DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on April 03, 2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on April 03, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 - 7,13, 15 and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0233390 A1 to GEORGIOU et al. (herein after "Georgiou") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0081445 A1 to STETSON et al. (herein after "STETSON").
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1,
Georgiou’s system for updating maps based on traffic object detection discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling motion of an autonomous vehicle (see ¶0160 ~ a method of controlling autonomous vehicles 102 relative to determination of discrepancy between the traffic light data of each of plurality of autonomous vehicles and the known traffic light data), the method comprising:
an edge between the first node and the second node indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element (see ¶0147 ~ "In an autonomous vehicle environment..., the environment... continuously changes over time... Traffic objects... include traffic signs, traffic signals, traffic lights..., or any other traffic object", ¶0151 ~ "at step 401… searching for a predetermined traffic sign within a predetermined geographic location by analyzing a region of an image frame associated with the traffic sign"; thus teaching edge determination and distinction between the first node and the second node [0029] of the disclosure, indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element per [0028] of the disclosure);
wherein the interaction type is predicted from a predetermined set of discrete interaction types (see ¶0142 ~ differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis, ¶0148, ¶0151, and ¶0160; thereby teaching differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis);
processing the interaction type between the first node and the second node to predict a trajectory of the first object (see Fig. 4A-4B ~ outlines process flow charts for managing traffic signal location discrepancies and
see ¶0133 ~ traffic elements ~ lane markers - can be predicted wherein in combination local map generation indicated in process method step S350 as in ¶0135, a described assisted cruise control teaches prediction of a trajectory of the first object); and
controlling motion of the autonomous vehicle based on a motion plan determined based on the trajectory of the first object. (See Fig. 1 and ¶0019 ~ autonomous vehicle motion is controlled based upon constraints imposed influence by objects).
However, Georgiou does not explicitly disclose an autonomous vehicle motion control method comprising obtaining graph data associated with a first node indicative of a first object in an environment of the autonomous vehicle and a second node indicative of a traffic element in the environment of the autonomous vehicle, the graph data further comprising
processing the graph data to predict an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node,
On the other hand, Stetson’s system for graph-based AI training discloses obtaining graph data associated with a first node indicative of a first object in an environment of the autonomous vehicle and a second node indicative of a traffic element in the environment of the autonomous vehicle (see Fig. 8 and
see ¶0115 ~ "FIG. 8… set of training data for an autonomous vehicle deployment during an unprotected left as a traffic light turns red developed with a graph interface system… incorporated into a graph, with each parameter being represented by nodes… linked in any of a number of ways… to generate hybrid scenarios’), the graph data further comprising processing the graph data to predict an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node. (See Fig. 8, Fig. 9 ~ outlines a process flow chart wherein traffic scene data is acquired, a knowledge graph is generated, and
see Fig. 14 ~ outlines a process flow chart wherein in process method steps 14200 - 1430, Stetson teaches acquiring a second graph and “merging a known graph and the second graph; thus teaching wherein graph data predicts an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node, and ¶0118 ~ "nodes in the knowledge graph reflect parameters within scenarios characterizing interaction types for edges between a plurality of nodes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Georgiou with the graph data acquisition, as taught by Stetson, with a reasonable expectation of success where the resultant combination would provide mapping objects in the autonomous vehicle environment to traffic elements, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher precision mapping and more reliable vehicle navigations.
As to Claim 3,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first object is a first vehicle (see Figs. 4A - 4B and ¶0147; Stetson); and
the traffic element is a red traffic light, a yellow traffic light, a green traffic light, an unknown traffic light, a stop sign, or a yield sign. (See ¶0147 ~ traffic signs and/or lights; Stetson)
As to Claim 5,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the graph data comprises
map data of an area in the environment surrounding the traffic element. (See ¶0071; Georgiou ~ a map being generated for a region in an environment surrounding the traffic element).
As to Claim 6,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the method of claim 5,
wherein the map data includes lane boundary data, left turn region data, right turn region data, motion path data, drivable area data, or intersection data. (See ¶0147; Georgiou ~ lane boundary information or any other traffic object).
As to Claim 7,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising:
updating the graph data to include data associated with the interaction type between the first node and the second node. (See Figs. 8 – 9, 14, and ¶0118; Stetson).
As to Claim 13,
Georgiou discloses a computing system for an autonomous vehicle (see Fig. 1 ~ illustrates a general arrangement of an autonomous vehicle motion control system that navigates a traffic environment world as further described in ¶0019), the computing system comprising:
one or more processors (see Fig. 5, ¶0168 ~ internal computing system 110 comprises a processor 510, and ¶0176 ~ processor); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the computing system to perform operations (see ¶0176 ~ non-transitory computer readable medium), the operations comprising:
an edge between the first node and the second node indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element (see ¶0147 ~ "In an autonomous vehicle environment..., the environment... continuously changes over time... Traffic objects... include traffic signs, traffic signals, traffic lights..., or any other traffic object", ¶0151 ~ "at step 401… searching for a predetermined traffic sign within a predetermined geographic location by analyzing a region of an image frame associated with the traffic sign"; thus teaching edge determination and distinction between the first node and the second node [0029] of the disclosure, indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element per [0028] of the disclosure);
wherein the interaction type is predicted from a predetermined set of discrete interaction types (see ¶0142 ~ differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis, ¶0148, ¶0151, and ¶0160; thereby teaching differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis);
processing the interaction type between the first node and the second node to predict a trajectory of the first object (see Fig. 4A-4B ~ outlines process flow charts for managing traffic signal location discrepancies and ¶0133 ~ traffic elements ~ lane markers - can be predicted wherein in combination local map generation indicated in process method step S350 as in ¶0135, a described assisted cruise control teaches prediction of a trajectory of the first object); and
controlling motion of the autonomous vehicle based on a motion plan determined based on the trajectory of the first object. (See Fig. 1 and ¶0019 ~ autonomous vehicle motion is controlled based upon constraints imposed influence by objects).
Stetson is then relied upon to disclose an autonomous vehicle motion control method comprising obtaining graph data associated with a first node indicative of a first object in an environment of the autonomous vehicle and a second node indicative of a traffic element in the environment of the autonomous vehicle (see Fig. 8 and ¶0115; Stetson ~ "FIG. 8… set of training data for an autonomous vehicle deployment during an unprotected left as a traffic light turns red developed with a graph interface system… incorporated into a graph, with each parameter being represented by nodes… linked in any of a number of ways… to generate hybrid scenarios”), the graph data further comprising processing the graph data to predict an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node (see Fig. 8, Fig. 9; Stetson ~ outlines a process flow chart wherein traffic scene data is acquired, a knowledge graph is generated, Fig. 14; Stetson ~ outlines a process flow chart wherein in process method steps 14200 - 1430, Stetson teaches acquiring a second graph and “merging a known graph and the second graph; thus teaching wherein graph data predicts an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node, and ¶0118; Stetson ~ "nodes in the knowledge graph reflect parameters within scenarios characterizing interaction types for edges between a plurality of nodes),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Georgiou with the graph data acquisition, as taught by Stetson, with a reasonable expectation of success where the resultant combination would provide mapping objects in the autonomous vehicle environment to traffic elements, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher precision mapping and more reliable vehicle navigations.
As to Claim 15,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the computing system of claim 13, wherein:
the first object is a first vehicle (see Figs. 4A - 4B and ¶0147; Georgiou); and the traffic element is a red traffic light, a yellow traffic light, a green traffic light, an unknown traffic light, a stop sign, or a yield sign. (See ¶0147; Georgiou).
As to Claim 19,
Georgiou/Stetson discloses the computing system of claim 13,
wherein the graph data includes a directional edge between the first node and the second node, the directional edge defining a relative position and velocity of the first object in relation to the traffic element. (See Fig. 8 and ¶0118; Stetson).
As to Claim 20,
Georgiou discloses an autonomous vehicle (see Fig. 1 ~ illustrates a general arrangement of an autonomous vehicle motion control system that navigates a traffic environment world as further described in ¶0019) comprising:
one or more processors (see Fig. 5 and ¶0168 ~ processor); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by the one or more processors (see ¶0176 ~ non-transitory computer readable medium) to cause the one or more processors to perform operations, the operations comprising:
an edge between the first node and the second node indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element; processing the graph data to predict an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node (see ¶0147 ~ "In an autonomous vehicle environment..., the environment... continuously changes over time... Traffic objects... include traffic signs, traffic signals, traffic lights..., or any other traffic object", ¶0151 ~ "at step 401… searching for a predetermined traffic sign within a predetermined geographic location by analyzing a region of an image frame associated with the traffic sign"; thus teaching edge determination and distinction between the first node and the second node [0029] of the disclosure, indicative of a relationship between the first object and the traffic element per [0028] of the disclosure),
wherein the interaction type is predicted from a predetermined set of discrete interaction types (see ¶0142 ~ differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis, ¶0148, ¶0151, and ¶0160; thereby teaching differentiation of interaction types by discriminate analysis);
processing the interaction type between the first node and the second node to predict a trajectory of the first object (see Fig. 4A-4B ~ outlines process flow charts for managing traffic signal location discrepancies and ¶0133 ~ traffic elements ~ lane markers - can be predicted wherein in combination local map generation indicated in process method step S350 as in ¶0135, a described assisted cruise control teaches prediction of a trajectory of the first object); and
controlling motion of the autonomous vehicle based on a motion plan determined based on the trajectory of the first object. (See Fig. 1 and ¶0019 ~ autonomous vehicle motion is controlled based upon constraints imposed influence by objects).
Stetson is then introduced to disclose obtaining graph data associated with a first node indicative of a first object in an environment of the autonomous vehicle and a second node indicative of a traffic element in the environment of the autonomous vehicle (see Fig. 8 and ¶0115 ~ "FIG. 8… set of training data for an autonomous vehicle deployment during an unprotected left as a traffic light turns red developed with a graph interface system… incorporated into a graph, with each parameter being represented by nodes… linked in any of a number of ways… to generate hybrid scenarios”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Georgiou with the graph data acquisition, as taught by Stetson, with a reasonable expectation of success where the resultant combination would provide mapping objects in the autonomous vehicle environment to traffic elements, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: higher precision mapping and more reliable vehicle navigations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 8 – 12, 14, and 16 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the available prior art appears to be silent in disclosing the method of claim 1, further comprising:
processing the graph data to predict an interaction type for the edge between the first node and the second node
in response to determining the distance between the first object and the traffic element to be less than a predefined distance; and
wherein processing the interaction type between the first node and the second node to predict a trajectory of the first object comprises processing the interaction type using a machine-learned interaction prediction model to determine the trajectory of the first object. Emphasis added.
The prior art does not appear to explicitly teach or disclose the above recited claim limitations.
To that end and although further search and consideration would always need to be performed based upon any submitted amendments by the Applicant, it is the Examiner’s position that incorporating these above recited claim limitations into independent claims 1, 13, and 20 could potentially advance prosecution.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Peter Nolan can be reached Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (571) 270 – 7016. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3661