Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 21 - 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boja (US 20240222213).
Regarding claim 1, Boja discloses a printed circuit board, comprising:
a first insulating layer (the monolithic core 102a, Fig. 4) having a through-portion (a through-cavity 107); and
a chip stack (stack 110 comprising component 115a, component 115b, and a spacer 410; a stack of chip, paragraph 23) including a first chip (115a) having a rear surface opposite to a front surface on which a connection pad (pad 130) is disposed, and a second chip (a spacer 410 in Fig. 4 or a dummy component 210 in Fig. 2) attached to the rear surface of the first chip (115a) and having a different thickness from the first chip,
wherein at least a portion of the chip stack is disposed in the through-portion (the stack is in 107); and
wherein the second chip includes a dummy (410 is a spacer which is similar to a dummy component; 210 is a dummy component).
Regarding claim 2, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further discloses the first chip includes a silicon capacitor (paragraphs 26 & 27).
Regarding claim 3, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further discloses the first chip (115a) is thicker than the second chip (410).
Regarding claim 4, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further discloses the chip stack further includes an adhesive (the coupling layer 434a; paragraph 43) disposed between the first and second chips.
Regarding claim 5, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4. Boja further suggests the adhesive includes a die attach film (the film 434a attach the dies 115a and 410 together).
Regarding claim 6, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further suggests the first insulating layer is a layer having a thickness of 1.2 mm or more (the substrate is within 1.2 mm; paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 7, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further discloses first and second wiring layers (the metal layers 102c, 102d, Fig. 4) respectively disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the first insulating layer (upper and lower surface of 102a); and a first via layer penetrating (through-vias 119) through the first insulating layer and connecting at least a portion of each of the first and second wiring layers to each other (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7. Boja further discloses a second insulating layer (the insulating layer 116 comprising 116a on the top side, 116b on the bottom side and 116c in the through hole 107) covering at least a portion of each of the first insulating layer (102a) and the chip stack (110) and disposed in at least a portion of the through portion (portion 116c), third (117a) and fourth (117b) wiring layers respectively disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the second insulating layer; a second via layer (118a) penetrating through a portion of an upper side of the second insulating layer, and connecting at least a portion of each of the first (102c) and third wiring layers (117a) and at least a portion of each of the first wiring layer and the connection pad (130) to each other; and a third via layer (118b) penetrating through a portion of a lower side of the second insulating layer (116b), and connecting at least a portion of each of the second (102d) and fourth wiring layers (117b) to each other.
Regarding claim 21, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4. Boja further discloses the adhesive is thinner than the first and second chips (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6. Boja further discloses a thickness of the first insulating layer is substantially the same as a thickness of the chip stack (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 23, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7. Boja further discloses an upper surface of the first wiring layer (102c) is coplanar with an upper surface of the connection pad (130, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 24, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Boja further discloses one surface of the first insulating layer (102a; Fig. 2) is coplanar with one surface of the second chip (210) located farther from the first chip (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boja (US 20240222213), in view of Mok (US 11289452).
Regarding claim 9, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8.
Boja does not explicitly disclose first and second resist layers respectively disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the second insulating layer, and having an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the third and fourth wiring layers.
Mok teaches first and second resist layers (top and bottom solder resist layer 19; Fig. 3) respectively disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the second insulating layer (the insulating layer below layer 19), and having an opening (the opening for exposing the top and bottom wiring layers for the bonding points 15) exposing at least a portion of each of the third and fourth wiring layers (top and bottom wiring layers covered by the solder resist layer 19).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a solder resist layer when solder is used to bond the chip to the surface of the circuit board in order to prevent short circuit caused by possible solder overflowing.
Regarding claim 10, Boja, in view of Mok, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9. Mok further suggests a semiconductor chip (the chip on the top and bottom of the substrate connected to the exposed bonding points 15, Fig. 3; see also the chips 31 – 34 in Fig. 6) disposed on the first resist layer and connected to an exposed portion of the third wiring layer (top side chip and solder resist layer).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boja (US 20240222213), in view of Kim (US 10547119).
Regarding claim 11, Boja discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Boja does not explicitly disclose each of the through-portion and the chip stack is provided in plural form, and each of the plurality of chip stacks is at least partially disposed in the plurality of through-portions.
Kim suggests a plurality of packages embedded in the substrate, Fig. 13.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate a working component in order to increase the complexity of the electronic device.
Claim(s) 12 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boja (US 20240222213), in view of Shin (US 6798049).
Regarding claim 12, Boja discloses a printed circuit board, comprising:
a first insulating layer (a monolithic core 102a; Fig. 2) having a through-portion (a through-cavity 107);
a first chip (the chip 115a) disposed at least partially in the through-portion and having a rear surface (bottom surface of 115a) opposite to a front surface (top surface of 115a) on which a connection pad (pad 130) is disposed;
a second chip (a dummy component 210) disposed at least partially in the through-portion (107) and attached to the rear surface of the first chip (115a); and
a second insulating layer (a layer comprising portion 116a, 116b, and 116c) covering at least a portion of the first insulating layer (102a) and each of the first and second chips (115a, 210) and disposed in at least a portion of the through-portion (portion 116c disposed in the cavity 107).
Boja does not explicitly disclose the second chip is rotationally offset from the first chip on a plane.
Shin teaches the second chip (chip 2; Fig. 8B) is rotationally offset from the first chip (chip 1) on a plane.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of components in order to fit all the components into a limited space of a circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12.
Boja does not explicitly disclose a side surface of the second chip has a step portion from a side surface of the first chip in a cross- section.
Shin teaches a side surface of the second chip (chip 2, Fig. 2C) has a step portion from a side surface of the first chip (chip 1) in a cross- section.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimension of the components in order to fit all the components into the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12. Boja further discloses an adhesive (the coupling layer 134, Fig. 2) disposed between the first and second chips (115a, 210) and attaching the second chip to the rear surface of the first chip.
Regarding claim 15, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12. Boja further discloses each of the first and second chips (silicon base chip; paragraph 30) includes a silicon die, and the adhesive includes a die attach film (adhesive layer 134 attach the silicon chip together).
Regarding claim 16, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12. Boja further discloses first and second wiring layers (the metal layers 102c, 102d) disposed above and below the first insulating layer, respectively; and a first via layer (the through-vias 119) disposed at least partially in the first insulating layer (102a) and connecting at least a portion of each of the first and second wiring layers to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Boja, in view of Shin, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12. Boja further discloses third and fourth wiring layers (117a, 117b) disposed above and below the second insulating layer (119a, 116b, 116c), respectively; a second via layer (118a) disposed at least partially in an upper side of the second insulating layer (116a), and connecting at least a portion of each of the first (102c) and third wiring layers (117a) and at least a portion of each of the first wiring layer and the connection pad (130) to each other; and a third via layer (118b) disposed at least partially in a lower side of the second insulating layer (116b), and connecting at least a portion of each of the second (102d) and fourth wiring layers (117b) to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847