DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The election filed 2/17/2026 has been entered. Applicant has elected Species G relating to Figure 19, cancelled all previous claims, and provided newly amended claim set 85-98 relating to the elected species. Claims 85-98 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 87 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change the penultimate word of the claim “slidable” to “slidably”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 94 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “is configured to rest upon” in claim 94 fails to adequately define the metes and bounds of the invention and renders the claim indefinite. The term “is configured to rest upon” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, Examiner is omitting this phrase in order to treat claim 94 on the merits as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 85-90, and 93-98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts (US 20090224496 A1) in view of McWhorter et al. (US 20060272688 A1).
Regarding claim 85, Watts teaches a furniture assembly system comprising: a furniture support assembly configured to receive a furniture assembly (Figures 1-8), the furniture support assembly comprising a receiving body (element 4) with a cavity (element 5) configured to receive the furniture assembly (Figures 2-8).Watts fails to specifically teach a protection assembly selectively disposed over the cavity of the receiving body, a canopy assembly of the protection assembly being movable towards and away from the furniture support assembly, wherein at a position closest to the furniture support assembly, the protection assembly maintains a canopy assembly dimension transverse to a direction of travel of the canopy assembly toward the furniture support assembly that is greater than a dimension of the furniture support assembly transverse to the direction of travel. However, use of protection assemblies comprising canopy assemblies capable of rotational, sliding, and pivoting adjustments and movements in three dimensional planes is well known in the art as is evidenced by Figures 1-4 and the abstract of McWhorter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate McWhorter’s protection assembly comprising the maneuverable canopy assembly onto Watts’ furniture assembly system, in order to provide shade to an individual using the furniture assembly (as taught by the Abstract of McWhorter).
Regarding claim 86, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 85, further comprising an elongate support structure to which the canopy assembly mounts (Figures 1-4 of McWhorter), the elongate support structure being collapsible (Figures 1-4 of McWhorter).
Regarding claim 87, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 86, wherein the elongate support structure comprises a first support extending from a base of the furniture support assembly and a second support extending from the first support (Figures 1-4 of McWhorter), the first support and the second support slidable cooperation (Figures 1-4 and Abstract of McWhorter).
Regarding claim 88, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 87, wherein the first support and the second support are in telescoping engagement (¶ [0017] of McWhorter).
Regarding claim 89, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 88, further comprising a locking mechanism that selectively positions the canopy assembly in relation to the furniture support assembly (elements 132, 138, 116, 142, and 144 of McWhorter all satisfy this limitation).
Regarding claim 90, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 89, wherein the locking mechanism is a friction lock (elements 132, 138, 116, 142, and 144 of McWhorter all satisfy this limitation inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 93, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 85, further comprising a base (element 2 of Watts) configured to support the receiving body (abstract and ¶ [0041] of Watts).
Regarding claim 94, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 93, but fails to specifically teach wherein the receiving body further comprises a plurality of holes. However, Watts teaches the receiving body comprising a drainage hole (Figure 2, element 27 as explained in ¶ [0051, 0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to duplicate the draining holes in Watts, in order to provide an increase in drainage capability, since it has been held that mere duplication of working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding claim 95, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 85, wherein the receiving body comprise at least one point of contact with the furniture assembly (Figures 1-8 of Watts).
Regarding claim 96, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 95, wherein the least one point of contact comprises one of a perimeter of the receiving body or the bottom of the receiving cavity (Figures 1-8 of Watts).
Regarding claim 97, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 85, further comprise a locking member extending from the canopy assembly of the protection assembly (elements 132, 138, 116, 142, and 144 of McWhorter all satisfy this limitation).
Regarding claim 98, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 95, wherein the locking member extends from the canopy assembly to a base configured to support the receiving body (locking member 144 of McWhorter is demonstrated as extending and connecting the canopy assembly to a seat base, and would do so when incorporated with Watts as cited in claim 85).
Claim(s) 91-92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts (US 20090224496 A1) in view of McWhorter et al. (US 20060272688 A1), in further view of Booth (US Patent No. 6666221).
Regarding claim 91, Watts in view of McWhorter teaches the invention of claim 85, but fails to specifically teach the system further comprising a cranks assembly configured to engage with a slide movable hub. However, McWhorter does teach the system comprising a telescoping arrangement (¶ [0017]) with slidable portions. More, use of crank mechanisms to raise and lower telescopic arrangements on seat-based canopies are well known in the art are well known in the art as is evidenced by Figure 7 and Col. 3, line 35- Col. 4 , line 4 of Booth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Booth’s crank mechanism onto the combination of Watts and McWhorter, in order to provide a mechanical support and advantage to an individual wishing to raise and lower the telescoping canopy arrangement.
Regarding claim 92, Watts in view of McWhorter and Booth teaches the invention of claim 91, further comprising at least one rib connecting a canopy of the canopy assembly to the movable hub (Figure 1 of McWhorter depicts an unlabeled rib system connecting the canopy to a plurality of movable hubs.)
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644