DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In view of Applicant argument, see Remarks Page 8, disclosing “Saeki states that: "[t]he abnormality determination unit 32 compares the total value of the output transferred from the output calculation unit 31 with a predetermined first threshold value to determine whether or not there is an abnormality in the yaw actuator 10." (Saeki, paragraph 34, translated by espacenet). But comparing the added up current values of inverters to a threshold does not teach or suggest at least the claimed comparison value generation prior to comparison to a threshold-see, e.g., FIG. 5 and related portions of the specification as filed”. Examiner disagrees. Saeki discloses comparing the total value of the output with a predetermined threshold value for determining whether or not an abnormality has occurred while further teaching the predetermined first threshold value may be changed to the average of the total value of the output of each yaw actuator for a predetermined period prior in Para [0040], further supporting a teaching of a comparison of the measured current value to a relative yaw actuator defined by a threshold changed corresponding to each yaw actuator. Therefore Saeki discloses the claim of generating one or more comparison values by comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and determining a fault based the comparison values.
In view of Applicants argument, see Remarks Page 9, disclosing “claim 6 includes "predicting a fault will occur at a future point in time." The relied on portions of Saeki do not teach or suggest at least this feature. Claim 7 includes "identify[ing] a specific one of the plurality of yaw mechanical components that exhibits the fault condition". Saeki states that: "the yaw actuator 10 is configured by connecting a drive motor 13 that serves as a power source for yaw drive (yaw rotation), a reducer 12 that transmits the driving force of the drive motor 13 to the pinion gear 11, and the pinion gear 11 that is provided to mesh with the yaw bearing gear 9." (Saeki, paragraph 15). However, mere description of various components does not teach or suggest identification of a specific component for a fault condition, as claimed.” Examiner disagrees. Saeki discloses repeatedly executing steps S142-S145 which compares measured currents to predetermined thresholds, current measurement corresponding to measured yaw actuators, resulting in identifying abnormality amongst a plurality of yaw actuators; normal operating values define a predictable pattern, with repeated execution of comparison to determine abnormal yaw actuators (Para 0047-0050]). Saeki further discloses in Para [0017, 0034], response to abnormality detected from the compared current, power cut-off mechanism and respective components of pressure valve, hydraulic components; and in Para [0050] able to determine which set of a plurality of yaw actuators is in an abnormal state. Therefore Saeki discloses predicting a fault will occur at a future point in time based on comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold and comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold to identify a specific one of the plurality of yaw mechanical components that exhibits the fault condition based on comparing of the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Saeki et al. (JP 2020076332), hereinafter ‘Saeki’.
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 16, Saeki discloses a yaw control fault detection system comprising: a plurality of current monitors that are each configured to monitor a current amplitude of a respective one of a plurality of yaw motors of a wind turbine and to generate a current signal that is indicative of the respective current amplitude (Abstract determines abnormality of a yaw actuator of a wind power generation device and system; Para [0017] unit 16 measures the current value that is the yaw power control unit 14; The output calculation unit 31 receives the current values measured by the output measurement units 16 , calculates the sum of the current values, and outputs the sum to the abnormality determination unit 32; Para [0034] current measured corresponds to each yaw actuation 10); and a processor configured to perform operations comprising: receiving the current signal from each of the current monitors, generating one or mor comparison values by comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other (Para [0034] comparison of measuring current values of each yaw actuator to predetermined threshold values to determine whether or not an abnormality has occurred; if abnormality in the yaw actuator is detected, unit 32 outputs signal to a power cut-off corresponding to the specific yaw actuator that should be stopped; Para [0040] without being limited to this, the predetermined first threshold value may be changed to the average of the total value of the output of each yaw actuator for a predetermined period prior, further supporting a teaching of a comparison of the measured current value to a relative yaw actuator defined by a threshold changed corresponding to each yaw actuator), and determining a fault condition associated with at least one yaw mechanical drive component of the wind turbine based on comparing the generated one or more comparison values to at least one threshold (Para [0040-0041] unit 32 determines abnormality has occurred in at least one of the yaw actuator based on comparison of measured current to a threshold; Para [0034]); of Claim 11 and indicating the fault condition to a user via a user interface (Para [0043] The abnormality determination unit 32 transmits information about the detected abnormal yaw actuator to an electronic terminal 5 installed in the operation management center 3 via the communication I/F 36 and the communication network 6 . Since information about the abnormal yaw actuator is displayed on the display screen (not shown) of the electronic terminal 5, the worker (operator) can quickly determine whether maintenance is required for the abnormal yaw actuator or make arrangements to procure parts for maintenance); of Claim 16 a logic controller configured to control operation of the wind turbine (Para [0032-0034] controller device further includes units and elements which control powering, operation, and shut off of wind turbine).
Regarding Claims 2, 12, and 17, Saeki discloses wherein the operation comprise: comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other over a duration of time of activation of the yaw motors and relative to at least one time-dependent threshold to determine the fault condition associated with the at least one yaw mechanical drive component of the wind turbine, of Claim 12 based on comparing the generated one or more comparison values to the at least one time-dependent threshold (Para [0040] threshold value may be changed and/or corrected based on the performance data, where the output value of each yaw actuator and it’s respective performance data is recorded for a predetermined period).
Regarding Claims 3 and 18, Saeki discloses wherein the operations comprise: comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to the respective yaw motor over the duration of time of activation of the respective yaw motor relative to the at least one time-dependent threshold to determine the fault condition associated with the at least one yaw mechanical drive component (Para [0040] threshold value may be changed and/or corrected based on the performance data, where the output value of each yaw actuator and it’s respective performance data is recorded for a predetermined period).
Regarding Claim 4, Saeki discloses wherein the at least one time-dependent threshold comprises an activation threshold corresponding to a change of the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors over a plurality of separate instances of activation of the yaw motors (Para [0040] threshold value may be updated and performance data recorded; Para [0045-0049] selection of m yaw actuators out of n yaw actuators and controlling power and measurement of independent or set of actuators, thus providing a plurality of separate instances of activation of the yaw motors).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Saeki discloses wherein determining the fault condition comprises:
predicting a fault will occur at a future point in time based on comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold (Para [0047-0050] current measurement corresponding to measured yaw actuators, repeatedly executing steps S142-S145 which compares measured currents to predetermined thresholds resulting in identifying abnormality amongst a plurality of yaw actuators; normal operating values define a predictable pattern, with repeated execution of comparison to determine abnormal yaw actuators).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Saeki discloses wherein the at least one yaw mechanical drive component includes a plurality of yaw mechanical components (Para [0015] plurality of components such as yaw actuators, bearing gear 9, nacelle 22, rotor, blades; Para [0017-0018] clutch mechanism/unit, motor, shaft, pressure regulating valve, etc.), wherein the operations comprise: comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold to identify a specific one of the plurality of yaw mechanical components that exhibits the fault condition based on comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to each other and relative to the at least one threshold (Para [0017, 0034] in response to abnormality detected from the compared current, power cut-off mechanism and respective components of pressure valve, hydraulic components; Para [0050] able to determine which set of a plurality of yaw actuators is in an abnormal state).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Saeki discloses a yaw motor control system associated with the wind turbine, the yaw motor control system comprising the yaw control fault detection system of claim 1, the yaw motor control system further comprising: the plurality of yaw motors; the at least one yaw mechanical drive component; and a logic controller configured to control operation of the wind turbine (Para [0057-0058] and of Clm 9, wherein the logic controller comprises the processor (Para 0057).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Saeki discloses wherein the logic controller is configured to transmit the current signal from each of the current monitors to an enterprise computer system via at least one communication line associated with a wind farm that comprises the wind turbine, the enterprise computer system comprising the processor, wherein the processor is configured to indicate the fault condition to at least one user via a user interface associated with the enterprise computer system (Para [0056]; Para [0043] information about the abnormal yaw actuator is displayed on the display screen resulting in the operator quickly determining maintenance for the abnormal yaw actuator).
Regarding Claim 13, Saeki discloses wherein comparing the current amplitude comprises:
comparing the current amplitude of each of the yaw motors relative to a respective yaw motor over the duration of time of activation of the respective yaw motor relative to the at least one time-dependent threshold, wherein determining the fault condition comprises:
determining the fault condition associated with the at least one yaw mechanical drive component of the wind turbine based on comparing the generated one or more comparison values to the respective yaw motor over the duration of time of activation of the respective yaw motor relative to the at least one time-dependent threshold (Para [0040] threshold value may be changed and/or corrected based on the performance data, where the output value of each yaw actuator and it’s respective performance data is recorded for a predetermined period).
Regarding Claim 15, Saeki discloses wherein the at least one yaw mechanical drive component includes a plurality of yaw mechanical components (Para [0015] plurality of components such as yaw actuators, bearing gear 9, nacelle 22, rotor, blades; Para [0017-0018] clutch mechanism/unit, motor, shaft, pressure regulating valve, etc.), wherein determining the fault condition comprises: identifying a specific one of the plurality of yaw mechanical components that exhibits the fault condition based on comparing the generated one or more comparison values to the at least one threshold comparison (Para [0017, 0034] in response to abnormality detected from the compared current, power cut-off mechanism and respective components of pressure valve, hydraulic components; Para [0050] able to determine which set of a plurality of yaw actuators is in an abnormal state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeki et al. (JP 2020076332), hereinafter ‘Saeki’ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Balzer (US 20230304478), hereinafter ‘Balzer’.
Regarding Claim 5, Saeki fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the yaw motors are arranged as three-phase AC motors, wherein the each of the current monitors is configured to monitor the current amplitude of one phase of the three-phase AC motors, wherein the one phase is a same phase for each of the yaw motors.
However Balzer discloses a method which monitors one or more electric drives of an electromechanical installation, particularly a wind orientation control of a wind turbine with electric drive formed as three-phase drive and each phase current of three phases connects to each individual drive (Para [0047]) resulting in the control device activating the drives as needed to adjust the nacelle to a change in wind direction.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide wherein each of the yaw motors are arranged as three-phase AC motors, wherein the each of the current monitors is configured to monitor the current amplitude of one phase of the three-phase AC motors, wherein the one phase is a same phase for each of the yaw motors for the benefit of the control device activating the drives as needed to adjust the nacelle to a change in wind direction as taught by Balzer in Para [0047].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALESA ALLGOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858