Response to an amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 12/16/2025.
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are canceled.
Claims 21-24 are new.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, 13-16 and 18 are currently amended.
Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-24 are pending for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10-11, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10 and 15 under 102(a)(1) have been considered and regarding the amended feature of “joining a live collaborative session comprising the one or more client devices using the application” are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rose et al. (US 2020/0279070 A1) in view of Beausoleil et al. (US 2016/0285702 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US 2020/0279070 A1), hereinafter “Rose” in view of Beausoleil et al. (US 2016/0285702 A1), hereinafter “Beausoleil”. Rose cited in applicant IDS filed 07/18/2025.
With respect to claim 1, Rose discloses a method, comprising:
joining, by a first client device executing a video conference client application, a video conference hosted by a video conference provider, the video conference comprising a plurality of client devices (¶0052, teaches the users referred to herein access a group-based communication or messaging system using client devices, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video, audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents, ¶0061-¶0062, teaches each organization group may have one or more group-based communication channels (explained below) to which users may be assigned or which the users may join… Group-based communication system users may join group-based communication channels);
receiving, from a second client device of the plurality of client devices, a network address corresponding to an application installed on one or more client devices of the plurality of client devices, the application including a collaborative mode (¶0025, ¶0063, ¶0128, ¶0130, ¶0134 and ¶0141, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item… the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page)… the group-based messages are uniformly presented to each of the users viewing the group-based messages in the selected channel. For the purposes described herein, the user inputs a group-based message utilizing input field 305 and input/output circuitry 250. For example, the user (Matt) inputs or enters “Here's the link to the shared document: https://doc.ACME.com/12345” into input field 305… group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL (i.e. network address) https://doc.ACME.com/12345. wherein Anna (see Fig. 3A-3C) uses the first client device and Matt uses the second client device… FIG. 3C shows an example of the group-based message in the channel if an APP was previously installed in the interface instance. For example, the ACME Docs APP is already installed in the interface instance on the defined preview server 102, thus defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered as defined preview 312, without needing to install (or reinstall) the APP… resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP));
receiving, from the video conference provider, information about the network address based on the network address (¶0130, ¶0134 and ¶0147, teaches group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL (i.e. network address) https://doc.ACME.com/12345... defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered as defined preview 312… receive defined preview data from the resource provider);
generating a rendering of the information about the network address (See Fig. 3C, item 304E, ¶0134-¶0135 and ¶0148 teaches defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered as defined preview 312… Defined preview 312 includes image 314 (e.g., a logo of a document hosting service or another image as defined at the resource provider), description text 316 and 318 (e.g., a title and authors of the document). Defined preview 312 also includes summary text 320, which summarizes or depicts the information in the resource… render the defined preview (e.g. defined preview 312) of the resource based on the defined preview data to the group-based communication interface associated with the group-based message), wherein the rendering includes one or more controls, each control associated with an action to take in response to selecting the control (¶0135 and ¶0149, teaches the defined preview 312 also includes the interactive graphical element 322, which allows for a user to select the element for further user interface functions… the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements (e.g. interactive graphical element 322), wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item), a first control of the one or more controls being configured to join a collaborative session using the application in the collaborative mode with the one or more client devices (¶0054, teaches access may further be facilitated by a validated request to join or an invitation to join (i.e. collaborative session) transmitted by one group member user to another non-member user, ¶0135, ¶0141 and ¶0149, teaches the defined preview 312 also includes the interactive graphical element 322, which allows for a user to select the element (i.e. a first control of the one or more controls) for further user interface functions… resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP)…the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements (e.g. interactive graphical element 322), wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item);
displaying the rendering on a display of the first client device (See Fig. 3C, ¶0148 teaches the defined preview 312 is provided to a client device 110A, such that it may be displayed on a group-based communication interface of the client device 110A by interface module 246);
receiving an indication of a selection of the first control of the one or more controls (¶0135 and ¶0149, teaches a user to select the element for further user interface functions… the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements (e.g. interactive graphical element 322), wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item. For example, a computer bug tracking resource provider may return defined preview data including a button (user selectable item) which, when selected by a user begins a user interaction with the resource provider and handled by the bug tracking resource provider); and
outputting a command to execute the action associated with the first control (¶0135 and ¶0149, teaches selecting element 322 shows more or less summary text 320…the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements (e.g. interactive graphical element 322), wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item), wherein the action includes:
executing, at the first client device, the application corresponding to the network address in the collaborative mode (¶0052, teaches the users referred to herein access a group-based communication or messaging system using client devices, ¶0054, teaches access may further be facilitated by a validated request to join or an invitation to join (i.e. collaborative session) transmitted by one group member user to another non-member user, ¶0141, teaches resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP)).
However, Rose remain silent on joining a live collaborative session comprising the one or more client devices using the application.
Beausoleil discloses joining a live collaborative session comprising the one or more client devices using the application (¶0037, teaches an integrated collaborative workspace (i.e. collaborative session) that provides a single user interface to communicate with coworkers, generate and access work product (e.g., files, media, documents, digital content items, etc.), and access the software applications that are necessary to conduct business in the modern world, ¶0039, teaches a user can interact with content management system 106 through client devices 102 1, 102 2, . . . , 102 n (collectively “102”) connected to network 104 by direct and/or indirect communication. Content management system 106 can support connections from a variety of different client devices, such as desktop computers; mobile computers; mobile communications devices, e.g. mobile phones, smart phones, tablets; smart televisions; set-top boxes; and/or any other network enabled computing devices, ¶0113, teaches workspace server 136 can send the new workspace message (e.g., with link to stored attachment) to WS GUI 300 on each client device. WS GUI 300 can display the workspace message and/or the link to the stored attachment in message stream 316, for example. The workspace message can include a live preview image of the linked content, ¶0142, teaches sending workspace messages to external users. At step 1502, a server device can generate a message stream for workspace members. For example, server device 230 can generate message stream 316 of FIG. 3. Message stream 316 can be a (e.g., time-ordered) collection of workspace messages (e.g., real-time (i.e. live) or near real-time chat messages) generated by members of a workspace).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Rose’s group based communication with joining a live collaborative session comprising the one or more client devices using the application of Beausolil, in order to allow the application to keep everyone working in the same shared environment and maintain a consistent state across all devices (Beausoleil).
For claim 10, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 10 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 15, it is a system claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claim 4, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the application is not installed on the first client device (Rose, ¶0131, teaches the resource request (e.g., “https://doc.ACME.com/12345”) is a subscribed resource according to the operations described in FIGS. 4-8 and that a defined preview application (APP) such as the ACME Docs APP is not installed on the interface instance (e.g. the defined preview server 102)); and
the one or more controls include a second control to cause the application to be installed on the first client device (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element ((i.e. second control) comprises a user selectable item, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D).
with respect to claim 5, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the application is installed on the first client device (Rose, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D); and
the one or more controls include a second control to cause the application to execute on only the first client device (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page), ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A, ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D, ¶0134, teaches the ACME Docs APP is already installed in the interface instance on the defined preview server 102, thus defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered).
with respect to claims 6 and 16, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the information about the network address includes second information about the application based on the network address (Rose, ¶0063, teaches a resource request comprises a uniform resource locator (URL) identifying a requested resource and a resource address, ¶0135, teaches defined preview 312 includes image 314 (e.g., a logo of a document hosting service or another image as defined at the resource provider), description text 316 and 318 (e.g., a title and authors of the document), wherein title or description of text are second information).
with respect to claim 7, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the information about the network address further includes instructions for rendering the information about the network address, including a preview of the application based on the network address (Rose, ¶0077, teaches the defined preview server 102 may determine and transmit commands and instructions for rendering one or more group-based communication channels, including defined previews of resources, to client devices 110A-110N, ¶0130, teaches a metadata preview of the resource is displayed based on metadata and other information collected by the defined preview server 102. For example, a logo (i.e image) of the document service, a title, and a description (i.e. text) of the document are shown in metadata preview 308).
with respect to claim 8, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the preview of the application is further based on information about the first client device (Rose, ¶0130, teaches a metadata preview of the resource is displayed based on metadata and other information collected by the defined preview server 102. For example, a logo (i.e image) of the document service, a title, and a description (i.e. text) of the document are shown in metadata preview 308).
With respect to claim 9, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the information about the network address includes default information about the application (Rose, ¶0063, teaches a resource request in the form of a URL “http://logo.ACME.com” is a resource request for the “logo” of “ACME.” The resource address is the address of the URL, ¶0130, teaches group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL (i.e. network address) https://doc.ACME.com/12345.).
With respect to claim 13, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein: the network address is a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the application (Rose, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page)… a resource request comprises a uniform resource locator (URL) identifying a requested resource and a resource address, ¶0141, teaches resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP)), a portion of the URL being registered with an operating system of the first client device in response to an installation of the application on the first client device (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element ((i.e. second control) comprises a user selectable item, ¶0065, teaches the subscribed resource addresses (i.e URL)s are stored as a list or registry in a subscription database, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D); and
the one or more controls include a second control to cause the application to execute on only the first client device (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page), ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D, ¶0134, teaches the ACME Docs APP is already installed in the interface instance on the defined preview server 102, thus defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered ).
with respect to claim 14, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein:
the application is installed in the video conference client software of the first client device (Rose, ¶0055, one or more group-based communication channel identifiers associated with group-based communication channels (i.e. video conference) that the user has been granted access to, one or more group identifiers for groups with which the user is associated, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D); and
the one or more controls include:
a second control to cause the application to execute on the first client device, the application included in a video conference interface of the video conference client application corresponding to the video conference (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item, ¶0055, one or more group-based communication channel identifiers associated with group-based communication channels (i.e. video conference) that the user has been granted access to, one or more group identifiers for groups with which the user is associated, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video, audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text (i.e. chat message) as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page), ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A, ¶0131, teaches provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D, ¶0134, teaches the ACME Docs APP is already installed in the interface instance on the defined preview server 102, thus defined preview module 208 and communication circuitry 212 sends a defined preview request to the resource provider and the defined preview data is received and rendered).
with respect to claim 17, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the system of claim 16, wherein:
the network address is a uniform resource locator (URL) (Rose, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page)… a resource request comprises a uniform resource locator (URL) identifying a requested resource and a resource address);
the URL includes a portion corresponding to the application (Rose, ¶0141, teaches resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP));
the information about the network address further includes instructions for rendering the information about the network address, including a preview of the application based on the network address (Rose, ¶0077, teaches the defined preview server 102 may determine and transmit commands and instructions for rendering one or more group-based communication channels, including defined previews of resources, to client devices 110A-110N, ¶0130, teaches a metadata preview of the resource is displayed based on metadata and other information collected by the defined preview server 102. For example, a logo (i.e image) of the document service, a title, and a description (i.e. text) of the document are shown in metadata preview 308); and
the preview of the application is further based on information about the first client device (Rose, ¶0130, teaches a metadata preview of the resource is displayed based on metadata and other information collected by the defined preview server 102. For example, a logo (i.e image) of the document service, a title, and a description (i.e. text) of the document are shown in metadata preview 308).
With respect to claim 18, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first client device includes a chat interface of the video conference client application and receiving, from the second client device of the plurality of client devices, the network address comprises receiving a chat message including the network address using the chat interface (Rose, ¶0051, teaches the data may be received directly from the another computing device or may be received indirectly via one or more intermediary computing devices, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video, audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text (i.e. chat message) as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents).
With respect to claim 19, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the system of claim 15, wherein receiving, from the video conference provider (¶0055, one or more group-based communication channel identifiers associated with group-based communication channels (i.e. video conference) that the user has been granted access to, one or more group identifiers for groups with which the user is associated), the information about the network address based on the network address comprises:
outputting the network address to the video conference provider (Rose, ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A are discussed in connection with FIGS. 3-8);
receiving, from the video conference provider, a scope associated with the network address, wherein the scope is associated with an authentication information request (Rose, ¶0130, teaches group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL “https://doc.ACME.com/12345.” In the depicted embodiment, the resource location requires authentication before a resource preview can be fully shown);
outputting, to the video conference provider, authentication information about the first client device (Rose, ¶0121, teaches visual outputs (e.g. a defined preview of a requested resource) that may be provided to a user by circuitry of client device 110A are discussed in connection with FIGS. 3-8, ¶0130, teaches group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL “https://doc.ACME.com/12345.” In the depicted embodiment, the resource location requires authentication before a resource preview can be fully shown); and
receiving, from the video conference provider, the information about the network address based on the authentication information about the first client device (Rose, ¶0130, teaches group-based message 304C comprises a resource request in the form of URL “https://doc.ACME.com/12345.” In the depicted embodiment, the resource location requires authentication before a resource preview can be fully shown).
With respect to claim 20, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the system of claim 15, wherein receiving, from the video conference provider (¶0055, one or more group-based communication channel identifiers associated with group-based communication channels (i.e. video conference) that the user has been granted access to, one or more group identifiers for groups with which the user is associated), the information about the network address based on the network address comprises:
outputting the network address and authentication information about the first client device to a webhook endpoint (Rose, ¶0067, teaches the resource provider may provide only an image file of the of ACME logo for the resource request: “http://logo.ACME.com.” Alternatively, the resource provider may also provide textual information such as a description of the logo, legal information such as copyright and trademark information, etc. Defined preview data may be in the form of a JSON object (i.e. webhook endpoint), a URL, or other data, ¶0072, teaches “user authentication information” may comprise information positively identifying a user, client device, or user profile and may include login credentials including user name, password, and other identifying information. An “authenticated user” refers to a user requesting a resource that has also been authenticated by the resource provider. For example, the resource provider may compare an event token to user authentication information in order to authenticate a user); and
receiving, from the webhook endpoint, the information about the network address based on the authentication information about the first client device (Rose, ¶0064, teaches the resource provider is also configured to receive authentication information to authenticate a defined preview request, as part of the defined preview request, ¶0067, teaches the resource provider may provide only an image file of the of ACME logo for the resource request: “http://logo.ACME.com.” Alternatively, the resource provider may also provide textual information such as a description of the logo, legal information such as copyright and trademark information, etc. Defined preview data may be in the form of a JSON object (i.e. webhook endpoint), a URL, or other data, ¶0072, teaches “user authentication information” may comprise information positively identifying a user, client device, or user profile and may include login credentials including user name, password, and other identifying information. An “authenticated user” refers to a user requesting a resource that has also been authenticated by the resource provider. For example, the resource provider may compare an event token to user authentication information in order to authenticate a user).
With respect to claims 21, 23 and 24, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the application a native desktop application different from the video conference client application (Rose, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video, audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents, Beausoleil, ¶0085, teaches native application 406 can be a word processing application installed on client device 240, wherein native application is separate from client application, ¶0128, teaches the options for opening a content item can include a selectable option 1112 for opening the content item in a native application running on the user's client device).
With respect to claim 22, Rose in view of Beausoleil discloses the method of claim 1 wherein:
the application is installed in the video conference client application of the first client device (Rose, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video, audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents, ¶0131-¶0132, teaches the server then provides the opportunity to install the APP in the interface instance (e.g., installing the APP on the defined preview server 102) as shown in group-based message 304D), and the one or more controls include a second control to cause the application to execute on the first client device (Rose, ¶0025, teaches the defined preview comprises interactive graphical elements, wherein each interactive graphical element comprises a user selectable item, ¶0063 teaches the term “resource request” refers any electronically generated digital content object, such as text, which refers to an identification of a resource, such as document, image, video, web site (i.e. web page), ¶0141, teaches resource addresses are associated with a defined preview application (APP)), the application included in a video conference interface of the video conference client application corresponding to the video conference (Rose, ¶0059, teaches Group-based message communications may include any text (including a resource request), image, video (i.e. video conference), audio or combination thereof provided by a user (using a client device). For instance, a user may provide a group-based message that includes text as well as an image and a video within the group-based message as group-based message contents, ¶0074, teaches the selected group-based communication interface may be used as part of a standalone service, application, or device or it may be applied as a layer atop an existing service application or device).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458