DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/17/2025 and 05/14/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 0329/2024, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala et al. (2018/0329065 A1) in view of McMackin et al. (2012/0038819 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pacala teaches of a method for inspection (fig. 10), comprising: a light emission system (see abstract) or an illumination assembly, comprising emitting radiation from an extended radiation source with a controllable spatial distribution (1020), [par. 0120], as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 10);
combination of a light detection system (see abstract), telecentric condensing optics (1018) [par. 0120] (fig. 10) receiving and projecting the emitted radiation along a first optical axis onto a field using telecentric condensing optics with a numerical aperture that exceeds 0.3 [par. 0136];
an imaging assembly comprising a sensor (1014) [par. 0119] and objective optics (1008) configured to imaging the field with objective optics along a second optical axis to a sensor as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 10); and
Pacala fails to explicitly specify combining the first and second optical axes using a prism combiner, which reflects at least one of the first optical axis or the second optical axis multiple times within the prism combiner.
McMackin from the same field of endeavor teaches of an optical apparatus, the apparatus comprises illumination assembly (105) [par. 0125] (fig. 5C) and imaging assembly (117) [par. 0044] (fig. 5C), the apparatus further comprises a prism combiner (107) [par. 0167] (fig. 5) positioned between the field and the condensing and objective optics and configured to combine the first and second optical axes, while reflecting at least one of the optical axes multiple times within the prism combiner (fig. 5C, some of the rays will be reflected multiple times) as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 5C). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims, in view of the teaching of McMackin for the purpose of combining the first and second optical axes since using prism is well known as evidence by McMackin as one of several straight forward possibilities from which the skilled person would select.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims, in view of the teaching of McMackin for the purpose of combining the first and second optical axes since using prism is well known as evidence by McMackin as one of several straight forward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 2, Pacala when modified by McMackin, Pacala teaches of the method as applied to claim 1, comprising wherein light emission system (see abstract) or an illumination assembly, comprising emitting radiation (1020), [par. 0120], as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 10); telecentric condensing optics (1018) [par. 0120] (fig. 10) configured to receiving and projecting the emitted radiation along a first optical axis onto a field using telecentric condensing optics with a numerical aperture that exceeds 0.3 [par. 0136], allow tight spectral selectivity that is uniform across the receiver channel array [par. 0008], an image-space telecentric bulk imaging optic allows the system to measure narrowband light uniformly over a wide field-of-view (FOV) [par. 0049], a uniform illuminator that spreads light evenly across the scene with no specific pairing between individual emitters and receiver channels. In some instances, the light transmission module can include a micro-optic transmitter channel array to enhance light outputted from the array of emitters [par. 0050].
Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to teaches the constructional/structural change differences as that claimed by Applicants claims 2, projecting the radiation comprises projecting the radiation uniformly over an area of the field having a diagonal dimension exceeding 2 mm, with an irradiance that varies by no more than 10% across the area and with a radiant intensity that varies across the numerical aperture by no more than 20% at all points in the area, and wherein the diagonal dimension of the area of the field over which the condensing optics project the optical radiation exceeds 15 mm.
However, even though, Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to teaches the constructional/structural change differences as that claimed by Applicants claim 2, the constructional/structural change differences are considered obvious design variation of changing/varying the numerical aperture in view of Pacala further teaches of light outputted by the array of emitters (e.g., laser pulses) passes through the micro-optic transmitter channel array and enters a bulk transmitter optic having a large numerical aperture to better capture light from the micro-optic transmitter channel array [par. 0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala when modified by McMackin as desired appropriate in order to enhance the ability to gather light and resolve fine specimen detail at a fixed object distance, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 3, Pacala when modified by McMackin, Pacala teaches of wherein emitting the radiation comprises emitting the radiation from an array of emitters, and controlling the spatial distribution by energizing the emitters selectively [par. 0120].
As to claim 4, Pacala when modified by McMackin, Pacala teaches of wherein the array of emitters comprises multiple emitters of different, respective wavelengths (a different range of wavelengths [par. 0064]), and wherein energizing the emitters selectively comprises (Optical filter 218 blocks unwanted wavelengths of light [par. 0062]) controlling a spectral content of the radiation projected onto the field by selecting the emitters to energize, is included in each transmitter channel includes a light emitter configured to generate and transmit a narrowband light through the bulk transmitter optic into a field external to the optical system [pars. 0020] and light ranging device 402, a ranging system controller 404 range wavelength detected or range of wavelengths of light [par. 0062, 0070, 0072], the imager can detect light at a wavelength of approximately 10 nm or less [par. 0051]
As to claim 5, Pacala when modified by McMackin, Pacala teaches of wherein the array of emitters is a first array (is included in measure light at multiple wavelengths and a different range of wavelengths [par. 0064]), and combination of a light detection system (see abstract), telecentric condensing optics (1018) [par. 0120] (fig. 10) receiving and projecting the emitted radiation along a first optical axis onto a field using telecentric condensing optics with a numerical aperture that exceeds 0.3 [par. 0136]; McMackin teaches of TIR prism (see title, abstract).
Pacala fail to explicitly specify wherein the condensing optics comprise a second array of homogenizing rods, however, even though, Pacala fail to specify the constructional/structural changes of the condensing optics comprise a second array of homogenizing rods the changes are considered obvious design in view of McMackin teaching of TIR (total internal reflection) to transmit light, since homogenizing Rods are specialized optics that use principles of TIR (total internal reflection) to transmit light, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 5, in view of the teaching of McMackin in order to enhanced accurate detection of defect in the pattern formed on the mask, as per teachings of McMackin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 5, in view of the teaching of McMackin in order to enhanced accurate detection of defect in the pattern formed on the mask, as per teachings of McMackin, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claims 7-8, Pacala when modified by McMackin, Pacala teaches of array of emitters [pars. 0064 and 0093], and sampling of points can be achieved by having a denser array of emitters implicitly are energized or by scanning angular position of the emitter beams over time such that one emitter can sample several points in space [par. 0093].
Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to teaches the constructional/structural change differences as that claimed by Applicants claims 7-8, such as wherein selectively energizing the emitters comprises selecting an angular range of the radiation projected onto the field (claim 7); and wherein selecting the angular range comprises selecting the range from a group of angular ranges consisting of a dark field and a bright field illumination range (claim 8).
However, even though, Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to specify the constructional/structural changes of claim 1 in the manner set forth in applicant's claims 7-8, the constructional changes differences are considered obvious design adjustment in view of Pacala teachings of scanning can be accomplished by rotating the entire emitter/sensor assembly. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala when modified by McMackin as desired appropriate in order to accomplished by rotating the entire emitter or in order to illuminate distinct fields of view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala when modified by McMackin as desired appropriate in order to accomplished by rotating the entire emitter or in order to illuminate distinct fields of view, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claims 9-12, Pacala when modified by McMackin, as applied to claim 1, McMackin also teaches of the structure such as; wherein combining the first and second optical axes comprises transmitting the first optical axis and reflecting the second optical axis twice within the prism combiner (fig. 5C, some of the rays will be reflected multiple times) , as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 5C and 13), and wherein the second optical axis is reflected by total internal reflection from a surface of the prism combiner that is adjacent to the field, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 5C and 13, TIR prism pairs (in the field of optics, often referred to simply as "TIR prisms"))(claim 9); and wherein combining the optical axes by the TIR prism pairs (in the field of optics comprises reflecting the first optical axis multiple times within the prism combiner so as to homogenize the radiation projected onto the field, as can be seen in depicted drawing ( McMackin, figs. 5C and 13)(claim 10); and wherein the first optical axis is reflected by total internal reflection from a surface of the prism combiner the TIR prism pairs that faces the imaging assembly light sensing device 130, as can be seen in depicted drawing ( McMackin, figs. 5C and 13) (claim 11); and wherein the prism combiner the TIR prism pairs has a rectangular cross section and comprises an entrance face in proximity to the condensing optics optical subsystem 105 and an exit face in proximity to the field, and wherein the condensing optics optical subsystem 105 are configured to focus the radiation emitted by the extended radiation source onto the entrance face as can be seen in depicted drawing ( McMackin, figs. 5C and 13) (claim 12).
As to claim 13, Pacala when modified by McMackin, as applied to claim 1, Pacala also teaches of wherein the extended radiation source comprises an array of emitters [pars. 0064 and 0093], and the condensing optics telecentric condensing optics (1018) [par. 0120] (fig. 10) are configured to image each of the emitters onto the entrance face.
Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to teaches the constructional/structural change differences as that claimed by Applicant’s claim 13, such as wherein the condensing optics comprise a Fresnel focusing lens.
However, even though, Pacala when modified by McMackin fail to specify the constructional/structural changes of claim 1 in the manner set forth in applicant's claim 13, the constructional change(s) difference(s) is/are considered obvious design adjustment in view of Pacala teachings of telecentric condensing optics in order to focuses and shapes light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala when modified by McMackin as desired appropriate in order to accurately focus and shape/direct light, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claims 14-15, Pacala when modified by McMackin, as applied to claim 1, McMackin also teaches of the structure such as wherein emitting the radiation light modulation unit 110 (McMackin, [pars. 0093]) comprises applying a spatial light modulator a modulated light stream (MLS) both manipulate electromagnetic waves (light). Both involve altering light's fundamental properties—such as amplitude (intensity), phase, and polarization is/ to controlling the spatial distribution of the radiation (claim 14); and wherein selectively controlling the spatial distribution by the modulated light stream (MLS) comprises selecting an angular range of the radiation projected onto the field [par. 0109] (claim 15).
As to claims 16-18, Pacala when modified by McMackin, as applied to claim 1, McMackin also teaches of the structure such as wherein the prism combiner TIR prism pairs comprises: an entrance face positioned to receive the radiation projected by the condensing optics along the first optical axis; an exit face in proximity to the field; and multiple beamsplitter layers within the prism combiner TIR prism pairs, wherein each of the multiple beamsplitter layers is configured to reflect a respective portion of the radiation through the exit face onto the field while transmitting the second optical axis, (fig. 5C, some of the rays will be reflected multiple times) , as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 5C and 13) (claim 16); wherein the prism combiner TIR prism pairs is configured to serve as a waveguide for the projected radiation (claim 17); wherein the prism combiner TIR prism pairs comprises a mirror that is parallel to the beamsplitter layers and is configured to receive the radiation entering through the entrance face and reflect the received radiation so as to cause the radiation to propagate within the prism combiner TIR prism pairs (claim 18).
As to claims 19-20, Pacala when modified by McMackin, as applied to claim 1, Pacala also teaches of the numeric aperture can be at least large enough to capture the full range of angles in the divergent ray cone(s), so for example and without limitation the Numerical Aperture (NA)=0.34 in this/the example.
Pacala fails to explicitly specify wherein the numerical aperture along the first optical axis exceeds 0.5 (claim 19); and wherein the numerical aperture along the first optical axis exceeds 0.7 (claim 20).
However, even though, Pacala fails to specify the exact numerical apertures as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 19-20, in view of the teaching of Pacala the teachings of none limiting the Numerical Aperture (NA) above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 19-20, in order to accurately characterizes the range of angles over which the optical system can accept or emit light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Pacala as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 19-20, in order to accurately characterizes the range of angles over which the optical system can accept or emit light, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the condensing optics comprise: a third array of collimating lenses, wherein each of the collimating lenses is configured to receive and collimate the radiation emitted from a respective one of the homogenizing rods; and a focusing lens positioned to receive the collimated radiation from the third array of collimating lenses and to transmit and focus the radiation onto the field, and wherein the collimating lenses comprise Fresnel lenses or the focusing lens comprises a Fresnel lens, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art method for inspection.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877