Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks/amendment, filed 28 January 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Bowen (US 20200160612 A1) in view of Siggard et al. (US 12190456 B1).
Applicant states that Bowen does not disclose "an augmented reality (AR) preview screen that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a live view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device, wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize, in real time, customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product and position the camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content."
Examiner agrees that Bowen alone does not anticipate the claimed feature but upon further consideration and search of the amended claim feature, an obviousness rejection is made based on Bowen (US 20200160612 A1) in view of Siggard et al. (US 12190456 B1). Siggard et al. teaches creating an animated A/R overlay, utilizing an A/R application to capture, via a camera-enabled smart device, a live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of a user, and presenting the A/R overlay, by the camera-enabled smart device, wherein presenting the A/R overlay comprises overlaying, aligning, and displaying the A/R overlay in relation to the live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of the user, col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 17; col. 14, lines 3-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US 20200160612 A1) in view of Siggard et al. (US 12190456 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Bowen discloses a system (CAD system 102, para. 0066) for
customizing print-on-demand products, comprising:
a processor (one or more processing units 120);
a memory (a non-transitory computer-readable medium drive 124) in data
communication with the processor, the memory storing at least one computer program
comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to
perform a plurality of operations (processing unit 120 may thus receive information and
instructions from other computing devices, systems, or services via a network. The
processing unit 120 may also communicate to and from memory 124 and further
provide output information via the input/output device interface 126, para. 0066)
comprising:
providing a user interface for rendering by an Internet-enabled (CAD
system 102 may be cloud-based and may be accessed by one or more client
terminals 110, 112 (e.g., associated with an item provider or end user) and item provider
terminals 105a-105n over a network 114 (e.g., the Internet, Ethernet, or other wide area
or local area network), para. 0046) application of a computing device (network
interface 124 may provide the CAD services with connectivity to one or more networks
or computing systems, para. 0066), wherein the user interface provides an augmented
reality (AR) preview screen (a preview control is provided which when activated, will
cause the item to be realistically rendered with any customizations, paras. 0093, 0168)
that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a
view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device (rules
may indicate how a design element may be modified and what content may be used in
conjunction with the design element (e.g., overlaying the design element, or directly to
one side of the design element), para. 0064), wherein the AR preview screen enables a
user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital
representation of the customization panel of the product (image(s) and text may be
presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization,
thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028) and position the
camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content (paras.
0224, 0345);
receiving the image of the customized content from the computing device
(image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a
starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras.
0027-0028); and
generating a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the
customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print
3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may
be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down
successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Bowen does not expressly disclose that the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview screen that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a live view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device, wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize, in real time, customized content.
Siggard et al. teaches creation of an animated A/R overlay, utilizing an A/R application to capture, via a camera-enabled smart device, a live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of a user, and presenting the A/R overlay, by the camera-enabled smart device, wherein presenting the A/R overlay comprises overlaying, aligning, and displaying the A/R overlay in relation to the live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of the user, col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 17; col. 14, lines 3-8).
Bowen in view of Siggard et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem solving area of print preview. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the live and real-time presentation of Siggard et al. to the interface of Bowen in order to obtain print preview combined with a live scene. The motivation for doing so would be to customize a design with live captured scenery.
Regarding claim 2, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the product
comprises one of a greeting card, an envelope, a gift tag, a gift bag, wrapping paper,
tissue paper, an ornament, a soft good, a wall hanging, a home décor product, a picture
frame, a clothing item, a gift product, or an accessory (CAD system 102 may provide
tools to graphically construct computer models of and to modify computer models of
products such t-shirts, hoodies, shirts, jackets, dresses, pants, glasses, phone cases,
laptop skins, backpacks, laptop cases, tablet cases, hairbands, wristbands, jewelry, and
the like, para. 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the
customized content comprises one of a handwritten message, an artwork, a
photograph, a sticker, an arrangement of one or more physical objects, or one or more
subjects of a photo shoot (a user's intellectual property assets (e.g., logos, brand
names, photographs, graphics, animations, videos, sound files, stickers, tag lines, etc.),
para. 0067).
Regarding claim 4, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR
preview screen enables the user to adjust an appearance of the customized content on
the digital representation of the customization panel of the product prior to capture of
the image (a resizing control may be provided which enables the user to quickly resize a
design element to an appropriate size. For example, if an existing design element is
sized for a shirt pocket, the resizing control may enable the user to instruct the system
to automatically resize the design element for another selected area, such as a chest
area or a sleeve area, para. 0050; interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the
model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics
to the model, and/or animate the model. For example, a user interface may enable the
user to manipulate the model via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls, para.
0078).
Regarding claim 5, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR
preview screen further displays a window representative of a customization zone on the
customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to
position the customized content substantially within the window (a user can assign a
base price and prices for each specified item variant (e.g., for each combination of
available color, available size, and number of design areas customizable by an end
user), para. 0090).
Regarding claim 6, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR
preview screen further displays two or more windows representative of two or more
customization zones on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview
screen enables the user to parse the customized content into two or more content
sections and position the content sections substantially within the two or more
windows (accessing assets uploaded or otherwise provided by the user,
accessing palettes (e.g., color, content, assets, fonts, effects, etc.), para. 0187;
associated palettes for that asset may be displayed (e.g., the palette icons with the
corresponding number indicating the number of items in the corresponding palette),
para. 0191).
Regarding claim 7, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the
operations further comprise transmitting the print file to a printing system, wherein the
printing system is configured to execute the print file to print the customized content on
the customization panel of the product (client terminal may include user input and
output devices, such a displays (touch or non-touch displays), speakers, microphones,
trackpads, mice, pen input, printers, para. 0047.
Regarding claim 8, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the
operations further comprise adjusting an appearance of the customized content on the
digital representation of the customization panel of the product after capture of the
image (see at least figures 4T -4HH).
Regarding claim 9, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR
preview screen further enables the user to add one or more customization features to
the customization panel, wherein each of the customization features comprises one of
a content-specific sticker (para. 0027), an emoji (para. 0215), an avatar sticker, or a
handwritten mark.
Regarding claim 10, Bowen discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the product
includes pre-printed content, and wherein the handwritten mark comprises one of an
underline (para. 0097, 0140) that emphasizes a portion of the pre-printed content, an
arrow that points to a portion of the pre-printed content, or a strikethrough (font
formatting controls may be provided (e.g., regular, bold, underline, strike through,
subscript, superscript)., para. 0140) that crosses out a portion of the pre-printed
content.
Regarding claim 11, Bowen discloses a method for customizing print-on-demand
products, comprising:
displaying a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid
on a view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of a computing device to
enable a user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on
the digital representation of the customization panel of the product and position the
camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content;
receiving the image of the customized content from the computing device
(image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a
starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras.
0027-0028); and
generating a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the
customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print 3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Bowen does not expressly disclose that the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview screen that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a live view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device, wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize, in real time, customized content.
Siggard et al. teaches creation of an animated A/R overlay, utilizing an A/R application to capture, via a camera-enabled smart device, a live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of a user, and presenting the A/R overlay, by the camera-enabled smart device, wherein presenting the A/R overlay comprises overlaying, aligning, and displaying the A/R overlay in relation to the live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of the user, col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 17; col. 14, lines 3-8).
Bowen in view of Siggard et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem solving area of print preview. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the live and real-time presentation of Siggard et al. to the interface of Bowen in order to obtain print preview combined with a live scene. The motivation for doing so would be to customize a design with live captured scenery.
Regarding claim 12, Bowen discloses a system for customizing print-on-demand
products, comprising:
a server system (hosted on one or more servers, para. 0046) configured to:
provide a user interface for rendering by an Internet-enabled (CAD system 102 may be cloud-based and may be accessed by one or more client terminals 110, 112 (e.g., associated with an item provider or end user) and item provider terminals 105a-105n over a network 114 (e.g., the Internet, Ethernet, or other wide area or local area network), para. 0046) application of a computing device (network interface 124 may provide the CAD services with connectivity to one or more networks or computing systems, para. 0066), wherein the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview (a preview control is provided which when activated, will cause the item to be realistically rendered with any customizations, paras. 0093, 0168) that
displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a
view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device (rules
may indicate how a design element may be modified and what content may be used in
conjunction with the design element (e.g., overlaying the design element, or directly to
one side of the design element), para. 0064), wherein the AR preview screen enables a
user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital
representation of the customization panel of the product (image(s) and text may be
presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization,
thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028) and position the
camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content (paras.
0224, 0345)
receive the image of the customized content from the computing device
(image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a
starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras.
0027-0028);
generate a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the
customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print
3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may
be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down
successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068); and
a printing system configured to execute the print file to print the customized
content on the customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print
3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may
be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down
successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Bowen does not expressly disclose that the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview screen that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a live view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device, wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize, in real time, customized content.
Siggard et al. teaches creation of an animated A/R overlay, utilizing an A/R application to capture, via a camera-enabled smart device, a live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of a user, and presenting the A/R overlay, by the camera-enabled smart device, wherein presenting the A/R overlay comprises overlaying, aligning, and displaying the A/R overlay in relation to the live image or scan of the tattoo as applied to the skin of the user, col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 17; col. 14, lines 3-8).
Bowen in view of Siggard et al. are analogous art because they are from the similar problem solving area of print preview. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the live and real-time presentation of Siggard et al. to the interface of Bowen in order to obtain print preview combined with a live scene. The motivation for doing so would be to customize a design with live captured scenery.
Regarding claim 13, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the
product comprises one of a greeting card, an envelope, a gift tag, a gift bag, wrapping
paper, tissue paper, an ornament, a soft good, a wall hanging, a home décor product, a
picture frame, a clothing item, a gift product, or an accessory (CAD system 102 may
provide tools to graphically construct computer models of and to modify computer
models of products such t-shirts, hoodies, shirts, jackets, dresses, pants, glasses, phone
cases, laptop skins, backpacks, laptop cases, tablet cases, hairbands, wristbands,
jewelry, and the like, para. 0054).
Regarding claim 14, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the
customized content comprises one of a handwritten message, an artwork, a
photograph, a sticker (a design element (e.g., a sticker, a template, or a portion thereof),
para. 0029), an arrangement of one or more physical objects, or one or more subjects of
a photo shoot.
Regarding claim 15, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR
preview screen enables the user to adjust an appearance of the customized content on
the digital representation of the customization panel of the product prior to capture of
the image (a resizing control may be provided which enables the user to quickly resize a
design element to an appropriate size. For example, if an existing design element is
sized for a shirt pocket, the resizing control may enable the user to instruct the system
to automatically resize the design element for another selected area, such as a chest
area or a sleeve area, para. 0050; interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the
model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics
to the model, and/or animate the model. For example, a user interface may enable the
user to manipulate the model via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls, para.
0078).
Regarding claim 16, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR
preview screen further displays a window representative of a customization zone on the
customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to
position the customized content substantially within the window (a user can assign a
base price and prices for each specified item variant (e.g., for each combination of
available color, available size, and number of design areas customizable by an end
user), para. 0090).
Regarding claim 17, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR
preview screen further displays two or more windows representative of two or more
customization zones on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview
screen enables the user to parse the customized content into two or more content
sections and position the content sections substantially within the two or more
windows (accessing assets uploaded or otherwise provided by the user,
accessing palettes (e.g., color, content, assets, fonts, effects, etc.), para. 0187;
associated palettes for that asset may be displayed (e.g., the palette icons with the
corresponding number indicating the number of items in the corresponding palette),
para. 0191).
Regarding claim 18, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the server
system is further configured to adjust an appearance of the customized content on the
digital representation of the customization panel of the product after capture of the
image (see at least figures 4T -4HH).
Regarding claim 19, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR
preview screen further enables the user to add one or more customization features to
the customization panel, wherein each of the customization features comprises one of
a content-specific sticker (para. 0027), an emoji (para. 0215), an avatar sticker, or a
handwritten mark.
Regarding claim 20, Bowen discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the
product includes pre-printed content, and wherein the handwritten mark comprises one
of an underline (para. 0097, 0140) that emphasizes a portion of the pre-printed content,
an arrow that points to a portion of the pre-printed content, or a strikethrough (font
formatting controls may be provided (e.g., regular, bold, underline, strike through,
subscript, superscript)., para. 0140) that crosses out a portion of the pre-printed
content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611