DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 June 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to the embodiment of Figure 4B of the originally filed disclosure and originally filed Claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 02 June 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (hereinafter “Bae” US 2022 / 0045137) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter “Tian” US 2023 / 0075199).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Bae discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, and Fig. 7) a display device (1; see Page 4, Para. [0058] and [0060]) comprising:
a base layer (see (100) in Fig. 7) including a plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) and a boundary region (i.e., a groove (GR); see Fig. 7 corresponding to the spaces between (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) adjacent to the plurality of element regions (again, see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7);
a plurality of inorganic layers (see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7) on the base layer (100) and including an opening (see (GR) in Fig. 7) defined in at least some of the inorganic layers (111, 112, 113), the opening (GR) corresponding to the boundary region (again, see (GR) in Fig. 7 corresponding to the spaces between (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5; see Page 6, Para. [0095]-[0100]);
an organic layer (see (115) in Fig. 7) inside the opening (GR) and on the plurality of inorganic layers (111, 112, 113);
a pixel driving circuit (see (PC) in Fig. 7) between the base layer (100) and the organic layer (115) and in each of the plurality of element regions (again, see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7); and
a light emitting element (see (OLED) in Fig. 7) on the organic layer (115) and electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit (PC), wherein
the at least some of the inorganic layers (111, 112, 113) include an inorganic stacked structure (see Fig. 7) defined by the opening (GR) and in each of the plurality of element regions (again, see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7),
the opening (GR) surrounds the inorganic stacked structure (see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7; and see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) in a plan view,
the inorganic stacked structure (again, see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7; and see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) has a substantially polygonal shape (i.e., a rectangular shape; see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) in a plan view and includes a vertex region (see the corner regions of (A1, A2, A3)), and
the vertex region (see the corner regions of (A1, A2, A3)) having an outwardly convex shape (see Fig. 5) in a plan view (see Page 7, Para. [0109]-[0110] and [0112]-[0113]; Page 8, Para. [0116]-[0119], [0121], and [0125]-[0128]; and Page 9, Para. [0136]).
While Bae discloses that the inorganic stacked structure includes a vertex region (i.e., see the corner regions of (A1, A2, A3)) having an outwardly convex shape, Bae does not explicitly disclose that the vertex region has an outwardly convex curve shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tian discloses (see Fig. 2a and Fig. 3a) a display device comprising a base layer (10) including a plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3) and a boundary region (i.e., see a boundary of (100)) adjacent to the plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3), and a plurality of inorganic layers (i.e., see (11, 13, 15, 17)) on the base layer (10) and including an opening (300) corresponding to the boundary region (i.e., see the boundary of (100)), wherein the inorganic layers (11, 13, 15, 17) include an inorganic stacked structure defined by the opening (300) and in each of the plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3), the opening (300) surrounds the inorganic stacked structure in a plan view (see Fig. 2a), the inorganic stacked structure has a substantially polygonal shape in a plan view and includes a vertex region (i.e., a corner region; again, see Fig. 2a) having an outwardly convex curve shape in a plan view (see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0041] and [0043]-[0046]). It is a goal of Tian to provide a display device that exhibits improved stretchability and/or flexibility and maintains the ability to resist stretch damage by including at least an inorganic stacked structure that has a substantially polygonal shape and includes a vertex region having an outwardly convex curve shape (see Fig. 2a and Page 3, Para. [0041] and Page 4, Para. [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Tian, such that the inorganic stacked structure that has a substantially polygonal shape and includes a vertex region having an outwardly convex curve shape in order to provide a display device that exhibits improved stretchability and/or flexibility and maintains the ability to resist stretch damage, as suggested by Tian.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Bae discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7) that the inorganic stacked structure (again, see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7; and see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) has a substantially square shape (i.e., a rectangular shape) in a plan view (see Fig. 5).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Bae discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7) that each of the plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) comprises a first pixel region (i.e., see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and a second pixel region (i.e., see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5), and
the pixel driving circuit (PC) includes a first pixel driving circuit (i.e., a first (PC) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) and a second pixel driving circuit (i.e., a second (PC) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) being in the first pixel region (again, see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and the second pixel region (again, see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5), respectively, and the light emitting element (OLED) includes a first light emitting element (i.e., a first (OLED) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) and a second light emitting element (i.e., a second (PC) associated with any other of (R), (G), or (B)) electrically connected to the first pixel driving circuit (i.e., the first (PC) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) and the second pixel driving circuit (i.e., the second (PC) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)), respectively (again, see Page 6, Para. [0095]-[0100] and Page 7, Para. [0109]-[0110]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Bae discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7) that the plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) comprises a first-type element region (i.e., see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and a second-type element region (i.e., see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5),
the first light emitting element (i.e., the first (OLED) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) corresponding to the first-type element region (again, see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and the first light emitting element (i.e., a first (OLED) associated with any of (R), (G), or (B)) corresponding to the second-type element region (see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) generate light of different colors (i.e., any of red, green, and blue), and
the second light emitting element (i.e., the second (OLED) associated with any other of (R), (G), or (B)) corresponding to the first-type element region (again, see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and the second light emitting element (i.e., the second (OLED) associated with any other of (R), (G), or (B)) corresponding to the second-type element region (again, see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) generate light of a same color (i.e., any of red, green, and blue; see Page 6, Para. [0093]-[0094]; and Page 7, Para. [0102] and [0109]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Bae discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7) that the plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) define a plurality or rows (see Fig. 4), and
the first-type element region (i.e., see any of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) and the second-type element region (i.e., see any other of (R), (G), or (B) associated with any of (211), (212), or (213) in Fig. 5) alternate each other in each of the plurality of rows (again, see Fig. 4 and Page 7, Para. [0103]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Bae discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7) that the light emitting element (OLED) overlaps the opening (GR) in a plan view (see Page 6, Para. [0100]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Bae discloses (see Fig. 7) that the pixel driving circuit (PC) comprises a transistor (TFT) electrically connected to the light emitting element (OLED), and
the transistor (TFT) does not overlap the opening (GR) in a plan view (again, see Fig. 7; and see Page 5, Para. [0074] and [0078]; and Page 8, Para. [0116]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Bae discloses (see Fig. 7) a data line (DL) electrically connected to the transistor (TFT), wherein the data line (DL) overlaps (i.e., is disposed above) the opening (GR; see Page 5, Para. [0074] and [0079]; and Page 8, Para. [0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Bae discloses (see Fig. 7) that the data line (DL) is on the organic layer (115; see Page 5, Para. [0074] and [0079]; and Page 8, Para. [0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Bae discloses (see Fig. 7) that
the transistor (TFT) comprises a silicon transistor including a silicon semiconductor pattern and an oxide transistor including an oxide semiconductor pattern (see Page 8, Para. [0117]-[0121]), and
the silicon semiconductor pattern and the oxide semiconductor pattern are on different ones of the plurality of inorganic layers (see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7; again, see Page 8, Para. [0117]-[0121]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Bae discloses (see Fig. 2) a thin film encapsulation layer (300) covering the light emitting element (OLED; see (200) in Fig. 2);
an input sensor (400) on the thin film encapsulation layer (300); and
a color filter (500) on the input sensor (400) and overlapping the light emitting element (OLED, 200) in a plan view (see Page 4, Para. [0065]-[0067] and [0070]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Bae discloses (see Fig. 2) that the display device is capable of being folded or rolled on a roller (see Page 4, Para. [0060]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Bae discloses (see Fig. 2) that each of the plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) is completely surrounded by the boundary region (GR) in a plan view (see Fig. 4; and Page 6, Para. [0097]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Bae discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, and Fig. 7) a display device (1; see Page 4, Para. [0058] and [0060]) comprising:
a base layer (see (100) in Fig. 7) including a plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) and a boundary region (i.e., a groove (GR); see Fig. 7 corresponding to the spaces between (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) adjacent to the plurality of element regions (again, see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7);
a plurality of inorganic layers (see (111, 112, 113) in Fig. 7) on the base layer (100) and including an opening (see (GR) in Fig. 7) defined in at least some of the inorganic layers (111, 112, 113), the opening (GR) corresponding to the boundary region (again, see (GR) in Fig. 7 corresponding to the spaces between (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5), wherein the opening (GR) surrounds at least a first element region (i.e., see any of (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to any of (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) among the plurality of element regions (see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) in a plan view (see Page 6, Para. [0095]-[0100]);
an organic layer (see (115) in Fig. 7) inside the opening (GR), on the plurality of inorganic layers (111, 112, 113), and overlapping the first element region (i.e., see any of (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to any of (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) in plan view;
a transistor (see (TFT) in Fig. 7) between the base layer (100) and the organic layer (115) and in the first element region (i.e., see any of (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to any of (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7); and
a light emitting element (see (OLED) in Fig. 7) on the organic layer (115) and electrically connected to the transistor (TFT), wherein
wherein an inner surface of the at least some of the inorganic layers (111, 112, 113) defining the opening (GR) surrounding the first element region (i.e., see any of (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5 corresponding to any of (P1, P2, P3) in Fig. 7) has a substantially polygonal shape (i.e., a rectangular shape; see (A1, A2, A3) in Fig. 5) in a plan view, the polygonal shape including vertex regions (see the corner regions of (A1, A2, A3)) each having an outwardly convex shape (see Fig. 5) in a plan view (see Page 7, Para. [0109]-[0110] and [0112]-[0113]; Page 8, Para. [0116]-[0119], [0121], and [0125]-[0128]; and Page 9, Para. [0136]).
While Bae discloses that the inorganic stacked structure includes a vertex region (i.e., see the corner regions of (A1, A2, A3)) having an outwardly convex shape, Bae does not explicitly disclose that the vertex region has an outwardly convex curve shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tian discloses (see Fig. 2a and Fig. 3a) a display device comprising a base layer (10) including a plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3) and a boundary region (i.e., see a boundary of (100)) adjacent to the plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3), and a plurality of inorganic layers (i.e., see (11, 13, 15, 17)) on the base layer (10) and including an opening (300) corresponding to the boundary region (i.e., see the boundary of (100)), wherein the inorganic layers (11, 13, 15, 17) include an inorganic stacked structure defined by the opening (300) and in each of the plurality of element regions (P1, P2, P3), the opening (300) surrounds the inorganic stacked structure in a plan view (see Fig. 2a), the inorganic stacked structure has a substantially polygonal shape in a plan view and includes a vertex region (i.e., a corner region; again, see Fig. 2a) having an outwardly convex curve shape in a plan view (see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0041] and [0043]-[0046]). It is a goal of Tian to provide a display device that exhibits improved stretchability and/or flexibility and maintains the ability to resist stretch damage by including at least an inorganic stacked structure that has a substantially polygonal shape and includes a vertex region having an outwardly convex curve shape (see Fig. 2a and Page 3, Para. [0041] and Page 4, Para. [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with the teachings of Tian, such that the inorganic stacked structure that has a substantially polygonal shape and includes a vertex region having an outwardly convex curve shape in order to provide a display device that exhibits improved stretchability and/or flexibility and maintains the ability to resist stretch damage, as suggested by Tian.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Bae, teach or fairly suggest an “inorganic stacked structure” that “has a substantially polygonal shape in a plan view and includes a vertex region… having an outwardly convex curve shape in a plan view.” It should be noted, as discussed during the Applicant-Initiated Interview of 08 October 2025, that the newly recited term “vertex region,” as opposed to the arbitrarily defined “corner region” previously recited in the claims, is intended to specifically reference the vertex of the claimed “inorganic stacked structure” in a plan view. That is, rather than referencing an arbitrary “region” of the claimed “inorganic stacked structure” near a corner of the “inorganic stacked structure,” the newly claimed “vertex region” is interpreted as specifically corresponding to the point where lines or edges meet to form a corner. In this regard, the newly claimed “vertex region having an outwardly convex curve shape in a plan view” requires an outwardly convex and curved vertex. In this regard, respectfully, the applicant’s argument is moot in so much as the combined teachings of Bae and Tian, as newly relied upon in the above rejections, clearly disclose the features of pending Claims 1-14.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-14 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2024 / 0188351) and Park et al. (US 2023 / 0049290) both disclose display devices having openings formed in inorganic stacked layers to form boundaries of element regions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623