DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: L12 of the claim should recite “the first tab zone has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone” in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: L1-2 of the claim should recite “wherein the second tab zone has a thickness greater than a thickness of the second body zone” in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: L1-2 of the claim should recite “wherein a ratio of a total thickness…to a thickness of the second binding layer” in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: each of the conditions (1) to (4) should recite “a ratio of a width of…to a width of…”in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: L1-2 of the claim should recite “wherein a a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone” in order to set forth correct antecedent basis.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: L1-2 of the claim should recite “a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone” in order to set forth correct antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “near” in Claims 2 and 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret “near” as meaning “adjacent”.
Claims 3 and 5-9 are dependent on Claims 2 and 4 and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
The term “close” in Claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret “close” as meaning “adjacent”.
Claim 10 recites “the third tab zone has a thickness greater than thickness of the first body zone, and the third body zone extends toward the fourth tab zone”.
However, Claim 10 sets forth a plurality of third tab zones, first body zones, and fourth tab zones and therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of third tab zones, first body zones, and fourth tab zones the limitation is referencing.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “the third tab zones have thicknesses greater than thicknesses of the first body zones, and the third body zones extend toward the fourth tab zones”.
Claims 11-15 are dependent on Claim 10 and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the composite current collector satisfies at least one of the following conditions (9) to (11): (9) the fourth tab zone has a thickness greater than the thickness of the second body zone, and the fourth tab zone extends toward the third tab zone; (10) a side wall of the fourth tab zone is in contact with the first binding layer; or (11) the third tab zone is connected to the fourth tab zone”.
However, Claim 10 sets forth a plurality of third tab zones, first body zones, and fourth tab zones and therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of third tab zones, first body zones, and fourth tab zones the limitation is referencing.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein the composite current collector satisfies at least one of the following conditions (9) to (11): (9) the fourth tab zones have thicknesses greater than thicknesses of the second body zones, and the fourth tab zones extend toward the third tab zones; (10) a side wall of the fourth tab zones is in contact with the first binding layer; or (11) the third tab zones are connected to the fourth tab zones”.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the composite current collector satisfies at least one of the following conditions (12) to (14): (12) a third binding layer is provided between the third tab zone and the fourth tab zone, the third binding layer at least partially filling a gap between the third tab zone and the fourth tab zone; (13) the third binding layer is connected to the first binding layer; or (14) a side wall of the third tab zone is in contact with the first binding layer”.
However, Claim 10 sets forth a plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones and therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones the limitation is referencing.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein the composite current collector satisfies at least one of the following conditions (12) to (14): (12) a third binding layer is provided between the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones, the third binding layer at least partially filling gaps between the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones; (13) the third binding layer is connected to the first binding layer; or (14) a side wall of the third tab zone is in contact with the first binding layer”.
Claim 13 is dependent on Claim 12 and therefore is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim 14 recites “wherein a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zone and the fourth tab zone is greater than or equal to 7 μm”.
However, Claim 10 sets forth a plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones and therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones the limitation is referencing.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tabs zone is greater than or equal to 7 μm”.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the sum of thicknesses of the third tab zone and the fourth tab zone is 5 μm to 13 μm greater than the sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone”.
However, Claim 10 sets forth a plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones and therefore it is unclear which of the plurality of third tab zones and fourth tab zones the limitation is referencing.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones is 5 μm to 13 μm greater than a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 113066986 A, cited on the IDS dated April 3, 2024, see also the provided English translation).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Zhao discloses in Fig. 2 a secondary battery comprising a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising:
a first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
a second metal layer (22) ([0023]); and
a first binding layer (1) ([0023]);
wherein:
the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the first binding layer (1) ([0023]); and
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]); and
the first tab zone (212) extends towards the second tab zone (222) ([0023]).
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 112259742 A, cited on the IDS dated April 3, 2024, see also the provided English translation).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Zhang discloses in Figs. 2-3 a secondary battery ([0006], [0070]) comprising a composite current collector (100), comprising:
a first metal layer (120) ([0043]);
a second metal layer (130) ([0043]); and
a first binding layer (140, 150) ([0043]);
wherein:
the first metal layer (120) comprises a first body zone (102) and a first tab zone (101), the first tab zone (101) being located at an end of the first metal layer (120) ([0042]-[0043]);
the second metal layer (130) comprises a second body zone (102) and a second tab zone (101), the second tab zone (101) being located at an end of the second metal layer (103) ([0042]-[0043]);
the first body zone (102) and the second body zone (102) are connected through the first binding layer (140, 140) ([0043]); and
the first tab zone (101) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (102) ([0042]-[0043]]); and
the first tab zone (102) extends towards the second tab zone (102) ([0043]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a first groove is provided at an end of the first tab zone (101) extending toward the second tab zone (101), the first groove extending from one side of the first tab zone (101) adjacent to the first body zone (102) to another side (Fig. 3, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the second tab zone (101) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the second body zone (102) and the second tab zone (101) extends towards the first tab zone (101) (Fig. 3, [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second groove is provided at an end of the second tab zone (101) extending toward the first tab zone (101), the second groove extending from one side of the second tab zone (101) adjacent to the second body zone (102) to another side (Fig. 3, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second binding layer (160) is provided between the first tab zone (101) and the second tab zone (101), the second binding layer (160) at least partially filling a gap between the first tab zone (101) and the second tab zone (101) (Fig. 3, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the composite current collector (100) satisfies the following condition (6):
(6) the first tab zone (101) is connected to the second tab zone (Fig 3, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in Fig. 2 wherein:
the first metal layer (120) comprises a plurality of first body zones (102), the plurality of first body zones (102) being spaced apart by third tab zones (101) ([0042]-[0043]);
the second metal layer (130) comprises a plurality of second body zones (102), the plurality of second body zones (102) being spaced apart by fourth tab zones (101) ([0042]-[0043]); and
the third tab zones (101) have thicknesses greater than thicknesses of the first body zones (102), and the third tab zones (101) extend toward the fourth tab zones (101) ([0042]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in Fig. 2 wherein the composite current collector (100) satisfies the following condition (9):
(9) the fourth tab zones (101) have thicknesses greater than thicknesses of the second body zones (102), and the fourth tab zones (101) extend toward the third tab zones (101) ([0042]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in Fig. 2 wherein the composite current collector (100) satisfies the following condition (12):
(12) a third binding layer (160) is provided between the third tab zones (101) and the fourth tab zones (101), the third binding layer (160) at least partially filling gaps between the third tab zones (101) and the fourth tab zones (101) ([0042][-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first binding layer (140, 150) comprises a binder (polymer) and a conductive agent ([0050]-[0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 112259742 A, cited on the IDS dated April 3, 2024, see also the provided English translation), as applied to Claims 1, 5, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (CN 113066986 A, cited on the IDS dated April 3, 2024, see also the provided English translation).
Regarding Claims 6-7, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding a thickness of the second binding layer and consequently does not disclose wherein the second binding layer has a thickness of 0.5 μm to 5 μm at the first groove and/or the second groove, and the second binding layer has a thickness of less than 0.5 μm at other parts.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a binding layer (1) ([0023]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the binding layer (1) can have a thickness of 0.5 μm to 5 μm in order to improve the safety of the composite current collector and reduce its internal resistance ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the second binding layer to have a thickness of 0.5 μm, as taught by Zhao at the first groove and/or the second groove in order to improve the safety of the composite current collector and reduce its internal resistance.
Thus, modified Zhang discloses wherein the second binding layer (160 of Zhang) has a thickness of less than 0.5 μm at other parts (Fig. 3 of Zhang, e.g. see where the second binding layer 160 splits into two).
Modified Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone and consequently does not disclose wherein a ratio of total thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone to a thickness of the second binding layer at the first groove and/or the second groove is greater than or equal to 2.
Zhao further teaches wherein the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the binding layer (1) ([0023]);
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]),
wherein the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1 to 20 µm ([0028]).
In light of the above, Zhao teaches wherein a ratio of total thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone to a thickness of the second binding layer at the first groove and/or the second groove may be greater than or equal to 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first tab zone and the second tab zone of modified Zhang to have thicknesses in the range further taught by Zhao, such that a ratio of total thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone to a thickness of the second binding layer at the first groove and/or the second groove may be greater than or equal to 2, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by modified Zhang.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a width of the first groove is less than a width of the first tab zone (102) (Figs. 2-3) and therefore Zhang discloses wherein a ratio of a width of the first groove to a width of the first tab zone is less than 1, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.05 to 0.5.
Specifically, Zhang discloses wherein a width of the first groove may be in the range of 0.5 to 10 mm ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first groove to have a width in the range disclosed by Zhang, such that the ratio of the width of the first groove to the width of the first tab zone is in the encompassing portion of the range disclosed by Zhang, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by Zhang.
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thickness of the third binding layer and consequently does not disclose wherein such has a thickness of 0.5 μm to 5 μm.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a binding layer (1) ([0023]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the binding layer (1) can have a thickness of 0.5 μm to 5 μm in order to improve the safety of the composite current collector and reduce its internal resistance ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the third binding layer of Zhang to have a thickness in the range taught by Zhao in order to improve the safety of the composite current collector of Zhang and reduce its internal resistance.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones and consequently does not disclose wherein a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones is greater than or equal to 7 μm.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a first binding layer (1) ([0023]); wherein:
the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the first binding layer (1) ([0023]); and
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1 to 20 µm ([0028]) and therefore Zhao teaches wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 2 µm to 40 µm, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 7 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones of Zhang such that the sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones falls within the overlapping portion of the range taught by Zhao, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by Zhang.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thicknesses of the third tab zones, the fourth tab zones, the first body zone, and the second body zone and consequently does not disclose wherein a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones is 5 μm to 13 μm greater than a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a first binding layer (1) ([0023]); wherein:
the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the first binding layer (1) ([0023]); and
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1 µm to 20 µm and wherein the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) can be 0.1 µm to 5 µm ([0028]) and therefore Zhao teaches wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 2 µm to 40 µm and wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) can be 0.2 µm to 10 µm.
In light of the above, Zhao teaches wherein the sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1.8 µm to 39.8 µm greater than the sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 5 µm to 13 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the third tab zones, the fourth tab zones, the first body zone, and the second body zone of Zhang to have thicknesses in the ranges taught by Zhao such that a sum of thicknesses of the third tab zones and the fourth tab zones is 5 µm to 13 µm greater than a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by Zhang.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone and consequently does not disclose wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone is greater than or equal to 7 μm.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a first binding layer (1) ([0023]); wherein:
the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the first binding layer (1) ([0023]); and
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1 µm to 20 µm ([0028]) and therefore Zhao teaches wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 2 µm to 40 µm, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 7 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first tab zone and the second tab zone of Zhang such that the sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone falls within the overlapping portion of the range taught by Zhao, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by Zhang.
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Zhang remains silent regarding the specific thicknesses of the first tab zone, the second tab zone, the first body zone, and the second body zone and consequently does not disclose wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone is 5 μm to 13 μm greater than a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone.
Zhao teaches in Fig. 2 a composite current collector ([0003], [0053]-[0055]), comprising a first metal layer (21), a second metal layer (22), and a first binding layer (1) ([0023]); wherein:
the first metal layer (21) comprises a first body zone (211) and a first tab zone (212), the first tab zone (212) being located at an end of the first metal layer (21) ([0023]);
the second metal layer (22) comprises a second body zone (221) and a second tab zone (222), the second tab zone (222) being located at an end of the second metal layer (22) ([0023]);
the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) are connected through the first binding layer (1) ([0023]); and
the first tab zone (212) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first body zone (211) ([0028]).
Specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1 µm to 20 µm and wherein the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) can be 0.1 µm to 5 µm ([0028]) and therefore Zhao teaches wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 2 µm to 40 µm and wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first body zone (211) and the second body zone (221) can be 0.2 µm to 10 µm.
In light of the above, Zhao teaches wherein the sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone (212) and the second tab zone (222) can be 1.8 µm to 39.8 µm greater than the sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 5 µm to 13 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first tab zone, the second tab zone, the first body zone, and the second body zone of Zhang to have thicknesses in the ranges taught by Zhao such that the sum of thicknesses of the first tab zone and the second tab zone is 5 µm to 13 µm greater than the sum of thicknesses of the first body zone and the second body zone, as such are known suitable thicknesses in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the composite current collector desired by Zhang.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 112259742 A, cited on the IDS dated April 3, 2024, see also the provided English translation), as applied to Claim 18 above.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the composite current collector (100) may satisfy the following condition (16):
(16) the conductive agent may be chosen to comprise one or more of carbon nanotubes, conductive carbon, and graphene ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one or more of carbon nanotubes, conductive carbon, and graphene as the conductive agent of Zhang, as disclosed by Zhang, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the first binding layer desired by Zhang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu (WO 2019/153276 A1, see also the provided English translation) teaches in Fig. 23 a composite current collector (70) comprising a first metal layer (72), a second metal layer (73), and an intermediate layer (71) that does not form a gap between the junction of the first metal layer (72) and the second metal layer (73), wherein a first groove is provided at an end of the first metal layer (72) extending toward the second metal layer (73) and a second groove is provided at an end of the second metal layer (73) extending towards the first metal layer (72) ([0123]).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725