DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Contrary to the remarks, as only a portion of the object-allowable claim 12 was incorporated into the independent claims, the feature “wherein the higher the retention level, the lower the read pass voltage is applied” is considered to be taught through the passage in para 0077 of Seo (US Pat Pub 2022/0275534) (“The memory operation controller 132 may increase the voltage level difference between the first pass voltage and the second pass voltage as the degree of retention degradation of the plurality of memory cells increases”). Essentially, this is the same as the claimed feature in the amended independent claims.
This establishes ground for the rejection of the claims as follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yuan et al. (US Pat Pub 2012/0314499) in view of Yun et al. (US Pat Pub 2019/0147964), and further in view of Seo (US Pat Pub 2022/0375534).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claims 10, 11, 17 and 18, Yuan et al. disclose a storage device (for example figs. 1 – 18 and all related texts), comprising:
a non-volatile memory device (for example fig. 3, comprising a memory cell block, fig. 5 and 6); and
a storage controller (for example controller 244, fig. 3) configured to check a retention level of the memory cell block (para 0031 – 0033, retention level correlates to the number of program/erase cycles, and para 0035 discloses monitoring the number of Program/Erase cycles experienced by the memory), determine a read pass voltage based on the retention level (referred to in para 0035 as “the count of program/erase cycles and dynamically determine a current read pass voltage to use for the read process), and control the non-volatile memory device to apply the read pass voltage to the memory cell block (para 0035, “the read pass voltage optimized for cycled memory and …”).
Yuan et al. disclose storage device as set forth above, except the retention level of the memory cell block is based on an off-cell count value of the memory cell block or a time period, wherein the time period is an amount of time that has elapsed since a program operation was performed on the memory cell block, or the time period is determined based on an internal temperature of the non-volatile memory device.
The feature in which the retention level of the memory cell block is based on an off-cell count value of the memory cell block is taught by Yun et al. (see para 0171, 0172), and time period determined based on internal temperature of the non-volatile memory device (see para 0088).
As with claims 11 and 18, Yun also discloses the storage controller configured to perform an off-cell count operation on the memory cell block to obtain the off-cell count value and check the retention level based on the off-cell count value (see para 0053 – 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the features taught by the references as cited, so to improve the operation efficiency of the memory device.
Yuan et al. in view of Yun et al. disclose the storage device as set forth above, except wherein the higher the retention level, the lower the read pass voltage is applied.
Hoever, this feature is taught in Seo (para 0077 discloses “degree of retention DEGRADATION increases”—less data RETENTION as read pass voltage is INCREASED).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the features taught by the cited references, so that level of data retention degradation may be controlled by voltage applications via the controller.
Regarding claim 13, Yuan et al. also disclose the storage device of claim 10, wherein the storage controller is configured to check the retention level of the memory cell block after applying power to the non-volatile memory device (this limitation is considered inherent as the controller cannot perform any function without the memory cell block being applied with power).
As per claim 14, Yuan et al. also disclose the storage device of claim 10, wherein the storage controller is configured to check a retention level of the memory cell block after performing a program operation on the memory cell block (para 0035: “… monitor the number of program/erase cycles experienced by the memory”. The number of cycles correlates to the retention level as explained above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 15, 16 and 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LY D. PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2827
/LY D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827 July 16, 2026