CTNF 18/621,938 CTNF 100812 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024, 08/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority 02-25 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in REPUBLIC OF FINLAND filed on 04/06/2023 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FI20235401 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. 08-34 AIA Claim 1-3, 8 and 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 30, 32 and 37 of U.S. Patent No. US20240056792A1 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the system in both has the same components: Regarding to claim 1, storing at least one module, the at least one module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control, and (claim 30, 32 and 37) applying at least one module of the stored modules for use in a radio resource control configuration. (claim 30, 32 and 37). Claim 13 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 . Regarding to claim 2 , storing at least two modules, each module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control (claim 30, 32 and 37). Regarding to claim 3, applying a certain module of the stored modules based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or deactivating a certain module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or updating at least one parameter contained in a stored module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event (claim 30, 32 and 37). Regarding to claim 8 , receiving, from a user equipment, capability information indicating capabilities of the user equipment, determining at least one module for a radio resource control configuration for the user equipment based on the received capability information, the at least one module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control, and forwarding the at least one module to the user equipment. (claim 30, 32 and 37) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1, 3, and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Claim(s) 1, 3, and 11-13 recite “the modules“. Based on the language on the language of claim(s) 1,3, and 11-13. It is unclear to the Examiner what the “modules” correspond to . For example, is “the modules” refer to a new set of modules ? or is “the modules” refer to “at least one module” in claim 1? Or is “the modules” refer to “the at least two module” in claim 2 ? If “the modules” refer to “at least one module” in claim 1, in case “at least one module” is only one “module” then we cannot achieve “modules” . In the other cases , It would be indefiniteness and need to specify in the claims . Dependent claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (US 20220338293 A1), hereinafter Yu . Regarding to claim 1, Yu teaches an apparatus, in a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (fig. 1-2 and fig. 10-11) storing at least one module, the at least one module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control, and applying at least one module of the stored modules for use in a radio resource control configuration (fig. 10-11 and [0169] process in a wireless device .... One or more Blocks and/or functions and/or methods performed by WD 14 may be performed by one or more elements of WD 14 such as by processing circuitry 46, memory such as readable medium 48, interface 44, processing circuitry 186, radio interface 184, or any other hardware in a WD 14... method includes receiving (Block S140), ....a first radio resource control, RRC, configuration profile associated with a cell, the first RRC configuration profile including a plurality of first RRC configuration parameters; and a second RRC configuration profile associated with the cell, the second RRC configuration profile including a plurality of second RRC configuration parameters. The method includes (Block S142.... responsive to at least one of receiving an RRC profile indicator comprised in a downlink control information, DCI, and a timer expiring, switching from communicating in the cell according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell according to the second RRC configuration profile, the RRC profile indicator directly indicating the second RRC configuration profile). Regarding to claim 2, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: storing at least two modules, each module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control (fig. 10-11 and [0169] a first radio resource control, RRC, configuration profile ... and a second RRC configuration profile). Claim(s) 13 “method” is rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 “ apparatus” , where Yu teaches both device and method ([0012] and [0069]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hong (US 20180092155 A1),herein after Hong . Regarding to claim 3, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: applying a certain module of the stored modules based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or deactivating a certain module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or updating at least one parameter contained in a stored module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event. Hong teaches applying a certain module of the stored modules based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or deactivating a certain module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event, and/or updating at least one parameter contained in a stored module based on an instruction received from a network control element or based on a pre-defined event (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 4, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: receiving an indication of whether a module or a parameter contained in a module is applicable to one or more radio resource control states. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: receiving an indication of whether a module or a parameter contained in a module is applicable to one or more radio resource control states (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 5, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: storing the at least one module after receiving module information including information on the at least one module from the network control element. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: storing the at least one module after receiving module information including information on the at least one module from the network control element (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 6, Yu and Hong teach the apparatus according to claim 5, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: receiving the module information from the network control element in an idle state, a connected state or an inactive state of the user equipment. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: receiving the module information from the network control element in an idle state, a connected state or an inactive state of the user equipment (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 7, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: providing capability information to the network control element, and receiving the module information from the network control element in response to providing the capability information. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: providing capability information to the network control element, and receiving the module information from the network control element in response to providing the capability information (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Claim(s) 8 and (Apparatus at Network Control Element) is rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) 7 (apparatus at UE), where Yu teaches both device and method ([0012] and [0069]). Regarding to claim 9, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: determining the at least one module based on the capability information received from the user equipment and based on a network configuration information and/or network feature support information. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: determining the at least one module based on the capability information received from the user equipment and based on a network configuration information and/or network feature support information (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state. … [0012] transmitting information on whether a cell provided by the corresponding eNB supports a specific RRC state through system information). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 10, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: determining at least two modules for a radio resource control configuration for the user equipment based on the received capability information, each module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control, and forwarding the at least two modules to the user equipment. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: determining at least two modules for a radio resource control configuration for the user equipment based on the received capability information, each module comprising at least one parameter related to radio resource control, and forwarding the at least two modules to the user equipment (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 11, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: sending an instruction to the user equipment to apply a certain module of modules stored in the user equipment, and/or sending an instruction to the user equipment to deactivate a certain module and/or sending an instruction to the user equipment to update at least one parameter contained in a stored module. Hong teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to further perform: sending an instruction to the user equipment to apply a certain module of modules stored in the user equipment, and/or sending an instruction to the user equipment to deactivate a certain module and/or sending an instruction to the user equipment to update at least one parameter contained in a stored module (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Regarding to claim 12, Yu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the modules are applicable to a plurality of different radio resource control states. Hoang teaches wherein the modules are applicable to a plurality of different radio resource control states (Fig. 3, and [0086] Meanwhile, the UE may receive indication information indicating a change in a connection state of the UE into a specific RRC state from the eNB. For example, the UE may receive indication information through an RRC message. In this case, the UE corresponds to a UE supporting the specific RRC state and may transmit UE capability information to the eNB in advance, so that the eNB may recognize that the corresponding UE supports the specific RRC state). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hong to the teaching of Yu. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a reduced signaling procedure ([0015] Hong). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 12 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 13 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 14 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/621,938 Page 15 Art Unit: 2465