DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/622,181. Claims 7 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/622,181 in view of Bedingfield et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0124414).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The correspondence between the claims is as follows:
Instant Application
Application 18/622,181
1. A system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to effectuate operations comprising:
in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, determining that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened;
generating, using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string; and
storing the second character string with an association to the first character string in an information technology resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource.
1. A system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to effectuate operations comprising:
receiving a request to generate a shortened resource address for a resource address associated with a client computing device resource stored on a client computing device, wherein the resource address is defined by a first character string, and wherein the request includes parameters associated with the client computing device resource;
generating, based on at least a portion of the parameters and for the client computing device resource, a shortened resource address including a second character string that has different characters than the first character string;
and storing the second character string and the parameters with an association to the first character string in a client computing device resource database such that the second character string is associated with the client computing device resource.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a resource address input; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and
retrieving, in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and
providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises:
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the generating the second character string comprises:
providing at least one of a name of the client computing device resource or the parameters as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name of the client computing device resource or the parameters.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the information technology resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the matching of the character string included in the resource address input to the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database includes determine whether a hash collision occurs between a hash of the character string included in the resource address input to a hash of the second character string.
8. A method, comprising: determining, by a computer system and
in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened;
generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string; and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string with an association to the first character string in a resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource.
8. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a request to generate a shortened resource address for a resource address associated with a client computing device resource stored on a client computing device, wherein the resource address is defined by a first character string, and wherein the request includes parameters associated with the client computing device resource;
generating, by the computer system, based on at least a portion of the parameters, and for the client computing device resource, a shortened resource address including a second character string that has different characters than the first character string; and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string and the parameters with an association to the first character string in a client computing device resource database such that the second character string is associated with the client computing device resource.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and
retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and
providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises:
providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting, by the computer system, the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the generating the second character string comprises:
providing at least one of a name of the client computing device resource or the parameters as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name of the client computing device resource or the parameters.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the matching of the character string included in the resource address input to the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database includes determine whether a hash collision occurs between a hash of the character string included in the resource address input to a hash of the second character string.
15. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
determining, by a computer system and in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened;
generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string; and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string with an association to the first character string in a resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource.
15. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a request to generate a shortened resource address for a resource address associated with a client computing device resource stored on a client computing device, wherein the resource address is defined by a first character string, and wherein the request includes parameters associated with the client computing device resource;
generating, by the computer system, based on at least a portion of the parameters, and for the client computing device resource, a shortened resource address including a second character string that has different characters than the first character string; and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string and the parameters with an association to the first character string in a client computing device resource database such that the second character string is associated with the client computing device resource.
16. The medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and
retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string.
16. The medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and
providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
17. The medium of claim 15, wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting, by the computer system, the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description.
19. The medium of claim 15, wherein the generating the second character string comprises: providing at least one of a name of the client computing device resource or the parameters as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name of the client computing device resource or the parameters.
18. The medium of claim 17, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
20. The medium of claim 19, wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism.
19. The medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred.
16. The medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the client computing device, a resource address input that includes a shortcut from the client computing device; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database; and providing, in response to the character string included in the resource address input matching the second character string, the parameters that include the first character string to the client computing device to cause the client computing device to execute, with the parameters, the client computing device resource that is associated with the first character string.
17. The medium of claim 16, wherein the matching of the character string included in the resource address input to the second character string stored in the client computing device resource database includes determine whether a hash collision occurs between a hash of the character string included in the resource address input to a hash of the second character string.
Claims 7, 14
The reference patent application claims above recite all of the limitations of claims 7 and 14 of the instant application as recited above except "wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path." However, Bedingfield, et al. teaches a URL shortening algorithm (Bedingfield, Abstract with ¶0025) and specifically teaches wherein the resource includes wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path (Bedingfield, Abstract – web page URL).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shorten web page URLs as disclosed in Bedingfield, et al., within the method of claims 1 and 8 respectively of the reference patent, to make it easier to mange long URLs, for example to prevent such URLs from having to be split when sending them to another user (Bedingfield, ¶0004).
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Bedingfield, SR. et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0124414), referred to as Bedingfield herein.
Tan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0289632), referred to as Tan herein.
Zambrana et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0282592), referred to as Zambrana herein.
Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0298977), referred to as Li herein.
Vishria et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0264992), referred to as Vishra herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bedingfield.
Regarding claim 1, Bedingfield discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to effectuate operations comprising (Bedingfield, Fig. 2 with ¶0024, ¶0045 – computer including a processor and memory storing programming instructions):
in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, determining that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL (first character string string));
generating, using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0028-¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL. See also Fig. 5 with ¶0030 and Fig. 7 with ¶0033-¶0034);
and storing the second character string with an association to the first character string in an information technology resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs).
Regarding claim 2, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a resource address input; determining that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and retrieving, in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string (Bedingfield, ¶0035, ¶0037 – when a user selects the shortened URL, the shortened URL brings the user to the corresponding page).
Regarding claim 5, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the information technology resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs. The substitute URL is linked to the original URL in the database. See also claim 4 as published).
Regarding claim 7, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path (Bedingfield, Abstract – web page URL).
Regarding claim 8, Bedingfield discloses a method, comprising: determining, by a computer system (Bedingfield, Fig. 2 with ¶0024, ¶045 – computer including a processor and memory storing programming instructions) and
in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL (first character string string));
generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0028-¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL. See also Fig. 5 with ¶0030 and Fig. 7 with ¶0033-¶0034); and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string with an association to the first character string in a resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs).
Regarding claim 9, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string (Bedingfield, ¶0035, ¶0037 – when a user selects the shortened URL, the shortened URL brings the user to the corresponding page).
Regarding claim 12, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs. The substitute URL is linked to the original URL in the database. See also claim 4 as published).
Regarding claim 14, Bedingfield disdcloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the resource includes a software resource, a utility, an application, a file, or a web page, and wherein the first resource address includes a uniform resource locator (URL), a uniform resource identifier (URI), or a file path (Bedingfield, Abstract – web page URL).
Regarding claim 15, Bedingfield discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising (Bedingfield, Fig. 2 with ¶0024, ¶045 – computer including a processor and memory storing programming instructions):
determining, by a computer system and in response to determining that one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied, that a first character string associated with a first resource address for a resource is to be shortened (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL (first character string string));
generating, by the computer system and using a resource address shortening algorithm and based on at least one of a name associated with the resource or a description associated with the resource, a shortened resource address having a second character string that has different characters than the first character string (Bedingfield, Fig. 4 with ¶0028-¶0029 – substitute URL is generated in response to the condition that the user provides a submission URL. See also Fig. 5 with ¶0030 and Fig. 7 with ¶0033-¶0034); and
storing, by the computer system, the second character string with an association to the first character string in a resource database such that the second character string is associated with the resource (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs).
Regarding claim 16, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, by the computer system, a resource address input; determining, by the computer system, that a character string included in the resource address input matches the second character string; and retrieving, by the computer system and in response to the character string included in the first resource address matching the second character string, the resource using the first character string (Bedingfield, ¶0035, ¶0037 – when a user selects the shortened URL, the shortened URL brings the user to the corresponding page).
Regarding claim 19, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: associating the resource with the first resource address; and storing the association of the resource with the first resource address in the resource database, wherein the determining that the one or more resource address shortening conditions is satisfied includes determining that the association between the resource and the first resource address has occurred (Bedingfield, Fig. 8 with ¶0027, ¶0035 – database is maintained of shortened URLs. The substitute URL is linked to the original URL in the database. See also claim 4 as published).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedingfield in view of Vishra in further view of Li.
Regarding claim 3, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Bedingfield as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Bedingfield as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Regarding claim 10, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 8 above. However, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Bedingfield as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Bedingfield as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Regarding claim 17, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 15 above. However, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose wherein the determining the second character string using the resource address shortening algorithm comprises: providing, by the computer system, at least one of the name or the description as input to
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vishria discloses computer generated shortened links (Vishria, Abstract), including,
providing at least one of the name or the description as input to a large language model; and prompting the large language model to generate the second character string based on at least one of the name or the description (Vishria, ¶0031 – candidate shortened URL is determined via machine learning techniques assessing the content (description) of the corresponding webpage as well as original domain (name)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URLs of Bedingfield as modified to include using machine learning to determine links based on the content and domain of the page based on the teachings of Vishria. The motivation for doing so would have been to better convey to the user whether the page is likely to be of interest (Vishria, ¶0031).
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose using a LLM. However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an LLM machine learning model for describing websites, including website topic and theme (Li, Abstract with ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Bedingfield as modified to include an LLM based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and accuracy of website classification (Li, ¶0022).
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedingfield in view of Vishria in further view of Li in further view of Tan.
Regarding claim 4, Bedingfield as modified discloses the elements of claim 3 above, and further discloses wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Bedingfield as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 11, Bedingfield as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Bedingfield as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 18, Bedingfield as modified discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the second character string comprises user-friendly, human-readable text, wherein the large language model determines a user-friendliness
However, Bedingfield as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tan discloses an LLM evaluation of readability of natural language responses (Tan, Abstract), including
the large language model determines a user-friendliness score of the second character string based on a feedback mechanism (Tan, Abstract with ¶0058, ¶0066 – human feedback reinforcement learning. ¶0062-¶0064 – scoring responses based on objectives and readability. Feedback incorporated into the score includes human feedback and LLM measurement of divergence from general responses. ¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 – combined response score).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the LLM responses of Bedingfield as modified to include a user-friendliness score based on a feedback mechanism based on the teachings of Tan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the response quality to better match user expectations and objectives by maximizing the feedback score (Tan, ¶0058, ¶0065, ¶0078).
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedingfield in view of Zambrana.
Regarding claim 6, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 1 above, however, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose performing a
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zambrana discloses registering shortened URLS (Zambrana, Abstract with ¶0029), including
performing a batch process on the resource database (Zambrana, ¶0029 – batch updating of short URL registration records in the database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URL registration of Bedingfield as modified to include batch process based on the teachings of Zambrana. The motivation for doing so would have been to more efficiently utilize database resources by performing the updating operations together and/or scheduling such operations during times when resources are available.
Regarding claim 13, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 8 above, however, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose performing a
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zambrana discloses registering shortened URLS (Zambrana, Abstract with ¶0029), including
performing a batch process on the resource database (Zambrana, ¶0029 – batch updating of short URL registration records in the database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URL registration of Bedingfield as modified to include batch process based on the teachings of Zambrana. The motivation for doing so would have been to more efficiently utilize database resources by performing the updating operations together and/or scheduling such operations during times when resources are available.
Regarding claim 20, Bedingfield discloses the elements of claim 15 above, however, Bedingfield appears not to expressly disclose wherein the operations further comprise: performing a
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zambrana discloses registering shortened URLS (Zambrana, Abstract with ¶0029), including
performing a batch process on the resource database (Zambrana, ¶0029 – batch updating of short URL registration records in the database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the short URL registration of Bedingfield as modified to include batch process based on the teachings of Zambrana. The motivation for doing so would have been to more efficiently utilize database resources by performing the updating operations together and/or scheduling such operations during times when resources are available.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References are at least relevant as indicated in the corresponding summary.
Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0346254) – Large language model NLP response scoring and feedback, including readability feedback.
Dziubinski et al. (US Patent Number 12,307,247) – Code readability scores for evaluating code quality.
Guest et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0035170) – human-readable short URL.
Hancock (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0244882) – human-readable abbreviated URLs.
Van Oort et al. (US Patent Number 10,915,595) – human-readable short URL.
Jesse Luoto “Using LLMs to reverse JavaScript variable name minification”, https://web.archive.org/web/20230827011155/https://thejunkland.com/blog/using-llms-to-reverse-javascript-minification.html – use of LLMs to translate difficult-to-read computer code in to a human readable product.
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174