CTNF 18/626,034 CTNF 99174 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 ( or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 ) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention ( s ) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102 ( b )( 2 )( C ) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a )( 2 ) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et al. (US 2020/0381590) . Regarding claim 1, Yanagisawa teaches A transfer substrate comprising: a substrate [ fig. 8B, substrate 14, para 76 ] ; a laser ablation layer [ fig. 8B, release layer 13, para 75 ] provided on the substrate ( fig. 8B, 14 ) ; and an adhesive layer [ fig. 8B, SAP 30, para 87; wherein thermosetting resin is adhesive ] provided on the laser ablation layer ( fig. 8B, 30 ) and comprising a light emitting diode [ fig. 8B, microLED 11, para 85 ] , wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes. Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose in Fig. 8B a plurality of light emitting diodes wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes. However, Yanagisawa teaches in various other embodiments specifically fig. 6 a plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 6, micro LEDs 11 ] wherein the laser ablation layer ( fig. 6, 13 ) are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes ( fig. 6, 11 ) . Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose in Fig. 8B or 6 wherein the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions. However, Yanagisawa teaches in fig. 15 wherein the adhesive layer ( fig. 15, 30 ) are divided into a plurality of portions ( fig. 15 ) . Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into plurality portions each comprising a light emitting diode to achieve highly precise, high yield transfer of fragile LEDs. Regarding claim 2, Yanagisawa teaches The transfer substrate of claim 1, wherein the substrate ( fig. 8B, 14 ) is configured to transmit a laser beam [ para 76 ] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 2020/0357950) [Hereinafter Takagi], Kim et al. (US 2021/0110748) [Hereinafter Kim], & Chung et al. (US 2021/0005588) [Hereinafter Chung] . Regarding claim 3, Takagi teaches A light emitting diode transfer method comprising: transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 13, microLED 11, para 103 ] from a wafer [ fig. 13, substrate 14, para 104 ] to a first transfer substrate [ fig. 13, substrate 20, para 104 ] on which a first laser ablation layer [ fig. 13, release layer 131, para 102 ] and a first adhesive layer [ fig. 13, release layer 132, para 106; wherein polyimide and/or epoxy resins as taught by Takagi are adhesive ] is are stacked [ fig. 13 ] ; removing first exposed portions of the first laser ablation layer and the first adhesive layer [ fig. 13; wherein the first ablation layer 131 and first adhesive layer 132 are removed upon transfer of microLED 11 ] , the first exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 13; wherein a gap between each microLED 11 is exposed ] . Takagi fails to explicitly disclose transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes from the first transfer substrate to a second transfer substrate on which a second laser ablation layer and a second adhesive layer are stacked; removing second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer and the second adhesive layer, the second exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes; and transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes from the second transfer substrate to a target substrate. However, Kim teaches transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 10, LEDs 300, para 124 ] from the first transfer substrate [ fig. 10, interposer substrate 520, para 124 ] to a second transfer substrate [ fig. 10, carrier substrate 530, para 124 ] on which a second adhesive layer [ fig. 10, adhesive layer 531, para 125 ] are stacked; removing second exposed portions of the second adhesive layer [ fig. 10, 531, para 126, “the adhesive layer 531 that does not contact the light emitting surface of the plurality of LEDs 300 may be removed. Removal of the adhesive layer 531 may be performed by various methods. For example, the adhesive layer 531 may be partially removed by etching or laser irradiation.” ] , the second exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes [ para 126 ] ; and transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 11, LEDs 300 ] from the second transfer substrate ( fig. 11, 530 ) to a target substrate [ fig. 11, backplane 100, para 127 ] . Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transfer the plurality of light emitting diodes from the first transfer substrate to a second substrate removing the exposed portions of the adhesive layer to enable precise rearrangement, inspection and defect repair of LEDs before final bonding. Kim/Takagi fails to explicitly disclose a second laser ablation layer; Removing second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer. However Chung teaches a second laser ablation layer [ fig. 9, adhesive layer 110, para 162 ] ; Removing second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer [ fig. 9; wherein the entire laser ablation layer 110 is removed upon transfer ]. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the second laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer to be removed to achieve residue free surface cleanliness and enable defect free transfer of LEDs. Regarding claim 4, Takagi/Kim/Chung teaches The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 3, wherein removing the first exposed portions of the first laser ablation layer and the first adhesive layer exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes comprises removing the first exposed portions by a plasma etching process. Takagi, teaches in para 60 & fig. 6, the release layer 13 may be patterned into the same shape as the microLEDs through dry etching. Further Chung teaches in para 162 that an adhesive layer may be a dynamic release layer ( DRL ) . Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that both the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer could be removed by a plasma etching which is a type of dry etching process. Regarding claim 5, The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 3, wherein removing the second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer and the second adhesive layer exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes comprises removing the second exposed portions by a plasma etching process. Takagi, teaches in para 60 & fig. 6, the release layer 13 may be patterned into the same shape as the microLEDs through dry etching. Further Chung teaches in para 162 that an adhesive layer may be a dynamic release layer ( DRL ) . Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that both the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer could be removed by a plasma etching which is a type of dry etching process. Regarding claim 6, The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 3, wherein removing the first exposed portions of the first laser ablation layer and the first adhesive layer comprises removing the first laser ablation layer by laser beam and removing the first adhesive layer by a plasma etching process. Takagi teaches in para 60 & fig. 6, the release layer 13 may be patterned into the same shape as the microLEDs through dry etching. Further Chung teaches in para 162 that an adhesive layer 110 may be a dynamic release layer ( DRL ) . Para 162 further states layer 110 may be irradiated with the laser L to separate the microLED. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that adhesive layer could be removed by a plasma etching process and the ablation layer ( release layer ) be removed by laser beam. Regarding claim 7, The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 3, wherein removing the second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer and the second adhesive layer comprises removing the second laser ablation layer by laser beam and removing the second adhesive layer by a plasma etching process. Takagi, teaches in para 60 & fig. 6, the release layer 13 may be patterned into the same shape as the microLEDs through dry etching. Further Chung teaches in para 162 that an adhesive layer 110 may be a dynamic release layer ( DRL ) . Para 162 further states layer 110 may be irradiated with the laser L to separate the microLED. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that adhesive layer could be removed by a plasma etching process and the ablation layer ( release layer ) be removed by laser beam. Regarding claim 8, Takagi/Kim/Chung teaches The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes [Kim, fig. 10, microLEDs 300 ] transferred from the first transfer substrate (Kim, fig. 10, 520 ) to the second transfer substrate (Kim, fig. 10, 530 ) are arranged with a first distance between each other in a first direction [ lateral direction ] . [Kim, fig. 10]. Regarding claim 9, Takagi/Kim/Chung teaches The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes [Kim, fig. 14, microLEDs 300 ] transferred from the first transfer substrate to the second transfer substrate are arranged in a grid in the second transfer substrate [Kim, fig. 14, wherein the microLEDs 300 are arranged in a grid ] , and wherein the grid comprises a plurality of rows and a predetermined interval between each of the plurality of rows [Kim, fig. 14] . Regarding claim 10, The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes (Kim, fig. 11, 300) transferred from the second transfer substrate (Kim, fig. 11, 530 ) to the target substrate (Kim, fig. 11, 100 ) are arranged with a second distance between each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction [Kim, fig. 14, illustrates the microLEDs arranged with a second distance vertically between each other ] . Regarding claim 11, Takagi/Kim/Chung teaches The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes transferred from the second transfer substrate to the target substrate are arranged in a grid in the target substrate, and wherein the grid comprises a plurality of columns and a predetermined interval between each of the columns. Kim, fig. 14 illustrates the grid layout of the microLEDs 300 wherein the grid comprises a plurality of columns at intervals between each column . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi & Kim . Regarding claim 12, Takagi teaches A light emitting diode transfer method comprising: transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 13, microLED 11, para 103 ] from a wafer [ fig. 13, substrate 14, para 104 ] to a first transfer substrate [ fig. 13, substrate 20, para 104 ] wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes are arranged in a grid on the first transfer substrate [ fig. 9 illustrates the grid pattern of the LEDs 11 ] . Takagi fails to explicitly disclose transferring, from the first transfer substrate to a second transfer substrate, the plurality of light emitting diodes at first predetermined intervals in a first direction; and transferring, from the second transfer substrate to a target substrate, the plurality of light emitting diodes at second predetermined intervals in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. However, Kim teaches transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes [ fig. 10, LEDs 300, para 124 ] from the first transfer substrate [ fig. 10, interposer substrate 520, para 124 ] to a second transfer substrate [ fig. 10, carrier substrate 530, para 124 ] the plurality of light emitting diodes at first predetermined intervals in a first direction [ fig. 10, wherein the diodes are at an interval in the horizontal direction ] ; transferring, from the second transfer substrate ( fig. 11, 530 ) to a target substrate [ fig. 11, backplane 100, para 127 ] , the plurality of light emitting diodes at second predetermined intervals in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction [ fig. 14; illustrates the plurality of light emitting diodes are spaced apart at intervals vertically as they transfer from each substrate ] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 13, Takagi/Kim teaches The light emitting diode transfer method of claim 12, wherein the grid comprises a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, wherein an arrangement of the plurality of light emitting diodes on the first transfer substrate comprises a first chip pitch, between the plurality of rows, and a second chip pitch between the plurality of columns, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes arranged on the second transfer substrate are arranged with a third chip pitch between the plurality of rows, and The prior art of record singularly and/or in combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the third chip pitch is greater than the first chip pitch. Thereby claim 13 contains allowable subject matter and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 14-15 contains allowable subject matter at least based on the dependency of claim 13 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FELIX B ANDREWS whose telephone number is ( 703 ) 756-1074. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request ( AIR ) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at 571-270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center ( EBC ) at 866-217-9197 ( toll-free ) . If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 ( IN USA OR CANADA ) or 571-272-1000. /FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 15 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 16 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 17 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 18 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/626,034 Page 19 Art Unit: 2812