DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20070078955A) in view of Yeh et al. (US 2019/0096767 A1; hereafter Yeh) and Jo et al. (US 2012/0138937 A1; hereafter Jo) and Galinski et al., Agglomeration of Pt thin films on dielectric substrates, Phys. Rev. B 82, 235415 – Published 9 December, 2010, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevB.82.235415.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (see e.g., Figures 2d, 2e), the method comprising;
providing a plurality of pattern structures disposed on a substrate and having sidewall surfaces extending in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate (see e.g., a plurality of storage nodes 60a disposed on a substrate 10 and having sidewall surfaces extending in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate 100, Figures 2d, 2e);
forming ….. dielectric layer on at least the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures (see e.g., dielectric layer 80 formed on the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of storage nodes 60a);
Kim does not explicitly teach
“forming an amorphous dielectric layer…..on the sidewall surfaces..
distributing a plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer; and
forming a first crystalline dielectric layer by thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer using laser light,
wherein thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer comprises irradiating the laser light onto the amorphous dielectric layer from upper sides of the plurality of pattern structures, and wherein the irradiated laser light is scattered from the plurality of metal particles”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yeh teaches a generic technique for crystallizing an amorphous dielectric layer, which in specific embodiments is directed towards application on the sidewalls of vertical pillars as shown in Figures 15A-15E.
Yeh teaches
forming an amorphous dielectric layer…on the sidewall surfaces…(see e.g., dielectric layer 120 (similar to dielectric layer 20) is amorphous with a thickness from about 1nm to about 10nm, Paras [0084] – [0085], [0113], Figures 2A-2F and 15A – 15E)
distributing a plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer;
Yeh teaches forming a 1nm to 5nm metallic film 125 (similar to first metallic film 25), in Figure 15, directly on an amorphous dielectric layer 120 via ALD. As this metallic film matches the materials and thickness of the metal film 240 recited in Para [0037] of the instant application, it would exhibit similar outcome that is, self-aggregate into particles. Based on physical principles, a metallic film of this thickness and composition would naturally self-aggregate into particles. This is supported by Galinski which indicates that metal thin films on amorphous dielectric surfaces experience low adhesion energy, accelerating agglomeration kinetics. Galinski specifically demonstrates that void formation at the film-substrate interface is increased by a factor of 9 when the substrate is amorphous rather than crystalline, confirming that the amorphous nature of Yeh’s dielectric layer facilitates particle formation (see e.g., Pt thin films were deposited on amorphous Si.sub.3N.sub4. It is shown that two in general independent physical processes control the morphological evolution and kinetics of thin-film agglomeration: one attributes to the film-ambient interface and the other to the film-substrate interface. Void formation at the film-substrate interface is enhanced by a factor of 9 in the case of the amorphous-crystalline interface due to a lower adhesion energy of the film. Abstract).
forming a first crystalline dielectric layer by thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer using laser light (see e.g., the energy beam 140 (similar to energy beam 40), which maybe a laser light beam, is applied not only to the bottom portion of the dielectric layer 120 but also the sidewall portions of the dielectric layer 120 to anneal it. This annealing process changes the amorphous dielectric portion 120 to ferroelectric portion 270/275 that is, the amorphous changes to an orthorhombic phase having a ferroelectricity property, Paras [0091], [0117], Figures 15A-15E),
wherein thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer comprises irradiating the laser light onto the amorphous dielectric layer from upper sides of the plurality of pattern structures, and (see e.g., the energy beam 140 is irradiated from the upper sides of the spacers 240 to the dielectric layer 120 as shown in Figure 15A)
wherein the irradiated laser light is scattered from the plurality of metal particles.
The scattering of irradiated laser light from metallic particles is an inherent physical property of Yeh’s self-aggregating metallic 125. As taught by Jo, metal particles inherently scatter light due to surface plasmon resonances when exposed to laser radiation (see e.g. the metal thin film 320 is annealed to agglomerate the metal particles therein into a plurality of metal nanoparticles. The metal nanoparticles have various sizes and shapes. When light reaches the metal nanoparticles, the metal nanoparticles scatter the light due to the surface plasmon phenomenon. As the thickness of the metal thin film 320 increases, the diameter of the metal nanoparticles tends to increase, Para [0071], Figures 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yeh’s teachings of forming an amorphous dielectric layer…..on the sidewall surfaces.. distributing a plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer; and
forming a first crystalline dielectric layer by thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer using laser light, wherein thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer comprises irradiating the laser light onto the amorphous dielectric layer from upper sides of the plurality of pattern structures, and wherein the irradiated laser light is scattered from the plurality of metal particles in the method of Kim in order to form high quality crystalline dielectric layers by exploiting laser scattering mechanics.
Regarding claim 2, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim further teaches
wherein the plurality of pattern structures comprises a plurality of storage node electrodes spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate over the substrate (see e.g., plurality of storage nodes 60a, made of metal, are spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate 10, Figures 2d-2e).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pattern structures has a shape of a conductive pillar structure (see e.g., the plurality of storage nodes 60a has a cylindrical shape as shown in Figures 2d-2e in order to increase the electrode surface area).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim does not explicitly teach
“wherein a sidewall surface of one pattern structure among the plurality of the pattern structures is disposed within a space of 20 nm to 100 nm from a sidewall surface of another adjacent pattern structure”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
Kim teaches the general structure and arrangement of storage nodes in a semiconductor device. While Kim may not explicitly recite the 20nm to 100nm range for the sidewall-to-sidewall distance, this range represents a specific spacing for high density pattern structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have a sidewall surface of one pattern structure among the plurality of the pattern structures is disposed within a space of 20 nm to 100 nm from a sidewall surface of another adjacent pattern structure in order to optimize layout density or electrical characteristics.
Regarding claim 5, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim does not explicitly teach
“wherein distributing the plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer comprises: forming a metal thin film to have a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm on the amorphous dielectric layer; and allowing the formed metal thin film to self-aggregate to form the plurality of metal particles”
In a similar field of endeavor Yeh teaches
wherein distributing the plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer comprises: forming a metal thin film to have a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm on the amorphous dielectric layer; and allowing the formed metal thin film to self-aggregate to form the plurality of metal particles (see e.g., the metallic film 125 (similar to metallic film 25) is about 1nm to 5nm and formed on the amorphous dielectric layer 120. As explained in claim 1, this thin metallic film inherently self-aggregates into metal particles, Paras [0087], [0113], Figures 15A-15E)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively field to implement Yeh’s teachings of wherein distributing the plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer comprises: forming a metal thin film to have a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm on the amorphous dielectric layer; and allowing the formed metal thin film to self-aggregate to form the plurality of metal particles in the method of Kim in order to provide desired modification to the dielectric layer.
Kim does not explicitly teach
plurality of metal particles having a size of 0.1 nm to 5 nm.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Jo teaches as the thickness of the metal thin film 320 increases, the diameter of the metal nanoparticles tends to increase. (see e.g., Para [0071]). This direct relationship makes the specific particle size a result effective variable that a person of ordinary skill would manipulate to optimize performance. Adjusting the film thickness to later particle size represents a mere change in proportion or degree, which is not inventive even if it produces superior results compared to prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to optimize the metal thin film to self-aggregate to form the plurality of metal particles having a size of 0.1 nm to 5 nm in order to achieve to achieve predictable performance improvements.
Regarding claim 6, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim does not explicitly teach
“wherein irradiating the laser light comprises irradiating the laser light in a direction substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces”
In a similar filed of endeavor Yeh teaches
wherein irradiating the laser light comprises irradiating the laser light in a direction substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces (see e.g., energy beam 140 is applied substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces of spacers 240 as shown in Figure 15A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yeh’s teachings of wherein irradiating the laser light comprises irradiating the laser light in a direction substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces in the method of Kim for desired interaction with surfaces.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim does not explicitly teach
“wherein irradiating the laser light comprises allowing laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles positioned over a sidewall surface of one pattern structure to reach the amorphous dielectric layer disposed on a sidewall surface of another pattern structure facing the one pattern structure”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yeh teaches
wherein irradiating the laser light comprises allowing laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles positioned over a sidewall surface of one pattern structure to reach the amorphous dielectric layer disposed on a sidewall surface of another pattern structure facing the one pattern structure (see e.g., forming a thin metallic film 125 on amorphous dielectric layer 120. As explained in claim 1, this thin metallic film self-aggregates into metal particles and the scattering of irradiated laser light from metallic particles is an inherent physical property of Yeh’s self-aggregating metallic 125.
Scattered light between sidewall surfaces concentrates energy onto amorphous dielectric layer, driving a phase transition to a crystalline structure as described in Figure 15B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yeh’s teachings of wherein irradiating the laser light comprises allowing laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles positioned over a sidewall surface of one pattern structure to reach the amorphous dielectric layer disposed on a sidewall surface of another pattern structure facing the one pattern structure in the method of Kim in order to achieve desired modification of the amorphous dielectric film.
Regarding claim 8, Kim, as modified by Yeh, Jo and Galinski, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Kim does not explicitly teach
“wherein the irradiated laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles forms a scattered laser light such that the scattered laser light thermally treats the amorphous dielectric layer while reciprocating between the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures.”
In a similar field of endeavor Yeh teaches
wherein the irradiated laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles forms a scattered laser light such that the scattered laser light thermally treats the amorphous dielectric layer while reciprocating between the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures (see e.g., forming a thin metallic film 125 on amorphous dielectric layer 120. As explained in claim 1, this thin metallic film self-aggregates into metal particles and the scattering of irradiated laser light from metallic particles is an inherent physical property of Yeh’s self-aggregating metallic 125.
Scattered light between sidewall surfaces concentrates energy onto amorphous dielectric layer, driving a phase transition to a crystalline structure as described in Figure 15B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yeh’s teachings of wherein the irradiated laser light scattered from the plurality of metal particles forms a scattered laser light such that the scattered laser light thermally treats the amorphous dielectric layer while reciprocating between the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures in the method of Kim in order to achieve desired modification of the amorphous dielectric film.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2019/0096767 A1; hereafter Yeh) in view of Jo et al. (US 2012/0138937 A1; hereafter Jo) and Galinski et al., Agglomeration of Pt thin films on dielectric substrates, Phys. Rev. B 82, 235415 – Published 9 December, 2010, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevB.82.235415.
Regarding claim 9, Yeh teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (see e.g., Figures 15A-15E), the method comprising;
providing a plurality of pattern structures disposed on a substrate and having sidewall surfaces extending in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate (see e.g., a plurality of spacers 240 disposed on the fin structure 210 having sidewall surfaces extending in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the fin structure 210, Para [0108], Figures 15A – 15E);
forming an amorphous dielectric layer on at least the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures (see e.g., forming an amorphous dielectric layer 120 (similar to the dielectric layer 20) on the sidewall surfaces of the spacers 240, Paras [0084] – [0085], [0113], Figures 2A-2F and 15A – 15E);
distributing a plurality of metal particles on the amorphous dielectric layer;
Yeh teaches forming a 1nm to 5nm metallic film 125 (similar to first metallic film 25), in Figure 15, directly on an amorphous dielectric layer 120 via ALD. As this metallic film matches the materials and thickness of the metal film 240 recited in Para [0037] of the instant application, it would exhibit similar outcome that is, self-aggregate into particles. Based on physical principles, a metallic film of this thickness and composition would naturally self-aggregate into particles. This is supported by Galinski which indicates that metal thin films on amorphous dielectric surfaces experience low adhesion energy, accelerating agglomeration kinetics. Galinski specifically demonstrates that void formation at the film-substrate interface is increased by a factor of 9 when the substrate is amorphous rather than crystalline, confirming that the amorphous nature of Yeh’s dielectric layer facilitates particle formation (see e.g., Pt thin films were deposited on amorphous Si.sub.3N.sub4. It is shown that two in general independent physical processes control the morphological evolution and kinetics of thin-film agglomeration: one attributes to the film-ambient interface and the other to the film-substrate interface. Void formation at the film-substrate interface is enhanced by a factor of 9 in the case of the amorphous-crystalline interface due to a lower adhesion energy of the film. Abstract).
forming a first crystalline dielectric layer by thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer using laser light (see e.g., the energy beam 140 (similar to energy beam 40), which maybe a laser light beam, is applied not only to the bottom portion of the dielectric layer 120 but also the sidewall portions of the dielectric layer 120 to anneal it. This annealing process changes the amorphous dielectric portion 120 to ferroelectric portion 270/275 that is, the amorphous changes to an orthorhombic phase having a ferroelectricity property, Paras [0091], [0117], Figures 15A-15E),
wherein thermally treating the amorphous dielectric layer comprises irradiating the laser light in a direction substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures and (see e.g., the energy beam 140, including laser light beam, is irradiated in a direction substantially parallel to the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of spacers 240 as shown in Figure 15A)
the irradiated laser light is scattered from the plurality of metal particles to form a scattered laser light such that the scattered laser light thermally treats the amorphous dielectric layer while reciprocating between the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of pattern structures.
The scattering of irradiated laser light from metallic particles is an inherent physical property of Yeh’s self-aggregating metallic 125. This is confirmed by Jo, metal particles inherently scatter light due to surface plasmon resonances when exposed to laser radiation (see e.g. the metal thin film 320 is annealed to agglomerate the metal particles therein into a plurality of metal nanoparticles. The metal nanoparticles have various sizes and shapes. When light reaches the metal nanoparticles, the metal nanoparticles scatter the light due to the surface plasmon phenomenon. As the thickness of the metal thin film 320 increases, the diameter of the metal nanoparticles tends to increase, Para [0071], Figures 4-5).
Scattered light between sidewall surfaces of the spacers 240 concentrates energy onto amorphous dielectric layer, driving a phase transition to a crystalline structure as described in Figure 15B of Yeh.
Conclusion
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893