DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents filed 04/02/2024 and 08/28/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Abstract, line 3: “a first of plurality of squares” should be changed to “a first plurality of squares”. Please remove first “of”.
Par. [0002], line 15: “in diagnosis heart” is changed to “in diagnosing heart”.
Par. [0060], lines 1-2: “an physiological signal” should be changed to “a physiological signal”.
Par. [0065], line 4: “calibration too” should be changed to “calibration tool”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 6: “a first of plurality of squares” should be changed to “a first plurality of squares”. Please remove first “of”.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 9: “a first of plurality of squares” should be changed to “a first plurality of squares”. Please remove first “of”.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: please add colon (“:”) after “processor to”.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 6-7: “a first of plurality of squares” should be changed to “a first plurality of squares”. Please remove first “of”.
Line 12: please remove “independently moving” at beginning of limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The term “march out markers” represent a given duration interval that can be repeated across the electrocardiogram signal (Par. [0051] of Applicant’s specification).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation are:
“[the processor] independently moving either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with an outer edge of a respective square of the first plurality of squares in response to a user input provided via a user input device by a user” in claim 1 (lines 11-14), claim 9 (lines 14-18), and claim 17 (lines 12-15).
“[the processor] independently moving the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input” in claim 2 (lines 1-3), claim 10 (lines 2-4), and claim 18 (lines 2-4).
“[the processor] independently moving the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input” in claim 3 (lines 1-3), claim 11 (lines 2-4), and claim 19 (lines 2-4).
“[the processor] independently moving either the march out markers relative to the grid or the grid relative to the march out markers to align the march out markers with some of the vertical lines of the grid in response to additional user input provided via the user input device by the user prior to independently moving either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal” in claim 6 (lines 4-8), claim 14 (lines 5-9), and claim 20 (lines 5-9).
Because these claim limitation are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The Examiner notes that for a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function (MPEP 2181(II)(B)). Evidence of such an algorithm for covering the corresponding structure, material, or acts are found in these locations of the specification:
Par. [0048] – the user may utilize a touchscreen to independently move (e.g., drag) either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal. The user may utilize a mouse to independently move (e.g., drag) either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal. The user may also utilize a keyboard to independently move (e.g., drag) or voice commands (e.g., via a microphone) to independently move (e.g., drag).
Par. [0048]
Par. [0048]
Fig. 6, # 98; Par. [0052] – touchscreen, mouse, keyboard, voice commands (e.g., via a microphone)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Criley, et al. (“Virtual tools for teaching electrocardiographic rhythm analysis”; 2005).
Regarding claim 1, Criley teaches (Figs. 2-6) a computer-implemented method for reading intervals of an electrocardiogram signal (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – developing a proprietary computer program, ECGViewer, to display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs), comprising:
(Figs. 2-6) receiving, at a processor, an electrocardiogram signal obtained of a subject (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs. The program has modest system requirements, including a 300-MHz processor);
(Fig. 2, Fig. 5) displaying, via the processor, the electrocardiogram signal over a grid on a display of a computing device (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4); Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – A standard grid is replaced on the ECGViewer display as shown in Fig. 2. In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of waveforms), wherein (Fig. 2, Fig. 3 – The field of width of the ECG display is 5 seconds) the grid comprises both vertical lines and horizontal lines that define a first of plurality of squares and a second plurality of smaller squares within each square of the first plurality of squares, wherein both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of smaller squares represent an interval of time in a horizontal direction, and both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of squares represent a voltage or electrical potential level in a vertical direction (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured); and
(Fig. 3) independently moving, via the processor, either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with an outer edge of a respective square of the first plurality of squares in response to a user input provided via a user input device by a user (Page 116, Col. 2 (lines 14-21) – Manipulation of the virtual tools is performed with a mouse (i.e., user input); Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured; Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 1 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 2, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising independently moving, via the processor, the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 2 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 3, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising independently moving, via the processor, the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 3 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 4, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein (Figs. 2-3) independent movement of either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal is in the vertical direction and the outer edge comprises a respective horizontal line of the horizontal lines (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – The magnifying glass (Fig. 3) increases the image size 2-fold (i.e., vertical and horizontal direction) and allows the ECG to be moved relative to the grid. By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude (i.e., movements of the ecg signal in vertical direction for magnitude measurements) can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 4 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 5, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein (Figs. 2-3) independent movement of either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal is in the horizontal direction and the outer edge comprises a respective vertical line of the vertical lines (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – The magnifying glass (Fig. 3) increases the image size 2-fold (i.e., vertical and horizontal direction) and allows the ECG to be moved relative to the grid. By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration (i.e., movements of the ecg signal in horizontal direction for duration measurements) and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 5 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 6, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
(Fig. 4) displaying, via the processor, march out markers over the grid on the display of the computing device (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – virtual calipers, i.e. march out markers); and
(Fig. 4; Fig. 6) independently moving, via the processor, either the march out markers relative to the grid or the grid relative to the march out markers to align the march out markers with some of the vertical lines of the grid in response to additional user input provided via the user input device by the user prior to independently moving either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – The virtual calipers (Fig. 4) are deployed by clicking on the icon in the toolbox, moved by click-and-drag, and spread by placement of the cursor over either strut while click-and-dragging laterally. The intervals represented by the span are displayed in milliseconds).
Therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 8, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the display is on a laptop computer, a tablet, or a monitor coupled to a desktop computer (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – it is designed to match most computer displays connected to the Internet).
Therefore, claim 8 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 9, Criley teaches (Figs. 2-6) a system for reading intervals of an electrocardiogram signal (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – developing a proprietary computer program, ECGViewer, to display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs), comprising:
a memory encoding processor-executable routines (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – 64-MB memory); and
(Figs. 2-6) a processor configured to access the memory and to execute the processor-executable routines (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs. The program has modest system requirements, including a 300-MHz processor), wherein the processor-executable routines, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
(Figs. 2-6) receive an electrocardiogram signal obtained of a subject (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs. The program has modest system requirements, including a 300-MHz processor);
(Fig. 2, Fig. 5) display the electrocardiogram signal over a grid on a display of a computing device (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4); Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – A standard grid is replaced on the ECGViewer display as shown in Fig. 2. In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of waveforms), wherein (Fig. 2, Fig. 3 – The field of width of the ECG display is 5 seconds) the grid comprises both vertical lines and horizontal lines that define a first of plurality of squares and a second plurality of smaller squares within each square of the first plurality of squares, wherein both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of smaller squares represent an interval of time in a horizontal direction, and both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of squares represent a voltage or electrical potential level in a vertical direction (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured); and
(Fig. 3) independently moving independently move either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with an outer edge of a respective square of the first plurality of squares in response to a user input provided via a user input device by a user (Page 116, Col. 2 (lines 14-21) – Manipulation of the virtual tools is performed with a mouse (i.e., user input); Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured; Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 9 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 10, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the processor-executable routines, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently move the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 10 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 11, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the processor-executable routines, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently move the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 11 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 12, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein (Figs. 2-3) independent movement of either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal is in the vertical direction and the outer edge comprises a respective horizontal line of the horizontal lines (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – The magnifying glass (Fig. 3) increases the image size 2-fold (i.e., vertical and horizontal direction) and allows the ECG to be moved relative to the grid. By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude (i.e., movements of the ecg signal in vertical direction for magnitude measurements) can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 12 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 13, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein (Figs. 2-3) independent movement of either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal is in the horizontal direction and the outer edge comprises a respective vertical line of the vertical lines (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – The magnifying glass (Fig. 3) increases the image size 2-fold (i.e., vertical and horizontal direction) and allows the ECG to be moved relative to the grid. By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration (i.e., movements of the ecg signal in horizontal direction for duration measurements) and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 13 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 14, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the processor-executable routines, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to
(Fig. 4) display march out markers over the grid on the display of the computing device (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – virtual calipers, i.e. march out markers); and
(Fig. 4; Fig. 6) independently move either the march out markers relative to the grid or the grid relative to the march out markers to align the march out markers with some of the vertical lines of the grid in response to additional user input provided via the user input device by the user prior to independently moving either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – The virtual calipers (Fig. 4) are deployed by clicking on the icon in the toolbox, moved by click-and-drag, and spread by placement of the cursor over either strut while click-and-dragging laterally. The intervals represented by the span are displayed in milliseconds).
Therefore, claim 14 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 16, Criley teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the display is on a laptop computer, a tablet, or a monitor coupled to a desktop computer (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – it is designed to match most computer displays connected to the Internet).
Therefore, claim 16 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 17, Criley teaches (Figs. 2-6) a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable code that when executed by a processor (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – developing a proprietary computer program, ECGViewer, to display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs. The program… 300-MHz processor…), causes the processor to:
(Figs. 2-6) receive an electrocardiogram signal obtained of a subject (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4) – display and permit analysis of electronically scanned ECGs. The program has modest system requirements, including a 300-MHz processor);
(Fig. 2, Fig. 5) display the electrocardiogram signal over a grid on a display of a computing device (Page 116, Col. 1 (line 6) – Col. 2 (line 4); Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – A standard grid is replaced on the ECGViewer display as shown in Fig. 2. In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of waveforms), wherein (Fig. 2, Fig. 3 – The field of width of the ECG display is 5 seconds) the grid comprises both vertical lines and horizontal lines that define a first of plurality of squares and a second plurality of smaller squares within each square of the first plurality of squares, wherein both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of smaller squares represent an interval of time in a horizontal direction, and both the first plurality of squares and the second plurality of squares represent a voltage or electrical potential level in a vertical direction (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured); and
(Fig. 3) independently moving independently move either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with an outer edge of a respective square of the first plurality of squares in response to a user input provided via a user input device by a user (Page 116, Col. 2 (lines 14-21) – Manipulation of the virtual tools is performed with a mouse (i.e., user input); Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured; Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 17 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 18, Criley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently move the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 117, Col. 1 (lines 16-21) – By moving the ECG tracing independent of the grid, measurements of duration and magnitude can be readily made by alignment of a bold (5mm) line at the onset of the signal to be measured).
Therefore, claim 18 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 19, Criley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently move the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal to align the electrocardiogram signal with the outer edge in response to the user input (Page 118, Col. 1 (lines 12-16) – In the magnified mode, the grid is moveable so that it may be used to measure duration, magnitude, and displacements of the waveforms).
Therefore, claim 19 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Regarding claim 20, Criley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
(Fig. 4) display march out markers over the grid on the display of the computing device (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – virtual calipers, i.e. march out markers); and
(Fig. 4; Fig. 6) independently move either the march out markers relative to the grid or the grid relative to the march out markers to align the march out markers with some of the vertical lines of the grid in response to additional user input provided via the user input device by the user prior to independently moving either the electrocardiogram signal relative to the grid or the grid relative to the electrocardiogram signal (Page 117, Col. 2 (lines 1-12) – The virtual calipers (Fig. 4) are deployed by clicking on the icon in the toolbox, moved by click-and-drag, and spread by placement of the cursor over either strut while click-and-dragging laterally. The intervals represented by the span are displayed in milliseconds).
Therefore, claim 20 is unpatentable over Criley, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criley, et al. (“Virtual tools for teaching electrocardiographic rhythm analysis”; 2005) in view of Krusor, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0096712).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Criley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 9, as indicated hereinabove. Criley does not explicitly teach the limitation of instant claim 7 and 15, that is wherein the display is on a smartphone.
Krusor teaches analogous art, and is directed to systems, devices, and methods related to utilizing an electronic caliper to analyze an electronic electrocardiogram (ECG) (Title, Abstract). Krusor also teaches the limitation of instant claim 7, that is wherein (Fig. 1, # 136 – mobile device) the display is on a smartphone (Par. [0049]; Par. [0051] – In some cases, the mobile device 136 includes a cellphone (e.g., a smartphone); Par. [0056] – the electronic caliper 120 output by the medical device 104 facilitates analysis of the ECG 118 by the user 106. The electronic caliper 120 is suitable for analyzing the ECG 118 displayed on the screen of an electronic device, such as the mobile device 136).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the smartphone display for analyzing ECG signals, as disclosed by Krusor, into Criley’s disclosure, because doing so would be an example of using a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. One of ordinary skill in the art would desire the option to display and analyze ECG signals with a smartphone in order to be able to achieve the same functionality with a portable mobile device, which would be more convenient and efficient than being limited to only a desktop computer. Allowing for smartphone applicability leads to more variety and ability to view and analyze ECG signals.
Therefore, claims 7 and 15 are unpatentable over Criley, et al. and Krusor, et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pickerd (U.S. PGPub No. 2004/0164984)
Vajdic, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2009/0088655)
Deno, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0369990)
Roy, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0360334)
/MICHAEL T. HOLTZCLAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796