DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2019/0056626).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (Figs. 1-7), comprising:
disposing a first insulating layer (15) comprising a contact hole (17) on a substrate (10), the contact hole extending entirely through the first insulating layer (Figs. 5-7);
disposing a conductive material (16) on the first insulating layer (15) and inside the contact hole (17) to completely fill the contact hole (Figs. 5-7);
disposing a second insulating layer (19) on the conductive material (16) and inside the contact hole (17) (Fig. 5);
forming a masking pattern (18) by exposing and developing the second insulating layer (19) (Figs. 5-6);
etching the conductive material (16) to form a conductive pattern (Fig. 6; paras. [0056-0057]);
etching back the masking pattern (18) such that the masking pattern remains in the contact hole (17), wherein the conductive pattern (16) is interposed between the masking pattern (18) and the first insulating layer (15) while the masking pattern does not contact the first insulating layer after etching back the masking pattern (Figs. 6-7); and
disposing a third insulating layer (paras. [0078-0080, 0092]; “alignment film”) on the conductive pattern (16) and the masking pattern (18).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses wherein after the etching back, the conductive pattern (16) is at least partially exposed (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses wherein the first insulating layer (15) includes a first region (e.g., region surrounding connecting portion 17) that overlaps the conductive pattern (16) and a second region (e.g., rightmost region in Figs. 5-7) that does not overlap the conductive pattern (16), and
a thickness of the first region of the first insulating layer (15) is greater than a thickness of the second region of the first insulating layer (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses wherein the forming of the masking pattern (18) by exposing and developing the second insulating layer (19) is performed using a half-tone mask (20-22) (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses wherein the masking pattern (18) includes a first masking pattern part (18) having a first thickness and a second masking pattern part (19) having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses wherein the second masking pattern part (19) is removed by the etching back (Figs. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2019/0056626), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LG Display Co Ltd (KR 2016-0002596), of record.
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer include a siloxane polymer.
However, LG Display Co Ltd discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (Figs. 1-2), wherein an insulating layer includes a siloxane polymer (paras. [0046, 0050, 0053-0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer include a siloxane polymer, as in LG Display Co Ltd, into the method of Lu, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, filed December 2, 2025), with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Sim et al. (US 2017/0141169), and in accordance with the amendments, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been overcome and is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lu as discussed above. Therefore, the new ground of rejection over Lu is considered appropriate in accordance with the amendments to the claim.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871