DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/15/2025 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 7-10, 12-14 objected to because of the following informalities:
• Claims 1, line 12 missing colons.
• Move claim 7 down to follow claim 8 to improve clarity and consistency.
• Move claim 9 down to follow claim 10 to improve clarity and consistency.
• Claims 12, line 9 “transmissions” should be “transmission” .
• Claims 13, line 3 included “and/or” interpreted as “or” since no definition for them
in the specification.
• Claims 14, line 9 missing colons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 8— “a second transmission configuration indicator state”, it is unclear as to whether “a second transmission configuration indicator state” is referring to the “ second transmission configuration indicator state” of line 6 or is a different second transmission configuration indicator state. For examination purposes, the second transmission configuration indicator state of lines 6 and 8 will be interpreted to be the same.
Regarding claim 14, line 6— “a second transmission configuration indicator state”, it is unclear as to whether “a second transmission configuration indicator state” is referring to the “ second transmission configuration indicator state” of line 3 or is a different second transmission configuration indicator state. For examination purposes, the second transmission configuration indicator state of lines 3 and 6 will be interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1- 3, 5-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US-20240251362-A1), as PCT field on July. 28, 2022 and published on Jul. 25, 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Figs. 10-11, [0018]-[0019], [0118]-[0119] and [0121] these sections describe an apparatus 1110 such as a base station or a user device which may be any wireless device (or UE) can include processor electronics 1120 such as a microprocessor that implements one or more of the techniques presented. The code, when executed, causing a processor to implement the functions of method, [0121]): determine that a first transmission configuration indicator state is to be applied in a first slot and a second transmission configuration indicator state is to be applied in a second slot (Figs. 8-9 illustrate examples of receiving, from the BS, transmission resource information associated with transmission information and timing advance information for the first and second TCI states as provides in [0042]-[0050]. [0061] states “the transmission resource information comprises at least one of a resource set, a group of resources, a resource index, the time and/or frequency domain position, a type of resource, a type of signal format, information of frequency hopping, a control resource set (CORESET), a CORESET pool, a configuration of a transmission or a TCI state “ that describes that the UE receives a message including more than one transmission resource information, where the transmission resource information comprises at least TCI state, see also [0076]. [0044] indicates that “beam state” is equivalent to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state. [0065] states “ The UE transmits a first set of uplink transmissions associated with a first transmission information in a first slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame and a second set of uplink transmissions associated with a second transmission information in a second slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame” that confirms that each slot is assigned with its own transmission resource information, which may include a specific TC state. [0076] illustrates how the UE receive multiple timing advance information associated with respective transmission information and how the UE obtains the association between a transmission resource information and a transmission information based on the received information, “the association obtained by the UE indicates that a first transmission resource information named resource set A is associated with a first transmission information and a second transmission resource information named resource set B is associated with a second transmission information”), wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state is associated with a first timing advance group identifier, a second transmission configuration indicator state is associated with a second timing advance group identifier different than the first timing advance group identifier (Fig. 5, [0031]-[0032] state the UE adjusts the transmission timing of an uplink transmission based on the timing advance information associated with the resource set or group. [0023], lines 7-11 states “The base station transmits a TAC associated with a TAG, and the UE applies the TAC to determine timing advance for all serving cells in the TAG.” and [0094] states “As shown in FIG. 6, the UE adjusts transmission timing of uplink frame i based on timing advance TA.sub.1 and adjusts transmission timing of uplink frame i+1 based on timing advance TA.sub.2, wherein TA.sub.1 and TA.sub.2 are determined based on timing advance information associated with respective transmission information.” That implies each TAG is associated with a specific TA value, where each TA value is associated with specific TCI that configured to a unique slot as described in [0066], which can be applied to the serving cells within that TAG, which is also implies the different groups of serving cells may have different TA values, as confirmed in [0060] “The UE receives a message configuring or indicating more than one timing advance information for a serving cell or a TAG. For example, the message may comprise first timing advance information associated with first transmission information and second timing advance associated with second transmission information.”, that means both TAGs are different ); and the second slot is succeeding and adjacent to the first slot ([0085]-[0086] explicitly state the first slot starts before the beginning of the timing of the second slot, e.g., the first slot starts earlier then the second one, and the two slots are adjacent in time domain. [0112], lines 1-4 confirms that the first time period and the second time period are adjacent in time domain, or wherein the first time period starts earlier than the second time period); and based upon the determining, transmit or drop at least one of at least one uplink transmission in the first slot or at least one uplink transmission in a second slot ([0081] states “ the base station indicates UE to reduce the duration of one of the slots based on the message from the base station. In some implementations, the UE reports some information to the base station regarding which slot has a reduced duration or which uplink transmission is canceled.” That implies the BS guide the UE to transmit or drop the uplink transmission in the first slot or the second slot through the message/instructions, see also [0034]-[0035] and [0093]. [0094] illustrates that due to overlap between two adjacent slots as shown in FIG. 6, the uplink frame i (the first uplink transmission) is canceled, while transmit the UL transmission of the second slot/frame i+1).
Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the first timing advance group identifier is associated with a first timing advance value, and the second timing advance group identifier is associated with a second timing advance value different than the first timing advance value ([0023] lines 4-6 states “Normally, a network configures multiple Time Alignment Groups (TAG) to indicate timing advance for multiple serving cells and each TAG includes one or more serving cells.” and lines 7-9 states “The base station transmits a TAC associated with a TAG, and the UE applies the TAC to determine timing advance for all serving cells in the TAG”, [0066], lines 9-14 states “When the first timing advance information and the second timing advance information are different from each other, different timing advances are applied to the first slot and the second slot based on the first timing advance information and the second timing information.” That implies the first TAG identifier and the second TAG identifier are distinct because they correspond to different set of serving cells and may have different TA values as also stated in [0060], lines 11-16. [0066] states “The UE adjusts transmission timing of uplink transmissions in the first slot based on a first timing advance information and adjusts transmission timing of uplink transmissions in the second slot based on a second timing advance information”).
Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the second timing advance value is larger than the first timing advance value (Fig. 1 states “As shown in FIG. 1, different geographical locations of base stations or different physical directions of panels might result in different transmission delay for all uplink and downlink signals. “ that describes each UE has two different TA values for the two uplink transmissions TRP1 and TRP2 since these TA values is used to compensate the propagation delay between the UE and the BS or TRP, as the UE adjust these transmission according to the TA values as stated in [0066] and [0094], in other words, a larger TA value means that the signal is sent earlier to account for longer distance or delayed path, see also [0063]. Figs. 6-7 visually demonstrate that TA2 is larger than TA1. The reason behind that is different geographical locations of base stations or different physical directions of panels might result in different transmission delay for all uplink and downlink signals (TRPs), as stated in [0022], that means the second group of cells is farther away from the UE comparing with the first group, where each group has own TA, line 3-6. That implies TA2 became larger than TA1 because the second TRP is greater than the first TRP which may result in delay for the transmission. See also [0110] which depicts that the UE will report max difference between (TA.sub.2-TA.sub.1, TA.sub.4-TA.sub.3) and expects base station not to schedule uplink transmissions in the symbols within the reported time gap).
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teaches drop the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot ([0029] states “Generally, when either the transmission duration of the former or the latter slot is reduced, some uplink transmissions will be canceled or re-transmitted, and the UE requires to transmit the canceled transmissions once receiving a scheduling signaling or based on a default rule.” That implies the UE can drop the first or second slot to avoid the overlapping by reducing slot duration. [0093] also confirms that by stating “The information is associated with the slot whose duration is reduced by the UE or the uplink transmissions which are canceled due to the duration reduction. For example, the UE determines to reduce the duration of the slot with index n and reports to the base station the index of the slot, i.e., n.” That indicates the UE can drop the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot or the second slot. [0081] provide the mechanism of how the BS guide the UE for slot reduction in case of two slots overlap due different TA values, then, the UE reports some information to the base station regarding which slot has a reduced duration or which uplink transmission is canceled, see also [0094] and Fig. 6 as an example for canceling/dropping the first uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teaches drop the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot ([0029] states “Generally, when either the transmission duration of the former or the latter slot is reduced, some uplink transmissions will be canceled or re-transmitted, and the UE requires to transmit the canceled transmissions once receiving a scheduling signaling or based on a default rule.” That implies the UE can drop the first or second slot to avoid the overlapping by reducing slot duration. [0093] also confirms that by stating “The information is associated with the slot whose duration is reduced by the UE or the uplink transmissions which are canceled due to the duration reduction. For example, the UE determines to reduce the duration of the slot with index n and reports to the base station the index of the slot, i.e., n.” That indicates the UE can drop the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot or the second slot. [0081] provide the mechanism of how the BS guide the UE for slot reduction in case of two slots overlap due different TA values, then, the UE reports some information to the base station regarding which slot has a reduced duration or which uplink transmission is canceled. Also [0028] states “two adjacent slots might be overlapped due to timing advance updating, and the UE requires to reduce transmission duration of the latter slot.” Which implies, due to different TAs, the overlapping may affected the adjacent slot (second slot), which means the UE will not transmit the portion of the second slot (second uplink transmission)).
Regarding claim 7, Guo teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teach prioritize the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot over the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot ([0035] states “The UE reduces transmission duration of a slot based on an information of the transmissions transmitted in the slots, e.g. priority indication, UCI type, signal type, etc. “[0067] states “When the UE determines to reduce the time period of the first slot or the second slot based on the information of the uplink transmissions, the information of the uplink transmissions comprises at least one of a priority indication …. a priority of types of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot, or a priority of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot. “ That confirms the UE can receive the priority indication from the BS to prioritize uplink transmission in the second slot or to prioritize the uplink transmission in the first slot. [0089]-[0091], [0112] and [0115] describe what the priority information that can be received from the BS so the UE can determine to prioritize the type of the first transmission or the second transmission, or prioritize the first transmission or the second transmission, according to the message from the BS or a predefined rule, which is also confirmed in [0090]-[0091] “Reduce the duration of the slot in which an uplink transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with priority indication 0 rather than the slot in which an uplink transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with priority indication 1. [0091] Reduce the duration of the slot in which an uplink transmission with lower priority is transmitted rather than the slot in which an uplink transmission with higher priority is transmitted. “ See also [0034]-[0035] and claims 3 and 11).
Regarding claim 8, Guo teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teach receive an indication indicating that the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot is to be prioritized over the least one uplink transmission in the second slot ([0035] states “The UE reduces transmission duration of a slot based on an information of the transmissions transmitted in the slots, e.g. priority indication, UCI type, signal type, etc. “[0067] states “When the UE determines to reduce the time period of the first slot or the second slot based on the information of the uplink transmissions, the information of the uplink transmissions comprises at least one of a priority indication …. a priority of types of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot, or a priority of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot. “ That confirms the UE can receive the priority indication from the BS to prioritize uplink transmission in the second slot or to prioritized the uplink transmission in the first slot. [0089]-[0091], [0112] and [0115] describe what the priority information that can be received from the BS so the UE can determine to prioritize the type of the first transmission or the second transmission, or prioritize the first transmission or the second transmission, according to the message from the BS or a predefined rule. [0067] explicitly states” When the UE determines to reduce the time period of the first slot or the second slot based on a predefined rule, the predefined rules comprises at least information on UCI types, a priority of types of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot, or a priority of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot.” That means the UE can prioritize the uplink transmission in the first slot or the uplink transmission in the second slot based on the information received from the BS).
Regarding claim 9, Guo teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teach prioritize the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot over the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot([0035] states “The UE reduces transmission duration of a slot based on an information of the transmissions transmitted in the slots, e.g. priority indication, UCI type, signal type, etc. “[0067] states “When the UE determines to reduce the time period of the first slot or the second slot based on the information of the uplink transmissions, the information of the uplink transmissions comprises at least one of a priority indication …. a priority of types of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot, or a priority of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot. “ That confirms the UE can receive the priority indication from the BS to prioritize uplink transmission in the second slot or to prioritize the uplink transmission in the first slot. [0089]-[0091], [0112] and [0115] describe what the priority information that can be received from the BS so the UE can determine to prioritize the type of the first transmission or the second transmission, or prioritize the first transmission or the second transmission, according to the message from the BS or a predefined rule, which is also confirmed in [0090]-[0091] “Reduce the duration of the slot in which an uplink transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with priority indication 0 rather than the slot in which an uplink transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with priority indication 1. [0091] Reduce the duration of the slot in which an uplink transmission with lower priority is transmitted rather than the slot in which an uplink transmission with higher priority is transmitted. “ See also [0034]-[0035] and claims 3 and 11).
Regarding claim 10, Guo teach The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teach receive an indication indicating that the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot is to be prioritized over the uplink transmission in the first slot ([0035] states “The UE reduces transmission duration of a slot based on an information of the transmissions transmitted in the slots, e.g. priority indication, UCI type, signal type, etc. “[0067] states “When the UE determines to reduce the time period of the first slot or the second slot based on the information of the uplink transmissions, the information of the uplink transmissions comprises at least one of a priority indication …. a priority of types of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot, or a priority of the transmission associated with the first slot or the second slot. “ That confirms the UE can receive the priority indication from the BS to prioritize uplink transmission in the second slot or to prioritize the uplink transmission in the first slot. [0089]-[091], [0112] and [0115] describe what the priority information that can be received from the BS so the UE can determine to prioritize the type of the first transmission or the second transmission, or prioritize the first transmission or the second transmission, according to the message from the BS or a predefined rule. See also [0034]-[0035] and claims 3 and 11).
Regarding claim 11, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teaches determine that a first panel of the user equipment associated with the first transmission configuration indicator state is different than a second panel of the user equipment associated with the second transmission configuration indicator state ([0117] states “each of the first transmission and the second transmission comprises at least one of a transmission occasion of an uplink signal comprising PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH, or a repetition of the uplink signal and wherein the transmission information comprises at least one of information grouping one or more reference signals, a reference signal resource set, a PUCCH resource set, panel related information” see also claim 7, that confirms each TCI state associated with unique panel and the UE can apply the corresponding panel and TCI state for each slot to enable the transmission to deferent physical direction/location. As shown in FIG. 1, different geographical locations of base stations or different physical directions of panels might result in different transmission delay for all uplink and downlink signals, as stated in [0022], see also claim 7); and based on the determining, transmit both the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot and the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot ([0065] states “The UE transmits a first set of uplink transmissions associated with a first transmission information in a first slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame and a second set of uplink transmissions associated with a second transmission information in a second slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame.” As also confirmed in [0078] and claim 1, which states “based on the determining, the first transmission in a first time period using a first transmission timing and a second transmission in a second time period using a second transmission timing, and wherein the first time period and the second time period are adjacent in time domain, or wherein the first time period starts earlier than the second time period.” That mean the UE transmit both the first transmission in the first slot and the second transmission in the second slot ).
Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo further teaches determine a capability value index associated with a downlink reference signal corresponding to the first transmission configuration indicator state is different than a capability value index associated with a downlink reference signal corresponding to the second transmission configuration indicator state ([0117] states “each of the first transmission and the second transmission comprises at least one of a transmission occasion of an uplink signal comprising PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH, or a repetition of the uplink signal and wherein the transmission information comprises at least one of information grouping one or more reference signals, a reference signal resource set, a PUCCH resource set, panel related information, a sub-array, an antenna group, an antenna port group, a group of antenna ports, a beam group, a beam state, a candidate cell, a candidate cell group, a physical cell index (PCI), a time alignment group (TAG), TRP related information, a CORESET pool index, a set of power control parameters, an index of TCI state in a TCI state codepoint, a UE capability value, or a UE capability set.” See also claim 7 and [0042], where [0044] states ““beam state” is equivalent to quasi-co-location (QCL) state, transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, spatial relation (also called as spatial relation information), reference signal (RS), spatial filter or pre-coding.” These sections confirm that each TCI may comprise a UE capability value, or a UE capability set associated with reference signal (RS), which implies each TCI has own UE capability value associated with reference signal (RS)); and based on the determining, transmit both the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot and the at least one uplink transmissions in the second slot ([0065] states “The UE transmits a first set of uplink transmissions associated with a first transmission information in a first slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame and a second set of uplink transmissions associated with a second transmission information in a second slot/sub-slot/frame/sub-frame.” As also confirmed in [0078] and claim 1, which states “based on the determining, the first transmission in a first time period using a first transmission timing and a second transmission in a second time period using a second transmission timing, and wherein the first time period and the second time period are adjacent in time domain, or wherein the first time period starts earlier than the second time period.” That mean the UE transmit both the first transmission in the first slot and the second transmission in the second slot ).
Regarding claim 13, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the at least one uplink transmission in the first slot comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel, a physical uplink control channel, or a sounding reference signal and/or the at least one uplink transmission in the second slot comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel, a physical uplink control channel, or a sounding reference signal. ([0052] describes that the uplink transmission, whether for the first or the second slot, could be physical uplink shared channel, physical uplink control channel, or sounding reference signal as states “uplink signal” can be PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH”. [0117] states “each of the first transmission and the second transmission comprises at least one of a transmission occasion of an uplink signal comprising PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH, or a repetition of the uplink signal and wherein the transmission information comprises at least one of information grouping one or more reference signals ….. a timing advance offset of a transmission information”).
As to claims 14-16, 18-20 see similar rejections to claims 1-3, 5-7, respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US-20240251362-A1) in view of John Wilson et al. (US- 20190222289-A1).
Regarding to claim 4, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
Guo does not explicitly teach receive while applying the first transmission configuration indicator state, a beam indication or beam switch indicating that the second transmission configuration indicator state for uplink transmissions is to be applied for the user equipment.
However, John Wilson teaches receive while applying the first transmission configuration indicator state, a beam indication or beam switch indicating that the second transmission configuration indicator state for uplink transmissions is to be applied for the user equipment ([0005] states “A base station may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to the UE to update TCI states (e.g., based on current channel conditions),” [0006] states “A base station may transmit an indication that such DCI based control beam switching is enabled. The DCI may include a TCI state, where the TCI state may be associated with a first or second subset of TCI states. The UE may, based on whether the TCI state belongs to the first subset of TCI states or the second subset of TCI states, trigger a beam switching operation.” and [0007] states “The method may further include receiving, from the base station, DCI indicating a TCI state, where the indicated TCI state is associated with one of a first subset of TCI states or a second subset of TCI states.” See also [0023], [0055] and claim 10. These sections confirm that the BS can send a message, to instruct the UE, as a beam indication or beam switch indicating that the second TCI state for uplink transmissions is to be applied (switched with the first TCI state) for uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo in view of Ryu to incorporate the teachings of Yang (in analogous art) by receiving, while applying the first transmission configuration indicator state, a beam indication or beam switch indicating that the second transmission configuration indicator state for uplink transmissions is to be applied for the user equipment to support efficient techniques for dynamically updating a set of TCI states configured for indicating (John Wilson, [0054]).
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 4, the apparatus teaches the method.
Relevant Prior Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Farag et al. (US-20230299902-A1 ), Zhang et al. (US-20220330192-A1), Zhang et al. (US-11985617-B2), Harada et al. (US-20240172158-A1), Lim et al. (US-20180279334-A1), Bai et al. (US-20240284475-A1) and Jang et al. (US-20220353698-A1) and Go et al. (WO-2023140679-A1 ) teach methods for reporting multiple transmission and reception with considering of increasing number of users and devices in the 5G/6G network systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463