DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I [figs. 4-5c, claims 1-20] in the reply filed on 6/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/4/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US 20210385315).
As to claim 1, Cha discloses a display device [abstract] comprising:
a display panel (display unit 151) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] comprising a folding area (variable portion 151c) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] and a non-folding area (fixed portion 151a & fixed portion 151b) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] adjacent to the folding area;
a plurality of support bars (multiple support bars 1041) [figs. 9 & 12a-22b & para. 145, 147, & 193] arranged spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance along a one direction in the folding area, extending in a cross direction intersecting the one direction, and comprising a first surface (a first surface of support bar 1041 closest to display unit 151) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] facing the display panel and a second surface (a second surface of support bar 1041 opposite the first surface) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] opposite to the first surface; and
first and second guide members (slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157] respectively disposed at a first end and a second end of each of the support bars and spaced apart in the cross direction, wherein each of the first and second guide members supports at least one of the first surface and the second surface of each of the support bars (slide hook portions 1043 of support bars 1041) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157].
As to claim 2, Cha discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second guide members comprises:
a first portion (slide rail 1027 that does not overlap with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, vertical portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] that does not overlap the support bars when viewed in a plane; and
a second portion (slide rail 1027 that overlaps with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, horizontal portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] bent from the first portion and overlapping the support bars when viewed in the plane.
As to claim 3, Cha discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the second portion comprises:
a first support portion (slide rail 1027 that overlaps with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, horizontal portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] extending in the cross direction and facing the first surface; and
a second support (slide rail 1027 that overlaps with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, horizontal portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] portion facing the second surface.
As to claim 4, Cha discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the first support portion does not overlap the display panel when viewed in the plane (display unit 151 does not overlap with horizontal portion of slide 1027 that interfaces with slide hook 1043) [figs. 12a-12b].
As to claim 5, Cha discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a first plate (rolling sheet 1045, labeled as 1046 is figure 20-22b) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] disposed in the display panel and overlapping the folding area [figs. 8 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195], wherein the first plate comprises:
a plurality of first support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are five openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a first width in the one direction and arranged in the one direction; and
a plurality of second support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are four openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a second width equal to or smaller than the first width in the one direction and disposed between the first support portions, and the support bars overlap the first support portions, respectively, when viewed in a plane (rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b] overlapping support bars 1041) [figs. 9, 20, & 22a-22b].
As to claim 6, Cha discloses the display device of claim 5, further comprising a second plate (portion of rolling sheet 1045 corresponding to fixed portion 151a & 151b of display unit 151) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, 95, 148, & 193-195] that is disposed in the display panel, overlaps the non-folding area, and does not overlap the folding area.
As to claim 7, Cha discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein each of the second support portions is provided with a plurality of openings (holes) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] defined therethrough, and the openings are arranged in a lattice form when viewed in the plane [figs. 20-22b].
As to claim 8, Cha discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein a first length in the cross direction of the first plate is smaller than a second length in the cross direction of the support bars [figs. 12a-12b, 9, & 20-22b].
As to claim 9, Cha discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first and second guide members extends in the one direction (slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b].
As to claim 10, Cha discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the support bars comprises a plurality of third surfaces (a third surface of support bar 1041 corresponding to expanded side portion 1042 & slide hook 1043 that connect the first surface and the second surface) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] each connecting the first surface and the second surface and facing each other in the cross direction, and the first and second guide members are in contact with the third surfaces of the support bars [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b].
As to claim 11, Cha discloses a display device [abstract] comprising:
a display panel (display unit 151) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] comprising a folding area (variable portion 151c) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] and a non-folding area (fixed portion 151a & fixed portion 151b) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] adjacent to the folding area;
a support plate (rolling sheet 1045, labeled as 1046 is figure 20-22b) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] disposed on a rear surface of the display panel and supporting the display panel [figs. 8 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195];
a plurality of support bars (multiple support bars 1041) [figs. 9 & 12a-22b & para. 145, 147, & 193] arranged spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance along a one direction in the folding area, extending in a cross direction intersecting the one direction, and comprising a first surface (a first surface of support bar 1041 closest to display unit 151) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] facing the display panel and a second surface (a second surface of support bar 1041 opposite the first surface) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] opposite to the first surface; and
first and second guide members (slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157] respectively disposed at a first end and a second end of each of the support bars and spaced apart in the cross direction, wherein each of the first and second guide members supports at least one of the first surface and the second surface of each of the support bars (slide hook portions 1043 of support bars 1041) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157].
As to claim 12, Cha discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein each of the first and second guide members comprises:
a first portion (slide rail 1027 that does not overlap with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, vertical portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] that does not overlap the support bars when viewed in a plane; and
a second portion (slide rail 1027 that overlaps with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, horizontal portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] extending from the first portion to the one direction and being in contact with at least one of the first surface and the second surface.
As to claim 13, Cha discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the support plate comprises a first plate (rolling sheet 1045, labeled as 1046 is figure 20-22b) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] overlapping the folding area, the first plate comprises:
a plurality of first support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are five openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a first width in the one direction and arranged in the one direction; and
a plurality of second support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are four openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a second width equal to or smaller than the first width in the one direction and disposed between the first support portions, and the support bars overlap the first support portions, respectively, when viewed in a plane (rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b] overlapping support bars 1041) [figs. 9, 20, & 22a-22b].
As to claim 14, Cha discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein each of the second support portions is provided with a plurality of openings (holes) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] defined therethrough, and the openings are arranged in a lattice form when viewed in the plane [figs. 20-22b].
As to claim 15, Cha discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the support plate comprises a second plate (portion of rolling sheet 1045 corresponding to fixed portion 151a & 151b of display unit 151) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, 95, 148, & 193-195] that overlaps the non-folding area and does not overlap the folding area.
As to claim 16, Cha discloses a display device [abstract] comprising:
a display panel (display unit 151) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] comprising a folding area (variable portion 151c) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] and a non-folding area (fixed portion 151a & fixed portion 151b) [figs. 4-5, 16b, & 22a-22b & para. 104, 95, & 148] adjacent to the folding area;
a first plate (rolling sheet 1045, labeled as 1046 is figure 20-22b) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] disposed on a rear surface of the display panel and supporting the display panel in the folding area [figs. 8 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195];
a plurality of support bars (multiple support bars 1041) [figs. 9 & 12a-22b & para. 145, 147, & 193] arranged spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance along a one direction in the folding area, extending in a cross direction intersecting the one direction, the plurality of support bars supporting the first plate [figs. 20-22b & para. 145, 147, & 193]; and
first and second guide members (slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157] respectively supporting first and second ends of each the support bars (slide hook portions 1043 of support bars 1041) [figs. 11a-12b & para. 150-157],
wherein the first plate comprises:
a plurality of first support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are five openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a first width in the one direction and arranged in the one direction; and
a plurality of second support portions (portion of rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b], where there are four openings) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] each having a second width equal to or smaller than the first width in the one direction and disposed between the first support portions, and the support bars overlap the first support portions, respectively, when viewed in a plane (rolling sheet 1045 [labeled as 1046 in figures 20-22b] overlapping support bars 1041) [figs. 9, 20, & 22a-22b].
As to claim 17, Cha discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein each of the support bars comprises:
a first surface (a first surface of support bar 1041 closest to display unit 151) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] facing the rear surface of the display panel;
a second surface (a second surface of support bar 1041 opposite the first surface) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] opposite to the first surface; and
a plurality of third surfaces (a third surface of support bar 1041 corresponding to expanded side portion 1042 & slide hook 1043 that connect the first surface and the second surface) [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b] each connecting the first surface and the second surface and facing each other in the cross direction, and each of the first and second guide members supports at least one surface of the first surface and the second surface [figs. 9, 12a-12b, 15a-15b, & 20-22b].
As to claim 18, Cha discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein each of the first and second guide members comprises:
a first portion (slide rail 1027 that does not overlap with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, vertical portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] that does not overlap the support bars when viewed in the plane; and
a second portion (slide rail 1027 that overlaps with slide hook 1043 portion of support bar 1041, horizontal portion of slide rail 1027) [figs. 11a-12b] extending from the first portion to the one direction and being in contact with at least one of the first surface and the second surface.
As to claim 19, Cha discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein each of the second support portions is provided with a plurality of openings (holes) [figs. 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, & 193-195] defined therethrough, and the openings are arranged in a lattice form when viewed in the plane [figs. 20-22b].
As to claim 20, Cha discloses the display device of claim 16, further comprising a second plate (portion of rolling sheet 1045 corresponding to fixed portion 151a & 151b of display unit 151) [figs. 9 & 20-22b & para. 144-145, 184, 95, 148, & 193-195] disposed on the rear surface of the display panel and supporting the display panel in the non-folding area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ko et al. (US 20150370287).
Lee et al. (US 20230161377).
Ahn et al. (US 10615362).
Tazbaz et al. (US 9851759).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622