DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/15/2025 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US-20240251362-A1) in view of Ryu et al. (US-20210084625-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Fig. 11, [0007]-[0008], and [0119] describe an apparatus 1110 such as a base station or a user device which may be any wireless device (or UE) can include processor electronics 1120 such as a microprocessor that implements one or more of the techniques presented. The code, when executed, causing a processor to implement the functions of method): determine that a first transmission configuration indicator state is to be applied in a first slot and a second transmission configuration indicator state is to be applied in a second slot ([0061] describes that the UE receives a message including more than one transmission resource information, where the transmission resource information comprises at least TCI state. [0044] indicates that “beam state” is equivalent to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state. [0066] states “The UE adjusts transmission timing of uplink transmissions in the first slot based on a first timing advance information and adjusts transmission timing of uplink transmissions in the second slot based on a second timing advance information”, where [0076] illustrates how the UE receive multiple timing advance information associated with respective transmission information and how the UE obtains the association between a transmission resource information and a transmission information based on the received information, “the association obtained by the UE indicates that a first transmission resource information named resource set A is associated with a first transmission information and a second transmission resource information named resource set B is associated with a second transmission information”), wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state is associated with a first timing advance group identifier, a second transmission configuration indicator state is associated with a second timing advance group identifier different than the first timing advance group identifier (Fig. 5, [0031]-[0032] state the UE adjusts the transmission timing of an uplink transmission based on the timing advance information associated with the resource set or group. [0023], lines 7-11 states “The base station transmits a TAC associated with a TAG, and the UE applies the TAC to determine timing advance for all serving cells in the TAG.” and [0094] states “As shown in FIG. 6, the UE adjusts transmission timing of uplink frame i based on timing advance TA.sub.1 and adjusts transmission timing of uplink frame i+1 based on timing advance TA.sub.2, wherein TA.sub.1 and TA.sub.2 are determined based on timing advance information associated with respective transmission information.” That implies each TAG is associated with a specific TA value, which can be applied to the serving cells within that TAG, which is also implies the different groups of serving cells may have different TA values); and the second slot is succeeding and adjacent to the first slot ([0085]-[0086] explicitly state the first slot starts before the beginning of the timing of the second slot, e.g., the first slot starts earlier then the second one, and the two slots are adjacent in time domain. [0112], lines 1-4 confirms that the first time period and the second time period are adjacent in time domain, or wherein the first time period starts earlier than the second time period);
Guo fails to teach based upon the determining, determine a third slot, wherein the second transmission configuration indicator state is firstly to be applied in the third slot; and apply the second transmission configuration indicator state from the third slot onward.
However, Ryu teaches based upon the determining, determine a third slot, wherein the second transmission configuration indicator state is firstly to be applied in the third slot (“Abstract describes how a BS may transmit indication to the UE to activate two or more CCs, and that indicates two or more different sets of TCI states that are activated for the two or more CCs. The indication may be transmitted to the UE in a single MAC-CE. The single MAC-CE to activate different sets of TCI states at CCs or BWPs may allow for a reduced number of MAC-CEs used for conveying the set of active TCI states for the CCS or BWPs. [0087] describes that the communications over a carrier are organized according to TTIs Transmission Time Intervals TTIS or slots, each of which may include user data and control information to support decoding the user data, as also indicated in [0084]-[0085]. [0106] also indicates that the MAC-CE may indicate a number of activated BWPs/CCs, and may also indicate activated TCI states for multiple BWPs/CCs. [0146] states “the activation command includes a first bit that is set to indicate that different sets of active transmission configuration indicator states are activated for different component carriers of the set of component carriers.” Which implies activation of different slots. [0148], lines 5-8 states “the medium access control-control element includes a first set of bits associated with the first component carrier that indicate which transmission configuration indicator states of the subset of available transmission configuration indicator states are in the first set of active transmission configuration indicator states.” That implies determining a specific slot for applying the certain TCI state, [0055] lines 1-5 and [0054] lines 11-14 describe activation command can be used to indicate specific TCI states for different CC or BWP (different slot), where this command may include a bit indicating for that as stated in [0146] and [0208]); and apply the second transmission configuration indicator state from the third slot onward (Abstract states “A base station may transmit control information to a user equipment (UE) to activate two or more CCs, and that indicates two or more different sets of TCI states that are activated for the two or more CCs. “ and [0087] describes that the communications over a carrier/BWP are organized according to TTIs Transmission Time Intervals TTIS or slots, each of which may include user data and control information to support decoding the user data. [0106] also indicates that the MAC-CE may indicate a number of activated BWPs/CCs, and may also indicate activated TCI states for multiple BWPs/CCs. That implies applying the TCI state from a certain slot onward is possible by the signaling /information provided via MAC-CE or other control signaling. [0104], lines 6-7 states “UE 115-a may apply the indicated TCI state ID to the identified CC 225”, lines 13-14 and [0161], [0121] describe some examples for applying the TCI state on the selected slot/carrier onward based on the activation command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo to incorporate the teachings of Ryu (in analogous art) by including based upon the determining, determine a third slot, wherein the second transmission configuration indicator state is firstly to be applied in the third slot for enhanced system efficiency through a reduction in signaling, reduced power consumption, and accelerated signaling. (Ryu, [0055], lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 2, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the first timing advance group identifier is associated with a first timing advance value, and the second timing advance group identifier is associated with a second timing advance value different than the first timing advance value ([0023] lines 4-6 states “Normally, a network configures multiple Time Alignment Groups (TAG) to indicate timing advance for multiple serving cells and each TAG includes one or more serving cells.” And lines 7-9 states “The base station transmits a TAC associated with a TAG, and the UE applies the TAC to determine timing advance for all serving cells in the TAG”, [0066], lines 9-14 states “When the first timing advance information and the second timing advance information are different from each other, different timing advances are applied to the first slot and the second slot based on the first timing advance information and the second timing information.” That implies the first TAG identifier and the second TAG identifier are distinct because they correspond to different set of serving cells and may have different TA values as also stated in [0060], lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 3, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the second timing advance value is larger than the first timing advance value (Figs. 6-7 visually demonstrate that TA2 is larger than TA1. The reason behind that is different geographical locations of base stations or different physical directions of panels might result in different transmission delay for all uplink and downlink signals (TRPs), as stated in [0022], that means the second group of cells is farther away from the UE comparing with the first group, where each group has own TA, line 3-6. That implies TA2 became larger than TA1 because the second TRP is greater than the first TRP which may result in delay for the transmission. [0028] states “When timing advance timeline is associated with TRP, two adjacent slots might also be overlapped due to different timing advances.“)
Regarding claim 4, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to (Fig. 11, [0007]-[0008], and [0119] describe an apparatus 1110 such as a base station or a user device which may be any wireless device (or UE) can include processor electronics 1120 such as a microprocessor that implements one or more of the techniques presented, where the code is stored in memory, and when the instructions executed, causing a processor to implement the functions of method) : determine the third slot as a slot succeeding and adjacent to the second slot ([0085]-[0086] explicitly states the first slot starts before the beginning of the timing of the second slot, e.g., the first slot starts earlier then the second one, and the two slots are adjacent in time domain. That implies the UE can recognize the sequence of slots based on the order and temporal adjacency of slots).
As to claims 10-13, see similar rejections to claims 1-4, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US-20240251362-A1) in view of Ryu et al. (US-20210084625-A1), further in view of Shim et al.( US-20250106796-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo and Ryu do not explicitly teach determine that the second slot is not an uplink slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot.
However, Shim teaches determine that the second slot is not an uplink slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot ([0171] In step S820, the UE may perform transmission timing adjustment for uplink transmission in a specific slot, [0172] illustrates the TA adjustment performed autonomously by the UE or by indication from the base station. [0174] illustrates the UE can skip the reduced/unavailable slot and moves to the next available slot in the sequence. [0190] states “Additionally or alternatively, the UE may determine that at least one symbol is excluded from a subsequent slot adjacent to the specific slot, and may not transmit a PUSCH that does not satisfy a pre-defined/configured/indicated TDRA (condition)” that implies the UE moved to the next slot when the current slot does not meet the conditions. Another example in [0118] states “if the actual TDW is terminated due to a semi-static event in the n−1.sup.th slot, a new actual TDW may be configured/constructed starting from the n.sup.th slot. Additionally, or alternatively, for a UE indicated to apply TA in the n.sup.th slot starting the configured TDW (i.e., a UE indicated to perform TA adjustment in the n.sup.th slot), a new actual TDW may be configured/constructed starting from the n.sup.th slot.” which describe how the UE terminate the current slot and configure the new time domain window to be started from the next slot for uplink transmission. Some examples are described in [0136] and [0164] which indicate some different reasons allow the UE to not use the current slot and look for the next available uplink slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo in view of Ryu to incorporate the teachings of Shim (in analogous art) by including determine that the second slot is not an uplink slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot for improving the communication performance for the 5G and next generations (Shim, [0204], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo and Ryu do not explicitly teach determine no uplink transmission is to be transmitted in the second slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot
However, Shim teaches determine no uplink transmission is to be transmitted in the second slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot ([0171] In step S820, the UE may perform transmission timing adjustment for uplink transmission in a specific slot, [0172] illustrates the TA adjustment performed autonomously by the UE or by indication from the base station. [0174] illustrates the UE can skip the reduced/unavailable slot and moves to the next available slot in the sequence. [0190] states “Additionally or alternatively, the UE may determine that at least one symbol is excluded from a subsequent slot adjacent to the specific slot, and may not transmit a PUSCH that does not satisfy a pre-defined/configured/indicated TDRA (condition)”, that implies the UE moved to the next slot when the current slot does not meet the conditions. Another example in [0118] states “if the actual TDW is terminated due to a semi-static event in the n−1.sup.th slot, a new actual TDW may be configured/constructed starting from the n.sup.th slot. Additionally, or alternatively, for a UE indicated to apply TA in the n.sup.th slot starting the configured TDW (i.e., a UE indicated to perform TA adjustment in the n.sup.th slot), a new actual TDW may be configured/constructed starting from the n.sup.th slot.” which describe how the UE terminate the current slot and configure the new time domain window to be started from the next slot for uplink transmission. Some examples are described in [0136] and [0164] which indicate some different reasons allow the UE to not use the current slot and look for the next available uplink slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo in view of Ryu to incorporate the teachings of Shim (in analogous art) by including determine that the second slot is not an uplink slot; and based on the determining, determine the third slot as the second slot for improving the communication performance for the 5G and next generations (Shim, [0204], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Guo, Ryu and Shim teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Guo further teaches wherein the uplink transmission comprises at least one of physical uplink shared channel, physical uplink control channel, or sounding reference signal ([0052] describes that the uplink transmission could be physical uplink shared channel, physical uplink control channel, or sounding reference signal as states “uplink signal” can be PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH”).
As to claims 14-16, see similar rejections to claims 5-7, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claims 8- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US-20240251362-A1) in view of Ryu et al. (US-20210084625-A1), further in view of Yang ( WO-2023072087-A1), refer to the attached English translation version.
Regarding claim 8, Guo and Ryu teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo and Ryu do not explicitly teach change a beam application time of the apparatus; and determine the third slot based on the changed beam application time of the apparatus.
However, Yang teaches change a beam application time of the apparatus (Parga. 1, Page 3 states “The BAT of the BWP of the CCs belonging to each TAG in the group can make the beams of the BWPs of the CCs belonging to the same TAG in the target BWP group take effect at the same time, that is, the beams of the BWPs of the CCs belonging to the same TAG can be aligned, so that Data transfer is done correctly. “That implies the BAT can be aligned (changed) across different CCs or BWP within TAGs for proper transmission of data. This describes when different CCs and BWPs have different TAGs may have different TA values, which can result in misalignment in time slots and symbols and then BAT is determined for each TAG to align the time slots and symbols as stated in Parga. 3 Page 2, Parga. 3, Page 8 and Page 40. Parga. 6 Page 2, Parga. 5 Page 7, Parag. 1 Page 3, and Page 30 also confirm that changing of beam application time of the apparatus for correct data transmission); and determine the third slot based on the changed beam application time of the apparatus (Parga. 5 Page 7 describes how the apparatus calculates the timing start symbol and determines the next slot on the time domain resources that corresponding to the CC or BWP via the process that includes calculating the next slot using the timing start symbol (as shown in Example 4 on page 10 which states “And, map T0 (that is, the first symbol) to the second time point TAG3-T2 (that is, the timing start symbol corresponding to TAG3) on the time domain resource corresponding to CC2, and then count Y from TAG3-T2 according to the SCS of CC2 symbols, the first slot located after the Yth symbol (TAG3-T6) is used as the first slot corresponding to TAG3, so that the first slot is used as the BAT of the CC belonging to TAG3. Another examples about determining the slot based on the changed BAT of the apparatus have been highlighted on pages 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo in view of Ryu to incorporate the teachings of Yang (in analogous art) by including determine the third slot based on the changed beam application time of the apparatus for correctly determine the next slot for the data transmission (Yang, Parga. 1 Page 36).
Regarding claim 9, Guo, Ryu and Yang teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Guo and Ryu do not explicitly teach wherein the changing the beam application time comprises adding a number of symbols into the beam application time.
However, Yang teaches wherein the changing the beam application time comprises adding a number of symbols into the beam application time (Parags. 8-9 Page 10 and Parag. 9 Page 10 outline the timing start symbol can be calculated by adding and/or subtracting the TA value to/from the mapping position of the first symbol on the time domain resource that associated with the CC/BWP, for example, the mapping position is at symbol n, m symbols backward from symbol n is symbol (n-m), and forward k symbols from symbol n is symbol (n+k)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo in view of Ryu to incorporate the teachings of Yang (in analogous art) by including determine the third slot based on the changed beam application time of the apparatus for correctly determine the next slot for the data transmission (Yang, Parga. 1 Page 36).
As to claims 17-18, see similar rejections to claims 8-9, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US-20220330192-A1), Zhang et al. (US-11985617-B2), Harada et al. (US-20240172158-A1), Lim et al. (US-20180279334-A1), Jang et al. (US-20230087223-A1) and Jang et al. (US-20220353698-A1), Go et al. (EP-4507404-A1), and Lin et al. (US-20210153193-A1 ) teach methods for performing transmitting/receiving uplink signals in consideration of improving the TA in the 5G/6G network systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463