DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-23 have been added. Claims 6, 13, and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection set forth in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Amendment, with respect to rejections under prior art have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Tan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0289632), referred to as Tan herein [previously cited].
Zambrana et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0282592), referred to as Zambrana herein [previously cited].
Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0298977), referred to as Li herein [previously cited].
Vishria et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0264992), referred to as Vishra herein [previously cited].
Ferdowski et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0331108), referred to as Ferdowski herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, 19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferdowski.
Regarding claim 1, Ferdowski discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to (Ferdowski, ¶0053-¶0054 -processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory. See also claim 16 as published):
monitor an information technology resource database for one or more resource address shortening conditions, wherein the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied when at least one of: an indication is obtained of a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database for a resource being associated with a resource address, or during a batch scan of the information technology resource database, a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database that includes an association between a resource and a resource address but does not include a shortened resource address is identified (Ferdowski, Figs. 1-3 with ¶0032-¶0034, ¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and subsequently a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The file for which the link is generated may be a record in the database. The file descriptor is also included in the database record. The process can be repeated to generate additional short links to the same file set. ¶0035 – association between the file and an application can also be stored in the database);
in response to determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, generate, using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having an updated character string that has different characters than a first character string of a first resource address associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The example short URL has different characters than the long URL. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address));
and store the updated character string with an association to the first character string in the information technology resource database such that the updated character string is associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database).
Regarding claim 2, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses receive a resource address input; determine that a character string included in the resource address input matches the updated character string; and retrieve, in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the updated character string, the resource using the first character string (Ferdowski, ¶0035, ¶0041 – accessing the link results in the corresponding file being presented by an associated application. ¶0028 – links provide access to file).
Regarding claim 5, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: associate the resource with the first resource address; and store the association of the resource with the first resource address in the information technology resource database (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Regarding claim 7, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path (Ferdowsi, ¶0031 – URL to file set/software resource. ¶0033, ¶0036 – chain of URLs. ¶0035 – application/utility/software resource. ¶0037-¶0038 – web-based interface for file access (web page)).
Regarding claim 8, Ferdowski discloses a method, comprising: (Ferdowski, ¶0053-¶0054 -processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory. See also claim 16 as published)
monitoring, by a computer system, an information technology resource database for one or more resource address shortening conditions, wherein the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied when at least one of: an indication is obtained of a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database for a resource being associated with a resource address, or during a batch scan of the information technology resource database, a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database that includes an association between a resource and a resource address but does not include a shortened resource address is identified (Ferdowski, Figs. 1-3 with ¶0032-¶0034, ¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and subsequently a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The file for which the link is generated may be a record in the database. The file descriptor is also included in the database record. The process can be repeated to generate additional short links to the same file set. ¶0035 – association between the file and an application can also be stored in the database);
in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having an updated character string that has different characters than a first character string of a first resource address associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The example short URL has different characters than the long URL. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)); and
storing, by the computer system, the updated character string with an association to the first character string in a the information technology resource database such that the updated character string is associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database).
Regarding claim 9, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the updated character string; and retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the updated character string, the resource using the first character string (Ferdowski, ¶0035 – accessing the link results in the corresponding file being presented by an associated application. ¶0028 –links provide access to file).
Regarding claim 12, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the information technology resource database (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Regarding claim 14, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path (Ferdowsi, ¶0031 – URL to file set/software resource. ¶0033, ¶0036 – chain of URLs. ¶0033 – application/utility/software resource. ¶0037-¶0038 – web-based interface for file access (web page)).
Regarding claim 15, Ferdowski discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising (Ferdowski, ¶0053-¶0054 -processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory. See also claim 16 as published):
monitoring, by a computer system, an information technology resource database for one or more resource address shortening conditions, wherein the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied when at least one of: an indication is obtained of a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database for a resource being associated with a resource address, or during a batch scan of the information technology resource database, a resource entry stored in the information technology resource database that includes an association between a resource and a resource address but does not include a shortened resource address is identified (Ferdowski, Figs. 1-3 with ¶0032-¶0034, ¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and subsequently a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The file for which the link is generated may be a record in the database. The file descriptor is also included in the database record. The process can be repeated to generate additional short links to the same file set. ¶0035 – association between the file and an application can also be stored in the database);
in response to determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having an updated character string that has different characters than a first character string of a first resource address associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The example short URL has different characters than the long URL. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)); and
storing, by the computer system, the updated character string with an association to the first character string in the information technology resource database such that the updated character string is associated with the resource (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database).
Regarding claim 16, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the updated character string; and retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the updated character string, the resource using the first character string (Ferdowski, ¶0035 – accessing the link results in the corresponding file being presented by an associated application. ¶0028 – links provide access to file).
Regarding claim 19, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the resource database (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – shortening conditions are satisfied when the user requests to share a link. A long URL is generated, and a shorter URL is generated and added to the database. The database entry can include the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Regarding claim 21, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the name or the description is stored in the resource entry in the information technology resource database separate from the first character string associated with the first resource address (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – The database entry can include (separately) the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Regarding claim 22, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the name or the description is stored in the resource entry in the information technology resource database separate from the first character string associated with the first resource address (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – The database entry can include (separately) the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Regarding claim 23, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the name or the description is stored in the resource entry in the information technology resource database separate from the first character string associated with the first resource address (Ferdowski, ¶0033-¶0036 – The database entry can include (separately) the set identifier (name), application identifier (description) and link identifier (e.g. shortened resource address)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferdowski in view of Vishra in further view of Li.
Regarding claim 3, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Ferdowski appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the updated character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the updated character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Ferdowski as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Ferdowski as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Regarding claim 10, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 8 above. However, Ferdowski appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting, by the computer system, the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Ferdowski as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Ferdowski as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Regarding claim 17, Ferdowski discloses the elements of claim 15 above. However, Ferdowski appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the updated character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting, by the computer system, the large language model to generate the updated character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Ferdowski as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Ferdowski as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferdowski in view of Vishria in further view of Li in further view of Tan.
Regarding claim 4, Ferdowski as modified discloses the elements of claim 3 above, and further discloses wherein the updated character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendlinessassist the user in understanding the content of the web page so that the user can more easily understand whether the content is of interest).
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Ferdowski as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 11, Ferdowski as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the updated character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Ferdowski as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 18, Ferdowski as modified discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the updated character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness
However, Ferdowski as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Ferdowski as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174