Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species XI, Fig. 19, Sub-species III, Fig. 14, Sub-species A, Fig. 16, Claims 1-15, 17, 19-20 in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "first layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the first layer will be taken as the first film layer. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chong(US 20240339566 A1, hereafter Chong).
Regarding Claim 1, Chong discloses:
A display panel(Fig. 1) comprising:
A base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]);
A light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]) located over one side of the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]), wherein one surface of the light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]) away from the base substrate comprises a central area(Fig. 1 [115]) and an edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]); and at least a portion of the edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]) surrounds the central area(Fig. 1 [115]); and
A first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]), wherein the first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) comprises an opening exposing the light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]); and in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]), at least a portion of the first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) overlaps with the edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chong further discloses:
The first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) is made up by an organic(polyimide, see paragraph 0103) material.
Regarding Claim 3, Chong further discloses:
The light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]) comprises a first-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 1 [111]), a second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 1 [113]), and a light-emitting layer(Fig. 1 [112]) located between the first-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 1 [111]) and the second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 1 [113]), the second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 1 [113]) is located over one side of the light-emitting layer(Fig. 1 [112]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]); and
The display panel further comprises a common electrode(Fig. 1 [140]); the common electrode(Fig. 1 [140]) is located over one side of the first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]); the common electrode(Fig. 1 [140]) is electrically connected to the light-emitting unit through the opening(Fig. 1 [110]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chong further discloses:
A plurality of light-emitting units(Fig. 1 See figure below); and
A signal line(Fig. 1 [121]) located between at least some adjacent light-emitting units(Fig. 1 See figure below), wherein the signal line(Fig. 1 [121]) is electrically connected to the common electrode(Fig. 1 [140]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chong discloses:
A display apparatus(Fig. 1), comprising:
A display panel(Fig. 1) comprising:
A base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]);
A light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]) located over one side of the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]), wherein one surface of the light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]) away from the base substrate comprises a central area(Fig. 1 [115]) and an edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]); and at least a portion of the edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]) surrounds the central area(Fig. 1 [115]); and
A first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]), wherein the first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) comprises an opening exposing the light-emitting unit(Fig. 1 [111/112/113/114/115]); and in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the base substrate(Fig. 1 [120]), at least a portion of the first film layer(Fig. 1 [160]) overlaps with the edge area(Fig. 1 [113/114]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chong discloses:
A method of forming a display panel(Figs. 4A-4H), comprising:
Arranging a base substrate(Fig. 4B [120]);
Placing a light-emitting unit(Fig. 4H See figure below) over one side of the base substrate(Fig. 4B [120]), wherein one surface of the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4H See figure below) away from the base substrate(Fig. 4B [120]) comprises a central area(Fig. 4H See figure below) and an edge area(Fig. 4H See figure below), and at least a portion of the edge area(Fig. 4H See figure below) surrounds the central area(Fig. 4H See figure below); and
Forming a first film layer(Fig. 4H [160]), wherein the first film layer(Fig. 4H [160]) comprises an opening(Fig. 4H [161]) exposing the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4H See figure below); and in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the base substrate(Fig. 4B [120]), at least a portion of the first film layer(Fig. 4H [160]) overlaps with the edge area(Fig. 4H See figure below).
Above: Fig. 1 of Chong with light-emitting units denoted by examiner.
Above: Fig. 4H of Chong with light-emitting units, edge and central areas denoted by examiner.
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al.(US 20250140767 A1, hereafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses:
A base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]);
A light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) located over one side of the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]), wherein one surface of the light-emitting unit(Fig.4B [SJS]) away from the base substrate comprises a central area(Fig. 4B [COP1]) and an edge area(Fig. 4B [UA]); and at least a portion of the edge area(Fig. 4B [UA]) surrounds the central area(Fig. 4B [COP1]); and
A first film layer(Fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]), wherein the first film layer(Fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]) comprises an opening exposing the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]); and in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]), at least a portion of the first film layer(Fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]) overlaps with the edge area(Fig. 1 [UA]).
Regarding Claim 2, Park further discloses:
The first film layer(Fig. 4B [140]) is made up by an organic material(See paragraph 0131).
Regarding Claim 3, Park further discloses:
The light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) comprises a first-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SP]), a second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SN]), and a light-emitting layer(Fig. 4G [ACT]) located between the first-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SP]) and the second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SN]), the second-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SN]) is located over one side of the light-emitting layer(Fig. 4G [ACT]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]); and
the display panel(Fig. 4B) further comprises a common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]); the common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]) is located over one side of the first film layer(Fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]); the common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]) is electrically connected to the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) through the opening.
Regarding Claim 4, Park further discloses:
A plurality of light-emitting units(See Fig. 4B [UA]); and
A signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) located between at least some adjacent light-emitting units(Fig. 4B [UA]), wherein the signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) is electrically connected to the common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]).
Regarding Claim 15, Park further discloses:
The signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) is located between the common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]) and the first film layer(fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]); and
The first film layer(Fig. 4B [140 or SI1 or SI2]) comprises a concave structure; the signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) comprises a first signal line;
And the first signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) is located over at least a portion of one side surface of the concave structure(Fig. 4B See figure below).
Regarding Claim 17, Park further discloses:
A minimum distance between the concave structure(Fig. 4B See figure below) and the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]) is H1;
A distance between one side of the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]) and the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]) is Hp;
The light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) further comprises a first electrode(Fig. 4B [ES1]) that is located over one side of the first-type semiconductor layer(Fig. 4G [SP]) facing the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]); a distance between one side of the first electrode(Fig. 4B [ES1]) away from the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]) and the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]) is Hc; and
H1 ≥ H-c, H1 < Hp.
Claims 19-20 could also have been rejected under Park, but since that would be a repetition of already-rejected claims, that rejection will be omitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Yang et al.(US 20210210548 A1, hereafter Yang).
Regarding Claim 5, Park further discloses:
A spacing between adjacent light-emitting units(Fig. 4A [LED]) is Wg;
The signal line(Fig. 4A [SE2]) extends along a first direction(vertically), and a line width of the signal line in a second direction(horizontal) is W0, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Park does not teach or disclose that (1/3)Wg ≤ W0 ≤ Wg.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses that a pixel width P2(See paragraph 0051 of Yang) as being 12.5 µm, while a signal line width W is 2.5 µm. Due to the fact that a maximum distance between two adjacent light-emitting units is 12.5 µm(Since the units cannot be less than 0 µm large), the effective range given by Yang’s limitation is (1/5)Wg ≤ W0 ≤ Wg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitation by applying the limitation provided by Yang to the device disclosed by Park. One may have arrived at this limitation as a matter of device optimization, as the signal lines must be sufficiently wide to carry a signal, but the area of the light-emitting units would be desirable as a maximum to maximize the light-emitting area of the device. Furthermore, a realistic light-emitting unit width would be on the scale of microns, and unlikely to be close to 0 microns. Applying Yang would have generated a predictable result in the creation of an embodiment of Park’s device with a known signal line width to light-emitting unit spacing ratio.
Claim(s) 6-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Moon et al.(US 20240072216 A1, hereafter Moon).
Regarding Claim 6, Park further discloses:
The signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) is located between the common electrode(fig. 4B [CME]) and the first film layer(Fig. 4B [SI2]);
The display panel(Fig. 4B) further comprises a second film layer(Fig. 4B [SI1 or 140]); the second film layer(Fig. 4B [SI1 or 140]) is located between the signal line(Fig. 4B [SE2]) and the common electrode(Fig. 4B [CME]).
Park does not teach or disclose the second film layer comprises a via hole; the common electrode electrically connects to the signal line through the via hole.
In the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a second film layer(Fig. 6 [121]) comprising a via hole(Fig. 6 [CH2]); the common electrode(Fig. 6 [CE]) electrically connects to the signal line(Fig. 6 [CL]) through the via hole(Fig. 6 [CH2]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device disclosed by Park along the lines of Moon. One might have been motivated to connect the common electrode and the signal line in order to place the signal line on another layer and improve the pixel density of the display device. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Park’s device with a via structure connecting the common electrode and the signal line.
Regarding Claim 7, Park further discloses:
A second film layer(Fig. 4B [140]) comprising an organic material(See paragraph 0131) and a first film layer(Fig. 4B [SI2]) comprising an oxide(See paragraph 0129).
As transmittance is an inherent property of respective materials, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been presented with a selection of known organic materials by which to produce the second film layer. Furthermore, the materials as disclosed by Park for the first film layer are mostly transparent oxides. Therefore, an embodiment of Park’s device includes a transparent, high-transmittance oxide layer for a first film layer and a translucent or opaque lower-transmittance organic layer to form the second film layer. Producing a device in this way would have generated a predictable result in the creation of an embodiment of Park’s device with the aforementioned modification discussed in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8, Park further discloses:
In the direction perpendicular to the plane of the base substrate(Fig. 4B [101]), at least a portion of the second film layer(Fig. 4B [SI1]) overlaps with the edge area(Fig. 4B [UA]); and
The second film layer(Fig. 4B [SI1]) comprises a first edge that is located over the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]);
The first film layer(Fig. 4B [SI2]) comprises a second edge that is located over the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]), wherein a position of the first edge and a position of the second edge are identical(See Fig. 4B below).
Regarding Claim 9, Park further discloses:
The light-emitting unit(Fig. 4B [SJS]) comprises a plurality of first light-emitting units(Fig. 4A See figure below), a plurality of second light-emitting units(Fig. 4A See figure below), and a plurality of third light-emitting units(Fig. 4A See figure below); one first light-emitting unit of the plurality of first light-emitting units, one second light-emitting unit of the plurality of second light-emitting units, and one third light-emitting unit of the plurality of third light-emitting units form a virtual quadrilateral(Fig. 4A See figure below); the virtual quadrilateral comprises a first virtual quadrilateral; the first light-emitting unit(Fig. 4A See figure below) is located at a first vertex of the first virtual quadrilateral; and the second light-emitting unit(Fig. 4A See figure below) and the third light-emitting unit(Fig. 4A See figure below) are respectively located at a second vertex of the first virtual quadrilateral, wherein the first vertex and the second vertex alternate and are spaced apart.
Park does not teach or disclose that the via hole is located inside a portion of the first virtual quadrilateral. However, applying the teaching of Moon wherein a via hole(See Fig. 6 [CH2] of Moon) is located between two adjacent light-emitting elements, if one were to apply this via hole to the prior art of Park, it being within an imaginary quadrilateral formed by four light-emitting elements. Refer to the marked Fig. 4A of Park below for more details.
Regarding Claim 10,
Park does not teach or disclose distances from the via hole to vertices of the first virtual quadrilateral are equal. However, applying the teaching of Moon wherein a via hole(See Fig. 6 [CH2] of Moon) is located between two adjacent light-emitting elements, if one were to apply this via hole to the prior art of Park, depending on the selection of light-emitting elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at a device wherein the via hole is equidistant from three vertices of an imaginary quadrilateral. Refer to the marked Fig. 4A of Park below for more details.
Regarding Claim 11,
Park discloses pixels as having groups that generate light having different colors(See Paragraph 0082). Based on this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at a device wherein the emission wavelength of a first light-emitting unit is shorter than an emission wavelength of the second or third light-emitting elements, motivated by the desire to produce a device capable of multi-color display.
Regarding Claim 13, Park further discloses:
A central display area(Fig. 3A [DA]) and an edge display area(Fig. 3A [NDA]), wherein at least a portion of the edge display area(Fig. 3A [NDA]) surrounds the central display area(Fig. 3A [DA]);
A distribution density of a via hole in the central display area(0) is less than a distribution density of a via hole(Fig. 6B [TH]) in the edge display area(Fig. 3A [NDA]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Moon, further in view of Zhang et al.(US 20240014186 A1, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 12,
Park further discloses the light-emitting unit(Fig. 4A [LED]) is arranged at intervals along a third direction and/or a fourth direction, and the third direction intersects with the fourth direction.
Park does not teach or disclose a width of the light-emitting unit is W1, a distance between adjacent via holes is W2, and a spacing between adjacent light-emitting units is Wg, wherein W2 ≥ 3×(W1+Wg).
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a via hole(Fig. 2 [101]) with a spacing of W2 = 3×(W1+Wg), which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Park and Moon along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to apply such a spacing arrangement of via holes as to supply a single via hole per pixel, as would be required to turn a pixel on or off by a signal line. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Park’s device with a via structure as disclosed by Moon, with a spacing arrangement as disclosed by Zhang.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Moon, further in view of Wang et al.(CN 115411055 A, hereafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 14,
Neither Park nor Moon teach or disclose an aperture D of the via hole satisfies (1/5)W0≤D≤(4/5)W0 and W0 represents a line width of the signal line.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a diameter of a via hole being less than 7 µm, with a corresponding signal line(Fig. 4 [52]) being greater than or equal to 8 µm(See Paragraph 35 of the specification), which provides a ratio of D≤(7/8)W0, which has significant overlap with the claimed limitation.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Park and Moon along the lines of Wang. One might have been motivated to apply such a dimensional arrangement between a via structure and a signal line due to the fact that neither Park nor Moon provide specific dimensions as to the via structure and the signal line, and one looking to produce Park’s or Moon’s device would require guidance on the required sizes of respective components. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Park’s device with Moon’s via structure, with dimensions provided by Wang.
Above: Fig. 4B of Park with concave structure denoted by examiner.
Above: Fig. 4A of Park with the quadrilateral, first, second, third light-emitting unit, and the prospective via hole location denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu(US 20200259050 A1) discloses a display device. Yamazaki(US 20240347522 A1) discloses a display device with an open film layer. Cho et al.(US 20240014350 A1) discloses a display device with an open film layer and a common electrode.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897