electrically connected to the battery pack (see Li: [0054-0058], Figs. 1-3 regarding vehicle with battery pack and high-voltage device connected to high-voltage connector <5> which must be exposed to allow connection to further device). Although it is implied there would be some form of housing structure to accommodate the battery pack and box body/distribution apparatus with high-voltage connector within the vehicle, Li does not explicitly describe further arrangement. DeKeuster, however, teaches that it is known in the art of vehicle battery and power distribution circuit arrangements for the system to include a housing for both the power distribution apparatus and the battery module with the high-voltage connection part and the low-voltage connection part being exposed from the housing (see DeKeuster: [0043], [0071-0073], Figs. 1-2, 9A-B, 10 regarding housing for both battery and other associated electronics and connectable to external EV components). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or modify the system of Li to incorporate the teachings of DeKeuster by providing common housing for battery module and the associated power distribution apparatus for purposes of known arrangement for protecting the associated components by housing structure and enabling their modular grouping together for ease of installation (see DeKeuster: [0043], [0071-0073], Figs. 9A-B, 10).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/621616 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Re claim 1, reference application claims 1-4 recite essentially the same limitations. Note that the “plurality of tabs” correspond to the connections or “connectors” recited in reference application claims 1 and 4 (and similarly reference application claims 5-6) which connect to high-voltage loop components and plug into circuit board and low voltage loop, as understood in light of the disclosure.
Re claims 2-18, the further recited limitations correspond to recitation of reference application claims 1-14 essentially as understood in light of the disclosure.
Re claim 19, reference application claim 19 recites essentially the same limitations. Note that the “plurality of tabs” correspond to the connections being plugged into the circuit board recited in reference application claim 19 as understood in light of the disclosure.
Re claim 20, reference application claim 20 recites essentially the same limitations. Note that the “plurality of tabs” correspond to the connections being plugged into the circuit board recited in reference application claim 20 as understood in light of the disclosure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 would be allowable upon addressing the noted Double Patenting issues, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or render obvious a power distribution apparatus having combination of features connected and functioning as recited in claim 1, 3, 5-6, and further “wherein the second terminal of the positive disconnecting switch core, the high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece, and the end of the positive-electrode voltage collection piece are in contact with each other, one of the high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece and the positive-electrode voltage collection piece comprises a positive-electrode anti-rotation positioning groove, and the other one of the high-voltage positive-electrode lead-out piece and the positive-electrode voltage collection piece mates with the positive-electrode anti-rotation positioning groove; and the first terminal of the negative disconnecting switch core, the high-voltage negative-electrode lead-out piece, and the end of the negative-electrode voltage collection piece are in contact with each other, one of the high-voltage negative-electrode lead-out piece and the negative-electrode voltage collection piece comprises a negative-electrode anti-rotation positioning groove, and the other one of the high-voltage negative-electrode lead-out piece and the negative-electrode voltage collection piece mates with the negative-electrode anti-rotation positioning groove”. As discussed above, Li, Xing, and similar prior art of record discloses a power distribution apparatus having essentially the same circuit components arranged to function in the same overall circuit, with conductors provided for electrical connection by direct plugging into PCB board and electrical wiring connection to associated high voltage components. Although the prior art also suggests direct plugging of conductor tab/pieces to the PCB board generally for some components such as relays and voltage sampling ports, the prior art does not sufficiently teach or suggest having the combination of components including switch core terminal, high-voltage electrode lead-out piece, and electrode voltage collection piece, functioning/connected with respective high-voltage loop components and plugged in with circuit board as recited in intervening claims, and also structured to be in contact with each other via anti-rotation positioning grooves as recited and as understood in light of Applicant’s disclosure. Claim 7, in light of Applicant’s Specification/Drawings and upon incorporation of the associated intervening features and addressing the Double Patenting rejection, would therefore overcome the cited prior art of record.
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant address the Double Patenting rejection, consider the indicated allowable subject matter, and consider the cited prior art of record which appears to suggest that the overall circuit and circuit components of the power distribution apparatus are known, with general arrangement on supporting base with high-voltage and low-voltage sections, circuit boards, and conductive connections/tabs are known in the art under broadest reasonable interpretation. Further prior art also appears to suggest it is generally known and obvious for the system to be designed such that some/most electrical components are able to be directly plugged into the circuit board without wiring harness. It is recommended Applicant consider the indicated allowable subject matter which appears to overcome the prior art by further specifying the overall physical/mechanical arrangement of particular components together, such that they perform respective functions/electrical connections, and also have particular electric and mechanical arrangement with each other, the circuit board, and the high-voltage loop components in a manner that overcomes the general suggestions of the prior art and broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is generally advised that similar claim limitations which both specify the overall electrical connections and mechanical arrangements of multiple components together in combination in a manner different than the prior art may also be able to distinguish from the prior art. Applicant is cautioned that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation, and limitations such as “connected” or “electrically connected” broadly encompass indirect electrical connections by wires or other components unless further limited. Applicant may contact the Examiner to discuss possible amendments or the office action as needed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matejek (US2012/021866) also discloses a power distribution apparatus highly relevant to the claimed limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836