DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims:
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, and 18 are amended
Claims 1-18 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santiago et al. (US 20210134285) in view of Kolen et al. (US 20200306640).
Claim 1:
Santiago teaches:
A system comprising (Santiago [0015] The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product at any possible technical detail level of integration.):
at least one processor (Santiago [0015] The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.); and
at least one memory device, wherein the at least one memory device is communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory device storing computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to (Santiago [0016] The computer readable storage medium can be a tangible device that can retain and store instructions for use by an instruction execution device. The computer readable storage medium may be, for example, but is not limited to, an electronic storage device, a magnetic storage device, an optical storage device, an electromagnetic storage device, a semiconductor storage device, or any suitable combination of the foregoing. A non-exhaustive list of more specific examples of the computer readable storage medium includes the following: a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), a static random access memory (SRAM), a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM), a digital versatile disk (DVD), a memory stick, a floppy disk, a mechanically encoded device such as punch-cards or raised structures in a groove having instructions recorded thereon, and any suitable combination of the foregoing.):
receive voice audio data during gameplay of a video game from a player (Santiago [0023] The following described exemplary embodiments provide a system, method, and program product to process spoken user voice commands in an in-game chat through speech-to-text and NLP technologies, determining the intent of such commands, and playing a preconfigured audio command in-game based on the determined intent.);
extract one or more feature embeddings from the voice audio data (Santiago [0003] According to one embodiment, a method, computer system, and computer program product for in-game voice commands is provided. The embodiment may capture a user-spoken communication. The embodiment may also convert the captured user-spoken communication to a text file. The embodiment may further determine an intent of the converted communication using natural language processing. The embodiment may also execute a preconfigured audio file corresponding to the determined intent.);
determine, from among a set of character animations, a subset of character animations based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] Then, at 208, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B executes preconfigured audio corresponding to the determined intent. Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
cause a player character of the video game to perform the first character animation during gameplay (Santiago [0032] Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation.).
determine a stylization scalar based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
modify the first character animation based at least in part on the stylization scalar to produce a modified first character animation (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
Santiago fails to teach:
prompt, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receive a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Kolen teaches:
prompt, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receive a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago with Kolen. Having a user interface that shows the different types of animations, as in Kolen, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing a user to see what kind of animation the game supports. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an emote wheel that shows which animations are available, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 7:
Santiago teaches:
A computer implemented method comprising (Santiago [0015] The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product at any possible technical detail level of integration.):
receiving voice audio data during gameplay of a video game from a player (Santiago [0023] The following described exemplary embodiments provide a system, method, and program product to process spoken user voice commands in an in-game chat through speech-to-text and NLP technologies, determining the intent of such commands, and playing a preconfigured audio command in-game based on the determined intent.);
extracting one or more feature embeddings from the voice audio data (Santiago [0003] According to one embodiment, a method, computer system, and computer program product for in-game voice commands is provided. The embodiment may capture a user-spoken communication. The embodiment may also convert the captured user-spoken communication to a text file. The embodiment may further determine an intent of the converted communication using natural language processing. The embodiment may also execute a preconfigured audio file corresponding to the determined intent.);
determining, from among a set of character animations, a subset of character animations based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] Then, at 208, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B executes preconfigured audio corresponding to the determined intent. Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
causing a player character of the video game to perform the first character animation during gameplay (Santiago [0032] Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation.).
determine a stylization scalar based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
modify the first character animation based at least in part on the stylization scalar to produce a modified first character animation (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
Santiago fails to teach:
prompting, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receiving a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Kolen teaches:
prompting, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receiving a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago with Kolen. Having a user interface that shows the different types of animations, as in Kolen, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing a user to see what kind of animation the game supports. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an emote wheel that shows which animations are available, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 13:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer-executable instructions, wherein, when executed, the computer-executable instructions configure at least one processor to (Santiago [0016] The computer readable storage medium can be a tangible device that can retain and store instructions for use by an instruction execution device. The computer readable storage medium may be, for example, but is not limited to, an electronic storage device, a magnetic storage device, an optical storage device, an electromagnetic storage device, a semiconductor storage device, or any suitable combination of the foregoing. A non-exhaustive list of more specific examples of the computer readable storage medium includes the following: a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), a static random access memory (SRAM), a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM), a digital versatile disk (DVD), a memory stick, a floppy disk, a mechanically encoded device such as punch-cards or raised structures in a groove having instructions recorded thereon, and any suitable combination of the foregoing.):
receive voice audio data during gameplay of a video game from a player (Santiago [0023] The following described exemplary embodiments provide a system, method, and program product to process spoken user voice commands in an in-game chat through speech-to-text and NLP technologies, determining the intent of such commands, and playing a preconfigured audio command in-game based on the determined intent.);
extract one or more feature embeddings from the voice audio data (Santiago [0003] According to one embodiment, a method, computer system, and computer program product for in-game voice commands is provided. The embodiment may capture a user-spoken communication. The embodiment may also convert the captured user-spoken communication to a text file. The embodiment may further determine an intent of the converted communication using natural language processing. The embodiment may also execute a preconfigured audio file corresponding to the determined intent.);
determine, from among a set of character animations, a subset of character animations based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] Then, at 208, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B executes preconfigured audio corresponding to the determined intent. Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
cause a player character of the video game to perform the first character animation during gameplay (Santiago [0032] Once the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines the intent behind the user-spoken text, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may select a phrase from a list of preconfigured phrases that the in-game characters are capable of speaking or preconfigured actions or animations the in-game character is capable of performing. For example, the identified intent from the previously described scenario where the user was seeking aid may have a corresponding preconfigured phrase of “Heal me!” or “Cover me!”. In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation.).
determine a stylization scalar based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
modify the first character animation based at least in part on the stylization scalar to produce a modified first character animation (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
Santiago fails to teach:
prompt, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receive a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Kolen teaches:
prompt, via an interactive user interface, selection of a character animation from among the subset of character animations, the interactive user interface configured to display the character animations of the subset (Kolen [0109] The player may assign a name to the animation via text field 706 (in this case, the player has entered “Joe's Happy Dance”). The player has selected option 710 to use this unique dance move as a victory emote in one or more particular video games, which may mean that the virtual character will automatically perform this dance move animation when winning a match within a video game. The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).);
receive a selection of a first character animation (Kolen [0109] The player has further selected option 712 to include this unique dance move in an in-game emote menu in one or more particular video games, which may enable the player to request that his virtual character perform this animation on demand in a particular game (e.g., when a certain key is pressed by the player during the game).); and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago with Kolen. Having a user interface that shows the different types of animations, as in Kolen, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing a user to see what kind of animation the game supports. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an emote wheel that shows which animations are available, to yield predictable results.
Claim 2, 8, and 14:
Santiago and Kolen teach:
The system of claim 1,
wherein the voice audio data received is an utterance made external to the video game by the player (Santiago [0003] The embodiment may capture a user-spoken communication.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago with Kolen. Having a user interface that shows the different types of animations, as in Kolen, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing a user to see what kind of animation the game supports. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an emote wheel that shows which animations are available, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santiago et al. (US 20210134285) in view of Kolen et al. (US 20200306640) and Dareddy et al. (US 20200186897).
Claims 3, 9, and 15
Santiago and Kolen teach:
The system of claim 1,
Santiago and Kolen fail to teach:
wherein the one or more feature embeddings are extracted by a machine learning model, the machine learning model including encoders trained on training data comprising at least audio data and video data (Dareddy [0064] It will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, there is no step of generating feature representations of the video and audio frames. The generation of feature representations will depend on how the video and audio machine learning models have been trained (described later, see ‘training of the machine learning models’). In some embodiments, it may be that the machine learning models have been trained with video and audio frames and not necessarily the feature representations thereof.).
Dareddy teaches:
wherein the one or more feature embeddings are extracted by a machine learning model, the machine learning model including encoders trained on training data comprising at least audio data and video data (Dareddy [0064] It will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, there is no step of generating feature representations of the video and audio frames. The generation of feature representations will depend on how the video and audio machine learning models have been trained (described later, see ‘training of the machine learning models’). In some embodiments, it may be that the machine learning models have been trained with video and audio frames and not necessarily the feature representations thereof.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago and Kolen with Dareddy. Having a machine learning model trained on audio and video, as in Dareddy, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing the system to have a machine learning model that is trained on audio and video. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, a machine learning model trained on audio and video, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santiago et al. (US 20210134285) in view of Kolen et al. (US 20200306640) and Hu et al. (US 10896679).
Claims 4, 10, and 16
Santiago and Kolen teach:
The system of claim 1,
Santiago and Kolen fail to teach:
wherein the determination of the subset of character animations is based in part on a Euclidean distance analysis (Hu [0060] In various examples, after training the model and determining feature vector embeddings for various input features, similarities and/or commonalities among feature embeddings may be determined using techniques such as cosine similarity, correlation, Euclidean distance, etc. A recommended action (e.g., content to display and/or output) may be content that is associated with the most similar features, as determined using the aforementioned techniques.).
Hu teaches:
wherein the determination of the subset of character animations is based in part on a Euclidean distance analysis (Hu [0060] In various examples, after training the model and determining feature vector embeddings for various input features, similarities and/or commonalities among feature embeddings may be determined using techniques such as cosine similarity, correlation, Euclidean distance, etc. A recommended action (e.g., content to display and/or output) may be content that is associated with the most similar features, as determined using the aforementioned techniques.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago and Kolen with Hu. Having feature vectors based on Euclidian distance, as in Hu, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing a way to measure distance. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, allowing a way to determine animations based on the distances, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santiago et al. (US 20210134285) in view of Kolen et al. (US 20200306640) and Nitzberg et al. (US 20220270599).
Claims 5, 11, and 17
Santiago and Kolen teach:
The system of claim 1,
Santiago and Kolen fail to teach:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further configure the at least one processor to render the interactive user interface for display during runtime of the video game at a time proximate to when the voice audio data is received (Nitzberg [0090] The interactive screen 202s may be toggled using the verbal utterance from the operator, for example, the operator may utter the words ‘Main Menu’ which will then retrieve and toggle back to the previous interactive screen 202 displaying the ‘Main Menu’ replacing the interlinked interactive screen 202.).
Nitzberg teaches:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further configure the at least one processor to render the interactive user interface for display during runtime of the video game at a time proximate to when the voice audio data is received (Nitzberg [0090] The interactive screen 202s may be toggled using the verbal utterance from the operator, for example, the operator may utter the words ‘Main Menu’ which will then retrieve and toggle back to the previous interactive screen 202 displaying the ‘Main Menu’ replacing the interlinked interactive screen 202.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago and Kolen with Nitzberg. Having the user be able to speak and have things happen live time like rendering an interface, as in Nitzberg, would benefit the Santiago teachings by having things happen in real time. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having speech allow for real time things to happen, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santiago et al. (US 20210134285) in view of Kolen et al. (US 20200306640) and Dareddy et al. (US 20200186897).
Claims 6, 12, and 18
Santiago and Kolen teach:
The system of claim 1,
Santiago and Kolen fail to teach:
wherein the stylization scalar is further based at least in part on motion data received from an input device (Pham [0012] In some implementations, the animation may be stylized in a non-realistic or semi-realistic fashion, such as a cartoon.).
Dareddy teaches:
wherein the stylization scalar is further based at least in part on motion data received from an input device (Dareddy [0076] In some examples, at least some of the data in one or more of the telemetry signal, motion signal, speech signal, player input signal and video camera signal may be selected for inclusion in the recording, along with the selected video and or audio frames. For example, the player's speech may also be included in the recording, along with the video recording of the player reacting whilst playing the video game.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Santiago and Kolen with Dareddy. Having a machine learning model trained on audio and video, as in Dareddy, would benefit the Santiago teachings by allowing the system to have a machine learning model that is trained on audio and video. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, a machine learning model trained on audio and video, to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims.
The amendments have been overcome with previous art:
determine a stylization scalar based at least in part on the one or more feature embeddings extracted from the voice audio data (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
modify the first character animation based at least in part on the stylization scalar to produce a modified first character animation (Santiago [0032] In a different example, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B have the in-game character perform a preconfigured, in-game animation that corresponds to the determined intent either concurrently to the audio file or in lieu of the audio file based on preconfigured settings or the in-game situation. For example, if the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B determines to execute a prerecorded animation associated with the intent of seeking aid, the in-game voice command program 110A, 110B may execute a character facial animation of the character saying the phrase “Heal me!” or a character body animation of the character waiving to teammate characters while pressing on a wound.);
Santiago teaches how the game can issue different commands or animations based on how something is said. This way it checks how it is said to execute an animation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612