Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cooley et al. (US 20080093908 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cooley teaches an armrest swing hinge device, the hinge device comprising: a bracket housing (Fig. 1 element 20) coupled to a side of a seat frame (Shown in Fig. 9) and provided with a pivoting space therein; a vertical shaft penetrating through the pivoting space of the bracket housing in an up and down direction (Fig. 1 element 34); a pivoting housing pivotably provided in the pivoting space of the bracket housing in a state of being coupled to the vertical shaft (Fig. 1 element, 24, 26 and 28); and a horizontal shaft (Fig. 1 element 40) provided perpendicular to the vertical shaft on an outer surface of the pivoting housing such that the horizontal shaft is exposed to the outside of the bracket housing, and is coupled to an armrest in a manner that orients the armrest to face forward (Shown in Fig. 1), wherein the horizontal shaft is configured to (i) pivot together with the armrest when the armrest is pivoted up and down (Shaft pivots with armrest when pivoting up/down), and (ii) not pivot while the pivoting housing pivots inward about the vertical shaft when the armrest is pivoted inward while facing forward (Shaft there is a limited amount of horizontal pivotability between the housing and the shaft).
Regarding Claim 2, Cooley teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the pivoting housing comprises: a pivoting housing main body coupled to the vertical shaft (Fig. 1 elements 24 and 26); and a pivoting housing extension plate extended forward from the pivoting housing main body (Fig. 1 element 28), and the bracket housing comprises: a bracket housing main body coupled to a side surface of the seat frame (Fig. 1 element 20); and a pivoting blocking plate extended forward from the bracket housing main body and configured to come into contact with the pivoting housing extension plate configured to pivot outward of the seat frame (Fig. 1 element 84).
Regarding Claim 3, Cooley teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses an elastic body disposed in the pivoting housing in a type of surrounding an outer circumference of the vertical shaft, the elastic body having one side supporting the bracket housing and an opposite side supporting the pivoting housing (Fig. 1 element 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooley et al. (US 20080093908 A1) in view of Bart et al. (US 5597209 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Cooley teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Cooley fails to explicitly teach the bracket housing comprises: a bushing surrounding an outer circumference of the vertical shaft.
However, Bart teaches the bracket housing comprises: a bushing surrounding an outer circumference of the vertical shaft (Fig. 4 element 92).
Cooley and Bart are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of armrest hinge devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hinge device of Cooley to have the bushing surrounding the shaft as disclosed by Bart. Doing so would reduce the friction on the shaft while maintaining proper alignment.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooley et al. (US 20080093908 A1) in view of Kong et al. (KR 101518956 B1).
Regarding Claim 5, Cooley teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2.
Cooley fails to explicitly teach the pivoting housing comprises: a damper provided at an end part of the pivoting housing extension plate.
However, Kong teaches the pivoting housing comprises: a damper provided at an end part of the pivoting housing extension plate (“the damper 160 absorbs impacts and vibrations generated from the second link 140, which is to be rotated by the impact force in the lock hole 153 and the movement of the locker 150” Highlighted in attached PE2E translation).
Cooley and Kong are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of armrest hinge devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hinge device of Cooley to have the damper as disclosed by Kong. Doing so would absorb the impact of the hinge device while moving between different pivotable positions, extending the reliability and use of the hinge device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the horizontal shaft of Cooley is not configured to not pivot while the pivot housing pivots horizontally. The examiner respectfully disagrees as the shaft and housing of Cooley are not formed as a single piece, therefore there is a limited amount of horizontal pivotability between the horizontal shaft and the pivot housing. This would mean the horizontal shaft is capable of not pivoting horizontally with the housing. Even if the pivotability is minimal, the horizontal shaft is capable of, and therefore configured to not pivot horizontally with the pivot housing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644