DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2025 and 10/1/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (US 20220285127 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Sasaki disclose(s):
A linear accelerator apparatus (figs 1-10), comprising:
a beamline enclosure that defines a polygonal backbone (see 140a; fig 6); a plurality of acceleration stages (74a-74c), disposed along a length of the beamline enclosure (140a enclosing BL), wherein a given acceleration stage comprises:
a drift tube assembly (72a) to conduct an ion beam (BL) therethrough; a resonator (74a; figs 5-6), coupled to deliver an RF signal to the drift tube assembly (72a); and a quadrupole assembly (121-125; fig 5; [0067]) to shape the ion beam (BL), wherein at a first acceleration stage, a first resonator (74a) is disposed along a first side of the polygonal backbone (see 140a; fig 6), and at a second acceleration stage, adjacent to and downstream (the examiner takes the position that downstream involves either to the left or right as shown in fig 6) of the first acceleration stage, a second resonator (74b; fig 6) is disposed along a second side of the polygonal backbone (140b), different from the first side (140a).
With regards to claim 3. Sasaki disclose(s):
The linear accelerator apparatus of claim 1, wherein the polygonal backbone comprises a pair of vertical sides, wherein the given acceleration stage further comprises: a quadrupole assembly (121-125; fig 5; [0067]), disposed along a first vertical side of the polygonal backbone; and a pump assembly (148 [0073]), disposed along a second vertical side of the polygonal backbone (see 121-125 in a top side and 148 in bottom side in fig 5; see fig 6 for reference of multiple vertical sides).
With regards to claim 8. Sasaki disclose(s):
An ion implanter (figs 1-10), comprising:
an ion source to generate a continuous ion beam at a first energy [0028]; and a linear accelerator [0029], to receive the continuous ion beam, generate a bunched ion beam from the continuous ion beam ([0027]), and accelerate the bunched ion beam to a second energy, the linear accelerator comprising:
a beamline enclosure that defines a polygonal backbone (see 140a; fig 6); a plurality of acceleration stages (74a-74c), disposed along a length of the beamline enclosure (140a enclosing BL), wherein a given acceleration stage comprises:
a drift tube assembly (72a) to conduct an ion beam (BL) therethrough; a resonator (74a; figs 5-6), coupled to deliver an RF signal to the drift tube assembly (72a); and a quadrupole lens (121-125; fig 5; [0067]) to shape the ion beam (BL), wherein at a first acceleration stage, a first resonator (74a) is disposed along a first side of the polygonal backbone (see 140a; fig 6), and at a second acceleration stage, adjacent to and downstream (the examiner takes the position that downstream involves either to the left or right as shown in fig 6) of the first acceleration stage, a second resonator (74b; fig 6) is disposed along a second side of the polygonal backbone (140b), different from the first side (140a).
With regards to claim 10. Sasaki disclose(s):
The ion implanter of claim 8, wherein the polygonal backbone comprises a pair of vertical sides, wherein the given acceleration stage further comprises: a quadrupole assembly (121-125; fig 5; [0067]), disposed along a first vertical side of the polygonal backbone; and a pump assembly (148 [0073]), disposed along a second vertical side of the polygonal backbone (see 121-125 in a top side and 148 in bottom side in fig 5; see fig 6 for reference of multiple vertical sides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20220285127 A1) in view of Lombardi (US 20170238408 A1).
With regards to claim 15. Sasaki disclose(s):
A linear accelerator (figs 1-10), comprising:
a frame (see ); a beamline enclosure that defines a
Sasaki does not disclose(s):
the
Lombardi teaches
the
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Sasaki by implementing the backbone being a hexagonal backbone as disclosed by Lombardi in order to minimise the power consumption, while still being thick enough to ensure adequate cooling efficiency as taught/suggested by Lombardi ([0050]).
With regards to claim 17. Sasaki as modified disclose(s):
The linear accelerator of claim 15,
Sasaki further disclose(s):
wherein the linear accelerator comprises a plurality of acceleration stages, wherein the hexagonal backbone comprises a pair of vertical sides, wherein a given acceleration stage of the plurality of acceleration stages further comprises: a quadrupole assembly (121-125; fig 5; [0067]), disposed along a first vertical side of the hexagonal backbone (148 [0073]); and a pump assembly (148 [0073]), disposed along a second vertical side of the hexagonal backbone (see 121-125 in a top side and 148 in bottom side in fig 5; see fig 6 for reference of multiple vertical sides).
Lombardi further disclose(s):
the
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16, 18-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896