Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (20230030752)
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a display module comprising:
a substrate (fig. 4: 100) including a mounting surface and a pad electrode (fig. 4: 102) on the mounting surface;
an inorganic light emitting element (please see LED in fig. 4) including a contact electrode (fig. 4: 250) corresponding to the pad electrode;
a bump (fig. 4: S2) disposed between the pad electrode and the contact electrode to bond the pad electrode and the contact electrode, the bump being electrically connecting the pad electrode to the contact electrode (please see fig. 4);
a reflective member (fig. 4: 300) configured to underfill the inorganic light emitting element to cover side surfaces of the inorganic light emitting element and a bottom surface of the inorganic light emitting element (please see fig. 4), and configured to reflect light (par. 31); and a cover member (fig. 4: 600) configured to cover side surfaces of the reflective member and the mounting surface of the substrate, the cover member having a black color (par. 76).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the reflective member is formed by dispensing a resin onto the substrate (par. 43), and wherein the resin is configured to have a color in a grey range (par. 31).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches a display module of claim 2, wherein the reflective member includes a plurality of reflective beads (320) distributed within the resin.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches a display module of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of reflective beads is in a spherical shape with a diameter of about 1 μm to about 5 μm (par. 32).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches a display module of claim 3, wherein the plurality of reflective beads are configured to include at least one of titanium dioxide (TiO.sub.2), glass, aluminum (Al), or silver (Ag) (par. 31).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the cover member is configured to cover an entire area outside the reflective member on the mounting surface of the substrate (please see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the cover member is formed by dispensing a resin onto the substrate (par. 83), and wherein the resin is configured to include an ink in a black range (par. 75 and 83).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the inorganic light emitting element faces a first direction, and wherein a top surface of the reflective member does not protrude in the first direction than the top surface of the inorganic light emitting element (please see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the inorganic light emitting element faces a first direction, and wherein a top surface of the cover member does not protrude further in the first direction than the top surface of the inorganic light emitting element (please see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the inorganic light emitting element, a top surface of the reflective member, and a top surface of the cover member are aligned in a same plane (please see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the bump is plated on the contact electrode to cover the contact electrode, and wherein the bump electrically connects the contact electrode and the pad electrode by melting (par. 29).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the bump is configured to include at least one of indium, tin, or an alloy of indium (par. 29).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches a display module of claim 1, wherein the reflective member is configured to underfill the inorganic light emitting element to enhance a bonding between the inorganic light emitting element and the substrate (please see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches a display module (fig. 4) comprising:
a substrate (100) including a mounting surface and a pad electrode (102);
an inorganic light emitting element (please see fig. 4) including a contact electrode (250) and the pad electrode; a bump (S2) between the pad electrode and the contact electrode, the bump bonding the pad electrode and the contact electrode by electrically connecting the pad electrode to the contact electrode; a reflective member (300) configured to cover side surfaces of the inorganic light emitting element and a bottom surface of the inorganic light emitting element; and a cover member (600) configured to cover side surfaces of the reflective member and the mounting surface of the substrate, wherein the reflective member is formed by dispensing a resin onto the substrate (par. 43), wherein the resin is configured to have a color in a grey range, and wherein the reflective member includes a plurality of reflective beads distributed within the resin (par. 41).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818