DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Priority
The present application, 18/624570, claims priority to Provisional Application 63/469616, filed on May 30, 2023. The claim for priority is acknowledged as properly supported under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e).
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 14, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 remain pending in this application. Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 have been cancelled at applicant’s request. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 have been amended. No claims have been added. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0044746 A1 to Fu-Chang Hsu (hereafter Hsu).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Hsu discloses a memory device comprising:
a memory array comprising a set of memory cells (An array of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0173]); and
control logic (Control signals: Hsu, ¶[0189]),
operatively coupled with the memory array (Control signals coupled with the memory array: Hsu, ¶[0189] and Figure 2B),
to perform operations comprising:
initiating a program operation to program the set of memory cells (Programming a set of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0204])
associated with a set of pages comprising
a lower page, an upper page, an extra page, and a top page of the memory device (Using the program operation to program a QLC memory cell: Hsu, ¶[0209]; A set of data pages including lower, upper, extra, and top pages is inherent in programming a QLC memory cell);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of first data of the lower page and the upper page into a first subset of memory cells (Programming lower page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; This paragraph is in reference to a 2-bit (MLC) cell of lower and upper page data. Hsu explicitly explains this same approach may be applied to QLC data, however: Hsu, ¶[0378]; The ‘lower page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the least significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the lower and upper page data of the instant invention)
connected to a first subset of even-numbered bitlines associated with a target wordline of the memory device (Programming lower page data to odd bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The designation of even/odd is arbitrary, broadest reasonable interpretation interprets the key element being alternating bitlines);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of second data of the extra page and the top page into a second subset of memory cells (Programming upper page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The ‘upper page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the most significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the extra and top page data of the instant invention)
connected to a second subset of odd-numbered bitlines associated with the target wordline of the memory device (Programming upper page data to even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]).
receiving a first request to execute a first read operation of one the lower page (Receiving a request to read selected data pages: Hsu, ¶[0384]); and
executing the first read operation, wherein executing the first read operation comprises:
causing application of a first ramping voltage to the target wordline (Applying a first read voltage: Hsu, ¶[0384]) and
accessing one or more of the even-numbered bitlines (Applying a ramping voltage to the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]; While shielding via the odd bitlines: Hsu, ¶[0311]); and
causing an output of first data
corresponding to a set of bit positions of the lower page (The data read corresponding to the first subset of data: Hsu, ¶[0384])
following completion of the application of the first ramping voltage (Outputting the first subset of data following a read of the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]).
Regarding Claim 4 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 11 and 18, Hsu discloses the memory device of claim 1, the operations further comprising
receiving a second request to execute a second read operation of one of a selected extra page or a selected top page (Receiving a second request to read selected data pages: Hsu, ¶[0385]).
Regarding Claim 5 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 12 and 19, Hsu discloses the memory device of claim 4, the operations further comprising
executing the second read operation, wherein executing the read operation comprises:
causing application of a second ramping voltage to the target wordline and accessing one or more of the odd-numbered bitlines (Applying a ramping voltage to the odd bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0385]; While shielding via the even bitlines: Hsu, ¶[0311]); and
causing an output of second data corresponding to all bit positions of one of the selected extra page or the selected top page following completion of the application of the second ramping voltage (Outputting the upper page stored data following the application of the second read voltage: Hsu, ¶[0385]).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Hsu discloses a method comprising:
initiating, by a processing device (Disclosing an apparatus: Hsu, ¶[0464]),
a program operation to program a set of memory cells (Programming a set of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0204])
associated with a set of pages comprising a lower page, an upper page, an extra page, and a top page of a memory device (Using the program operation to program a QLC memory cell: Hsu, ¶[0209]; A set of data pages including lower, upper, extra, and top pages is inherent in programming a QLC memory cell);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of first data of the lower page and the upper page into a first subset of memory cells (Programming lower page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; This paragraph is in reference to a 2-bit (MLC) cell of lower and upper page data. Hsu explicitly explains this same approach may be applied to QLC data, however: Hsu, ¶[0378]; The ‘lower page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the least significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the lower and upper page data of the instant invention)connected to a first subset of even-numbered bitlines associated with a target wordline of the memory device (Programming lower page data to odd bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The designation of even/odd is arbitrary, broadest reasonable interpretation interprets the key element being alternating bitlines);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of second data of the extra page and the top page into a second subset of memory cells (Programming upper page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The ‘upper page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the most significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the extra and top page data of the instant invention)
connected to a second subset of odd-numbered bitlines associated with the target wordline of the memory device (Programming upper page data to even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]),
receiving a first request to execute a first read operation of one the lower page (Receiving a request to read selected data pages: Hsu, ¶[0384]); and
executing the first read operation, wherein executing the first read operation comprises:
causing application of a first ramping voltage to the target wordline (Applying a first read voltage: Hsu, ¶[0384]) and
accessing one or more of the even-numbered bitlines (Applying a ramping voltage to the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]; While shielding via the odd bitlines: Hsu, ¶[0311]); and
causing an output of first data
corresponding to a set of bit positions of the lower page (The data read corresponding to the first subset of data: Hsu, ¶[0384])
following completion of the application of the first ramping voltage (Outputting the first subset of data following a read of the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Hsu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising
instructions (Disclosing instructions: Hsu, ¶[0464]) that,
when executed by a processing device (Disclosing an apparatus: Hsu, ¶[0464]),
cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
initiating a program operation to program a set of memory cells (Programming a set of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0204])
associated with a set of pages
comprising a lower page, an upper page, an extra page, and a top page of a memory device (Using the program operation to program a QLC memory cell: Hsu, ¶[0209]; A set of data pages including lower, upper, extra, and top pages is inherent in programming a QLC memory cell);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of first data of the lower page and the upper page into a first subset of memory cells (Programming lower page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; This paragraph is in reference to a 2-bit (MLC) cell of lower and upper page data. Hsu explicitly explains this same approach may be applied to QLC data, however: Hsu, ¶[0378]; The ‘lower page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the least significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the lower and upper page data of the instant invention)
connected to a first subset of even-numbered bitlines associated with a target wordline of the memory device (Programming lower page data to odd bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The designation of even/odd is arbitrary, broadest reasonable interpretation interprets the key element being alternating bitlines);
causing, during the program operation,
programming of second data of the extra page and the top page into a second subset of memory cells (Programming upper page data to a subset of memory cells: Hsu, ¶[0379]; The ‘upper page’ described in ¶[0379] refers to the most significant bits and are therefore equivalent to the extra and top page data of the instant invention)
connected to a second subset of odd-numbered bitlines associated with the target wordline of the memory device (Programming upper page data to even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0379]),
receiving a first request to execute a first read operation of one the lower page (Receiving a request to read selected data pages: Hsu, ¶[0384]); and
executing the first read operation, wherein executing the first read operation comprises:
causing application of a first ramping voltage to the target wordline (Applying a first read voltage: Hsu, ¶[0384]) and
accessing one or more of the even-numbered bitlines (Applying a ramping voltage to the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]; While shielding via the odd bitlines: Hsu, ¶[0311]); and
causing an output of first data
corresponding to a set of bit positions of the lower page (The data read corresponding to the first subset of data: Hsu, ¶[0384])
following completion of the application of the first ramping voltage (Outputting the first subset of data following a read of the even bit lines: Hsu, ¶[0384]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0044746 A1 to Fu-Chang Hsu (hereafter Hsu) in view of US 11,960,758 B2 to Bhanushankar Doni Gurudath, et al. (hereafter Gurudath).
Regarding Claim 6 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 13, Hsu discloses the memory device of claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the further limitations of Claim 6. Gurudath, however, discloses a memory array as in Claim 1, wherein
the first subset of memory cells comprises a first memory cell comprising the set of bit positions of the lower page (A first subset of memory cells containing the first bit data: Gurudath, Figure 6B), wherein the set of bit positions comprises
a first bit position and a second bit position storing data associated with the lower page (Storing Lower and Middle page data: Gurudath, Figure 6B).
Gurudath discloses this division of data can improve performance (Gurudath, col.7:1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the efficient programming structure of Gurudath with the divided programming architecture of Hsu, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of QLC programming and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Claim 7 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 14, Gurudath discloses the memory device of claim 6, wherein the first memory cell comprises
a second set of bit positions
comprising a third bit position and a fourth bit position storing data associated with the upper page (Storing Upper and Top page data: Gurudath, Figure 6B).
Regarding Claim 20, Hsu discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, but fails to disclose the further limitations of Claim 20. Gurudath, however, discloses a storage medium as in Claim 15, wherein
the first subset of memory cells comprises a first memory cell comprising the set of bit positions of the lower page (A first subset of memory cells containing the first bit data: Gurudath, Figure 6B), wherein the set of bit positions comprises a first bit position and a second bit position storing data associated with the lower page (Storing Lower and Middle page data: Gurudath, Figure 6B); and
wherein the first memory cell comprises a second set of bit positions comprising a third bit position and a fourth bit position storing data associated with the upper page (Storing Upper and Top page data: Gurudath, Figure 6B).
Gurudath discloses this division of data can improve performance (Gurudath, col.7:1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the efficient programming structure of Gurudath with the divided programming architecture of Hsu, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of QLC programming and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a program mapping which enables the use of a single ramping voltage application to read multiple bits of a selected page together) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues cited prior art Hsu does not disclose, “a program mapping which enables the use of a single ramping voltage application to read multiple bits of a selected page together” (Applicant’s Argument, Page 8). This limitation is not included in Claim 1 or the other similar independent claims. Claim 1 only requires the first read operation comprises a first ramping voltage and an output of first data corresponding to a set of bit positions of the lower page. This description neither restricts the reading operation to a single ramping voltage, nor requires all data be output as a result of the first (or subsequent) ramping voltages.
Amended Claim 5 does introduce the concept of, “a program mapping which enables the use of a single ramping voltage application to read multiple bits of a selected page together,” but only in respect to the ramping of the odd-numbered bitlines and the output of the bit positions of either one of the extra page or the top page. Either single page is a binary choice and may be output following a single ramping voltage, as described in Hsu, ¶[0385].
Therefore, Applicant’s argument has been fully and carefully considered but is not persuasive. It is considered a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220415389 A1 to Violante Moshiano, et al.: Disclosing staged programming of QLC memory cells.
US 8369156 B2 to Yan Li: Disclosing inhibiting alternating bitlines during reading to speed up reading operations.
US 8179727 B2 to Hyung-Gon Kim: Disclosing separating TLC data into separate pages for programming to separate memory cells.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER LANE REECE/Examiner, Art Unit 2824 /HAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824