DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. This office action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WARENICA et al (2024/0107099) in view of COX et al (2010/0287588)
As to claims 1-000, WARENICA discloses system and method for creating personalized media channels using EPG and further discloses a computer-implemented method for creating a virtual channel based on linear broadcast content, the method comprising:
Obtaining scheduling information and content information associated with a plurality of content items in a content schedule for two or more existing channels (EPG and associated plurality of content information), the content information comprising at least an identifier for each content item (figs.1-13, [0005-0009], [0037-0053] and [0059-0069]); content assets: video, audio, subtitles, images, metadata, etc.; pre-processing the content assets including to EPG data including specific channel information indicating type of content assets: VOD, personal recommendation, ads, etc.
determining, for each timeslot in a predetermined time period, a ranking for each content item scheduled in each timeslot; selecting, for each timeslot, a content item based on the ranking; and
creating one or more virtual channel schedules comprising at least the identifier for the selected content items from the two or more existing channels and wherein the ranking for each content item is based on one or more of: a popularity of the content items; a language of the content items; a type of the content items; metadata associated with the content items; a rule associated with the content items; or user activity associated with at least one user ([0037-0053], [0059-0075], [0081-0096] and [0110-0118]), virtual channel creation or playback of content assets: video, audio, subtitles, images, metadata, etc.,; pre-processing the content assets including transcoding to a common format: resolution and different bitrate format; imports EPG, the scheduler fills the time blocks based on interest, ratings, popularity and/or other criteria or rules; further includes ad slots/breaks; the EPG is configured to produce an EPG for the personalized channel using the personalized schedule and the metadata; Channel manifest manipulator crates a linear manifest with identifiers of the content or segments of the content according to the schedule using real-time user data or feedback, viewing/listening history, social media, etc., of other friends and/or users; comparing metadata of EPG and personalized user metadata and using templates to selected contents from a library of curated content; user real-time feedback data are further used to generate customized or targeted content segments/ads using current timeslots for media asset/ads.; generates real-time or virtual channels from real-time or linear manifest, generate on the fly, from real-time user gather data of media assets (EPG); the user gather data is based on real-time watching or viewing history (direct and/or indirect interactions as to channel changes, stop viewing, skipping of ads, etc,; to generate on-the-fly real-time or personal virtual channels using from the user gather data; content reviews; social media posts and/or other sources; user templates for generating the virtual personal channels based on the real-time user gather data.
WARENICA discloses HTTP (DASH) and HTTP Live Streaming ([0075]), scheduled and streamed on personalized channel schedule to appropriate CDNs, and further discloses a manifest manipulator inserts ad placeholders for ad placement duration and/or frequency ([0032-0048], [0053-0065] and [0096-0109]), BUT appears silent as to the live streamed content being broadcast on the two or more existing channels according to the content schedule and where the content schedule for the two or more existing channels is not altered.
However, in the same field of endeavor, COX discloses method and apparatus for providing enhanced EPG with personalized selection of broadcast content using affinities data and user preferences and further discloses live streamed content being broadcast on the two or more existing channels according to the content schedule and where the content schedule for the two or more existing channels is not altered (Abstract, figs.1-24, [0044-0045], [0098-0107], [0128-0136], [0156-0171] and [0217-0218])
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of COX into the system of WARENICA to use other communication network, such as broadcast to delivery desired content to user(s) based on preferences.
As to claim 3, WARENICA further discloses wherein the linear broadcast content is provided by a Free Ad-supported Streaming Television (FAST) channel provider ([0003] and [0006-0009]).
As to claim 4-6, WARENICA further discloses wherein the user activity comprises interactions by the at least one user in relation to a plurality of content items; wherein the user activity is associated with a plurality of content items interacted with by a single user or a single subscriber and wherein the user activity is associated with a plurality of content items interacted with by a plurality of users ([0037-0053], [0059-0075] and [0081-0096]), note remarks claims 1-2.
As to claim 7-10, WARENICA further discloses providing the one or more virtual channel schedules for display, wherein the scheduled content items in the one or more virtual channel schedules may be selectable by a user such that the user may delete and/or replace a selected item, wherein the selected item may be replaced by another content item scheduled to be broadcast on an existing channel in the same timeslot and wherein the selected item may be replaced by on demand content ([0037-0053], [0059-0075] and [0081-0096]), note remarks claims 1-2.
As to claim 11-13, WARENICA further discloses obtaining user-derived metadata representing at least some properties associated with the plurality of content items interacted with by the at least one user; obtaining content-derived metadata representing at least some properties associated with the plurality of content items in the content schedule; and comparing the user-derived metadata with the content-derived metadata to determine the ranking for each content item, determining a first weighting for the user-derived metadata and obtaining a second weighting for the content- derived metadata and comparing the second weighting with the first weighting to determine the ranking for each content item and wherein the ranking is based on how close the content-derived metadata for the scheduled content items matches the user-derived metadata ([0059-0075], [0081-0096] and [0110-0118]), filing time blocks selecting using rules/factors, including day of the week, time of the day and other real-time user data, note remarks in claims 1-2.
As to claim 14-16, WARENICA further discloses wherein the plurality of content items interacted with by the at least one user comprises content items having been one or more of: selected, viewed, recorded, purchased, read, listened to, played, shared, content rated, commented on, downloaded, watched, bookmarked, browsed, added to a shopping basket, watched or listened to a trailer, clicked on a search result, remotely recorded, set a reminder for, liked, disliked, tweeted, posted on social media, played purchased content, stopped watching, stopped playing or otherwise interacted with, wherein the content-derived metadata and/or the user-derived metadata comprises data relating to one or more of: actor; audience; award; category; character; character type; concept source; director; format; franchise; host; milieu; mood; producer; person; singer; subcategory; scenario; setting; sports competition; studio; style; subject; team; theme; time period; and writer and wherein the content items comprise one or more of: television content; video content, audio content, visual content, computer games, printed content, text-based content, live performances, movies, TV programs, music, podcasts, talking books, computer games, books, magazines, news, recipes, concerts, plays, comedy performances, entertainment or sporting events. ([0059-0075], [0081-0096] and [0110-0118]), filing time blocks selecting using rules/factors, including day of the week, time of the day and other real-time user(s) feedback data, note remarks in claims 1-2
As to claim 17--18, WARENICA further discloses storing the user activity and/or the interacted content items and/or metadata associated with the interacted content items in user profiles in a first memory resource remote from user devices and/or storing the scheduled content items and/or metadata associated with the scheduled content items in one or more content memory resource and determining a personalized ranking for multiple users at substantially a same time; selecting, for each timeslot and each of the multiple users, a content item based on the ranking; and creating one or more virtual channel schedules for each of the multiple users, said virtual channel schedules comprising at least the identifier for the selected content items ([0059-0075], [0081-0096] and [0110-0118]), filing time blocks selecting using rules/factors, including day of the week, time of the day and other real-time user(s) feedback data, note remarks in claims 1-2.
As to claim 19, the claimed: “A system for creating a virtual channel based on linear broadcast content, the system comprising processing circuitry configured to…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-2.
As to claim 20, the claimed: “A non-transitory computer-readable medium that comprises…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-2.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN SHANG