DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112310409A as cited within the IDS, using US 2022/0158197 as equivalent translation), and further in view of Yamane (JP2015076196 as cited within the IDS 4/4/2024) or Matsui (US 2020/0112064).
As to claim 1, Xu discloses an electrode plate (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065] and discussed throughout), having a first end surface in a first direction and a second end surface in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065] and discussed throughout; the first ends are the sides and the second ends are the side with the tabs and side opposite of the tabs); wherein:
at least one of the first end surface and the second end surface has a shaped surface (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065] and discussed throughout; the second end the side with the tabs has a shape also the opposite side has a shape of a line), the shaped surface has a partial region and a reference plane along a third direction (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065] and discussed throughout; the third direction is into the plane and can be seen within the other figures), the reference plane is constructed to be perpendicular to the first direction and pass the outermost edge of the shaped surface in the first direction, and the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065] and discussed throughout).
Xu is silent to wherein the partial region deviating from the reference plane along the third direction.
Yamane discloses a power storage device including an electrode plate including a metal foil (current collector) and an active material applied to the metal foil (makes the electrode) wherein the active material has a tapped surface (figures 3 and 4; abstract) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the active material structure from Yamane within Xu as the structure reduces active material fall off (abstract) and as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
Matsui discloses a battery (figure 1 #10, discussed throughout) the electrode lead are extended out from a first end side in a width direction of the electrode and a first thickness of the electrode on the first end side in the width direction is thinner than a second thickness of the electrode on a second end side in the width direction ([0008], figures 4, 8 and 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the active material structure from Matsui within Xu as the structure as it is possible to suppress a decrease in cycle characteristics ([0014]) and as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 2, modified Xu discloses wherein, the shaped surface is flat and forms a preset angle with the reference plane, the preset angle being not equal to 90° (figures 4, 8 and 10; Matsui and figures 3 and 4; Yamane).
As to claim 3, modified Xu discloses wherein, the shaped surface extends in a curved way along the third direction (figures 4, 8 and 10; Matsui and figures 3 and 4; Yamane).
As to claim 4, modified Xu discloses wherein, the shaped surface is an arc surface that protrudes outward in a middle region in the third direction (figures 3 and 4; Yamane).
As to claim 5, modified Xu discloses wherein, a transition angle is provided between adjacent edges of the shaped surface and a side surface of the electrode plate, and the side surface of the electrode plate is perpendicular to the third direction (figures 4, 8 and 10; Matsui; figures 7, 10, 11 and 15; Xu).
As to claim 6, modified Xu discloses comprising a current collector; and
a coating provided on a side surface of the current collector in the third direction;
wherein the shaped surface comprises a first segmented surface and a second segmented surface, the first segmented surface is located on the current collector, the second segmented surface is located on the coating, and the second segmented surface is retracted inward a preset distance along the first direction with respect to the first segmented surface (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065]; the tabs are the shaped surface #112 and #212 and are of the current collector; the active material is #12 and #22 and #111 a and #111b are the different regions also #222 and #221 this can be seen in figure #14 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, modified Xu discloses comprising a current collector; and
a coating provided on a side surface of the current collector in the third direction;
wherein the current collector comprises a body portion and a tab portion, the tab portion protrudes outward from an end surface of the body portion in the second direction, and the shaped surface is provided in a region of the second end surface without the coating excluding the tab portion (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15 #1 and/or #2, [0037]-[0065]; the tabs are the shaped surface #112 and #212 and are of the current collector; the active material is #12 and #22 and #111 a and #111b are the different regions also #222 and #221 this can be seen in figure #14 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 8, modified Xu discloses wherein, the electrode plate is a positive electrode plate ([0006], figures 7, 10, 11 and 15, discussed throughout), the coating comprises an active substance layer and an insulating layer provided side by side along the second direction, the insulating layer is located on a side of the active substance layer closer to the tab portion in the second direction, and the shaped surface is coated with a polymer generated by melting of the insulating layer ([0008]-[0013]; figures 7, 10, 11, 15, discussed throughout). NOTE: that Xu discloses using the insulating layer on the second electrode not the first electrode. Also, the first electrode is optionally the positive electrode. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the insulating layer within the first electrode as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results or have the second electrode be the first electrode give a finite number of options (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 9, modified Xu discloses an electrode assembly (figures 1-4 #4, [0037]-[0065]), comprising:
a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities ([0006] and discussed throughout);
wherein at least one of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate is the electrode plate according to claim 1 (figures 7, 10, 11 and 15, discussed throughout).
As to claim 10, modified Xu discloses wherein, the electrode assembly is a wound structure, and in a winding direction of the wound structure, at least one of a first starting end and a first finishing end of the first electrode plate and at least one of a second starting end and a second finishing end of the second electrode plate are provided with the shaped surface (figures 1-18, discussed throughout).
As to claim 11, modified Xu discloses wherein, the shaped surface is inclined, and the shaped surface of at least one of the first finishing end and the second finishing end forms an acute angle with an inner side surface in a radial direction of the wound structure; and/or
the shaped surface of at least one of the first starting end and the second starting end forms an acute angle with an outer side surface in the radial direction of the wound structure (figures 1-18, specifically figure 14 shows the tapered end that is acute).
As to claim 12, modified Xu discloses wherein, the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate, and in a winding axis consistent with the second direction, a second end surface of the first electrode plate exceeds a second end surface of the second electrode plate, the second end surface of the first electrode plate having the shaped surface (figures 1-18, the tabs are protruding out the side and are the ends, seen and discussed throughout).
As to claim 13, modified Xu discloses a battery cell (figure 1, discussed throughout), comprising:
a housing having an opening (figure 1 is the housing and has an opening at the top);
the electrode assembly according to claim 9, disposed in the housing (figure 1 #4, discussed throughout); and
an end cover assembly configured to close the opening (figure 1 #6, discussed throughout).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Xu (CN 112310409A as cited within the IDS, using US 2022/0158197 as equivalent translation), and further in view of Matsui (US 2020/0112064).
As to claims 14 and 15, modified Xu discloses is silent to a battery, comprising: a box; and the battery cell, wherein the battery cell is disposed in the box (claim 14) and an electric apparatus, wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy for the electric apparatus (claim 15). Matsui a battery used in a battery pack, and electronic device an electrical vehicle wherein one of ordinary skill within the art would apricate that a battery pack has a box and the battery are supplying power ([0005], discussed throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the modified battery from Xu in a similar manor as Matsui as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN207504102 is relevant art for having the current collector have the required instant claimed shape.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724