DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because while the claims state a non-transitory computer readable medium, the correct language for patent eligibility subject matter is “computer readable storage medium.” Please correct accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller (U.S. PGPUB 20190070512) in view of Qin (U.S. Patent No. 9,954,718).
Re claims 1, 8, and 15: Fuller discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor (see paragraph [0004]: processor); and
at least one memory device (see paragraph [0005]: memory), wherein the at least one memory device is communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory device storing computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to:
receive a plurality of inputs of a video game corresponding to gameplay of the video game;
embed the plurality of inputs received (see paragraph [0080]: player movements, e.g. shooting targets, is embedded in vectors of numbers);
detect one or more anomalous sequences of inputs among the plurality of embedded inputs (see paragraph [0080]: the system detects an anomaly wherein “the low-dimensional representation of the new movement is compared with the distribution of low-dimensional representations of the original database of movements to determine if the new movement is an outlier, i.e., to classify the new movement as a natural human movement or a cheater.”); and,
generate an anomaly report including data corresponding to the one or more anomalous sequences of G-API calls detected (see paragraph [0080]: a report is made, wherein a classification is made of the user that indicates the user to be a cheater).
Although Fuller discloses determining if there are anomalies within player inputs, Fuller doesn’t teach that said inputs are API calls. However, Qin teaches sending all player inputs to the server using an API interface “to ensure that the input command is synchronized with the video frame presented to the user on the screen 148 when the user generated the input command in the client 106.” (see column 8, lines 5-24). Here, said player inputs constitutes API calls, as a call is made to the server to initiate said synchronization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to combine the anomalous input detection system of Fuller with the remote server-based gaming system of Qin for the purpose of detecting anomalous player-based API calls, and thus preventing cheating within a network gaming environment.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller in view of Qin, in further view of Pardeshi (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0232907).
Re claims 2, 7, 9, 14, and 16: Fuller fails to disclose with respect to the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of G-API calls correspond to one or more user accounts of a video game. However, Pardeshi discloses maintaining a user profile/account that stores past cheating behavior, i.e. anomalies in gameplay (see paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to modify the anomaly detection system of Fuller with the profile feature of Pardeshi for the purpose of tracking players with repeat incidents of anomalous behavior.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
REGINALD A. RENWICK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715