DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species 1 in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant indicates claims 14 and 15 are included in species 1, however, claim 14 includes the limitation “wherein the through material comprises a semiconductor material sandwiched by dielectric materials, thereby forming the coaxial via as a through silicon via (TSV)”, and claim 15 includes the limitation “recessing a height of the coaxial via on the second end”, which are only drawn to Species 3 and 4. Therefore, claims 14-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "first conductive" should read "first conductive via". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10, and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sinha et al. (US Publication 20190159333).
Regarding independent claim 8, Sinha teaches a method comprising:
forming a coaxial via (fig. 1A, 120) comprising an outer conductor (123) surrounding an inner conductor (121 and 122), the outer conductor being separated from the inner conductor by a dielectric material (105 inside 123), the coaxial via being formed through a through material (105 outside 123) so as to have a first end (bottom of 105) opposite a second end (top of 105);
forming a first contact (107c) connected to the outer conductor at the first end; and
forming a second contact (106c) connected to the outer conductor at the second end.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Sinha teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the first contact extends laterally from the outer conductor (fig. 1A, 107c extends laterally from 123).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Sinha teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the second contact extends laterally from the outer conductor (fig. 1A, 106c extends laterally from 123).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Sinha teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the through material comprises at least one dielectric material, thereby forming the coaxial via as a through insulator via (TIV) (paragraph 0017, epoxy resin is a dielectric material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Sinha teaches the method of claim 8.
Sinha does not explicitly teach wherein the first contact connects to a first conductive at the first end, however, fig. 1A of Sinha discloses first conductive vias 137a and 137b connected to first contacts 107a and 107b connected to the inner conductor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the first conductive via of Sinha to the first contact connected to the outer conductor in order to couple signal trances (Sinha paragraph 0024), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Sinha teaches the method of claim 8.
Sinha does not explicitly teach wherein a second contact connects to a second conductive via at the second end, however, fig. 1A of Sinha discloses second conductive vias 136a and 136b connected to first contacts 106a and 106b connected to the inner conductor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the first conductive via of Sinha to the first contact connected to the outer conductor in order to couple signal trances (Sinha paragraph 0024), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897