DETAILED ACTION
Claims in Consideration
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 102, to Korngold, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of 35 USC 103 rejection is made in view of the combination of Korngold and Friedkin, wherein Friedkin has been added to cure the previous deficiencies of Korngold.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korngold et al. (US 20210183158 A1, published: 6/17/2021), in view of Friedkin et al. (US 9977673 B1, published: 5/22/2018).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Korngold teaches a computer system that enables an action to be performed with respect to a hologram that is displayed in a scene (displaying the AR object on the reference surface in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]), said computer system comprising: a processor system (processor assembly 212 [Korngold, 0027, FIG. 1]); and a storage system that stores instructions (the memory 210 may store instructions and data that are usable to generate an AR environment for a user [Korngold, 0028, FIG. 1]) that are executable by the processor system to cause the computer system to:
access a hologram (AR object [Korngold, 0004]) that is included as a part of a scene, wherein the hologram is located at a first location within the scene (receiving an indication to place an AR object on a reference surface in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]);
define a second location for the hologram, the second location being different than the first location in the scene, wherein defining the second location includes defining a triggering action (performing a first gesture [Korngold, 0004]) that, when detected, causes the hologram to progressively move from the first location to the second location; detect user input that includes the triggering action; in response to the user input, cause the hologram to progressively move from the first location to the second location, wherein, at a time in which the user input is detected (performing a first gesture on an input device of the electronic device; in response to the first gesture, elevating the AR object a distance above the reference surface in the AR environment; performing a second gesture on the input device of the electronic device; and in response to the second gesture, moving the AR object in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]. FIG. 1 shows an example of a system 100 that can be used for generating an immersive experience by way of an AR environment [Korngold, 0017, FIG. 1]; Examiner's Note: based on a gesture input (trigger), the hologram (virtual object) is moved in the VR environment from one location to second), the hologram is visible within a first perspective view of the scene and the second location is outside of the first perspective view of the scene (FIG. 3 is a third person view of an example physical space 300, in which a user is experiencing an AR environment 302 through the example HMD 204. The AR environment 302 can be generated by the AR application 220 of the computing device 202 and displayed to the user through the HMD 204, or other device [Korngold, 0049, FIG. 3]; Examiner's Note: FIG. 3 shows VR being observed through a HMD/Helmet/VR Headset but only shows a perspective view based on the user's gaze, whereas stuff outside the user's gaze is located outside the perspective view, and is thus not shown to the user through the HMD);
concurrently with the progressive movement of the hologram, automatically pan the scene to a second perspective view in which the second location becomes visible; and display the scene from the second perspective view, resulting in the hologram being visible at the second location (the AR application 220 may update the AR environment based on input received from the camera assembly 232, the IMU 234, and/or other components of the sensor system 216. Based on the detected position and orientation, the AR application 220 may update the AR environment to reflect a changed orientation and/or position of the user within the environment [Korngold, 0045]; Examiner's Note: the system updates the VR image based on detected inputs; i.e. in real-time, concurrently with the movement of the object/hologram).
Korngold does not teach detect user input that includes the triggering action, including (i) determining a type of immersive platform that is receiving the user input and (ii) detecting the triggering action only when the type of immersive platform corresponds to a platform type for which the triggering action is pre-defined prior to receiving the user input.
However, Friedkin teaches detect user input that includes the triggering action, including (i) determining a type of immersive platform that is receiving the user input (the software porting device may determine the platform type based on user input received using input/output controller 310 that selects a particular device and/or operating system to be the target platform [Friedkin, 6:64-7:1]) and (ii) detecting the triggering action only when the type of immersive platform corresponds to a platform type for which the triggering action is pre-defined prior to receiving the user input (the software porting device may determine the platform type of the target platform based on input from a user or a software developer. The target platform will execute the source code after the source code has been compiled [Friedkin, 7:2-6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR environment capable of moving objects/holograms between virtual locations invention of Korngold to include the platform type determination features of Friedkin.
One would have been motivated to make this modification because the source code used to generate executable code may be distributed across many files, making it difficult to identify and maintain the portions that are platform-dependent. Each source code file may contain both platform-dependent and platform-independent portions, making it difficult to update and maintain the source code (Friedkin, 1:34-39).
Claim 11, sharing similar elements with claim 1, is likewise rejected.
Claim 2: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. Korngold further teaches wherein the computer system is a first immersive platform of a first type, the first type of the first immersive platform is a type that provides a view of the scene using a screen (displaying the AR object on the reference surface in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]).
Claim 3: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. Korngold further teaches wherein the triggering action includes one or more of: a long press cursor, a double tap cursor, or a touch action (the gesture to elevate the virtual character can be completed, as indicated at reference character 7-9, by the user releasing the virtual character (removing the two fingertips from the touchscreen of the mobile device) [Korngold, 0069]).
Claims 13 and 19, sharing similar elements with claim 3, are likewise rejected.
Claim 4 (Currently Amended): The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. Korngold further teaches wherein the triggering action is a movement of the hologram performed by a user (displaying an augment reality in which a user can place and manipulate virtual (e.g., computer-generated) objects in a view of a physical space [Korngold, 0004]).
Claim 5: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. Korngold further teaches wherein the hologram progressively moves from the first location to the second location throughout a pre-defined time period (the AR application 220 may update the AR environment based on input received from the camera assembly 232, the IMU 234, and/or other components of the sensor system 216. Based on the detected position and orientation, the AR application 220 may update the AR environment to reflect a changed orientation and/or position of the user within the environment [Korngold, 0045]; Examiner's Note: the system updates the VR image based on detected inputs; i.e. in real-time, concurrently with the movement of the object/hologram).
Claim 6: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. Korngold further teaches wherein a path is defined for the hologram to follow from the first location to the second location (the path shown in FIG. 1 is illustrative and different paths and/or locations can be viewed by the user, and can include AR objects in those locations [Korngold, 0025]).
Claim 7: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 6. Korngold further teaches wherein the path is a pre-defined path that is defined prior to the user input being detected (as is illustrated by the dashed arrows in FIG. 1, the user can, with AR environment 116, move between the locations of the object 120A-120. The path shown in FIG. 1 is illustrative and different paths and/or locations can be viewed by the user, and can include AR objects in those locations (e.g., AR objects placed by the user at, and/or manipulated by the user to, those locations) [Korngold, 0025]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated in FIG. 1).
Claim 14, sharing similar elements with claim 7, is likewise rejected.
Claim 8: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 6. Korngold further teaches wherein the path is defined at the time in which the user input is detected (at 914, in response to the second gesture at 912, the AR object can be moved in the AR environment [Korngold, 0080]).
Claim 12: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the method is performed by a first immersive platform, and wherein the hologram is moved to the third location by a user of a different immersive platform that is concurrently accessing the scene (Examiner's Note: this is just an extension of the independent claim adding extra locations. Computer programs may be run over and over, so after moving an object to a second location, it can be moved again, again, and again).
Claim 15: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the method of claim 11. Korngold further teaches wherein a path is defined for the hologram to follow from the third location to the second location, the path being defined in response to the user input being detected (as is illustrated by the dashed arrows in FIG. 1, the user can, with AR environment 116, move between the locations of the object 120A-120. The path shown in FIG. 1 is illustrative and different paths and/or locations can be viewed by the user, and can include AR objects in those locations (e.g., AR objects placed by the user at, and/or manipulated by the user to, those locations) [Korngold, 0025]. VI.REVERSAL, DUPLICATION, OR REARRANGEMENT OF PARTS [MPEP, 2144.04]; Examiner's Note: this is just an extension of the claim but moving in reverse).
Claim 16: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the method is performed by a first immersive platform, and wherein the hologram is moved to the third location by a user of the first immersive platform (Examiner's Note: this is just an extension of the independent claim adding extra locations. Computer programs may be run over and over, so after moving an object to a second location, it can be moved again, again, and again).
Claim 17: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein: the method is performed by a first immersive platform, a second immersive platform is concurrently accessing the scene, the hologram is moved to the third location by a user of the second immersive platform, and the first immersive platform displays a movement of the hologram from the first location to the third location (Examiner's Note: this is just an extension of the independent claim adding extra locations. Computer programs may be run over and over, so after moving an object to a second location, it can be moved again, again, and again).
Claim 18. (Currently Amended): Korngold teaches a method implemented by a head mounted device (HMD) (a head-mounted display,… a VR headset 1085 [Korngold, 0017]), the HMD being a first immersive platform of a first type (displaying the AR object on the reference surface in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]), said method comprising:
accessing a hologram that is included as a part of a scene, wherein the HMD displays the scene in a three-dimensional (3D) manner (receiving an indication to place an AR object on a reference surface in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]. A head-mounted display,… a VR headset 1085 [Korngold, 0017]. The content may be rendered as flat images or as three-dimensional (3D) objects. The 3D objects may include one or more objects represented as polygonal meshes. The polygonal meshes may be associated with various surface textures, such as colors and images [Korngold, 0035]);
determining that a second location has been defined for the hologram (AR object [Korngold, 0004]), wherein said determining includes identifying that the hologram is associated with a triggering action (performing a first gesture [Korngold, 0004]), when performed by a user of a second immersive platform that displays the scene in a two-dimensional (2D) manner, causes the hologram to progressively move from whatever location the hologram is at when the triggering action is performed to the second location without further user input beyond that of the triggering action; facilitating a 3D movement of the hologram from the first location to a third location (performing a first gesture on an input device of the electronic device; in response to the first gesture, elevating the AR object a distance above the reference surface in the AR environment; performing a second gesture on the input device of the electronic device; and in response to the second gesture, moving the AR object in the AR environment [Korngold, 0004]. FIG. 1 shows an example of a system 100 that can be used for generating an immersive experience by way of an AR environment [Korngold, 0017, FIG. 1]; Examiner's Note: based on a gesture input (trigger), the hologram (virtual object) is moved in the VR environment from one location to second);
detecting that the second immersive platform is concurrently accessing the scene; in response to detecting the triggering action being performed from the user of the second immersive platform, visualizing the hologram progressively moving from the third location to the second location; and determining that the hologram is at the second location (the AR application 220 may update the AR environment based on input received from the camera assembly 232, the IMU 234, and/or other components of the sensor system 216. Based on the detected position and orientation, the AR application 220 may update the AR environment to reflect a changed orientation and/or position of the user within the environment [Korngold, 0045]; Examiner's Note: the system updates the VR image based on detected inputs; i.e. in real-time, concurrently with the movement of the object/hologram).
Korngold does not teach including (i) determining a type of immersive platform that is receiving the user input and (ii) detecting the triggering action only when the type of immersive platform corresponds to a platform type for which the triggering action is pre-defined prior to receiving the user input.
However, Friedkin teaches including (i) determining a type of immersive platform that is receiving the user input (the software porting device may determine the platform type based on user input received using input/output controller 310 that selects a particular device and/or operating system to be the target platform [Friedkin, 6:64-7:1]) and (ii) detecting the triggering action only when the type of immersive platform corresponds to a platform type for which the triggering action is pre-defined prior to receiving the user input (the software porting device may determine the platform type of the target platform based on input from a user or a software developer. The target platform will execute the source code after the source code has been compiled [Friedkin, 7:2-6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR environment capable of moving objects/holograms between virtual locations invention of Korngold to include the platform type determination features of Friedkin.
One would have been motivated to make this modification because the source code used to generate executable code may be distributed across many files, making it difficult to identify and maintain the portions that are platform-dependent. Each source code file may contain both platform-dependent and platform-independent portions, making it difficult to update and maintain the source code (Friedkin, 1:34-39).
Claim 20: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the method of claim 18. Korngold further teaches wherein the HMD displays the scene from a first perspective view, and wherein the third location and the second location are both outside of the first perspective view (FIG. 3 is a third person view of an example physical space 300, in which a user is experiencing an AR environment 302 through the example HMD 204. The AR environment 302 can be generated by the AR application 220 of the computing device 202 and displayed to the user through the HMD 204, or other device [Korngold, 0049, FIG. 3]; Examiner's Note: FIG. 3 shows VR being observed through a HMD/Helmet/VR Headset but only shows a perspective view based on the user's gaze, whereas stuff outside the user's gaze is located outside the perspective view, and is thus not shown to the user through the HMD).
Claim(s) 9 & 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korngold et al. (US 20210183158 A1, published: 6/17/2021) and Friedkin et al. (US 9977673 B1, published: 5/22/2018), and in further view of Lyren (US 20200066058 A1, published: 2/27/2020).
Claim 9: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, does not teach wherein an impeding object is positioned in a direct path from the first location to the second location, and wherein the hologram passes through the impeding object as a result of the impeding object having a non-physicality state during a time when the hologram is moving.
However, Lyren teaches wherein an impeding object is positioned in a direct path from the first location to the second location, and wherein the hologram passes through the impeding object as a result of the impeding object having a non-physicality state during a time when the hologram is moving (when these movements, however, are significant enough to impede or restrict a view of the virtual object 1710 (such as pushing the virtual object 1710 or portions thereof out of the field of view 1740), the virtual object 1710 is repositioned within the field of view 1740 to remain visible to the user 1730. Additionally, the virtual object 1710 is repositioned within the field of view 1740 when its view is obstructed. For example, while the virtual and real objects are within the field of view, another object impedes, restricts, or obstructs the user's view of the virtual object. In this instance, the virtual object is repositioned within the field of view to provide the user with a clear or unobstructed view of the virtual object. As another example, the virtual object is repositioned in the field of view when an edge or perimeter of the field of view hits or touches the virtual object [Lyren, 0214]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR environment capable of moving objects/holograms between virtual locations invention of the combination of Korngold and Friedkin, to include the working with objects that are impeded by other virtual objects features of Lyren.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide to the user a virtual reality environment that strives to be close to or accurate of actual real-world physics. Such would provide the user with a real seeming experience where objects cannot occupy the same space, and hence may bump or move other objects if moved into them.
Claim 10: The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, teaches the computer system of claim 1. The combination of Korngold and Friedkin, does not teach wherein an impeding object is positioned in a direct path from the first location to the second location, and wherein the hologram passes around the impeding object as a result of the impeding object having a physicality state.
However, Lyren teaches wherein an impeding object is positioned in a direct path from the first location to the second location, and wherein the hologram passes around the impeding object as a result of the impeding object having a physicality state (when these movements, however, are significant enough to impede or restrict a view of the virtual object 1710 (such as pushing the virtual object 1710 or portions thereof out of the field of view 1740), the virtual object 1710 is repositioned within the field of view 1740 to remain visible to the user 1730. Additionally, the virtual object 1710 is repositioned within the field of view 1740 when its view is obstructed. For example, while the virtual and real objects are within the field of view, another object impedes, restricts, or obstructs the user's view of the virtual object. In this instance, the virtual object is repositioned within the field of view to provide the user with a clear or unobstructed view of the virtual object. As another example, the virtual object is repositioned in the field of view when an edge or perimeter of the field of view hits or touches the virtual object [Lyren, 0214]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR environment capable of moving objects/holograms between virtual locations invention of the combination of Korngold and Friedkin, to include the working with objects that are impeded by other virtual objects features of Lyren.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide to the user a virtual reality environment that strives to be close to or accurate of actual real-world physics. Such would provide the user with a real seeming experience where objects cannot occupy the same space, and hence may bump or move other objects if moved into them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172