Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on March 18th 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 35-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “engagement feature” in claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-27 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kleven (US 2011/0238043).
Regarding claim 23, Kleven discloses a medical tracking fixture (1; Figure 1A; for attaching a tracking marker - ¶[0027]) comprising: an elongated body (2) including an engagement feature (4 or both members 4 - interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as equivalent to Applicant’s engagement feature - e.g. rails 122) configured to attach the elongated body to an imaging instrument to limit movement of the elongated body relative to the imaging instrument (¶[0028]), wherein the tracking fixture is attachable to a medical instrument of a teleoperated assembly (the tracking fixture could be gripped or fixed in enumerable ways to some form of medical instrument of a teleoperated assembly; furthermore coupling 20 can attach to a variety of instruments - ¶[0033] ,[0034]).
Regarding claim 24, the engagement feature includes a set of projections sized for receipt within a set of elongated grooves on the imaging instrument (each member 4 is formed of two legs or projections that could seat within some form of elongated grooves on an imaging instrument).
Regarding claim 25, the tracking fixture further comprises an expandable member (e.g. elastic cord 41 - ¶[0031]) extending from the elongated body.
Regarding claim 26, the tracking fixture further comprises a marker on the elongated body detectable in an image taken of the imaging instrument (tracking marker - ¶[0027]).
Regarding claim 27, the elongated body includes a coupling mechanism (20) for attaching the medical instrument to the tracking fixture (¶[0033] ,[0034]).
Regarding claim 31, the coupling mechanism includes a compliant joint mechanism (22; ¶[0037]).
Regarding claim 32, a sensor (tracking marker - ¶[0027], [0033]) is associated with the compliant joint mechanism for determining a pose of the tracking fixture with respect to the medical instrument.
Regarding claim 33, the engagement feature could attach to an appropriately structured ultrasound probe.
Regarding claim 34, the elongated body has a channel shape (see channel shape formed by opposing members 4 - Figures 1a or 6c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleven (US 2011/0238043) in view of Fleig et al. (WO 2015/117665).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Kleven fails to disclose that the coupling mechanism includes a magnet. Kleven discloses that the coupling mechanism can us a variety of means such as Velcro, bayonet, snap lock, tape, etc. (¶[0034]) to attach to an add-on instrument such as a tracking marker (¶[0027], [0033]).
Fleig et al. disclose that a tracking marker (1) can be attached to a medical instrument using a magnet (6; Figures 4 and 5; page 8, lines 4-18; page 9, lines 1-6; can be regarded as an active magnet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Fleig et al. to have used a magnet as the coupling mechanism of Kleven as an alternative prior art coupling means suitable for the same or similar purpose.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleven (US 2011/0238043) in view of Zagorchev et al. (US 2011/0105896)
Regarding claim 30, Kleven fails to disclose that the coupling mechanism includes a suction mechanism. Kleven discloses that the coupling mechanism can us a variety of means such as Velcro, bayonet, snap lock, tape, etc. (¶[0034]) to attach to an add-on instrument such as a tracking marker (¶[0027], [0033]).
Zagorchev et al. teach that a suction cup or suction mechanism is a known in the art for attaching a tracking marker to a medical instrument (¶[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Zagorchev et al. to have used a magnet as the coupling mechanism of Kleven as an alternative prior art coupling means known in the art for the same or similar purpose.
Conclusion
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771