Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 6-7, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no description about “a cross-sectional dimension parallel to a plane of the mounting face that is larger than a corresponding cross-section dimension of the fastening devices” for claims 1, 11. Para [0079] describes he first orifices 50 have an oblong shape with a length L ft, larger than the diameter of the body 600 of the rivets 60 (or body of the screws) has been interpreted for the claim limitations for examination purpose.
Similar issues for claims 6-7, 16-17.
Claims 2-10, 12-20 are also rejected being dependent on rejected claims 1, 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Labanok et al (US 2004/0190259 A1) in view of Refai et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0092619 A1) and further in view of Sun et al. (CN 101605446 A)
Regarding claims 1, 11: Labanok teaches in Fig. 4A about an integrated circuit package, comprising:
a support substrate 414; and
a heat sink 422 + 424+426 including a lateral wall 424/426 fastened on a mounting face (upper surface of 414) of the support substrate by fastening devices 442;
wherein the fastening devices are accommodated in compartments (where 442 passing area) of the lateral wall and cross the support substrate through first orifices (as marked); and
wherein the fastening devices and the first orifices are configured to enable fastening of the lateral wall on the mounting face (as shown), and
wherein the first orifices have a cross-sectional dimension parallel to a plane of the mounting face that is larger than a corresponding cross-section dimension of the fastening devices so as to allow a relative movement of the fastening devices parallel to the plane of the mounting face relative to the first orifices.
Labanok does not explicitly show compartments of the lateral wall.
Refai shows in Fig. 1A compartments of the lateral wall.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching Refai in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby to have a chip package having a lid that includes improved features for temperature control (Refai, [0004-[0005])
The recitation of “so as to allow a relative movement of the fastening devices parallel to the plane of the mounting face relative to the first orifices” does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Labanok in view of Refai who teaches the structure as claimed.
The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114.
Labanok in view of Refai still does not talk about wherein the first orifices have a cross-sectional dimension parallel to a plane of the mounting face that is larger than a corresponding cross-section dimension of the fastening devices.
Sun teaches in Fig. 2-3 about wherein the first orifices 2420 have a cross-sectional dimension parallel to a plane of the mounting face that is larger than a corresponding cross-section dimension of the fastening devices 266.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching Sun in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby to the fastener of the heat dissipation device can according to fixing hole positions around the electronic element on the circuit board to adjust the fastener to make the radiating device suitable for mounting on circuit boards of different specifications (Sun, last page)
have a chip package having a lid that includes improved features for temperature control (Refai, [0004-[0005])
Regarding claims 2, 12: Labanok teaches in Fig. 4A as marked above wherein the support substrate includes a lower face opposite to the mounting face and wherein the fastening devices comprise rivets, each rivet comprising a first end accommodated in a corresponding compartment and a second end under the lower face of the support substrate, wherein a distance between the first end and the second end is equal to a thickness of the support substrate increased by a clearance enabling both holding of the lateral wall fastened to the mounting face of the support substrate and movement of each rivet in the first orifices.
Labanok does not explicitly show wherein a distance between the first end and the second end is equal to a thickness of the support substrate increased by a clearance enabling both holding of the lateral wall fastened to the mounting face of the support substrate and movement of each rivet in the first orifice.
Refai teaches in Fig. 1A as marked above, wherein a distance between the first end and the second end is equal to a thickness of the support substrate increased by a clearance enabling both holding of the lateral wall fastened to the mounting face of the support substrate and movement of each rivet in the first orifice.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching Refai in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby to have a chip package having a lid that includes improved features for temperature control (Refai, [0004-[0005]).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 13, 15: Labanok in view of Refai does not explicitly talk about wherein a value of the clearance is comprised between 10 and 20 µm.
However Refai teaches in [0055] about a spring 624 or other resilient object may be disposed between the fastener 622 and the printed circuit board 136 to provide force that the heat sink 600 exerts on the lid 150. Advantageously, the force provided by the heat sink 600 allows the lid 150 to maintain good thermal contact with the dies 114, while remaining floating on the stiffener 154.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a appropriate size spring or other resilient objects to have the allowance as claimed with routine experiment and optimization since force can vary depending on the temperature according to the teaching of Refai ([0005]). In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Regarding claims 4, 14: Labanok teaches wherein the support substrate includes a lower face opposite to the mounting face and wherein the compartments are threaded and the fastening devices comprise screws configured to be screwed into the threaded compartments [0037] while leaving a clearance between the screw heads and the lower face of the support substrate.
Labanok does not explicitly show while leaving a clearance between the screw heads and the lower face of the support substrate.
Refai teaches in Fig. 1A as marked above, wherein leaving a clearance between the screw heads and the lower face of the support substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching Refai in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby to have a chip package having a lid that includes improved features for temperature control (Refai, [0004-[0005]).
Regarding claims 6, 16: Labanok teaches in Fig. 5A and Refai in Fig. Fig. 1A and Sun teaches in Fig. 2-3 wherein the cross- sectional dimension of the first orifices defines an oblong cross-sectional shape for the first orifices parallel to the plane of the mounting face
Claims 7-8, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Labanok et al (US 2004/0190259 A1) in view of Refai et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0092619 A1), Sun et al. (CN 101605446 A) and further in view of Dolbear et al. (US Patent 5,926,371)
Regarding claims 7, 17: Labanok in view of Refai does not explicitly talk about wherein an axis of the oblong cross-sectional shape parallel to the plane of the mounting face forms a 45° angle with respect to the direction of the two edges of the lateral wall adjacent to this first orifice.
Dolber teaches in Fig. 2 as marked wherein an axis of each first orifice with the oblong shape in the plane of the mounting face forms a 45° angle with respect to the direction of the two edges of the lateral wall adjacent to this first orifice.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching of Dolbear in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby Mechanical stress relaxation of the spacers is carried out after fixing the chip (Dolbear, Abstract).
Regarding claims 8, 18: Dolbear teaches in Fig. 2 wherein the lateral wall of the heat sink has an annular shape with a square or rectangular section, and the support substrate includes four first orifices respectively located opposite four corner areas (64a, 64b, 64c, 64d) of the lateral wall.
Claims 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Labanok et al (US 2004/0190259 A1) in view of Refai et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0092619 A1), Sun et al. (CN 101605446 A) and further in view of Refai-Ahmed et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0308783 A1)
Regarding claims 9, 19: Labanok in view of Refai does not explicitly talk about wherein the fastening devices are thermally-conductive.
Refai-Ahmed teaches in [0059 about wherein the fastening devices are thermally-conductive.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to have the feature as claimed according to the teaching of Refai-Ahmed in Labanok’s fastening mechanism and thereby enhances the heat removal process from the package (Refai-Ahmed, [0059])
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Labanok et al (US 2004/0190259 A1) in view of Refai et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0092619 A1), Sun et al. (CN 101605446 A) and further in view of AAPA (Applicant Admitted Prior Art)
Regarding claims 10, 20: Labanok in view of Refai does not explicitly talk about wherein the support substrate has a thermal expansion coefficient comprised between 10×10-6 K-1 and 12×10-6 K-1 and the heat sink has a thermal expansion coefficient comprised between 15×10-6 K-1 and 17×10-6 K-1.
AAPA (applicant’s para [0006]) teaches about the claimed thermal expansion coefficient depending on the materials of the heat sink and the support substrate
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed on 07/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Labanok et al (US 2004/0190259 A1) in view of Refai et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0092619 A1), Sun et al. (CN 101605446 A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897