DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8, 12, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,955. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Subcombination and Species I of figures 1 and 4, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 12/2/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2013/0049836).
Regarding claim 1, fig. 4 of Yang discloses an edge-triggered flip-flop comprising: a first latch [206] including a first transistor [PMOS with drain at M] having a gate connected to an input data node of the first latch; and a second latch [210] including a second transistor [PMOS with drain at S] having a gate connected to the first transistor and an output data node of the second latch connected to the second transistor.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 4 of Yang discloses the input data node of the first latch driven from a circuit outside of the first latch [e.g. 204].
Regarding claim 3, fig. 4 of Yang discloses one and only one data input [MN] coupled to the input data node of the first latch; one and only one data output [S] coupled to the output data node of the second latch; and one and only one clock input [e.g. CPN] connected to one or more clock nodes of the first latch and one or more clock nodes of the second latch.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 4 of Yang discloses a first clocked feedback path in the first latch [e.g. 216]; and a second clocked feedback path in the second latch [e.g. 212].
Regarding claim 5, fig. 4 of Yang discloses a clock input node and an output data node of the first latch; and a clock input node and an input data node of the second latch; wherein the output data node of the first latch, the input data node of the second latch, the first transistor, and the gate of the second transistor are all connected.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 4 of Yang discloses wherein the clock input node of the first latch and the clock input node of the second latch are configured to receive clock signals having matching polarities.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 4 of Yang discloses the first latch and the second latch both respectively further comprising: two serially connected p-channel transistors [top PMOS in 206 and 210 that feedback to control the respective output data node] to couple their respective output data node to a VDD supply line; and two serially connected n-channel transistors [bottom NMOS in 206 and 210 that feedback to control the respective output data node] to couple their respective output data node to a Vss supply line.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 4 of Yang discloses a first buffer [204] and a second buffer [406]; a single data input connected to an input of the first buffer with an output of the first buffer connected to the input data node of the first latch; and a single data output connected to an output of the second buffer with an input of the second buffer connected to the output data node of the second latch.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 4 of Yang discloses wherein both the first buffer and the second buffer are inverting buffers.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 4 of Yang discloses consisting of no more than 20 transistors, with the first latch and the second latch each respectively consisting of no more than 10 transistors.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 6,369,629).
Regarding claim 1, fig. 2 of Sato discloses an edge-triggered flip-flop comprising: a first latch [on the left of fig. 2] including a first transistor [12] having a gate connected to an input data node of the first latch; and a second latch [on the right of fig. 2] including a second transistor [16] having a gate connected to the first transistor (through NAND 10) and an output data node of the second latch connected to the second transistor.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 2 of Sato discloses the input data node of the first latch driven from a circuit outside of the first latch.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 2 of Sato discloses one and only one data input [D] coupled to the input data node of the first latch; one and only one data output [Q] coupled to the output data node of the second latch; and one and only one clock input [CK] connected to one or more clock nodes of the first latch and one or more clock nodes of the second latch.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2 of Sato discloses a first clocked feedback path in the first latch [21-23]; and a second clocked feedback path in the second latch [20, 26, 27].
Regarding claim 5, fig. 2 of Sato discloses a clock input node and an output data node of the first latch; and a clock input node and an input data node of the second latch; wherein the output data node of the first latch, the input data node of the second latch, the first transistor, and the gate of the second transistor are all connected.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 2 of Sato discloses wherein the clock input node of the first latch and the clock input node of the second latch are configured to receive clock signals having matching polarities.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 2 of Sato discloses consisting of no more than 20 transistors, with the first latch and the second latch each respectively consisting of no more than 10 transistors (col. 8, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 11, fig. 2 of Sato discloses consisting of no more than 19 transistors (col. 8, lines 25-27), wherein a clocked pull-up current path in the first latch and clocked pull-up current path in the second latch share a p-channel transistor having a gate connected to a clock input of the edge- triggered flip-flop (col. 8, lines 20-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sato.
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the device as indicated above. Yang further discloses where the flip-flop consists of no more than 19 transistors. Yang does not disclose wherein a clocked pull-up current path in the first latch and clocked pull-up current path in the second latch share a p-channel transistor having a gate connected to a clock input of the edge- triggered flip-flop. However, fig. 2 of Sato describes where a master and a slave latch share a clocked pull-up transistor 11 (col. 8, lines 20-23). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention as indicated above by incorporating the shared pull-up transistor as taught in Sato for the purpose of utilizing a suitable and well-known type of flip-flop design to save space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang describes a master and slave latch. Rao describes a fault resilient flip-flop with balanced topology.
/SIBIN CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896