The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 stand rejected as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the roof deck of claim 16 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered. For the purpose of examination, the roof deck of claim 16 is interpreted as the surface of a roof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The statement “an asphalt-based adhesive or a non-asphalt-based adhesive” is not limiting as it describes every possible type of adhesive as disclosed in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 6-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiao (US-20210262232-A1), and further in view of Jeppesen (US-20100039226-A1).
In regard to Claim 1, Shiao discloses a roofing shingle (Fig 3, element 200)[0051], comprising: a first shingle portion (Fig 1, element 110)[0041], comprising: a base portion (Fig. 1, element 115)[0041], and a plurality of tooth portions (tabs 116) extending from the base portion, wherein the plurality of tooth portions comprises at least a first tooth portion (Fig. 1)[0041]; a second shingle portion positioned to at least partially overlap the first shingle portion (Fig. 1, element 118)[0041]; a first adhesive line between the first tooth portion and the second shingle portion [0041]; Shiao does not disclose an RFID tag in the first adhesive line. Jeppesen teaches arranging a RFID tag onto the first layer of material prior to providing the second layer of material (Abstract) and, in some embodiments, one surface of the tag is provided with a suitable adhesive [0042-0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of figure 1 of Shiao to include the RFID tag in the first adhesive line as taught by Jeppesen, in order to accurately identify and track the product after it has been manufactured.
In regard to Claim 2, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is fully within an interior of the first adhesive line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle as disclosed by Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 3, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043].
In regard to Claim 4, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first tooth portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle of Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 5, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the second shingle portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle of Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 6, Shiao discloses wherein the first adhesive line comprises an asphalt-based adhesive or a non-asphalt-based adhesive [0041].
In regard to Claim 7, Shiao discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the first tooth portion comprises: a substrate [0060]; an asphalt-filled layer on the substrate [0060]; and a plurality of granules on the asphalt-filled layer [0002].
In regard to Claim 8, Shiao discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the substrate comprises a fiberglass mat [0058].
In regard to Claim 9, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Shiao discloses a first adhesive line between the first tooth portion and the second shingle portion [0041], but does not disclose a second adhesive line between the first tooth portion and the second shingle portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include additional adhesive lines within the shingle of the combination of Shiao and Jeppesen to provide better wind resistance and enhanced water proofing.
In regard to Claim 10, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Shiao discloses a first adhesive line between the first tooth portion and the second shingle portion [0041], but does not disclose a third adhesive line between the base portion and the second shingle portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include additional adhesive lines within the shingle of the combination of Shiao and Jeppesen to provide better wind resistance and enhanced water proofing.
In regard to Claim 16, Shiao discloses a roofing system, comprising: a roof deck [0041]; a roofing shingle installed on the roof deck (Fig 3, element 200)[0051], the roofing shingle comprising: a first shingle portion (Fig 1, element 110)[0041], comprising: a base portion (Fig. 1, element 115)[0041], and a plurality of tooth portions (tabs 116) extending from the base portion, wherein the plurality of tooth portions comprises at least a first tooth portion (Fig. 1)[0041]; a second shingle portion positioned to at least partially overlap the first shingle portion (Fig. 1, element 118)[0041]; a first adhesive line between the first tooth portion and the second shingle portion [0041]; Shiao does not disclose an RFID tag in the first adhesive line. Jeppesen teaches arranging a RFID tag onto the first layer of material prior to providing the second layer of material (Abstract) and, in some embodiments, one surface of the tag is provided with a suitable adhesive [0042-0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of figure 1 of Shiao to include the RFID tag in the first adhesive line in the embodiment of Jeppesen, in order to accurately identify and track the product after it has been manufactured.
In regard to Claim 17, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is fully within an interior of the first adhesive line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle of Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 18, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043].
In regard to Claim 19, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first tooth portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle of Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 20, Shiao and Jeppesen disclose a roofing shingle as described above. Jeppesen discloses the roofing shingle as described above wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the first adhesive line [0042-0043] but does not disclose wherein the RFID tag is on a surface of the second shingle portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations within or on the surface of the shingle of Shiao, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinault (US-7125601-B1), and further in view of Jeppesen (US-20100039226-A1) and Bondoc (US-4717614-A).
In regard to Claim 11, Pinault discloses a roofing shingle (Fig. 2 element 30 & pg 6, col 8, lines 24-31), comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2 element 32& pg 6, col 8, lines 24-32); a first asphalt-filled layer on the substrate (Fig. 2 element 32 & pg 6, col 8, lines 24-32); a plurality of granules on the first asphalt-filled layer (Fig. 2 element 34 & pg 6, col 8, lines 24-32). Pinault does not disclose an RFID tag on the substrate, wherein at least a portion of the first asphalt-filled layer covers the RFID tag. Jeppesen teaches arranging a RFID tag onto the first layer of material prior to providing the second layer of material (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment disclosed in Pinault to include the RFID tag for roofing products disclosed in Jeppesen, in order to accurately identify and track the product after it has been manufactured.
In regard to Claim 12, Pinault and Jeppesen disclose the roofing shingle as described above. Pinault does not disclose a second asphalt-filled layer, wherein the first asphalt-filled layer and the second asphalt-filled layer are on opposite sides of the substrate. Bondoc discloses the roofing shingle as described above further comprising: a second asphalt-filled layer, wherein the first asphalt-filled layer and the second asphalt-filled layer are on opposite sides of the substrate (Fig. 3 elements 30, 32, and 34 & pg 10, col 9, lines 45-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment disclosed in Pinault in combination with Jeppesen to include the second asphalt-filled layer on roofing products disclosed in Bondoc, in order to improve the weather resistance and increase the life of the shingles.
In regard to Claim 13, Pinault and Jeppesen disclose the roofing shingle as described above wherein the substrate comprises a fiberglass mat (pg 8, col 8, lines 41-43).
In regard to Claim 14, Pinault and Jeppesen disclose the roofing shingle as described above wherein the wherein the roofing shingle includes a headlap portion and a reveal portion (Fig. 2) but do not disclose wherein RFID tag is below the headlap portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations on the shingle of Pinault, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
In regard to Claim 15, Pinault and Jeppesen disclose the roofing shingle as described above wherein the wherein the roofing shingle includes a headlap portion and a reveal portion (Fig. 2) but do not disclose wherein RFID tag is below the reveal portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the RFID tag as disclosed by Jeppesen able to be placed in multiple locations on the shingle of Pinault, in order to enable manufacturing flexibility and variability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See list of references on attached PTO-892.
/A.B.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635