DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 09/02/2026.
Claim 3, 4, 14, 15 were previously canceled.
Claim 5 has been canceled.
Claims 13 and 19 have been canceled.
Claims 16, 22 and 24 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 18, 21 and 27 have been amended.
Claim 30 has been added.
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 17-18 and 20-21, 23, 25-30 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 101 rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserted that “these additional features further integrate claim 1 into a practical application by using the determination . . . which cause different actions to be performed by the computing device.” But, using real-time processing to detect fraud is not an improvement to technology. Rather, the concept is based on fraud detection by leveraging the existing technology. Hence, the limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application: They are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Similarly, under step 2B Prong Two, the Applicant asserted that “the additional elements noted above, particularly when viewed as an ordered combination, amount to ‘significantly more’ than any alleged ineligible subject matter . . .”. However, the limitations are not indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”): They are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
With regard to the 103 rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The amended limitation further clarified the claim limitations. However, Sehrer still disclosed the claim limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Ranganathan in view of Milton by combining the feature of determining whether the transaction is a false positive using machine learning model as taught by Sehrer because modifying Ranganathan in view of Milton helps to reduce the false positive incidents in the system (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 17-18 and 20-21, 23, 25-30 are directed to a system or method which are one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 17-18 and 20-21, 23, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 17-18 and 20-21, 23, 25-30 are directed to an abstract idea in the Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide generic computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1, recites, in part, A computer-implemented method for determining false positive fraud alerts associated with a transaction based upon transaction data and device usage data,, the method comprising: receiving, by a processor and from a first computing device of a seller of a product, transaction data associated with the transaction, wherein the transaction data includes a transaction time, an identification of the product, and a transaction location; determining, by the processor, in real-time, a user associated with the transaction; determining, by the processor and based at least in part on the transaction location, an indication of potential fraud associated with the transaction; in response to determining the indication: retrieving, by the processor and via a network, usage data from a second computing device associated with the user, wherein the usage data includes information indicative of an interest of the user related to the identified product, and determining, by the processor in real-time and by inputting at least a portion of the transaction data and the usage data into a trained machine learning program (ML) model, a likelihood that the indication of the potential fraud is false, wherein the ML model is trained to identify characteristics of usage data indicative of a fraudulent transaction; and providing, by the processor, via the network and in real-time, to the first computing device and based at least in part on the likelihood: a first executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a first action resulting in the first computing device completing execution of the transaction, or a second executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a second action resulting in the first computing device refraining from executing the transaction.. The limitations are directed to concept of detecting location based fraudulent in transactions (sales behaviors-commercial interactions), which belongs in Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claims 11 recites, in part, A computer system configured to prevent or complete transactions determining fraud alerts associated with a transaction based upon transaction data and device usage data, the computer system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a processor and from a first computing device of a seller of a product, transaction data associated with the transaction, wherein the transaction data includes a transaction time, an identification of the product, and a transaction location; determining, by the processor, a user associated with the transaction; determining, by the processor, in real-time and based at least in part on the transaction location, an indication of potential fraud associated with the transaction location as an input to a trained rules engine; in response to determining the indication: retrieving, by the processor and via a network, usage data from a second computing device associated with the user, wherein the usage data includes information indicative of an interest of the user related to the identified product, and determining, by the processor and by inputting at least a portion of the transaction data and the usage data into a trained machine learning (ML) model, a likelihood that the indication of the potential fraud is false, wherein the ML model is trained to identify characteristics of usage data indicative of a fraudulent transaction; providing, by the processor and via the network and in real -time, to the first computing device, and based at least in part on the likelihood: a first executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a first action resulting in the first computing device completing execution of the transaction, or a second executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a second action resulting in the first computing device refraining from executing the transaction. The limitations are directed to concept of detecting location based fraudulent in transactions (sales behaviors-commercial interactions), which belongs in Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites, in part, A computer-implemented method for determining false positive fraud alerts associated with a transaction based upon transaction data and device usage data, the method comprising: receiving, by a processor and from a first computing device of a seller of a product, transaction data associated with the transaction, wherein the transaction data includes a transaction time, an identification of the product, and a transaction location; determining, by the processor, a user associated with the transaction; determining, by the processor, in real-time and based at least in part on the transaction location, an indication of potential fraud associated with the transaction; in response to determining the indication: retrieving, by the processor and via a network, usage data from a second computing device associated with the user, wherein the usage data includes information indicative of an interest of the user related to the identified product, determining, by the processor and in real-time, and by inputting at least a portion of the transaction data and the usage data into a trained machine learning program (ML) Model, a likelihood that the indication of the potential fraud is false, wherein the ML model is trained to identify characteristics of usage data indicative of a fraudulent transaction; and providing, by the processor and via the network and in real-time, to the first computing device, and based at least in part on the likelihood: a first executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a first action resulting in the first computing device completing executing the transaction, or a second executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a second action resulting in the first computing device refraining from executing the transaction. The limitations are directed to concept of detecting location based fraudulent in transactions (sales behaviors-commercial interactions), which belongs in Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as one or more processors, a memory, one communication interface, computer-executable instructions, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions, a user computing device, a wireless network, a vehicle-installed computing device, a rule engine, smart home controller, home-mounted sensor, a user device to perform transferring, receiving, determining. The generic computer components are recited at a high-level of such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea. Claims 1, 11 and 18 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of at least a computing device to perform receiving and identifying data are merely additional elements performing the abstract idea on a generic device i.e., abstract idea and apply it. MPEP 2106.05(f). There is no improvement to computer technology or computer functionality MPEP 2106.05(a) nor a particular machine MPEP 2106.05(b) nor a particular transformation MPEP 2106.05(c). Given the above reasons, a generic processing device associated with verifying a fraudulent transaction is not an Inventive Concept. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The Dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because for the same reasoning as above and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving potential fraud alert. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) recite(s) additional element such as vehicle-installed computing device, a home-installed device, or a wearable computing devices which are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) determining a time difference between time associated with the customer locations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea of receiving an IP address and determining the customer location. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (i.e., IP address) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea of receiving a first location and a second location with first time and second time This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a computing device, a location) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving occupancy data from at least smart home controller. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (including a home-mounted sensor, a smart home controller, occupancy data, a customer, a home) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea receiving network connection data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (i.e., user computing device) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) retrieving device usage data from each of a plurality of computing devices associated with the customer. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a user computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an online search for the product by the user. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an online search for the product by the user, a visit to a website associated with the product by the user, an online search for products related to the product, or an online search for the products in a price range corresponding to a transaction amount of the transaction. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) retrieving the usage data in real-time. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) providing executable instruction based on the likelihood less than a threshold. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving transaction in real-time. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) determining online search record. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as computing devices) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 17-18 and 20-21, 23, 25-30 are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10-11, 17- 18, 20-21, 23 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranganathan (US 2012/0209773 A1) in view of Milton et al. (US 2015/0199699 A1) in further view of Sehrer (US 8,983,868 B1).
Claims 1, 11 and 18 are grouped together. Claim 11, for instant is disclosed: Ranganathan discloses: A computer system configured to prevent transmission of false positive fraud alerts associated with a transaction based upon transaction data and device usage data, the computer system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a processor and from a first computing device of a seller of a produce, transaction data associated with the transaction, wherein the transaction data includes a transaction time, an identification of the product, and a transaction location (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0023] “ When it has been determined that fraud is likely, either the user, the merchant/seller, and/or an issuer of the credit card can be alerted (block 208) . . .” & see at least par. [0028] “. . . When a user swipes a credit card at a store to pay for goods/services, the physical location of the merchant/service provider is sent the bank/financial institution/payment provider and onto a server in the fraud alerting system where the physical location of the merchant/service provider is compared against the last known location of the user's cell phone in real-time . . .” & see at least par. [0059] “. . . Merchant server 640 includes a database 645 identifying available products and/or services (e.g., collectively referred to as items) which may be made available for viewing and purchase by user 605. Merchant server 640 also includes a marketplace application 650 which may be configured to serve information over network 660 to browser 615 of user device 610 . . .”) Interpretation: the data includes both the location of the user and at any given time (or in real-time) and the identifying product;
in response to determining the indication: determining a first computing device associated with the user (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0041] “ It is then determined if the transaction device is authorized for use with the credit card or payment instrument (block 306) . . .”); retrieving, by the processor and via a network, usage data from computing device associated with the user, wherein the usage data includes information indicative of an interest of the user related to the identified product, (Par. [0057]) “. . . . Applications 625 may also include email, texting, voice and IM applications that allow user 605 to send and receive emails, calls, and texts through network 660, as well as applications that enable the user to communicate, place orders, make payments, and change payment options through the payment provider. User device 610 includes one or more user identifiers 630 which may be implemented, for example, as operating system registry entries, cookies associated with browser application 615, identifiers associated with hardware of user device 610, or other appropriate identifiers, such as used for payment/user/device authentication. In one embodiment, user identifier 630 may be used by a payment service provider to associate user 605 with a particular account maintained by the payment provider as further described herein. A communications application 622, with associated interfaces, enables user device 610 to communicate within system 600, such as via a cell phone network . . .”) network data such as internet usage could indicate customer’s interest via the use of cookie.
determining, by the processor, a user associated with the transaction (par. [0020]) Interpretation: information of the user could include cell phone number; location data from the user computing device; (Ranganathan, Fig. 1 step 206 & 208, Par. [0022] “A likelihood of fraud in the payment transaction is then determined based on a difference between the location of the user and the location of the transaction (block 206). This difference may vary, depending on system fraud requirements, user settings, accuracy or resolution of the location determinations, etc. For example, if the distance between the user device and the transaction device is more than 500 meters, a possible fraud may be identified.” & [0023] “When it has been determined that fraud is likely, either the user, the merchant/seller, and/or an issuer of the credit card can be alerted (block 208).”) Location of the user is detected;
and providing, by the processor and via the network, to the first computing device (par. [0023] “ When it has been determined that fraud is likely, either the user, the merchant/seller, and/or an issuer of the credit card can be alerted (block 208). The alert may be through a text, email, or call to the user device, the merchant, and/or the credit card issuer . . .”), and based at least in part on the likelihood: a first executable instruction causing the first computing device perform a first action resulting in the first computing device completing execution of the transaction (see at least par. [0036] “. . . The fraud alerting system enables consumers to link specific devices to their payment account and only transactions originating from those devices are permitted to carry out transactions using the specific payment account. All other transactions result in alerts sent to the user's mobile device and/or end up in review queues.”), or a second executable instruction causing the first computing device to perform a second action resulting in the first computing device refraining from executing the transaction (par. [0032] Interpretation: the transaction disclosed in this portion is based at least in part on the location and at the time of transaction (geo IP address) & par. [0042] Interpretation: If no fraud alert is detected, the transaction is approved, completed and no alert would be generated and sent to a mobile device.)
Ranganathan does not disclose the following; however, Milton teaches:
determining, by the processor, in real-time (Milton, see at least par. [0055] “. . . p. Some embodiments may be configured for real-time model optimization by re-learning these parameters in the face of new data . . .”), and based at least in part on using the transaction location as an input to a trained rules engine,, an indication of potential fraud associated with the transaction (Milton, [0030] “Some embodiments include a fraud detector 24 which may include an automated process run by a financial institution that detects anomalous behavior indicative of fraud based, in part, on correlations (or lack thereof) between financial transactions and patterns identified by the geolocation analytics platform 12. For instance, in some embodiments, the fraud detector 24 may submit a query to the geolocation analytics platform 12 based on a financial transaction, such as the purchase of a particular type of automobile, and the geolocation analytics platform 12 may respond with an audience classification of the user. In some embodiments the fraud detector 24 may determine whether the user who engaged in the financial transaction is likely to be a member of the audience for such purchases based on the data provided by the geolocation analytics platform 12. For example, a user who is not a member of an audience in Austin, Tex. that is present in Austin golf courses regularly, upon purchasing a set of golf clubs, may trigger a fraud alert, when the fraud detector receives a report for the geolocation analytics platform 12 that the user is not a member of an Austin, Tex., golf-playing audience.” & Par. [0059]) Interpretation: the system determines that a transaction could potentially fraudulent by using the geolocation analytics platform and the classification of the user. Machine learning is discussed in Par. [0059].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ranganathan by combining the feature of using machine learning an inputting the transaction data into a rule engine of as taught by Milton, because modifying Ranganathan helps to better predict whether the transaction is actually a fraudulent activity by reducing a measure of error when applied to a training set of data (par. [0055]). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Ranganathan in view of Milton does not disclose the following; however, Sehrer teaches:
and determining, by inputting at least a portion of the transaction data (see at least claim 3 “. . . conducting a purchase transaction with the user for a travel item, the travel item indicating a geographic location to which the user plans to travel; and storing travel information indicating the geographic location to which the user plans to travel; wherein determining whether the location of the user device when the request was made is an unexpected location comprises determining whether the location of the user device when the request was made is the location to which the stored travel information indicates the user plans to travel”) and the device location data into a trained machine learning program (ML) model(Sehrer, Col. 8, ln 5-19) Interpretation: the system uses the social (login) model to determine location of the user and such model could be a machine learned model, a likelihood that the indication of the potential location-based fraud is false (Sehrer, Col. 5 ln 21-40) Interpretation: the system performs certain determining steps to determine whether the fraud alert transaction is a false positive., wherein the ML model is trained to identify characteristics of usage data indicative of a fraudulent transaction (Col. 8 ln 9-20 “The score represents the likelihood that the user is at the location.” & “In one embodiment, the social module 308 calculates the score based on social networking information of the user with the social networking system 108. In one embodiment, the social module 308 also uses social networking information of the other users connected to the user to calculate the score. In one embodiment, the social module 308 uses a statistical model to calculate the score based on the social networking information. In one embodiment, the statistical model is a machine learned model.” & Col. 8 ln 41-49, “In other embodiments, the social module 308 may calculate the score based on information other than social networking information. In one embodiment, the social module 308 may also calculate the score based on the user's web browsing history (e.g., any views of web pages related to the geographic location), search engine search history (e.g., searches related to the location), and/or application usage history (e.g., using a mapping service application to identify the location in a map).”) The usage data is input into the model to calculate the score to detect whether the fraud is a false positive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Ranganathan in view of Milton by combining the feature of determining whether the transaction is a false positive using machine learning model as taught by Sehrer because modifying Ranganathan in view of Milton helps to reduce the false positive incidents in the system (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 6, 20 are grouped together. Claim 6 is disclosed, for instance: Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan teaches: further comprising: determining a time difference between the time associated with the customer location data and the transaction time, and preventing the transaction from being executed based on determining the time difference is within a time duration threshold (Ranganathan, par. [0029]) Interpretation: the time duration threshold, under BRI, corresponds to confidence level.
Claim 7 is disclosed: Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: wherein initiating retrieval of the device location data further comprises: receiving an IP address associated with a computing device used to complete the transaction(Ranganathan, Par. [0042]) Interpretation: IP address and geolocation are collected by the system.
Claim 8 is disclosed: Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: wherein the usage data is retrieved and the likelihood is determined by the processor in real-time. (see at least par. [0041] “. . . This may be carried out in real time or may be sent asynchronously requesting authorization within a certain number of hours or days . . .”) & see at least par. [0049] “. . . The illustration builds on the specific case where the person was last spotted within a few miles of San Francisco International Airport (SFO). It considers time of day, departing flights around that time, average commercial flight speed, FAA flight records for public and private flights and potential destinations . . .”) Interpretation: first time could correspond to departing time; and receiving, from a second computing device associated with the customer, a second location associated with a second time, wherein determining the customer location comprises matching the transaction time to a nearest time of the first time and the second time. (Ranganathan, par. [0050] “The last known locations are shown in positions 1 and 2. The time, location, heading and speed are known. At positions 3, 4, and 5, the cell phone location is unknown (perhaps it ran out of batteries). Based on the information collected at positions 1 and 2, a trajectory along the route can be calculated to predict the user's position at a given time at positions 3,4, and 5 . . .” & [0051]) Interpretation: The cited portion discloses determining second time matching second location, and therefore, the system would be able to verify transaction time
Claims 10, 17 are grouped together. Claim 10, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: wherein the usage data further comprises at least one of: receiving network connection data associated with the user computing device; receiving Internet browsing data associated with the user computing device; social media activity data associated with the user computing device. (Ranganathan, [0026] “Knowing the location of a user associated with the payment account or the cardholder and comparing it to the location of the transaction, both in the physical world (location of the point of sale terminal) or in an online world (geo IP location of the computer/device used in the transaction)”.) Online data search as geo IP location is collected by the system.
Claims 21 and 23 are grouped together. Claim 21, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: wherein determining the user computing device comprises: retrieving device usage data from each of a plurality of computing devices associated with the customer (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0062] “. . . User accounts may also contain information about one or more devices associated with the user and the user account, such as a device ID, IP address, current location of device, history of device locations, and other information about device location as described herein, such as direction of movement.”); and determining, based at least in part on the retrieved device usage data, a likelihood that the user computing device was present with the customer at the time corresponding to the transaction time (par. [0042]) Interpretation: the location of the user device is retrieved to compare with the customer’s location at the transaction time.
Claim 25, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the information indicative of the interest of the user related to the product includes at least one of: an online search for the product by the user, a visit to a website associated with the product by the user, an online search for products related to the product, or an online search for the products in a price range corresponding to a transaction amount of the transaction (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0059] “. . . Merchant server 640 includes a database 645 identifying available products and/or services (e.g., collectively referred to as items) which may be made available for viewing and purchase by user 605. Merchant server 640 also includes a marketplace application 650 which may be configured to serve information over network 660 to browser 615 of user device 610. In one embodiment, user 605 may interact, either through user device 610 or transaction device 635, with marketplace application 650 through browser applications over network 660 in order to view various products, food items, or services identified in database 645 . . .”).
Claim 26, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: The computer system of claim 23, wherein the information indicative of the interest of the user related to the product includes at least one of: an online search for the product by the user, a visit to a website associated with the product by the user, or an online search for products related to the product (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0059] “. . . Merchant server 640 includes a database 645 identifying available products and/or services (e.g., collectively referred to as items) which may be made available for viewing and purchase by user 605. Merchant server 640 also includes a marketplace application 650 which may be configured to serve information over network 660 to browser 615 of user device 610. In one embodiment, user 605 may interact, either through user device 610 or transaction device 635, with marketplace application 650 through browser applications over network 660 in order to view various products, food items, or services identified in database 645 . . .”).
Claim 27, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 11. Ranganathan further teaches: The computer system of claim 11, wherein the usage data is retrieved, and the likelihood is determined by the processor, in real-time (Ranganathan, see at least par. [0041] “. . . This may be carried out in real time or may be sent asynchronously requesting authorization within a certain number of hours or days . . .”).
Claim 28, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Ranganathan further teaches: wherein the processor provides the first executable instruction based on the likelihood being less than a threshold, or provides the second executable instruction based on the likelihood being equal to or greater than the threshold (Ranganathan, par. [0029]) Interpretation: the time duration threshold, under BRI, corresponds to confidence level.
29. Claim 29, for instance, is disclosed. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 18. Ranganathan further teaches:, wherein the transaction data is received at a first time, and the processor provides the first executable instruction or the second executable instruction at a second time less than a threshold duration from the first time (see at least par. [0043] “ the transaction is determined not to be a Web (or app) transaction, the merchant address and/or the merchant geo IP address are obtained (block 320). The mobile device's current location or last known location is also obtained (block 312). It is then determined if the merchant address matches the mobile device location within a predefined distance threshold (block 322).”) The distance is within predefined threshold or less than a threshold.
30. Claim 30. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the usage data comprises online search records, the method further comprising: determining, by the processor, that the usage data includes information related to the identified product based on identifying an online search record of the online search records comprising at least one of: a search for the product by the user, a search term indicative of a need of the user for the product, or a search for products related to the product (Sehrer, Col. 8 ln 41-49 “For example, if the user indicated to the social networking system 108 that she is at or near the location, the factor may contribute 10 points to the score and if a connected user posted about the location it contributes one point to the score. In one embodiment, a system administrator sets the amount of points that each factor contributes to a score. The social module 308 calculates the score by summing the points determined by searching the social networking information for the factors.”) The search history contains a search term of a product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Ranganathan in view of Milton by combining the feature of determining whether the transaction is a false positive using machine learning model as taught by Sehrer because modifying Ranganathan in view of Milton helps to reduce the false positive incidents in the system. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 2, 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranganathan (Fraud Alerting Using Mobile Phone Location – US 2012/0209773 A1) in view of Milton et al. (US 2015/0199699 A1) in further view of Sehrer (US 8,983,868 B1) in further view of Gao et al. (US 2016/0210857 A1).
Claims 2, 12 are grouped together. Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer teaches claim 1. However, Gao teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user computing device comprises at least one of: a vehicle-installed computing device; a home-installed computing device; or a wearable computing device (see at least par. [0004] “. . . In some embodiments, the travel reporter system includes an electronic data sensor mounted on a vehicle and configured to obtain real-time data about an object located within a predetermined distance of the vehicle . . .” ).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ranganathan by combining the feature of collecting data from one or more vehicle controller or mounter sensors and GPS data as taught by Gao, because modifying Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer helps to track the location of the user relative to the transaction’s location. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranganathan (Fraud Alerting Using Mobile Phone Location – US 2012/0209773 A1) in view of Milton et al. (US 2015/0199699 A1) in further view of Sehrer (US 8,983,868 B1) in further view of Fadell et al. (US 2014/0266669 A1).
Claim 9, for instance, is disclosed by Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer. However, Fadell teaches: wherein the usage data is first usage data, and the method comprises: receiving, by the processor, occupancy data from at least one of a smart home controller or a home-mounted sensor associated with disposed in a home the user;: determining, by the processor and based on the occupancy data, a time at which the user was last present at the homes wherein the likelihood is further based on the time. (Fadell, [0089] “According to embodiments, the occupants of the home can pre-program the smart-home environment 100 to broadcast specific alarms in response to specific detected conditions. For example, in the event of smoke detection, the smart-home environment 100 can broadcast via the network-connected smart devices and/or the home appliances, such as television and stereos, a pre-recorded message from the occupant notifying the occupants of a possible fire and providing emergency exit instructions. In another example, in case of detected home invasion, the smart-home environment 100 can broadcast a message to the intruders, notifying them that their presence has been detected, that the occupants possess and are trained to use firearms to protect their home, that the police have been notified, etc.”) Intrusion corresponds to the home is presently occupied.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to modify Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer by combining the feature of collecting data from smart home as taught by Fadell, because modifying Ranganathan in view of Milton in further view of Sehrer helps to determine whether information regarding the customer is stolen. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN DUC BUI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/ELIZABETH H ROSEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693