DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8-15 recite limitations that been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “module” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.1 in view of D22 and further in view of D3.3
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach acquiring image data of an alternate landing area selected for the aircraft when an aircraft receives an alternate landing mission (see abstract, § 1 ¶ 2, § II ¶ 1: image of landing area to identify safe landing sites), performing image segmentation on the image data with a segmentation model, obtaining an object element within the alternate landing area (see fig. 1, § IIB ¶ 1: classification and segmentation, hazard object detection); and see abstract, § 1 ¶ 2, § IIB ¶ 1: determining safe landing sites free from hazards, implicitly determines occupancy state without hazards). D1 fails to explicitly teach matching the object element with elements in a model library, wherein the model library comprises the elements and annotation information corresponding to the elements, however D2 teach the missing features (see D2 ¶¶ 83, 87: object recognition to identify known objects by comparing or matching with labeled known objects stored in memory).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate known teachings of D2 which teaches recognizing objects by comparing with templates in a database into the configuration of D1, yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation for identifying or recognizing objects by comparing with stored templates would have been to ascertain potential hazards and the corresponding dangers associated with landing sites.
D1 and D2 fail to explicitly teach receiving by an aircraft an alternate landing mission sent from a source external to the aircraft, wherein the alternate landing message includes an alternate landing area selected for the aircraft, however D3 teach the missing features (see abstract, ¶ 120: receiving alternate landing area information uploaded from ground control system).
Ones killed in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate known teaching of receiving landing information from a ground control station as taught by D3 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation for receiving landing information from the ground control system would have been to determine potential safe landing areas to land the aircraft.
With regard to claims 8 and 15, see discussion of claim 1.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Shen, Yu-Fei, et al. "A vision-based automatic safe landing-site detection system." IEEE Transactions on aerospace and electronic systems 49.1 (2013): 294-311.
2 US Publication No. 2008/0144884.
3 US Publication No. 2019/0088144.