Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the AR preview screen" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bowen (US 20200160612 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bowen discloses a system (CAD system 102, para. 0066) for customizing print-on-demand products, comprising:
a processor (one or more processing units 120);
a memory (a non-transitory computer-readable medium drive 124) in data communication with the processor, the memory storing at least one computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform a plurality of operations (processing unit 120 may thus receive information and instructions from other computing devices, systems, or services via a network. The processing unit 120 may also communicate to and from memory 124 and further provide output information via the input/output device interface 126, para. 0066) comprising:
providing a user interface for rendering by an Internet-enabled (CAD system 102 may be cloud-based and may be accessed by one or more client terminals 110, 112 (e.g., associated with an item provider or end user) and item provider terminals 105a-105n over a network 114 (e.g., the Internet, Ethernet, or other wide area or local area network), para. 0046) application of a computing device (network interface 124 may provide the CAD services with connectivity to one or more networks or computing systems, para. 0066), wherein the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview screen (a preview control is provided which when activated, will cause the item to be realistically rendered with any customizations, paras. 0093, 0168) that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device (rules may indicate how a design element may be modified and what content may be used in conjunction with the design element (e.g., overlaying the design element, or directly to one side of the design element), para. 0064), wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product (image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028) and position the camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content (paras. 0224, 0345);
receiving the image of the customized content from the computing device (image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028); and
generating a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print 3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the product comprises one of a greeting card, an envelope, a gift tag, a gift bag, wrapping paper, tissue paper, an ornament, a soft good, a wall hanging, a home décor product, a picture frame, a clothing item, a gift product, or an accessory (CAD system 102 may provide tools to graphically construct computer models of and to modify computer models of products such t-shirts, hoodies, shirts, jackets, dresses, pants, glasses, phone cases, laptop skins, backpacks, laptop cases, tablet cases, hairbands, wristbands, jewelry, and the like, para. 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the customized content comprises one of a handwritten message, an artwork, a photograph, a sticker, an arrangement of one or more physical objects, or one or more subjects of a photo shoot (a user's intellectual property assets (e.g., logos, brand names, photographs, graphics, animations, videos, sound files, stickers, tag lines, etc.), para. 0067).
Regarding claim 4, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to adjust an appearance of the customized content on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product prior to capture of the image (a resizing control may be provided which enables the user to quickly resize a design element to an appropriate size. For example, if an existing design element is sized for a shirt pocket, the resizing control may enable the user to instruct the system to automatically resize the design element for another selected area, such as a chest area or a sleeve area, para. 0050; interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics to the model, and/or animate the model. For example, a user interface may enable the user to manipulate the model via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls, para. 0078).
Regarding claim 5, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR preview screen further displays a window representative of a customization zone on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to position the customized content substantially within the window (a user can assign a base price and prices for each specified item variant (e.g., for each combination of available color, available size, and number of design areas customizable by an end user), para. 0090).
Regarding claim 6, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR preview screen further displays two or more windows representative of two or more customization zones on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to parse the customized content into two or more content sections and position the content sections substantially within the two or more windows (accessing assets uploaded or otherwise provided by the user, accessing palettes (e.g., color, content, assets, fonts, effects, etc.), para. 0187; associated palettes for that asset may be displayed (e.g., the palette icons with the corresponding number indicating the number of items in the corresponding palette), para. 0191).
Regarding claim 7, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise transmitting the print file to a printing system, wherein the printing system is configured to execute the print file to print the customized content on the customization panel of the product (client terminal may include user input and output devices, such a displays (touch or non-touch displays), speakers, microphones, trackpads, mice, pen input, printers, para. 0047.
Regarding claim 8, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise adjusting an appearance of the customized content on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product after capture of the image (see at least figures 4T -4HH).
Regarding claim 9, Bowen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AR preview screen further enables the user to add one or more customization features to the customization panel, wherein each of the customization features comprises one of a content-specific sticker (para. 0027), an emoji (para. 0215), an avatar sticker, or a handwritten mark.
Regarding claim 10, Bowen discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the product includes pre-printed content, and wherein the handwritten mark comprises one of an underline (para. 0097, 0140) that emphasizes a portion of the pre-printed content, an arrow that points to a portion of the pre-printed card content, or a strikethrough (font formatting controls may be provided (e.g., regular, bold, underline, strike through, subscript, superscript)., para. 0140) that crosses out a portion of the pre-printed content.
Regarding claim 11, Bowen discloses a method for customizing print-on-demand products, comprising:
displaying a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of a computing device to enable a user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product and position the camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content;
receiving the image of the customized content from the computing device (image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028); and
generating a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print 3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Regarding claim 12, Bowen discloses a system for customizing print-on-demand products, comprising:
a server system (hosted on one or more servers, para. 0046) configured to:
provide a user interface for rendering by an Internet-enabled (CAD system 102 may be cloud-based and may be accessed by one or more client terminals 110, 112 (e.g., associated with an item provider or end user) and item provider terminals 105a-105n over a network 114 (e.g., the Internet, Ethernet, or other wide area or local area network), para. 0046) application of a computing device (network interface 124 may provide the CAD services with connectivity to one or more networks or computing systems, para. 0066), wherein the user interface provides an augmented reality (AR) preview (a preview control is provided which when activated, will cause the item to be realistically rendered with any customizations, paras. 0093, 0168) that displays a digital representation of a customization panel of a product overlaid on a view of a real-world environment provided by a camera of the computing device (rules may indicate how a design element may be modified and what content may be used in conjunction with the design element (e.g., overlaying the design element, or directly to one side of the design element), para. 0064), wherein the AR preview screen enables a user to visualize customized content located in the real-world environment on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product (image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028) and position the camera of the computing device to capture an image of the customized content (paras. 0224, 0345)
receive the image of the customized content from the computing device (image(s) and text may be presented to an end-user to provide the end-user with a starting point for customization, thereby simplifying the customization process, paras. 0027-0028);
generate a print file that causes printing of the customized content on the customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print 3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068); and
a printing system configured to execute the print file to print the customized content on the customization panel of the product (a 3D printer may be used to print 3D customized objects from a digital file. Optionally, a 3D printed object may be printed using additive processes, where an object is created by laying down successive layers of material until the object is created, para. 0068).
Regarding claim 13, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the product comprises one of a greeting card, an envelope, a gift tag, a gift bag, wrapping paper, tissue paper, an ornament, a soft good, a wall hanging, a home décor product, a picture frame, a clothing item, a gift product, or an accessory (CAD system 102 may provide tools to graphically construct computer models of and to modify computer models of products such t-shirts, hoodies, shirts, jackets, dresses, pants, glasses, phone cases, laptop skins, backpacks, laptop cases, tablet cases, hairbands, wristbands, jewelry, and the like, para. 0054).
Regarding claim 14, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the customized content comprises one of a handwritten message, an artwork, a photograph, a sticker (a design element (e.g., a sticker, a template, or a portion thereof), para. 0029), an arrangement of one or more physical objects, or one or more subjects of a photo shoot.
Regarding claim 15, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to adjust an appearance of the customized content on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product prior to capture of the image (a resizing control may be provided which enables the user to quickly resize a design element to an appropriate size. For example, if an existing design element is sized for a shirt pocket, the resizing control may enable the user to instruct the system to automatically resize the design element for another selected area, such as a chest area or a sleeve area, para. 0050; interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics to the model, and/or animate the model. For example, a user interface may enable the user to manipulate the model via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls, para. 0078).
Regarding claim 16, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR preview screen further displays a window representative of a customization zone on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to position the customized content substantially within the window (a user can assign a base price and prices for each specified item variant (e.g., for each combination of available color, available size, and number of design areas customizable by an end user), para. 0090).
Regarding claim 17, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR preview screen further displays two or more windows representative of two or more customization zones on the customization panel of the product, wherein the AR preview screen enables the user to parse the customized content into two or more content sections and position the content sections substantially within the two or more windows (accessing assets uploaded or otherwise provided by the user, accessing palettes (e.g., color, content, assets, fonts, effects, etc.), para. 0187; associated palettes for that asset may be displayed (e.g., the palette icons with the corresponding number indicating the number of items in the corresponding palette), para. 0191).
Regarding claim 18, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the server system is further configured to adjust an appearance of the customized content on the digital representation of the customization panel of the product after capture of the image (see at least figures 4T -4HH).
Regarding claim 19, Bowen discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the AR preview screen further enables the user to add one or more customization features to the customization panel, wherein each of the customization features comprises one of a content-specific sticker (para. 0027), an emoji (para. 0215), an avatar sticker, or a handwritten mark.
Regarding claim 20, Bowen discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the product includes pre-printed content, and wherein the handwritten mark comprises one of an underline (para. 0097, 0140) that emphasizes a portion of the pre-printed content, an arrow that points to a portion of the pre-printed card content, or a strikethrough (font formatting controls may be provided (e.g., regular, bold, underline, strike through, subscript, superscript)., para. 0140) that crosses out a portion of the pre-printed content.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611