DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/18/2026.
Applicant argues that there is no burden to the Examiner to examine all groups of claims together.
However, the withdrawn claims are a method of making a membrane and a method requiring use of the filter wherein the scope of the claims for patentability are extremely different. The membrane claim itself does not require any process steps and can be found in a variety of art areas that are not specific to the use of the membrane or the method of making the membrane. The methods are different methods that are not related other than requiring a membrane material. The patentability of each group of claims is determined differently. Should the membrane be found allowable, reconsideration of restriction will be given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4: it is unclear what “conformally disposed” means. The disclosure was consulted but no further definition or explanation is provided. It is unclear what structure is required to meet this limitation.
Claim 10: it is unclear what the permeability is of, i.e. air, water, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhengming et al. (EP3743953).
Claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 29: Zhengming et al. teach a filter media comprising: a porous substrate (page 32, lines 6-10; fig. 13, 24) comprising a non-reactive base polymer including polypropylene (page 33, lines 4-14); a reactive polymer disposed on at least a portion of the base polymer (page 52, lines 10-25; Fig. , 26), the reactive polymer having a surface energy that is higher than a surface energy of the non-reactive base polymer (PMMA at least has a higher surface energy than PP); and a compound comprising a metal disposed on at least a portion of the reactive polymer (Fig. 13, 28; page 52, titanium dioxide).
Claim 2: The porous substrate may be a fibrous material (page 34, lines 10-13).
Claim 3: the porous substrate comprises a membrane (Claims 5-6)
Claim 16: Zhengming et al. teach a filter media comprising: a porous substrate (page 32, lines 6-10; fig. 13, 24) comprising a non-reactive base polymer including polypropylene (page 33, lines 4-14); a reactive polymer disposed on at least a portion of the base polymer (page 52, lines 10-25; Fig. , 26), the reactive polymer having a surface energy that is higher than a surface energy of the non-reactive base polymer (PMMA at least has a higher surface energy than PP); and a compound comprising a metal disposed on at least a portion of the reactive polymer (Fig. 13, 28; page 52, titanium dioxide). They also teach a housing for housing the separator (page 55, 10-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhengming et al. (EP3743953) in view of Lehmann et al. (Chem 8, 1611–1636, June 9, 2022 ª 2022 Elsevier Inc.)
Claims 7 and 15: Zhengming et al. do not teach an oleophobic polymer for the substrate or an expanded non-reactive base polymer.
Lehmann et al. teach that ePTFE (expanded PTFE) is commonly used in fuel cell membranes (page 1631, last paragraph). ePTFE has high heat resistance and improves durability. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to try substituting Zhenming et al.’s base polymer with ePTFE, which is expanded and inherently oleophobic.
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhengming et al. (EP3743953).
Claim 9: Zhenming et al. do not teach the amount of metal compound in the filter media as tested by the TGA Test Method.
Zhenming et al. teach that the amount of metal particles is a result effective variable that is optimized based on the amount of binder and the amount of exposure of particle desired (page 15, lines 19-28). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim 10: Zhenming et al. do not teach the permeability as recited in Claim 10. The permeability of a separator is well-known to be a result effective variable that is optimized to control the function of the separation. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claims 11 and 12: Fig. 13 shows a thickness of the membrane. The metal compound is within and on 26. While not determined by “elemental analysis” of the cross-section it appears to be the same as claimed.
Claims 13 and 14: Zhengming et al. do not teach a plurality of regions of reactive polymer and the metal compound. However, they teach there may multiple layers (page 32, lines 6-11). As such, the mere duplication of layers to form additional “regions” is envisaged and does not critically change the form of the invention. Providing additional elements is obvious to make the filter larger and have more capacity.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773