BATTERY UNIT, BATTERY MODULE, AND VEHICLE
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/1/2024 and 10/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “adhesive layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "111" and "11" have both been used to designate first electrode tab or first connecting piece and “121” and 12 have both been used to designate second electrode tab or second connecting piece. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the other long axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the positive lead-out sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the insulation side plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the short axes” and “the positive lead-out sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Further, claim 7 discloses the electrode terminal cover plate being separately physically and electrically connected to the housing and the positive lead-out sheet. “Separately physically and electrically connected” implies that it is and is not connected to the housing.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the electrode terminal” and “the positive lead-out sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitations "the long axis” and “the positive lead-out sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the negative lead-out sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitations "the long axis” and “the short axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the long axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "the long axis” and “the short axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitations "the long axis” and “the short axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 214898606 U) and further in view of Lu et al. (EP 3742524 A1 using US 2021/0050581 A1 as an English language translation.).
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 18, Chen et al. teach a battery unit comprising a battery module (Abstract), comprising:
a housing, a chamber being defined in the housing (Fig. 1, element 100 discloses a housing which is clearly hollow defining a chamber.);
an electrode core, the electrode core being arranged in the chamber (Figs. 1 and 5, element 500 discloses a cell.), the electrode core comprising a first electrode tab and a second and electrode tab (Fig. 3, elements 510, 520, 530, and 530 disclose a first, second, third, and fourth tabs, respectively.), one of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab being a positive electrode tab (Paragraph 0038 discloses elements 510 and 520 are positive tabs.), the other one of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab being a negative electrode tab (Paragraph 0038 discloses elements 530 and 540 are negative tabs.), and each of an end of the first electrode tab and/or an end of the second electrode tab away from the electrode core comprising a plurality of connection pieces spaced apart (Fig. 3 shows the tabs, elements 510-540 are comprised of connection pieces.);
a first electrode terminal, the first electrode terminal being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (Fig. 1; paragraph 0036 discloses a first terminal post, element 211, connected to the positive tabs, elements 510 and 520.) ; and
a second electrode terminal, the second electrode terminal being electrically connected to the second electrode tab (Fig. 1; paragraph 0036 discloses second terminal post, element 221, connected to the negative tabs, elements 530 and 540.).
However, Chen et al. do not teach the positive electrode tab being physically and electrically connected to the housing.
Lu et al. teach a battery pack for an electric vehicle (Abstract). Further, the battery pack a housing having a sealed chamber (Fig. 1, element 10), a core packaged in the sealed chamber (Fig. 1, element 11), and a first terminal (Fig. 1, element 12a) and a second terminal respectively mounted to the housing (Fig. 1, element 12b). The first terminal may be a positive terminal (Paragraph 0037) which is connected to the housing (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen with Lu in order to reduce risk of corrosion and improve safety and service life.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach wherein the electrode core has a long axis and a short axis, the first electrode tab is arranged along the long axis or the short axis, and the second electrode tab is arranged along the long axis or the short axis; wherein a size of the long axis is greater than a size of the short axis (See annotated Fig. 2 below which shows elements 510/520 and 530/540 on the short axis.).
Fig. 2 of Chen
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach further comprising: a positive lead-out sheet, the positive lead-out sheet being separately physically and electrically connected to the positive electrode tab and the positive electrode terminal (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0039 discloses the first and second tab, elements 510 and 520, are electrically connected to the first terminal post, element 211, through a first connector, element 300.); and further comprising: a negative lead-out sheet, the negative lead-out sheet being separately physically and electrically connected to the negative electrode tab and the negative electrode terminal (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0039 discloses the third and fourth tab, elements 530 and 540, are electrically connected to the second terminal post, element 221, through a first connector, element 400.).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach further comprising: an electrode terminal cover plate, the electrode terminal cover plate being arranged along one of the short axes (Fig. 5 discloses a top cover, element 210, of the housing. Clearly located on the short axes.), the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal being arranged on the electrode terminal cover plate (Fig. 5, element 211 shows the positive or first terminal pole.), and the electrode terminal cover plate being separately physically and electrically connected to the housing and the positive lead-out sheet (Fig. 2 shows the top cover, element 210, connected to the housing and the positive lead-out sheet, element 300.).
Further, Lu discloses cover plate can be comprised of aluminum being that the entire housing is made of aluminum (Paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen with Lu in order to reduce risk of corrosion and improve safety and service life.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach wherein the positive lead-out sheet extends in a direction of the long axis (Fig. 2, element 300 shows in the same direction as the long axis.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. further comprising: an explosion-proof valve cover plate, the explosion-proof valve cover plate being arranged along the short axis, and the explosion-proof valve cover plate and the electrode terminal cover plate being located on two sides of the long axis (Fig. 2; paragraph 0047 discloses the top cover, element 210, is provided with an explosion-proof hole.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 214898606 U) and Lu et al. (EP 3742524 A1 using US 2021/0050581 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 2020-0091687 A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach wherein the electrode core has two long axes opposite to each other and two short axes opposite to each other (See annotated Fig. 2 in paragraph 33 above.). However, they do not teach the first electrode tab is arranged along one of the long axes, the second electrode tab is arranged along the other long axis, one of the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal is a positive electrode terminal, the other one of the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal is a negative electrode terminal, and both the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are arranged along one of the short axes.
Lee et al. teach a secondary battery (Abstract). Further, the electrode core has two long axes opposite to each other and two short axes opposite to each other (Fig. 1 discloses the electrode assembly, element 10, is a rectangular shape.), wherein the first electrode tab is arranged along one of the long axes (Fig. 1, element 111 discloses one tab on the long axis.), the second electrode tab is arranged along the other long axis (Fig. 1, element 122 discloses one tab on the opposite size of element 111.) , one of the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal is a positive electrode terminal (Paragraph 0038 discloses element 121 is a positive terminal.) the other one of the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal is a negative electrode terminal (Paragraph 0038 discloses element 122 is a negative terminal.), and both the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are arranged along one of the short axes (Fig. 1 discloses both can be on the short and long axes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen and Lu with Lee so that the current and resistance inside the electrode assembly becomes uniform and thus the variation in capacitance and the variation in degradation rate can be reduced.
Claims 5, 6, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 214898606 U) and Lu et al. (EP 3742524 A1 using US 2021/0050581 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0044275 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach wherein the positive electrode tab is a bent member having a first opening groove (Fig. 3 discloses each of the tabs, elements 510-540, have a bent member, elements 511-541.). However, they do not teach the battery unit further comprises:
a first insulation side plate, the first insulation side plate being arranged in the first opening groove, so that at least a part of the positive electrode tab is located between the first insulation side plate and the positive lead-out sheet.
Kim et al. teach a battery (Fig. 1C, element 100) wherein the positive electrode tab is bent (Paragraphs 0056, 0072; Fig. 1C, elements 161,162 disclose bent positive multi-tabs.). Further comprising a first insulation side plate (Fig. 1C, element 180), the first insulation side plate being arranged in the first opening groove (Paragraph 0069; Fig. 1C discloses the insulation plate, element 180, arranged in the corner of the bent tab, elements 161/162.), so that at least a part of the positive electrode tab is located between the first insulation side plate and the positive lead-out sheet (Fig. 1C, element 145); wherein the first insulation side plate is connected to the electrode core through an adhesive layer (Paragraph 0113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen and Lu with Kim in order to prevent short-circuiting.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. Further, Chen et al. teach wherein the negative electrode tab is a bent member having a second opening groove (Fig. 3 discloses each of the tabs, elements 510-540, have a bent member, elements 511-541.). However, they do not teach the battery unit further comprises: a second insulation side plate, the second insulation side plate being arranged in the second opening groove, so that at least a part of the negative electrode tab is located between the second insulation side plate and the negative lead-out sheet; and a third insulation side plate, the third insulation side plate being arranged along one of the short axes and being located between the negative lead-out sheet and the electrode core, so that the negative lead-out sheet is insulated from the electrode core.
Lu et al. teach a third insulation side plate (Fig. 3, element 103 discloses an insulating sealing cover.), the third insulation side plate being arranged along one of the short axes (Fig. 3 shows element 103 being on the short axis of the rectangular shaped battery.) and being located between the negative lead-out sheet (Fig. 3, element 12b) and the electrode core (Fig. 3, element 11.), so that the negative lead-out sheet is insulated from the electrode core (Paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen with Lu in order to reduce risk of corrosion and improve safety and service life.
Kim et al. teach a battery (Fig. 1C, element 100) wherein the negative electrode tab is bent (Paragraphs 0056, 0072; Fig. 1C, elements 171,172 disclose bent positive multi-tabs.). Further comprising a first insulation side plate (Fig. 1C, element 180), the first insulation side plate being arranged in the first opening groove (Paragraph 0069; Fig. 1C discloses the insulation plate, element 180, arranged in the corner of the bent tab, elements 171/172.), so that at least a part of the negative electrode tab is located between the first insulation side plate and the negative lead-out sheet (Fig. 1C, element 155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen and Lu with Kim in order to prevent short-circuiting.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the combination of Chen and Lu et al. teach the battery unit according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the plurality of connection pieces are spaced apart in the extension direction of the long axis or that they are connected in series.
Kim et al. teach the connection pieces are spaced apart in the extension direction of the long axis (See elements 161, 161, 171, and 172 in Fig. 1C). Further, they are connected in series (Paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen and Lu with Kim in order to prevent short-circuiting.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/639,314 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of these two sets of claims contain the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claim 12 is not disclosed in the prior art. Further modification with the present disclosed prior art would teach away from the purpose of their inventions.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 July 23rd, 2026