Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment 1 as seen in Figs. 4A-4E (Claims 1-5, 7-10 readable thereon) in the reply filed on September 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao et al (USPGPUB 20200381377, hereinafter “Liao”).
Regarding Claim 1, Liao teaches (Fig. 24, annotated above) a semiconductor package comprising: frames (4041, 404, hereinafter F); a first semiconductor device (1011A) disposed on the frames (F); at least one conductive post (809) disposed on the frames (F) and laterally spaced apart from the first semiconductor device (1011A); an encapsulation member (1112) surrounding the first semiconductor device (1011A) and the conductive post (809); and a redistribution layer (RDL) disposed on the encapsulation member (1112) and electrically connected to the first semiconductor device (1011A) and the conductive post (809).
Regarding Claim 2, Liao teaches (Fig. 24) the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the frames (F) include: a first frame (1041) disposed at a back surface of the first semiconductor device (1011A) and electrically connected to the conductive post (809), a second frame disposed at the back surface of the first semiconductor device (1011A) and spaced apart from the conductive post (809), and a third frame (Fig. 24 of Liao represents a cross-section, and there is inherently understood to be leads disposed in-and-out of the page) disposed at the back surface of the first semiconductor device and electrically connected to the conductive post (809), wherein the first frame to the third frame are selectively provided.
Regarding Claim 3, Liao teaches (Fig. 24) the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the encapsulation member (1112) surrounds side surfaces of the frames (F), and wherein one surface of the encapsulation member (1112) is coplanar with a surface opposite to a surface of the frames close to the first semiconductor device (110A).
Regarding Claim 4, Liao teaches (Fig. 24) the semiconductor package of claim 3, further comprising: an adhesive layer ([0046], “an adhesive layer is used to affix the transmitter die 1011A and the receiver die 1011B to the backside RDL”) disposed between the first semiconductor device (1011A) and the frames (F).
Regarding Claim 5, Liao teaches (Fig. 24) the semiconductor package of claim 4, wherein the redistribution layer (RDL) includes a redistribution pattern (1211A) and a redistribution insulating layer (1113), and wherein the redistribution layer (RDL) includes a single layer of the redistribution insulating layer (1113).
Regarding Claim 8, Liao teaches (Figs. 11-12, 23, and 24, annotated) a method of manufacturing of a semiconductor package comprising: providing on a carrier (301), at least one frame (4041) and a conductive post (809) located on the frame (4041); mounting on the frame, at least one semiconductor device (1011A) with a connection pad ([0046], “an adhesive layer is used to affix the transmitter die 1011A and the receiver die 1011B to the backside RDL”); forming on the carrier, an encapsulation member (1112) surrounding side surfaces of the semiconductor device (1011A) and the conductive post (809); removing a portion of the encapsulation member (Figs. 11-12, encapsulation member 1112 is seen formed and then having portions thereof removed); forming on the encapsulation member (1112), a redistribution layer (RDL)electrically connected to the semiconductor device (1011A) and the conductive post (809); and removing the carrier (Fig. 24, the carrier 301 seen in Fig. 23 is seen removed).
Regarding Claim 10, Liao teaches (Fig 23) the method of claim 8, wherein the carrier (301) is a glass carrier ([0038], “ the carrier 301 includes glass”), and wherein the frame (4041) and the conductive post (809) are pre-disposed on the glass carrier (301).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cheng et al (USPGPUB 20200411440, hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding Claim 7, Liao teaches the semiconductor package of claim 2, but is silent with regards to an upper semiconductor device, and wherein the upper semiconductor device is mounted on the redistribution layer.
Cheng teaches (Fig. 6E) an upper semiconductor device (680), and wherein the upper semiconductor device (680) is mounted on the redistribution layer (upper semiconductor die 680 is seen mounted on a redistribution layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results, before the date of effective filing, to incorporate the additional die of Cheng into the device of Liao in order to arrive at the expected result of creating device with the known improvement of improved chip density for expanded utility with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cheng.
Regarding Claim 9, Liao teaches (Fig. 24, annotated) the method of claim 8, further comprising: forming a redistribution layer (RDL).
Liao is silent with regards to mounting an upper semiconductor device on the redistribution layer.
Cheng teaches mounting an upper semiconductor device (680) on the redistribution layer (upper semiconductor die 680 is seen mounted on a redistribution layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results, before the date of effective filing, to incorporate the additional die of Cheng into the device of Liao in order to arrive at the expected result of creating device with the known improvement of improved chip density for expanded utility with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/V.J.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898