Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 18, 2025 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (WO 2022/215372 A1) in view of Shim et al. (US 6,861,288). The examiner notes that US 2024/0014121 is being used as an English language translation of WO 2022/215372 and that the citations to paragraphs of Otsubo refer to paragraphs of US 2024/0014121.
Regarding Claim 1:
Otsubo discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a surface mount technology component flip-chip (bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraphs 78-79) mounted to a carrier (the bulk acoustic wave filter is mounted on a substrate, See figs. 1-2, ref. nos. 2, 41, and paragraphs 78-79);
a metal conductor (conductor made of copper, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 8 and paragraph 84), having a first portion (portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 82 and paragraph 88) at least partially disposed over the surface mount technology component and second portion (portion of the grounding part connected to the via conductor connected to the ground electrode and the portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 3B, 71, 82 and paragraph 87) coupled to a ground connection (ground electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. 3B and paragraph 87) of the carrier; and
an electronic component (second electronic component, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 5 and paragraphs 91-92) mounted to the first portion of the metal conductor (the second electronic component is soldered to the conductor, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 5, 6A, 6B and paragraph 97), the electronic component being grounded at least partially through the metal conductor (grounding part also functions as wiring that electrically connects the ground terminal 6B to the ground electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. 6B, 82 and paragraph 89).
Otsubo does not disclose the metal conductor is in the form a metal clip.
Shim discloses a metal clip (metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. nos. 204, 208 col. 6 lines 1-7 and 47-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo to include the metal conductor in the form of a metal clip as taught by Otsubo in order to provide increased support for mounting the second electronic component above the bulk acoustic wave filter. (See Shim col. 6 lines 47-55.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Otsubo discloses wherein the metal clip is an electromagnetic shield configured to shield the surface mount technology component from electromagnetic fields (the grounding part shields the bulk acoustic wave filter from electromagnetic waves, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 41, 82 and paragraph 89).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses wherein surface mount technology component (Otsubo discloses the bulk acoustic wave filter has a rectangular box shape, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraph 78) includes a lower side (first surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41a) facing the carrier, an upper side (second surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41b) opposite the lower side, a first sidewall (right sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) extends between the lower side and the upper side, and a second sidewall (left sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) opposite the first sidewall, the second portion of the metal clip includes a first leg (top right leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208) disposed adjacent to the first sidewall and a second leg disposed adjacent to the second sidewall (top left leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208).
Regarding Claim 4:
Otsubo discloses wherein the metal clip is electrically isolated from the surface mount technology component (the conductor does not provide an electrical connection between the substate and bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 2 and 8).
Regarding Claim 8:
Otsubo discloses wherein the surface mount technology component is a gallium arsenide die or a bulk acoustic wave filter (bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraphs 78-79).
Regarding Claim 9:
Otsubo discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a bulk acoustic wave filter (bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraphs 78-79) mounted to a carrier (the bulk acoustic wave filter is mounted on a substrate, See figs. 1-2, ref. nos. 2, 41, and paragraphs 78-79);
a metal conductor (conductor made of copper, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 8 and paragraph 84) having a first portion (portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 82 and paragraph 88) at least partially disposed over the bulk acoustic wave filter and second portion (portion of the grounding part connected to the via conductor connected to the ground electrode and the portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 3B, 71, 82 and paragraph 87) coupled to a ground connection of the carrier (ground electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. 3B and paragraph 87), the metal clip electrically isolated from the bulk acoustic wave filter (the conductor does not provide an electrical connection between the substate and bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 2 and 8); and
an electronic component (second electronic component is soldered to the conductor, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 5, 6A, 6B, paragraph 91-92 and 97) mounted to the first portion of the metal conductor.
Otsubo does not disclose the metal conductor is in the form a metal clip.
Shim discloses a metal clip (metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. nos. 204, 208 col. 6 lines 1-7 and 47-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo to include the metal conductor in the form of a metal clip as taught by Otsubo in order to provide increased support for mounting the second electronic component above the bulk acoustic wave filter. (See Shim col. 6 lines 47-55.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Otsubo discloses wherein the metal clip is an electromagnetic shield configured to shield the bulk acoustic wave filter from electromagnetic fields (the grounding part shields the bulk acoustic wave filter from electromagnetic waves, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 41, 82 and paragraph 89).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses wherein bulk acoustic wave filter (Otsubo discloses the bulk acoustic wave filter has a rectangular box shape, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraph 78) includes a lower side (first surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41a) facing the carrier, an upper side (second surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41b) opposite the lower side, a first sidewall (right sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) extends between the lower side and the upper side, and a second sidewall (left sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) opposite the first sidewall, the second portion of the metal clip includes a first leg (top right leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208) disposed adjacent to the first sidewall and a second leg disposed adjacent to the second sidewall (top left leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208).
Regarding Claim 15:
Otsubo discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a surface mount technology component flip-chip (bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraphs 78-79) mounted to a carrier (the bulk acoustic wave filter is mounted on a substrate, See figs. 1-2, ref. nos. 2, 41, and paragraphs 78-79);
a metal conductor (conductor made of copper, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 8 and paragraph 84) having a first portion (portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 82 and paragraph 88) at least partially disposed over the surface mount technology component and second portion (portion of the grounding part connected to the via conductor connected to the ground electrode and the portion of the grounding part covering the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 3B, 71, 82 and paragraph 87) coupled to the carrier, the metal clip being an electromagnetic shield configured to shield the surface mount technology component from electromagnetic fields (the grounding part shields the bulk acoustic wave filter from electromagnetic waves, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 41, 82 and paragraph 89); and
an electronic component (second electronic component is soldered to the conductor, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 5, 6A, 6B, paragraph 91-92 and 97) mounted to the first portion of the metal conductor.
Otsubo does not disclose the metal conductor is in the form a metal clip.
Shim discloses a metal clip (metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. nos. 204, 208 col. 6 lines 1-7 and 47-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo to include the metal conductor in the form of a metal clip as taught by Otsubo in order to provide increased support for mounting the second electronic component above the bulk acoustic wave filter. (See Shim col. 6 lines 47-55.)
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses wherein surface mount technology component (Otsubo discloses the bulk acoustic wave filter has a rectangular box shape, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraph 78) includes a lower side (first surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41a) facing the carrier, an upper side (second surface, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41b) opposite the lower side, a first sidewall (right sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) extends between the lower side and the upper side, and a second sidewall (left sidewall of the bulk acoustic wave filter, See fig. 2, ref. no. 41) opposite the first sidewall, the second portion of the metal clip includes a first leg (top right leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208) disposed adjacent to the first sidewall and a second leg disposed adjacent to the second sidewall (top left leg of metal stiffener with supporting legs, See figs. 3-4, ref. no. 208).
Regarding Claim 20:
Otsubo discloses wherein the surface mount technology component is a gallium arsenide die or a bulk acoustic wave filter (bulk acoustic wave filter, See figs. 1-2, ref. no. 41 and paragraphs 78-79).
Claims 5, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (WO 2022/215372 A1) and Shim et al. (US 6,861,288) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2002/0000895).
Regarding Claim 5:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package. Otsubo further discloses resin sheet may be omitted (See fig. 2, ref. no. 7 and paragraph 129).
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is spaced apart from the surface mount technology component by a gap.
Takahashi discloses an acoustic wave filter separated from a metal cover up a space (See fig. 1, ref. nos. 13b, 15, 17 and 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to separate the bulk acoustic wave filter from the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Takahashi in order to provide better insulation for preventing heat transfer from the second electronic component to the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Regarding Claim 13:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package. Otsubo further discloses resin sheet may be omitted (See fig. 2, ref. no. 7 and paragraph 129).
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is spaced apart from the bulk acoustic wave filter by a gap.
Takahashi discloses an acoustic wave filter separated from a metal cover up a space (See fig. 1, ref. nos. 13b, 15, 17 and 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to separate the bulk acoustic wave filter from the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Takahashi in order to provide better insulation for preventing heat transfer from the second electronic component to the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Regarding Claim 17:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package. Otsubo further discloses resin sheet may be omitted (See fig. 2, ref. no. 7 and paragraph 129).
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is spaced apart from the surface mount technology component by a gap.
Takahashi discloses an acoustic wave filter separated from a metal cover up a space (See fig. 1, ref. nos. 13b, 15, 17 and 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to separate the bulk acoustic wave filter from the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Takahashi in order to provide better insulation for preventing heat transfer from the second electronic component to the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Claims 6, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (WO 2022/215372 A1) and Shim et al. (US 6,861,288) in view of Kawasaki (WO 2022/163263 A1). The examiner notes that US 2023/353126 is being used as an English language translation of WO 2022/163263 and that the citations to paragraphs of Kawasaki refer to paragraphs of US 2023/0353126.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above stated combination of Otsubo an Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package.
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is in physical contact with the surface mount technology component.
Kawasaki discloses an upper surface of substrate of filter in direct contact with an electrically conductive layer (See fig. 2, ref. nos. 70, 100, 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to include the upper surface of the bulk acoustic wave filter in direct contact with the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Kawasaki in order to better dissipate heat generated by the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Regarding Claim 14:
The above stated combination of Otsubo an Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package.
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is in physical contact with the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Kawasaki discloses an upper surface of substrate of filter in direct contact with an electrically conductive layer (See fig. 2, ref. nos. 70, 100, 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to include the upper surface of the bulk acoustic wave filter in direct contact with the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Kawasaki in order to better dissipate heat generated by the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Regarding Claim 18:
The above stated combination of Otsubo an Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package.
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the metal clip is in physical contact with the surface mount technology component.
Kawasaki discloses an upper surface of substrate of filter in direct contact with an electrically conductive layer (See fig. 2, ref. nos. 70, 100, 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated device package of Otsubo and Shim to include the upper surface of the bulk acoustic wave filter in direct contact with the metal stiffener with supporting legs as taught by Kawasaki in order to better dissipate heat generated by the bulk acoustic wave filter.
Claims 7, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (WO 2022/215372 A1) and Shim et al. (US 6,861,288) in view of Hoffman et al (US 6,737,750).
Regarding Claim 7:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package.
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the electronic component is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip by way of a conductive adhesive.
Hoffman discloses wherein the electronic component (second die, See fig. 10, ref. no. 16 and col. 7 lines 22-28) is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip (support structure, See fig. 10, ref. no. 14-6 and col. 7 lines 22-28) by way of a conductive adhesive (electrically conductive adhesive, See col. 7 lines 22-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrate device package of Otsubo and Shim to use an electrically conductive adhesive to mount the second electronic component to the grounding part as taught by Hoffman in order to reduce the exposure of the second electronic component to heat.
Regarding Claim 10:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package. Otsubo further discloses the electronic component is grounded at least partially through the metal clip and solder (the second electronic component is soldered to the grounding part that also functions as wiring that electrically connects the ground terminal 6B to the ground electrode, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 5, 6B, 82, paragraph 89 and 97).
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the electronic component is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip by way of a conductive adhesive.
Hoffman discloses wherein the electronic component (second die, See fig. 10, ref. no. 16 and col. 7 lines 22-28) is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip (support structure, See fig. 10, ref. no. 14-6 and col. 7 lines 22-28) by way of a conductive adhesive (electrically conductive adhesive, See col. 7 lines 22-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrate device package of Otsubo and Shim to use an electrically conductive adhesive to mount the second electronic component to the grounding part as taught by Hoffman in order to reduce the exposure of the second electronic component to heat.
Regarding Claim 19:
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim discloses the above stated integrated device package. Otsubo further discloses the electronic component is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip by way of solder (the second electronic component is soldered to the grounding part that also functions as wiring that electrically connects the ground terminal 6B to the ground electrode, See fig. 2, ref. nos. 5, 6B, 82, paragraph 89 and 97).
The above stated combination of Otsubo and Shim does not disclose wherein the electronic component is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip by way of a conductive adhesive.
Hoffman discloses wherein the electronic component (second die, See fig. 10, ref. no. 16 and col. 7 lines 22-28) is mounted to the first portion of the metal clip (support structure, See fig. 10, ref. no. 14-6 and col. 7 lines 22-28) by way of a conductive adhesive (electrically conductive adhesive, See col. 7 lines 22-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrate device package of Otsubo and Shim to use an electrically conductive adhesive to mount the second electronic component to the grounding part as taught by Hoffman in order to reduce the exposure of the second electronic component to heat.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899